(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

xoxo: can tell the GP that u are preg.. and they will take care to give u something safe..
most lozenges are safe during preg

nat: how are u?
must be real happy these two days
.. gastric flu better now?

nat >> cannot think very clearly now. just know that my throat is making me all sick. the nasal congestion is bad...i will definitely stay home tom..but rest is also difficult. the minute i lie down, i must get up cos i cannot breathe...tried sleeping sitting up..didn't work...*tears*

astro >> ... ... ... is there something called throat plaster? i took one jujube (lozenge) already. how fast i have dropped from heaven to hell...

xoxo: cannot use nasal spray or those nasal decongestant hor.. cannot used during preg.
take care babe.. know it is difficult..

tomorrow pls see a GP an keep us updated..

night...

astro >> i am trying to tahan this. the pain from the torn throat is really bad. i am not using any medication (antihistamines / decongestants etc) but i putting the novita ultrasonic humidifier on my list of to buy for HB tom. hope that will help. now just trying to tire myself out with silly you tubes..how time crawls when u are suffering..

pls remove my name from the list here...juz had a miscarriage n did the D & C last week....

anyway, wishing all mummies to be, a happy and smooth pregnancy!

good morning everyone.

xoxo: puriton is safe during preg. My gynae prescribed that for me for my itch for excema. Can try getting that over the counter.

cocomaro: take care and rest well.

hi folks, good morning ...

Like Xoxo, i had a bad runny nose yesterday. It alternates being stuffed and runny and i was sneezing consectively non-stop. So terrible. Sometimes, i scared i sneeze so much until my stomach goes into spasms. Really regretted not seeing a doctor.

My head is all stuffed up now. I'm so tired and more nauseous than ever. Wished i can take MC today, but i have 3 interviews scheduled and a big looming deadline coming this friday. *Wail* Sorry for being so whiney on a Monday morning..

Xoxo: Hope you are feeling better now..

Discussed with my HB, we decided not to tell the company of the news until after my yearly evaluation sometime this month. Scared company chao kuan, discount my performance after hearing i'm pregnant....if you know what i mean..

Cocomaro: Sorry to hear about your news. Do take care and rest well. Try to build your body back with lotsa nutritious food. *Hugs*

shugar: no. no heartburn last night..

but hor.. i neearly vomited after taking the fish oil. now i feel queasy.. stuffing myself silly with apples.. coz bananas too high in sugar for me to stuff.. and it is going to worsen my constipation.. :S
so i am going off the fish oil.. i have not taken the multi-vits also.. haiz.. going to have to bear with the mood swings all thru 1st tri! :S

siangjiao: today after work can go see doc? i thin it is a perfectly legitatmate excuse to be whiny on a monday! :S

Nat: So happy to know that your bb and you are fine! Just take things easy and don't worry too much.

Xoxolight: Welcome home! Your trip sounds good..makes me feel like going on a cruise myself but I'm just too afraid of seasickness.
Oh dear, you have sandpapered throat ah? Actually gulping down some "Jing Du Nian Chi An Chuan Bei Pi Pa Gao" is good because the thick, cooling and soothing liquid will just paste over the raw sore throat (like a throat plaster!) and give you instant relief. But I'm not sure if pregnant can drink Pi Pa Gao or not, have to check the label. You can also ask your doc for some super numbyfying lozengages. Take care.

Roxie: Agree with you bb is much cuter in regular pictures these days than in ultrasound pix! haha.. You know, this time round for bb#2, I'm thinking of doing the 3D scan to get clear 3D ultrasound pix!! Did anyone do this before? But quite ex leh.. some more now recession.. See what my hubby say ler.

Shugar: Thanks for the heads up.. I'll get my hubby to scan all bb's ultrasound pics into the PC lor!

astro: oooh i thot bananas were good for constipation? me also having constipation problems leh!
what gloomy weather today.... not helping with the monday blues man! hahhaa... make me wana crawl back into bed!

Any MTB here who is not experiencing any MS symptoms as of 7 weeks onwards?

Per wat i told told by my gynae, MS is onli neaseas / vomit, cramp on lower abdomen.
I am currently onli experiencing frequent hunger, super crave for brands chicken essence. tats all!

With this he prescribe me with duphaston and weekly jab. he mentioned hopefully these jabs will help to make me feel sick...

Precious Moment: For my 1st pregnancy I had absolutely no MS from day 1 of conception till bb was born. I didn't have any cravings of any kind or feel hungry always. It was as though I was not pregnant (except tummy was growing bigger that's all).

I think it is not uncommon for pregnant mummies to be totally free of MS. I am surprise your gynae gave you medication and weekly jab(!) to make you feel sick(!). Perhaps you should seek 2nd opinion?

Morning everyone!

I've discovered why I am always puking over the weekends. It's because I sleep in the afternoon, and the acid reflux simply messes up my stomach. So, I tried napping by sitting upright as far as possible, and avoided it last night.

But I tell you, my Merlion was really terrible on Sat night. Was peeing halfway when it just came, and I had all the mushy beancurd all over my face, hair, and the toilet. Really gross!!!

Walked around a little due to some work function and danced for 2 min, and was totally knocked out, with super aching body.

Had a pain in my adomen this morning, but now ok. How to tell whether it is a cause for concern?

I keep thinking of fish oil taste, and I really want to puke whenever I imagine that in my mouth. Really really bad.

Oh well, other than this, the Monday morning had been ok so far.

He was the gynae who help to deliver my #1.
Tats was why we stick back to him.

In fact i had done blood test on progestrone level.. per the result he had interpreted to me, he mentioned its on the safe range, but he still insisted that i am on weekly hormone jab (painful and exp.). He mentioned : the more sick i am, the more happy he is.

Puzzled too! During my first pregnancy, I oso did not experience any MS.. except hunger.. tats time i was not instructed on any jab. Or is it age factor tat the gynae is considering?

shugar: excessive intake of bananas is constipating.. interesting hor? i never knew that too.. in fact i just know it from weaning my boy to solids! ha.. more to 'suprising' facts to come.. for eg.. fresh apples is laxative in nature.. while cooked apples are constipating! ha..

precious moments: i think ur gynae are the camp who advocates MS as having a strong preg.. some truth in that.. but not entirely so.. for my 1st preg with Carbo.. i have extreme fatigure..bloatedness and quesiness.. no vomiiting or cramp per se.. now.. I am approaching 7 weeks.. heartburn, queasiness and bloatedness asper usual lah.. so ur gynae will be worried to have me ah..

weekly jab?! wah. that is going to make u SUPER tired.. all the extra hormones he is pumping u with...!

precious: ur clarification now .. really make me feel ur gynae is the KS type :p which is good lah.. as he is very concerned. but not good for u either in cost and general well being.. :S

Glass: i think i am going to puke sooner or later.. i have been burping fish oil for the past 10 minutes! gross? more than gross!!!

hello astro

yes.. super tired (travelling to his clinic)
super broke (the jab cost $90)
super painful (oilbase jab)

he prescribe me with 4 tablets of duphaston daily.

just hope eveything went smooth, then its worth all the pain, $ and trouble..

precious moment: why must you take duphaston if there's nothing wrong? I took it only because my gynae thought my foetus was not growing, and she stopped the medication immediately once she checked it was growing ok.

shugar: I heard only can eat certain type of banana, the smaller one. Heard the big one is too 'liang' and should be avoided.

Astro: super yucks!! I'm imagining the taste again.

chiapatty >> i have 3D scan for my #1. most ppl said it is scary but i found sweet.. coz it is my own bb..
didn;t pay extra for the 3D bcoz my gynae got the machine. so this round will get still.

precious moments: my mom went through 2 pregnancies (sis and me) and she said for both, she never had any MS. I think it differs from person to person.
me no vomitting, just gas and bloated and on and off a bit of nausea.
4 tablets of duphaston like quite a lot hor! can bargain for tablets and no jab? hehehhe... easier on the wallet leh! :p

glass: ya.. i heard about taking the smaller bananas also..

gosh .. i think another round of burping coming! :S.. i have a presentation coming leh. wah liew.. :S

Precious Moment: If he's yr gynae all along, I guess he knows you well enough to know what you need but still, no harm getting 2nd opinion especially since you are going through much pain (physical, timewise & moneywise) from his treatment. I always feel that if medication can be avoided, avoid it.

Astro: I thought your gynae told you no fish oil? I still haven't figured out why cannot take fish oil during T1. Meanwhile I am still taking them since I took them all the way for my #1. Try the fruitflavoured fish oil. It really is NOT nauseating like natural fish oil!

Astro: Ewwwww.... Astro, i see from forum, week 8 and 9 is the worst.

Precious_Moment: Your doctor quite bian tai leh, try to make you sick. But i wish my doctor will do that too, so that i can take MC. I'm 7 weeks now, but still feeling pretty good. So far can control the puking, just feel super naseousness, only a few times then i throw up, but that's when i force myself to eat certain foods like eggs, milk and glutinous rice. As long as i don't force feed, i'm pretty ok. So far, nothing bad enough to warrant a MC. But this baby simplies love porridge. I ate like 3-4 times last week and craving lean pork porridge now.

The strange thing is gynae also never asked me if i have MS or if i'm feeling lousy in any way.

I keep telling him, I do have occasional guiddness, forgetful, mood swing..

He just keep shaking his head saying nope wor..
unless i vomit or feel nauseas, else i have to take jab..

Went for the scan jus last week. can see baby moving his/her hands and kicking.
saw these, i forgot about the complains and no more queries liao..

Siangjiao : wow u love porridge, while i crave for chicken essence (onli brands chicken essence)
I can bottom up 6 bottles per day.. even at night

Chiapatty: some pple find the bb look a bit scary for 3D scanning... heheh coz its not like the usual 2D kind. My friend did her scan tat time, her BB so mischevious... squashed her face against the tummy and gave my fren a bad fright! ahhahhahah! she thot how come her BB look so weird and scary looking... :p but now BB is out.. hahah very cute lah! :p

siangjiao>> Same as u.. my gynae never really asked how i felt.. i was the 1 who asked her if everything is okie since i do not have any morning sickness.

She advised tat not all pregnancies will come with morning sickness.. there is a minority who dun.. so, she never prescribed me wif anything.. esp after the scan tat the heartbeat is beating strong..

But think my MS is starting.. shit lor!! Felt so pukey today... Think i am starting to be a member of the merlion club too..

Hi good day everyone.

Nat : I'm happy for you.

precious_moment : Your baby is moving and kicking and your gynae is still not satisfied. Hee... I'm waiting eagerly to see my little peanut moves.

hello
scrolling the thread makes me giddy too. :p
right now, my symptoms are excessive sleepyness and feel like im always rocking on a boat. not throwing up cos im watching myself, walking slowly, eating in small bits. maybe i did have these symptoms in my 1st pregnancy but chose not to remember haha.

from what i can see, most of us have some sort of MS .. HANG IN THERE ALL.

i am at work, tempted to go home, but u know what? im worried the trip home (esp if taxi) will make me more sick. i think i jus wanna lay still and hope the feeling goes away.

Shugar: Oh I see. Hahaha your friend's bb is so cute wan!

Actually come to think of it I'm also a little scared leh. Last time my 2D scan showed my bb#1 to have a big round nose, made me so worried because mine is a girl-girl. If boy-boy I don't care. Anyway, true enough when she born her nose was huge and flat! But later it turns out it was only temporarily flattened during her journey through the birth canal. Phew! Anyways, I recall now the 2D pix of her big round nose got me worried somewhat. I shall rethink about doing a 3D scan. Heard it cost over $300 at TMC!

Hey, members of the merlion club.. welcome me to ur club!!! Went to "pray to Porcelin God".. Very xin ku! Think my MS is only starting! Errr...

Hello dreamygal.. my #1 in Dec'05 (rooster)

Yeah, he is being extra careful (tats how i convinced myself)

He did mentioned tat there will be minority lucky women who never experienced MS. But he choose not to believe tat i belonged to the lucky group. Cos he had ever encountered quite few who had no MS ended with bad outcomes.. tats explains hs worries and KS.

Precious Moments>> Its gd tat ur gynae is playing very safe.. but if the jab and pills are really making u very "Xin ku".. u must tell him leh.. maybe minimise the dosage or wat lor..

Mrs Neo: i stay at potong pasir.. but happened to be there on sat with my friends.. haha.. JP is huge after the extension...

precious moment: i agree with the rest that u should go and seek a 2nd opinion. because i seriously dont think that one should induce MS for sake of MS. if you are normally quite healthy, i dont see y your bb would not be growing well without those jabs and medication. i have friends who doesnt have ms at all throughout the pregnancy and still can be as active as before they were pregnant. if you are concerned over the jabs and costs, just go and see another gyne. don't have to stick to the same one for now, cos its still early.. also, i think the chicken essence just take in moderation.. dont take too much just because there's a craving for it..

siangjiao: u've got a porridge loving bb.. mine's always looking for potato and pork.. haha. the other day i bought the curry vege, no meat at all.. in the end super unsatisfied, and tummy felt weird.. haha..

precious moment: then he must be operating on his experience and feelings rather than expertise.. i personally dont feel 'safe' if my gyne has to induce something which doesnt have to be there so that he can feel 'safe'. how can a doctor treat a patient by feelings one? jabs and pills are man-made, artificial drug substances for a human body. for the sake of making himself feel safe, he has to put u through all these substances, i think he's not very professional.

Loke>> My cousin also stays there.. in fact, i went to stay wif her there over the weekend...

JP is huge.. but sianzz.. cos always crowded.. weekends or weekdays!!! Weekends will be crowded with the bangaleshi workers.. a lot a lot of them!!!

mrs neo: hahaha.. not just bangladeshi workers.. chinese workers also lor!!! they are invading the jurong area.. but i think with the extension, the crowd is better already..

thanks all for ur advise..

the problem is that after taking so many hormone pills and jabs, i am still Morning-Sickness free..

Every week the visit and consultation will goes :
Gynae : how?
Me: Nothing!
Gynae: got vomit?
Me: Nothing!
Gynae : continue the medication and jab..