(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

jRRT >> just realised our Edds are just 2 days apart.. then how come u on 37+ weeks? im on 38 + alr (i.e. 39th week).

im havin mixed feelings.. want her to come out cos excited n scared of overdue babe.. dun wan also cos stil used to my life now.. scared of changes..

some more im collecting keys for my new hse in dec! so now looking at reno n furniture also.. scared next 2 months no time.. too many changes in life at one go not good..

actually im not keen on those herbs just that i know parents will insist on making, so just find out for them when's a good time.. lucky i no CL.. dun needa eat them everyday.. haha.. maybe just once a week to make parents happy..

annette >>congrats u are going to c babe soon! i dun usually log on on weekends cos im usually out shopping.. weekdays in ofc rotting mah.. haha..

glass: ya. i planned that lah. but things like cannot liao :S
teng talks a lot to ellie/my mum.. i tink it is the character

bbturn: ur hb is nice. mine is a task master :S
or rather. he is only like that with me.. others. he is SO accomodative :S i rotten.. and tired :S

babytum
er, I am coming to 38 wks this comg Wed liao... does this info help? hahahaha...

yes, mixed feelings def coz i oso dun wanna hv a overdue baby. somehow i am quite confident she will pop b4 EDD. she has been gd so far; heads down since Wk 27 despite me hvg LLP and seeking for her help to "push" placenta away fr her. hahaha. and when false alarm struck us at 34+ wks, I talked to her and said "its not time yet, darling! hang in there ok?" she listened and no progression of labour.

these few days i hv been getting the creepy crawlies feeling like i am abt to b due soon but yet can sense tt she is holding in there coz mommy here asked her to hold on till 38/39 wks. hope she really guai guai lah.

i've been talkg to her abt successful latching and sleeping thru the night recently.

wow! u hv a lot of activities upcoming in dec. hmmm, do not try to plan too much at a time else u might end up frustrated. somemore baby will still b pretty young in dec, so still need lotsa attn then.

Yeah, me not keen on herbs but still will take for the gd of my body. and since this will prob b my last preg, i intend to really tiao my body well during confinement this time.

Eh no leh, u hv to take those brewed tonics everyday! for me, its a practise once i hit 12 days. tts when i can start taking chicken and eggs. so CL will brew chix wif chix essence to start me off for a few days. then will b followed by chix brewed wif tonic wine like DOM. thereafter, will b wif dang gui etc. i know dang gui is v heaty, thus she reserved till the last wk. we can bui all the way till 40 days if we r continously taking in tonics daily during confinement coz our body is used to it. dunno if u heard of such things b4.

so u, me and astro are the last few ones waiting to pop in this thread.

Thanks Astro! Actually more disappointed than angry...Nonsense might help hahaha...But unfortunately I am having this massive migraine again! Just woke up and still having it...think it's the lack of sleep due to excessive noise pollution last nite. Btw I am not alone...no worries...at mum's place... been reporting here since last week.

ddnikz: Why not call parentcraft instead? 91193502. Where did you deliver? For me I attend their classes although not delivering at TMC...but think they will help anyone.

Glass: actually been going for appts with my mum since 3 weeks ago until the very last one. But this time round have to make impot decision like date to induce and might even be warded soon so, it's better with him around.

Hmmm think 112 days of MC refers to the ML right? How come your gynae can do that?

Astro: I m expressing BM for Samuel now coz his feed amounts/quantity have to be monitored. Sometimes I find when I express, seems like little hind milk and more fore milk... Alamak

<font color="aa00aa"> CONGRATULATIONS to all who had delivered!

I don't have much time to log in to SMH nowadays for chatting. hope to catch up with all of you soon.

PY, jia you! will f/up at FB ok.</font>

Re: sister kang,
no leh... When she pick up the phone, she pretty nice. Attitude changes when she learns that I have delivered in another hospital. Asked me to look for them instead. Else book an appt with her to talk abt it.

Re: latching
i tried again this morning. Bb willing to take on the right side breast. But i got a prob. My milk is the clear cloudy kind. Not fulfilling at all. What should I do???

jrrt>> aiyo.. but im afraid those herbs cause heatiness which thus causes constipation... n i rem attending mrs wong's class who says angelica interferes with milk supply???!!!

then wat do u take for the first few weeks after delivery?

astro>> my husb is the type who feels company is company. company will never appreciate you for your loyalty. its jus a place for us to earn our money..full stop..

PY: tink i saw u just now when i was doing up the admission stuff

mummies, i have popped n bb weighs 3.49kg. my gynae estimation quite accurate wor

oh my gosh... after delivering, most of u mummies seems to become quite busy... and i thought i can work from home during my maternity leave!!!

Glass: I wake Samuel up every 3 hours for his feeding. In the day he will mostly go back to sleep after that. Evenings sometimes after feeding he can get a bit cranky. Was worried he may be having colic so read up on that and saw that swaddling is a good way to soothe a wailing bb so I tried that and he stopped crying and we managed to get some peace last night.

maybe you wanna try and see if this works for your bb?

Loke
we need to go view thru the list to see whom r the last few to pop! I rem there were at least 2 mums wif twins rite? and both hv the same name?
But oh well, they will not hv time to really rest once their twins r here, let alone to come in here and post.
dun b too ambitious to work fr home during ur ML. ur co needs u to do tt?

Shugar
u dun hv to worry abt the composition of the milk... juz latch! ur body will know wat type of milk to give baby. But i rem hvg to latch each side for at least 10-15 mins so tt aft the thirst quenching foremilk comes the thick and rich creamy hindmilk tt keeps them full. Jia you!

ddnikz
so u went back to TMC?

babytum
during confinment our body is heaty and so we can take in all kind of herbs w/o falling sick eg developing bad sore throat etc. i dun rem hvg constipation prob aft taking them leh. i drink enuff fluids like milk, red dates tea and soup at meal times.
oh dear, i cant rem wat did i drink in the initial 12 days. if i rem correctly, only took chix essence every morning till aft 12 days then take in tonics.

astro : Glynnis showing some signs. She will cry if she wake up in the middle of the milk and see me feeding didi on the bed. She now stick to daddy more.

shugar : I've used Ameda before. Its quite a good pump. I have no complain on it. What do you want to know?

I called Tmc, parentcraft. The nurse there is definitely more helpful then sister kang. Told me that the actual milk only comes in a week later. Sigh... My CL has been bottlefeeding my bb. So worried she will ruin my BF plans leh... Cos I dont think she knows how to cup/syringe feed my bb

jrrt: i won't deny that i'm a little ambitious.. haha.. its my own company.. so i still gonna work no matter what.. i think those two twin carriers should have given birth long ago.. probablly early sep??

ddnikz: did u try telling the CL to use cup?

shugar/dreamygal: thx shugar, is it the duel electric type?.dreamygal, im the one researching fro pump now, very last min haha.u using which model for ameda pump?pretty lost when doing research on all these stuffs.

ddnikz: would our gynae be able to help?u wan call her n ask since she has 2 gers herself

Loke: ya i agreed. i thought we will ahev rpetty of free time at home initially hehe

babyturn: tts gd wo. my hubby can work 7days a wk lor,worked for yrs nvr even take mc even when sick n annual leave din even clear sometimes get forfeited ,find hims o stupid some times.if boss appreaciate ok, but no ,y bother haiz.

Loke: y use cup for feed bb leh?

annette: haha.. actually i cant remember why.. learnt from the parentcraft class.. but i guess its used so as not to confuse baby with bottle and breast?

now that my mom is back, i can at least take a breather and perhaps sneak out for a shoulder massage nearby later on!

Re: working from home during ML
i find it difficult.. at first i thought i could do some work when bb sleeps...aiyoh, end up i need more rest that him! looking after bb is really tiring especially when they fall asleep in your arm but stay awake once you put them down.

ddnikz
but u still latch rite?
u told the CL to btl-feed ur baby? Its not tt tough to cup feed them. I dun see why she cant do tt. Dun let her ruin ur plans. However, dun overstress urself too. u need to latch so milk will come in faster.

Loke
I see! its ur own company, tts y u need to work hard. Then i cant comment much alrdy. heee... i was abt to post why work so hard when they prob wun appreciate.
i mean there will b gd bosses, no doubt but frankly who will really appreciate the extra hrs u put in?

i guess its impt to establish some sort of routine in the 1st few wks or mths, so tt it gets easier to predict their habits later. so mayb u can slowly aim to work fr home for 1 or 2 hrs a day, then gradually increase the hrs? I hv not done this b4 so i am not sure. i feel its v hard to work fr home! muz b v disciplined!

annette: ops. Miser is like ur hb! :p .. so u find miser stupid? :p hahaha. appreciate ur hb lah.. he is a serious and committed worker! :p

yeap.. so as to avoid nipple confusion. using of cup will prevent that..

ddnikz: great u got some advice from TMC parent craft
.. if ur CL doesn't know.. u have to teach her.. that's what we did ot my lousy CL that time.. miser fed teng using a spn.. haha. darn cute :p

u cld however let him suckle to encuorage stimulatio first (coz pump cannot do as a good job as the bb) then feed him FM if still not enough.. coz at least there is stimulation to the glands to produce milk. then gradually phase out the FM as in more bm, less FM.. maybe that might work better?

Dreamygal: yalor. teng got MORE signs.. haiz. he sticks to me NON-stop.. wants to hold my hands.. cannot see me out of sight.. even when he can see me via glass or something. he still wants me inside the room! :S
later at home then i share more on this.. haiz..

congrats ginger!!

shugar: ya.. must swaddle the bb so that their Moro Reflex wun wake themselves up! the hippotamus series of swaddle very cute one :p
in fact ah. got systematic way of remoing the swaddle one leh. cannot all of a sudden let go.. till the bb loses the reflex and gains the ability to sleep thru in his natural sleep cycle. then can totally unswaddle

ddnikz : Try to latch as much as you can.

astro : Very sad. My hubby went back to work today and Glynnis will stay at my MIL's place till her papa come back from work and bring her back to me. Me super depressed now.

Astro: haha ya i find him stupidly working haiz.then theres this pax just need curry favour abit, talk but no action but yet get promoted haiz tts wokring life i guess.

I am back!! Good-bye to migraine!!! Had hell since morning and I puked! Eeks!!

COngrats Ginger! Looks like everything went well!! Take a goody rest ya!!

Loke: Why work during ML??! I will totally SAY NO if I see any phone calls or sms asking me to do anything! I will just say 'sorry on ML and bb is making me busy...and who ask you not to allow me to break my ML...Muahahahhahaha'

Yeah have found another perfect reason to SHOP later!! I need to buy cups for feeding the BB and cute little spoons!!

annette: ur hb is good. coz he doesn't 'cheat' pple wor

dreamygal: u missed glynnis a lot hor? u can go over ur mil place and take care of ur son as well while being able to see glynnis?

Re: Hardworking and committed hubby
Hmmm...think sounds like my ah lao too!! I am under the impression that his boss seems to favour his female colleagues and not giving him enough IMPORTANT responsibilities and yet in front of him keep saying, 'want to groom him etc etc'

Tien: u MS also ah?

Astro: tts y choose him as hubby lor haha but soemtimes just cant stand it. aiyo i gave up on reseraching for the pump liao

astro
my son is displaying the exact same symptoms like teng. i feel so needy by him nowadays. hahaha... but i told myself, its only for a couple of wks more that he has me all to himself... aft tt... no more...

Astro: Yep!! Migraine came and damage my brain further...will be able to sot sot for a while!!

Now I am sooooooo bored...half the day is slept away by me...what should I do?????????????

annette: then just 'any how' buy.. :p

jrrt: yalor.. :p tomorrow i want to bring him to school.. during next week.. i want to bring him to school also..

tien: hahaha. i like sot sot brains :p..

tien: aiya.. my ML anyhow take also can one.. haha.. i claim ml myself mah..

jrrt: good idea.. 1-2hrs.. and slowly increase.. hope i can do it manz..

now i'm fretting over my work more than if baby's head is engaged or not.. hahha...

AStro: Sigh only sot sot ppl can appreciate sot sot brain like mine...kekekke

Loke": No wonder. Then you should try to clear as much work as you can before delivery so that can be full time moo moo after that. By the way when you do work, remember try not to sit in a laid back position. That will also make it a little more difficult for BB to get engaged...try to sit with 'tummy dangling' in front. That's what the websites are saying...

tien: manz!! i hope that's not the reason why baby's still not engaged!!! howto sit with tummy dangling in front? my office is extremely cramped!! i dun even have space to lift up my legs..

Astro and annette: 112 days of mc, but dunno whether can take or not leh. Anyway, I want to go on no-pay leave.

Shugar: Elgin goes into a frenzy whenever he sees my breast. It’s like those vampire crazed shows like that. Super scary. Dunno why my left nipple a little short today. He can’t seem to have a good hold.

I’m trying to keep him awake now instead of letting him sleep.

I think my CL a bit rough with baby. She hits him quite hard and fast to burp him, and likes to rock him to cajole him to sleep. Then she also likes to stare at me when I’m bf, and keeps stepping in if my baby fusses.

Loke: That means you have to sit forward. As for lifting the legs, it can be done but you really need leg room for this. If your office is cramped maybe rotate the sitting position.

annette: me too, ordered Ameda dual pump from mumsfairy after doing so much research.. hoepfully it will work on me.. hee

Re: Maternity Leave
My boss just confirmed with me this morning. And she broke her promise,now she wants me to take straight 16weeks.. sianz.. i will lugi 2 PH if i taking straight.. but no choice, i am not the boss, what can i say..

astro : I'm at my mum's place in Woodlands and Glynnis in AMK. She will come over to spend the night. I really miss her a lot as this 1 and a half year, we are together for more than 20 hours everyday.

Tien : Today i'm alone with baby. My mum took leave on Thurs to Fri for 2 weeks. The last week, i will be alone again.

loke
wah! u fretting over ur work more than ur baby??? u need to relax alrdy!

glass
why is ur CL staring at u? chase her out of ur room when u BF lah. when i was bfg then, no one allowed in my room. but then again coz my PILs &amp; hb's siblings were stayg wif us then, i always shut my door when i BF. so CL oso dun come in when i am bfg. wats there to see???? only stress me wat. Only hb allowed to come in. somemore u say she steps in when baby fusses. Ask her to get the hell outta ur room! the last thing u need is another parrot talkg when u r alrdy tryg to grasp how to do a proper bfg session.

u can stop CL fr rocking bb to sleep. u hv to b firm and stand by wat u wan. else by the time she leaves, she'll oso leave behind those bad habits tt r hard to break!

hi Ladies! Just to update, i have also given birth exactly 1 week ago at KKH!
Been hiding at home since discharge trying to learn to BF my bb gal... nt forgetting those late nites as well!
today finally got a chance to log in, and the thread has moved so much since!

Dreamygal &amp; Astro: thanks for ur tips on the freestyle pump. I have been using level 9 for stimulation and pumping. It seems that even level 9 is not very strong for me. I can't really feel the suction. Maybe my pump is malfunctioning. Or maybe the softfit shield is the wrong size... I dunno which is the problem. I think I shld write to Medela to ask them for a replacement pump if I still don't feel any suction the next time I try. SIGH!

elly, i'm using freestyle as well, and i think the fit of the shield thingy is quite impt. if i doesnt fit to form a vacuum, i cant feel the suction as well.
another experience i had was dat all the parts had to be very dry. if not, somehow i cant feel the suction as well...