(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

channel 70: i oso like! i got it after my son was born and was watching it tru out my ML and NPL. was thinking why don have earlier.. could have learnt a lot more about pregnancy etc.. esp that time 1st pregnancy.

ladies, do your stomachs feel itchy now? mine does you know.. i put stretch mark cream already. still itchy. can be quite distracting the itch. it can't be expanding so soon, can it? i didn't even get stretch marks til into the 7th-8th month the last time.. now barely 11 weeks?!!

rina: ha. u cute lah. no stopper.. actually before the watching that . i watched channel 8 or was it channel u? that perfect cut?.. i long time want to watch that.. finally got chance.. then strangely. i feel like crying.. just from watching preview! gosh.. coz edmund chen was crying.. ha. when men cry. they look so sad :p

hey talking abot men crying.. the only time i seen miser cry.. was during the cremation of my MIL.. and it was for a few seconds.. he quickly wipe it away liao.. never seen him cry anymore from then on..

ong: 33kg is way too much!! i cant imagine if i gain so much weight in 8mths!! wooo... actually on the average, we should just gain max 10 to 15kg, depending on our starting weight.

xoxo: haha.. thanks.. but unfortunately i dun have the fortune to taste my mum's good food cos she's away on a holiday!!! mil's food is not bad lah.. just that her taste can be a little extreme.. so my taste buds, bb and stomach all cannot take it that well.. i guess i'm used to my mum's cooking, that's y...

astro: just wondering, the weight gain calculator ah. is it catered to ang mohs or asian women? cos i think if we were to gain as much as what is described, then the weight loss companies are going to earn a lot from us...

rina: i think the difference in looks for us for having boys vs girls is because of the difference n hormones.. usually there's a higher amt of hair loss when women is preg with bb girls...

mrs neo: $50 for 9 jumpers is BEST DEAL lah...

famela: hahaha.. u mean ur two BREAST friends!!!

loke: ha. fo rmy case. i have thebuilt of an ang moh.. ha! so .. still can.. hahahha
from what i know.. most mums.. 11 kg and above.. very seldom anyone below 10.. very very seldom..unless controlled diet.

astro : well, i am only 12wks now but gained 7kg liao. last 2wk was 6kg and now 7kg. already ask gynae what can i do but gynae mentioned is normal. i am already nt taking the annum(as i feel like puking)and this is slowing the weight gain slightly. can just hope for symptons to change soon.*signs*

xoxo : tried drinking more annum milk(or other similar milk)to increase your weight. my fren's gynae ask her to stop drinking when her weight ballooned at the later stage. Taking durians do helps i believe. My fren was told by her gynae to try takg some durians at the last few mths as hopefully to increase the weight of bb. My fren's bb weighs aro 2.95kg. It's a girl n this weight is nt bad liao. I took durians too and my son weighs 3.67kg. He happen to be the biggest bb in the nursery room(at that time) and was so easy to identify at one look.Ha ha!

astro: ooo... my estimation is bb 3kg. the rest of the weight approx 7kg will go to the amniotic fluids, fats etc... for me, i think my digestive system is not so good from the start.. so weight gain will go slow for now... 8kg is ideal, 10kg is the max..

Astro/Famela>> Yeah.. i aiming for 1 coach diaper bag.. but sighz.. Hubby always said, "bb's stuffs, he will pay.. my own coach stuffs.. he will help me transfer the $$ but i need to pay him!"

I think my 2 "Breast friends" are growing at an enormous speed leh! Scary! Hubby commented tat the bra cup is only able to cover a small little part leh!

ong: really ah. Taking durians will increase the wt of the bb. I'll try then. All my babies are small. The most is my gal at only 2.8kgs. So it's only me taking all the weight. Imagine the torture I had to go through to lose all that weight but still didnt manage to get my pre pregnancy weight back. Haiz...

That's why I am so glad now I'm hating rice. At least I know I wont put on so much...I hope.

I also heard tat eating durians help.. but have to eat in moderation.. cos durians are high in sugar content.. so, dun eat too much!

Mrs Neo: I remember for my last pregnancy, at the last few mths, my MIL gave me her auntie brown no wire bras, new ones of coz, as I was complaining to her that all my bras no longer fit. Now I think I have to hunt back for the bras. I tink its somewhere in my wardrobe.

astro: i'm not underweight.. according to bmi, i'm acceptable weight, just slightly on the high side, BMI about 22 to 24.. that's y my ideal is 8kg lor... not too much to ask for lah.. i expect bb to be quite big cos hb is a giant.. 1.91m..

Astro>> True hor.. But i dun think so.. cos he's been commenting tat I bought quite a lot of coach bags during the honeymoon liao... Sighzz..

I think he wld ask me to go Thailand and buy Naraya bags.. their bags are BIG and most imptly Cheap! No more coach or kate spade for me..

i think weight gain oso depends on the mommy's and daddy's size to begin with la.

i have a fren, she is sooooo petite. short and skinny kind. looks like pri skul kid. she gained a total of 8 kg truout, but baby was very big - 3.8 kg! but her hubby is the big tall kind so baby takes after daddy la..

so genetics play a hugeeee role oso bah?

big babies are easier to handle etc etc... but if you're tiny and baby too big oso can be complicated. cos my fren had no choice to opt for c-sect. same thing happened to my fren's sister. she had to go c-sect oso cos baby is too big for her petite frame

loke:
• If your BMI was between 19.8 and 26, you should aim for a weight gain of 11.5 to 16kg (25 to 35lb).

• If your BMI was above 26, you should aim for a weight gain of 7 to 11.5kg (15 to 25lb).

so hor.. even if scale down.. still better to be more than 10kg lah.. hmm anyway. sometimes we dun ahve a choice

My friend told me to eat more quality food.. She said its better for bb to grow bigger and faster during the initial stage.. cos if touch wood.. anything happens.. and the bb needs to come out prematurely, at least, he is fully developed.. dunno how true is this..

I guess my kids all take after me. My pre mummy built of coz. Coz my hubby is a giant. But all my babies are small.

Talking about big babies. I remember taking my 3rd one for his first check up at a PD. Then there's this guy, I tink it;s his first child, told us that his wife also just gave birth and coz the baby is too big, they had to cut her dat one until her a**. I was shock when he say this!

Imagine your husband telling this kinda things to a stranger in front of you. I would have smack my DH on the head. Hahah!

famela: i have a theory. but this is my stupid own theory :p my theory is.. if the parents are both big.. chances are .. bbs will be average..
but if both parents are average aor small.. bbs will be heavier at birth. coz normalisation .. all will regulate out eventually.. the offspring of the bigger ones. will grow at a increasing speed (like int he case of teng :S).. and the off spring of the smaller parents.. will be bigger at birth.. will more reserves.. can afford to grow slowly coz they have a 'smaller limit' to reach :p nature's way to ensure equal chances of survial..
ha.. i anyhow say one :p

I think ultimately whether the bb will grow up to be a big bb or not also depend on wat they eat during the growing stage..

I was only abt 2.8kg during birth.. Being the 1st grandchild in the family.. Grandma was relatively worried why I was so small sized.. So, started to feed me lots of milk.. and during toddler stage.. feed me lots of food too!! And in the end, i ended up overweight.. till now!

astro: i think the BMI for asian is different.. its lesser. normal weight should be 18 to 24 or something like that.. hehe.. anyway, just see how it goes lor.. for now, really cant gain.. cant eat so acnnot gain.. maybe in 2T things will be different... we all should just make sure we eat properly and in moderation..

mrs neo: what's considered quality food?? i think we all cannot think straight for quality food.. hahha.. as least for me lah. i want to eat healthy also cannot.. bb only accept fast food, western food and popo's food... i puke when i eat the rest. hahha..

Felt happier today. Brought my girl to Bugis for a walk. Even tough never really buy a lot of things, but still feel happier.

Loke>> I guess she meant eat whenever i can and feel like! LOL... today i super no appeite to eat in the morning.. and suddenly my appeite comes back in the afternoon! Haa.. Crazy leh!

astro: i think what u say has some truth in it lah.. .but genetics kind of thing really hard to say one.. scully my bb short and plump... confirm take after me.. hhaha.. if bb is a mix of both me and hb, then its going to be huge.. cos i'm on the plump side.. hubby on the tall side.. bb will grow up to be tall and plump.. gigantic.. hahhaa..

mrs neo: ahh.. eat whenever we can and feel like is important.. nothing is more satisfying than that at this stage.. hahha.. at least i was satisfied with a small polar sugar roll cake this morning.. keke...

i am sooO not gaining for now. i think i've lost more weight. i just measure and it read 54.5.i was 56.8 when i first discovered my pregnancy. then gained to 57.8. now down to 54.5. but experience tells me i WILL gain.. and LOTS too.. later so am so not bothered abt my weight now.

anyways now baby is still not really dependent on what we eat you know. something abt the placenta not working efficiently yet to allow nutrients to transfer between our blood... hmm.. later i google on this again.. only after 3rd month then what we eat baby gains.

so now i eat what i FEEL like eating. most impt is that i don get dehydrated can liao. 2t onwards can think about nutritious food. heheh.. this one my hentam theory la..

astro, your theory sounds acceptable lei

Sometimes i find tat cravings does make things a little bit easier.. Lately, i dun have much craving.. always walk ard in food court/shopping centres aimlessly.. dunno wat to eat.. But if i have some cravings.. wld just zoom to that particular place and attack!

loke: if ur bb is tall and plump.. then it is going to look like me! hahahaha.. :p
ok. i want to go munch on a pear.. hmm.. feeling something stuck there..
and i just took my unglam nursing bra outto wear liao. coz cannot lah. domestic help at home.. bra-less? hmmm

famela/loke/boo: let me try with this bb. if still smaller than 3.5kg..but eventually still like carbo now.. i will publish my findings and confer myself a doctorate! hahahahah :p

Guess wat? I am into the 12 weeks this week! Erm.. Hubby commented tat time seems to pass so much slower especially after i found tat i am pregnant.. maybe he is really anxious to bb's arrival.. Hee..

mrs neo: u r right.. easier if there's craving.. no craving really very hard to find food..

astro: hahahahhaa...... oh btw, thanks for ur suggestion on fruit juices.. i feel much better taking juices.. fruit tree fresh juice should be ok right??

famela, yup, I read that somewhere also. BB still have not taken any nutrients from the food we eat. Only during the second trimister, then they will

Astro>> Has got a suggestion for u.. why dun u use those nipple tape and tape ur nipples.. then, u can be braless liao mah! Hee.. but then again.. i think it will hurt since our nipples shld be sore at this time.. So, forget abt it..

MRs neo: u know what my hb always tell bb?? he'll end his conversation with bb with "good night! see you soon!!" haha.. then i'll laugh..

rina/mrs neo : taking durians apply to either 2nd or 3rd tri i believe as bb grow alot during last few mths. i happen to have cravings for durians during the last few mths and get my Hb to haunt for it. For my fren, she simply eat durians to gain weight for her bb as gynae mentioned her bb is quite small.

Hubby's not really talking to bb lately.. he seems more engrossed in his soccer matches and tv shows in the living room.. Sighzz.. I think i must make him talk to the bb every single nite! :p

He's throwing me a challenge liao.. tat the bb will call papa 1st.. rather than mama.. Cos he said he will be closer to the bb since he is taking care of the bb in the day time...

rina, you've heard of it too huh? good good.. cos sometimes i'm not so sure of my pregnant brain these days.. hehe. that's why now i just eat what i feel like eating. as long as don vomit, don get dehydrated, i am happy. anything to help me survive my MS
hmm... let's see.. so now where's that Coke of mine...

mrs neo: wah! are u sure?! OUCH!

loke: should be ok. but is best if u can take fresh fruits. coz juices also high in sugar.. fresh fruits more filling.. and more nutritious.. oh.. another fluid i drink. u know.. dunno which brand.. they have the brewed crystanthesum/wolfberries drink? i think that is also ok..at least for me..

NutriTea.. But dunno whether i got the right spelling though.. can we really drink tat? Is it too "liang" for us?

I have been drinking hot ginger tea everyday.. trying to cut down on cold drinks...

loke: so sweet! miser and me.. 'afraid to commit'. not talking about the bb yet.. though see heartbeat.. will wait till after 3 months.. then we will discuss all those cumbersome details. like another cot?!.. gosh..

Rina: how many cots u have at home?!

mrs new, actually that's true...not coz DH takes care of the babies.hmph! But i guess its easier for them to pronounce "ayah", than "mummy"