(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

pearly: theoretically.. bbs under 6 mths need not have any water.. coz be it bm or fm.. it is largely water.. but no harm giving.. sips..or at most one ounce.. coz it is so F***ing hot in sg.. hahaha.. on my pd's table.. there is an article which says water is not needed for bbs under 6 mths.. so i know her stand liao. heh..

yes.. in the early mths. bbs dunno the diff of thirst vs hunger.. water is filling for them too. which is why most advocate no water coz it takes aways the appetite for milk.. more so.. too much water can cause imbalance of electrolytes in their tiny bodies resulting in water toxification..ya.. so sips will do.. but not 180ml at one go

my first boy.. teng has my eyes.. hence he is so sauve.. hahahaha.. this current one. bao.. or yh.. or rayan. hmm eyes not as attractive. as his bro. but i think i am beginning to see him smile like me.. so not too bad also.. *thick skinned*.. whahahah..

haha.. oki.. Point noted.. Cos my hubby ALWAYS tell me to give her water because his mom, aunt and older people always tell him to do that.. Whereas after she drink water, her milk timing go haywire..

wah u got 2boys huh.. I think this one girl is enough for me liao.. The newborn days were depressing for me sia.. I always wondered how people cope with 2 or more kids.. *pei fu*

Water
I dun really feed water to my boy because I breastfeed him, the pd said no need to feed. Unless I find him heaty then I will feed like 5ml

bumboo seat
where u mummies buy yours ah? And how much? Any idea what age can bb seat up to?

Mil
I am super angry with my mil now!!! She is really incorrigible! WTF! So angry now that I dun even have the mood to type out what happened... Just that she is acting like a clown. I really envy those mummies who are not staying with your in laws!

Fb
mine is [email protected]

my bumbo doesnt come with the tray!
i need to go look for the tray liao haha.
any idea where got sell separately from the bumbo seat ?

limmil,
i cant' specify nick when i add you through iphone. you see the pix of a lady hugging 2 girls? the picture a bit on the orangy side. that's me!

astro,
yep. i remembered having the swollen lymp nodes a couple of times because i was bigger than teng. may be primary school liao. yes, the lump a bit painful when i touched it. swallow saliva also a bit painful but still bearable lah.

pearly,
may be because you fed her water that's why her milk intake hay wire lah.. if you're feeding BM, there's no need to feed water. BM is made of 70% of water! one easy indication that BM is not heaty is - watery stool! any baby here with total BM has hard stool? i don't think so..

aria,
I'm feeding formula.. xD.. I don't really feed her water, except for the very few times when we fed her diluted gripe water..
Her stool also not hard leh.. She also pee alot.. Seems ok but why are there people who say feed water? Curious leh.. Is it ok or not to feed?

pearly,
some FM tends to be a bit heaty like NAN. i guess can feed a bit water (10-20ml) after milk? that's what some of my colleagues did to rinse away to milk residue to prevent tooth decay.

limmil,
yep, received the FB acknowledgement liao

just a quick one before i log off tonight..

Astro: My pumping interval is about 4-5 hours (just like the usual feeding time). Using avent hand pump, 15-30 mins, about 120-150 ml from 2 boobs. morning yield is better than afternoon so can squeeze a bit more. Andre takes about 5 feeds a day, each time about 130 ml. I think it's quite little leh, but Dr ong says 120-150ml 3-4 hourly. Sometimes i try to give Andre a little more, he'll reject. Evenings when i'm home, i just feed directly. Used to direct feed all the time, but ever since i started to pump, i can feel my supply increasing slowly.

water: Dr ong says ok to give water, more to let baby get used to the taste. But Andre don't like leh and i also don't have the patience to coax. Doing bottle battles is very tiring for me liao.

To a certain extent (although i miss my baby a lot), i am glad to be back at work. Gives me a breather somehow, and some time to check out the forum. The downside is i only get to interact with him 2 hours a day before i need to tuck him to bed.

Anyone sent your baby to infant care? Anyone has any recommendations? My MIL last min change her mind and i'm going back to work next week. OMG!
I'm going to miss my baby...
Water: My MIL also keep on saying to feed baby

water. Now that i read all your post on water and realised baby dun really need water.

Feeding: Feeding is very stressful and each feed is a challenge to me now.

Pearly: I give FM to my girl too... and make it a point to feed her water 3 times a day, each time between 10-30ml (as advised by my MIL initially). Reason being FM tends to cause hard stools. So far, she poos every day or every 2 days and her stool is not hard too. So i suppose giving water helps. Checked with PD and she said ok but not too much. I don't give her water immediately after milk intake... usually an hr later before she naps. Btw, what formula us your bb taking?

FB: Pls add me too... indicate your nick...Thanks! [email protected]

Tien: $49.90??! Ahh i wana faint! :S got mine at $79 wor!
((

Astro: glad that you're feeling better today!
Dun worry, I'm sure Teng will be well soon!

aria jo: Add me on FB too!

water>>>
does lack of water cause heat rash? my mil keep saying angel not enough water. but she pees quite a lot too.. anyway, i dun care. the fm i give already diluted.. so i wont give extra water.

astro: miss u manz.. really hope things get better at home for u!

i'm so extremely not free lor.. my eyes are half closed all the time. battling with the fm.. trying to increase bm. then now mil going america until after CNY.. must make a decision to either bring baby to office or leave with the maid and work half-day...

dear mummies,

need advice & help
my girl never latched on from day 1 so I hv been expressing. Since she turned 1 month, I din feel engorged and milk supply started depleting, Any suggestions how to increase it?

Am thinking should I just stop trying and go full formula...do some people just have little or no milk???

loke : nice pic!! shld approve one...they v lenient for bb
oh..when u collect e passport..better make appointment in advance else queue v long.

lucky_baby : my friend sends her dotter to the infant care at harbourfront and her dotter is happy there.

astro : u have a supportive HB
no stress ya..one thing at a time, one day at a time.

Re: Bottle Teat :
ehlo, anyone modified their Level 1 teat to become level 2? If yes..how u do it ? use scissors? how to know cut how much :S

Re: stretching Pumping session but maintaining yield.
After reading ur posts tink i a bit paisay to ask my boss to allow me to pump at 930. coz my colleague who is end-sept mummy not pumping then. hmm.. best is 5-6 hrly pumping? when stretching.. fr 3 hr. need to go hrly by hrly ? 1 week 3 hrly, 2nd week 4hrly, 3rd week 5 hrly etc enough time? :S or 3 days for each chg in hr is enough?

out of curiousity, after we extend to 6 hrly pumping, is it 'possible' to increase supply but maintain same frequency?

re: bm expressing in ofc

siangjiao - wah, u must have reach ofc very early. and ur whole pump session takes only 30mins for avent manual pump. so envious..

like mrs neo, i need ard 45 min per pump to clear my boobs too..

gal - in order to reduce no of pumping in ofc, i have reduced my no of pumps to 3 times per day. i started with 7-8 pumps in my first month, then 5-6 pump for 2nd mth, then every week increase the no of hrs to now 3 pumps per day.
6.30am, 2.30pm, 10.30pm
think i will adjust the timing again once i return to work.incase my boss not happy with me mia-ing for 1hr dd personal thing.

mummies, pls share how u bring ur barang to work leh. are we really supposed to bring our work bag, pump bag and coolerbag to work everyday?? if so, how to carry so many bags??

just to share: i think i have work phobia.. haha.. recently keep have dreams abt work, colleagues etc.. aiyo.. really dunno wat is gg to happen when gg back work next week..

Hey, ladies.. i have also added u in fb..

Loke.. Angel is so cuteeee..
She got so much hair hor? So pretty!!! My Aaden is Botak head.. sighzz..

morning gals,

So long bo post liao cos busy in the office and I only read the posting.

Re: pump in office

I only pump 3 times per day now. Morning, afternoon and dinner. So I only pump once in the office during lunch time. I will take around 10 mins to pump and keep the milk in my office fridge. My car got a mini fridge which is FOC because my hb bot a laptop and it is come with it. So I bring the pump (put in air tight container) and those barang barang which needed.

Where you gals shave your boy hair ah? Rhys drop alot of hair intent to shave him botak. Any good places in Sengkang???

Any mummies go Rebond or Colour your hair during breastfeed? I intent to go rebond and colour my hair for CNY cos my hair look like shit.

Mummy Astro: JIA YOU!! Think your miser is one firm pillar...lean on him when you need to...don't 'cheng qiang'.

Shugar: Ya I went mad when I saw the price. My mind simply said BUY IT cos I know it's original price is way higher. Anyway think the price drop to $69.90.

Did not come in for a few days. Some updates.

My girl is quite unstable recently and have been difficult, think she is still jealous over didi at times. Haiz... I've signed her up for her ballet class starting Feb, hopefully she adapt well in class.

Don't know why lele is still sleeping at this time now, so i got a bit of time to come in here.

astro : Take care. Must be real stressful for you. Everything will be over soon.

<font color="0000ff">Water</font>
Old people are like that. They are so surprised that baby don't need water. My mil worse, she wanted to feed my sil's baby with don't know what herb when she brought him home 2 weeks ago. Her theory is to clear off those heatiness in newborn. Anyway, she got scolded.

<font color="0000ff">Bumbo</font>
I remembered Glynnis hates it. She refuse to be in anything that will restrict her movement. I'm going to let lele try on soon. He is exhibiting his preference to sit up. Everytimes i pop him on the sofa arm rest, he will try to sit up by himself. Very cute.

<font color="0000ff">FB</font>
My fb email is [email protected]
Add me. Thanks.

Water,

I get my MIL to feed my boy a little after bath, want to clear off some sweetness in the throat.

My elder son also refuse to go school since school start this year. Duno why and his teacher got to carry him in the school every day now and he cry everyday when go to school.

Ladies : Pardon me, I think someone asked before. Can we still colour our hair while we breastfeed? I was thinking of perming and colouring my hair leh. But was hesitating.

sunnyling : My girl cried for 2 days. Too many new faces and her favourite teacher was not around then. Have you asked your son for the reason?

i do feed my baby water.. jsut a small amount, about 20ml a day.. it is just to pacify my mum who insists that babies must drink water..

<font color="0000ff">mrs neo/astro,</font>
added you too..

<font color="0000ff">shugar,</font>
how to find you in FB?

<font color="0000ff">Loke,</font>
Your gal’s hair is not black right? see some tinge of brown
same like my girl!

<font color="0000ff">Angie,</font>
You do not need to feel engorge to have milk. The key to increase breast milk is pump at REGULAR intervals and try to clear your breast as much as possible. Have you ever express till when you press your breast (finger forming the C around your breast), you felt the top skin stick to bottom skin? Er..wonder if you know what I mean? haha..If you can do this, I can reassure you your BM will definitely increase! As long as you felt lump somewhere sometimes as big as an irregular ping pong ball size, there’s milk even though the other part of the breast feel soft.

How to pump? If for example, session 1 you can pump 30ml from one of your breast, session 2, try to pump out 35ml to 40ml even though you need to pump slightly longer. Say, 1st session you pump 30mins, next session you pump 45mins or until you get another let down. Think of your baby. Look at her video or picture to stimulate the brain for the let down. If you need 45 mins to achieve this let down, do the same for the next round. Jot down the time u need to get the same number of let down and stick to it. After sometime (give yourself 1-2 week) you will realize that you can achieve the same amount for 30 mins only, no longer 45 mins.

Sharing this from experience. When I had my elder girl I had to work really hard to increase my milk supply. Imagine go back to work still got to wake up middle of the night to express milk just to make up the day feed and to maintain/increase milk supply.. every day I slept less than 6 hours! I expressed till my breast literally like jelly, top skin can stick to bottom skin kind when I press them together..haha… that was when I realize what the other mummy mean by emptying your breast! I found this out by chance when one day I expressed longer than usual and suddenly I got a let down even though my breast was already very soft. After that let down, wow, I cannot feel any firm/hard area at all in my breast. All parts of my breast feel evenly soft. So, from then onwards, I try to achieve this every time I pump and after 1 month, I manage to total breastfeed my girl  Btw, I went back to work after 2 months of maternity leave then.

<font color="0000ff">Gal,</font>
That’s a slow and sure way of stretching the intervals. But if you want it faster, you can do this by stretching the intervals every 3 days instead of a week. Actually I think I jump straight into stretching the intervals. For me:

Day 1 and 2: Drag from 4 hourly pump to 5 hourly. Compare the yield of 2 session of 3 hourly with this new session. Try to achieve the same yield or close to the combine yield of the 2 normal 3 hourly session. It’s ok if you short If 10-30ml. Work harder the next round to close this gap. And the most important thing of all is to CLEAR your breast! If you thing you’re almost there, it’s time to drag another hour to 6 hourly.

Day 3 and 4: Drag to 5 hourly to 6 hourly. Repeat the above.

<font color="0000ff">Limmil,</font>
I think I’m the most compact when it comes to bringing pump to work! Because I very pai say of lugging the breast pump to take public transport lah..Haha… Ok, when I was expressing milk for my elder girl, no one know abt it. Those who doesn’t know me thought I go to gym every day..haha… I bought an addidas shoe bag to keep my avent manual pump ( pump keep inside a zip log bag), 5 glass bottle for milk storage, Fridge-To-Go cooler bag (the bottles put inside FTG). I can squeeze the FTG plus the manual pump into the addidas shoe bag. So compact right? So, every day I look as if I’m going to gym after work..wahaha…

This time round I have to use ameda dual pump (someone asking me what pump I’m using right?) because too much supply. Avent too slow for me. The motor is bulky. So I have to buy an extra set and put the motor in the office. I only bring back the flanges, the bellows and valves home. These I put inside a lock-it container as the valves are very fragile and I want to minimize air exposure. I bring two 240ml pigeon glass bottle (the slim type). It can fit the flanges perfectly so that I can express directly into them. Go back home, then transfer to small glass bottles. So, I put the FTG (with the 2 pigeon bottles inside) and the lock it container into my adidas shoe bag. Viola, I look as if I’m going to gym after work again.. hehe..

<font color="0000ff">Sunnyling,</font>
I heard that if mummy drop hair, baby will not drop hair. So, are you dropping hair? I’m dropping hair like crazy but not my girl. May be not yet?

Dreamgal,

Ask him, he just say he want to stay at home and watch television. It had been 3rd weeks liao he still cry daily sigh.... But the teacher say after we are gone he is ok liao. Hope he get over faster.

Me also thinking of rebond and colour cos now my hair look like shit. Need to clip or tie everyday.

Aria,

Now you mention, I drop lesser hair this time round compare to my first pregnancy.

havent dropped by for a while. Abt e bottle strike, we went to parentcraft but they oso cant be of much help. My gal was refusing and crying dat she went to slp at parentcraft. Woke up see bottle cry again till no choice gotta coax and coax. In e end, latched her on to calm her down n intro bottle to her again to play so she's less tensed abt it. Anyway, she's happily on bottle again. Thank God. Had been fussy wif breasts n only latch for 5 mins. Maybe due to letdown. Keep praying...

Abt e water issue, my pd says can gv abit of water to clear e breastmilk in e mouth so e tongue wont need to clean.

My fb: [email protected]

i'm the kiasu type. i don't do anything to my hair (except trimming). Will not dye nor rebond my hair..hehe..

i can't search using userid via iphone. any other way of locating you?

sunnyling : Could it be that during the holiday, he has been watching too much tv.

I used to restrict Glynnis at most 1/2 hr tv time everyday. But since lele come along, i became more lenient especially during holiday period as i needed some time to tend to lele. And thereafter, i find it more difficult to get her to sit down to do her work. She will request to watch tv everytime i ask her to sit down to do some activities.

some of you have pm your FB ID but i can't access FB in office. can only do so using my iphone but iphone can't search using email ID. I need to search by name. can you pm me?

dreamgal,

i tink better not colour cos i google ard the web,its stated not good unless u r sure the chemical did not come in contact with our scalp(not possible bah).

astro,
i hv similar prb with you. my bb always prefer left b n refuse to suck right one coz the flow of right is 2 fast. feels better with left b.. the result is my right b becomes bigger and engorged ..no choice, i pump out the milk. why such a small life so picky ah...

gal: haha. i took charlotte's approved pic as reference. hubby actually edited the pic in case they dun approve..

mrs neo: her hair is the first thing people will talk about.. one uncle asked my mum "how old already ah? got A LOT OF hair hor!!" haha..

check this edited one out:

3565182.jpg

Maybe i shall not colour and perm then. Think maybe i will just cut it short and have the same hairstyle as my girl. Young school girl hairstyle. Haa...

loke : Ya. Very nice hair. Can put on nice nice hair clips for her. Hippo's girl also got nice hair.
My lele is becoming a botak now. Lesser hair each day. Haiz...

aria jo: i'm dropping hair like mad! i see strands everywhere! so scary.... wonder if i'll go bald 0_0
Went to cut my hair real short... hoping it'll drop less this way :p hahhahah

PY : About EQ diaper.
I used it on Glynnis before. It leaked very badly leh. But sometimes it could be that the cutting of that diaper just don't fit the baby.

dreamygal: her hair too soft for clips leh. will drop out one..

aria: yah.. not black.. dunno y her hair brownish one. i think quantity like daddy's and texture like mummy's...

shugar>> im dropping hair like crazy too! i dun have much hair to begin with, im really worried i'll go bald! my hubby ask me to go cut short, as in really short kind.. but CNY coming, with a big round face and short hair, i dowan to look like a red ball rolling around!

loke : Later if i have the time, i go search for a photo of glynnis with clip taken when she was like maybe 6mths. She was botak then but crazy mummy just insist to put on clip for her. The clip dropped out the next moment after i snapped the picture.

I always like girl girl with lots of hair.