(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Re: cervix

I have been having some painful period like cramps for a few days. so my ob did a VE (Vaginal Examination, where she manually sticks her fingers into your vagina to check if it has opened) for me at 31 weeks and found that my cervix was soft. Apparently your cervix is supposed to soften in the last weeks of pregnancy (after it softens, it thins (effaces) and then opens (dilates)for delivery) and 31 weeks is too early. So she prescribed some meds to relax the womb, and told me to rest more. Then one week later, i started experiencing very painful contractions and had to be rushed to TMC. She then gave me some steroids to mature baby's lungs just in case i deliver prematurely, then i was prescribed bed rest until 36 weeks. This has happened for all 3 of my pregnancies! Both no.1 and no.2 came out at 38 weeks, which was a great relief! Sigh. But I always feel that it's better safe than sorry!

Re: Braxton Hicks
Normally, these contractions are not painful and irregular and will be a tummy tightening sensation -- tummy will become like a rock. But these contractions are no cause for worry. If they get painful and are regular and if you can still feel them after walking around or changing positions, then call your doctor.

Anyway, I have another 10 days to 36 weeks!!! Yay!

Ting: take care. try to ask for mc if possible. rest and don't walk too much.

Good morning everybody!! Have a great week, I'm still stuck in bed except to pee and poop and the office is still calling me. How annoying!

Morning gals,

How is your weekend??? Didnt sleep well for both day cos my boy wake up very early for the weekend.

I have my check up last Saturday and my baby weight 1.8 as at 32 weeks. Look small compare to the gals here leh.

Morning everyone.

Always have problem catching up with the postings on Monday because i seldom have the chance to pop in on weekends.

3rd nipple
I remembered i read some posts about 3rd nipple. I do have a 3rd nipple just next to my nipple on my right breast. Milk can really come out from there. It seems to flatten to a small lump after i stopped breastfeeding.

sunnyling : My boy weighs 1.8kg at 31 weeks 4 days. About the same size. My gynae said ok. Next visit 3 weeks later @ 35 weeks...

Hi hippo,

I was also play MJ last weekend but lost $$$ keke. So you one of the Mj fan can jio you next time when short of leg????

PY

I buy the MALM chest of 4 drawers also, white colour look good to me.

morning everyone

have not got the time to come in during the weekend and have missed out quite a lot of posts..

saw that some of you are planning your maternity leave. i tot of taking it 1 week before delivery which is from 12 Oct onwards coz EDD is 18 Oct and using that week to wash up the clothes but not too sure whether will it go as i plan.. hopefully it will..

i'm also experiencing e pain at the pelvic bone area, have got difficulty slping in the nite when turning..

nomsnosm: can i reserve one lilypadz from you. do let me know how to proceed with the payment. thank you.

mata
ME ME! I hv problem putting on my undies/bottoms while standing up. if i do tt, i feel as if my whole body gonna topple over and my lower tummy is v heavy. i hv been sitting on a stool to bath since months ago.

annette
think i am experiencing the same pain as u. its the perpetual sng-sng feeling at the upper V area. hv been hvg tt for the past few wks liao. i told gynae abt it last wk and she said its normal, wats more my girl is alrdy heads down, so naturally the pressure is there.

Angie
yes tt is braxton hicks (BH). It can be painless and will b irregular. For my #1, i experience BH quite late mayb aft 35 wks. but currently, i am alrdy experiencing it since Wk 30. But its fairly common and normal. Some hv it as early as mid 2nd trimester. I do need to stop and rest when BH hits at times. However, most times, its juz tightening of the tummy walls and no discomfort. It shld go away. only when the contractions are regular, then u need to go to the hospital.

Ting
baby shld turn heads down by 34 wks. Else by then he will probably b too big to turn down. Try going on all fours like a dog in bed for 5-10 mins every night. it shld encourage baby to turn heads down.

<font color="0000ff">Processing of Placenta</font>
Juz curious if any mummies here intend to process their placenta and consume later?
I browsed thru the links posted by the sept mummies and is toying wif the idea of doing tt for this delivery. Sounded gross to me initially but aft thinking abt it, its actually v nutritious stuff, isnt it?

cdjg: In the FAST scheme, the balance can be used to offset your hospitalisation charges. That's why i still signed up even though i'm in the 32 week. just to get the $100 voucher.

Itch:
Been's terrible over the weekend. Quite bad till i had this passing thought of inducing baby early. Really buay tahan. Somehow the skin condition spread to the eyes, and i'm having pigmentation and dryness at the corners of the eyes. Damn jialat and super depressed. The itch gets worse when i sleep, and i barely managed 3 hours of sleep every night.

Aloe Vera, i got mine from Nature's Farm. $12.90 for one big tube, it's called Lily of the Desert.99% pure. I think it's very good, too bad it's only a temporary relief. But better than nothing.

Taka Fair. Went to checked out on Friday night. it was GOOD! In fact, slightly cheaper than Robinsons and you can pratically get everything there. One of my prize buys is this Winne-the-pooh cot light, that has this dim light and plays 4 lullaby. Haven't tried the actual thing yet cos i hadn't gotten the batteries, but it is $29.95 from $59.95. Just seeing the price difference makes me very enticed. hahaha. For cheap stuff, there is this brand call Benbeni. You can get those loose misc stuff like towels, bibs etc.

Work: Instead of getting easier, i'm more loaded up. Kaoz. My backup is not much help either, creates more problem for me to resolve only. every single thing, he throws back at me and ask "how do i proceed from here". Kaoz
sorry ah, really need to rant.

ML: Although EDD is in 18 oct, i might start 1 oct. My energy levels just dip dived since 30 weeks. I'm tired and clumsy. Can you believe it, i rolled the NTUC trolley twice over my feet yesterday?!!

dreamygal: thank you for your advise.. still hoping that i can clear up most of the things within tat week coz now staying with PIL and dun really want to trouble my MIL to wash for me, tat's why tot of doing it in tat week.. think better play safe and wash be abit hardworking and wash bit by bit every wkend.

seems like most of you are experiencing the BH thing.. me up till now still don't have the feeling, heard from my fren its like 10x worse than menses cramp.. is tat true??

jrrt: ya i have also went through the placenta processing thingy.. from what i know the food that we take the nutrients will go to the placenta where it will be absorbed by the baby so the placenta is a nutritious thing.. but thinking of "wat if" the processing side took the wrong placenta which does not belong to you and processed handed to you.. oohhh.. thinking of it is gross... hence i have given up the idea...

btw do any of you feel sudden sharp aching at the whole back bone lasting like 10 to 15 mins?? have been experiencing that like 2 weeks ago..

<font color="aa00aa">Re: baby cot
My baby cot so the big, after assembled it in the baby's room, cannot bring to my mbr.
ended up another playpen will be in my room for the first few months because my mum will stay with me, don't want to wake her up at night if need to feed baby.

Re: baby balling up
I also got this hardening tummy since don't know when, very early I think. very funny, don't know what is he doing inside

Re; Pain at the urethra area
I am not so sure if we are talking about the same place, I have this super sharp pain that can make me tip toe and stop walking no matter where I am. The pain is familiar, I have this type of pain when I had UTI (urinary tract infection) and the pain is at the opening of the urethra. Cervix - there is no nerve there, no way we can feel pain at cervix and vaginal wall.maybe it is like what most gynea said, the head is there already but then my gynea keeps saying, it is still early to tell. *rolling eyes*

Re: hiccups
Yes, so cute the feeling...ahahaa..

Annette, I will be glad if I have a 2 rm apt too,you know, when I am cleaning the house, i can never settle everything at one go, need to rest and certain corner just have to leave it to other day.

bbseed, no problem.can reserve one for you. You can email me at [email protected]</font>

siangjiao..have same sentiments. my edd is arnd same date as yours. i remember few weeks back, i told my boss i dun think i will take off frm my office like 1 week before. but now.. i am jus thinking of last day in office by end-Sep. energy level is dipping. the walk to the office itself is unbearable.
bbseed - i have sharp shooting pains at the back bone too. have been taking MC to get away from work. Feel very guilty abt my frequent MCs these days but really cannot tahan sitting long in office anymore.

bbseed and vodkarib: i get these sharp pains too. The whole back machiam freze and i can hardly bend for a while. Sometimes it shoots to the butt,sometimes the spine.

I'll like to take MC too. Sometimes, i just wish the doctor gives me 1 week straight.

nomsnosm: i have sent you the email.. thank you very much...

vodkarib and siangjiao: i also want to take mc, now really no mood to work.. juz wan to lie flat at home.. sit too long stand up and walk pain.. walk too long pain.. even slping also got problem.. was talking to my hubby tat day dunno whether if i ask doc to give me mc from 1 Oct onwards untill EDD will he give.. hahaha..

btw have any of you started packing your bag???

annette: i'm staying alone.. haha.. too lazy to shift around.. not used to staying with in-laws my mum's place is too far. so i just OTOT.. anyway i drive. so it isnt that bad..

xoxo: haha... speaking of which.. i havent started doing any anklet for Angel yet!!

Mrs L: ooo.. work is crazy yeah.. i've got no choice. i brought it upon myself. hahhaa. suggested too many 'good ideas' that now i have to do it... but my working hours more flexible, and i can work from home, so not too bad.

sunnyling: my babe is 1.7kg at 32 wks. so your girl is not too small! and i'm surprised that my baby is small cos my hb is so tall and i'm on the fat side.. hahaha..

bbseed : Your 1st pregnancy? Actually during my 1st pregnancy, my BH is so mild that i don't feel it at all. So don't worry ya.

Most of my infant wear at my mil's place and she told my hubby yesterday that she will only wash them after the lunar 7th mth. Guessed i'll just wash those at mine and my mum's place first. In case baby wanna come out early.

siangjiao : Thought its quite easy to take 1 week leave from gynae?

<font color="aa00aa">bbseed, I received it! Thanks... you haven't start packing? you can start doing it in week 36. I kancheong spider, already packed.

blinkblinkgirl, my hub is 178 and I am 153, fat side also but our baby - medium size. almost same size as your bb, 31week - 1.6kg</font>

dreamygal: ya mine is 1st pregnancy.. so tat's why abit kan cheong ask first otherwise if got tat BH feeling also dunnow whether issit or not.. hahah... mi also doing the washing after the 7th mth.. which will be like in my 36 wks (now 33 wks)..

nomsnosm: no have not started packing will start doing that in the mid of sept, seems like there is alot of things to bring.. u have packed? just to find out are you bringing your pump along???

<font color="aa00aa"> why can only wash them after the 7th month? I got all the hands down and luckily all washed before the 7th month and nicely keep in baby drawers. I want to wash baby car seat leh today, can wash and hang inside the house?

bbseed,not bringing because the nurse at KKH told me no need, the 2 days stay in the hospital, very likely we don't have any milk to supply, let alone pumping them out, if needed, they have a professional pump, very powerful according to my sister who delivered in Mt A. so I am not bringing.</font>

nomsnosm: think shld be ok to hang it outside but heard that gotta take in like before 6pm (just heard what the olders say lah).. i'm still considering whether want to bring that coz up till now i do not feel any engorgement and there is not colastrum.. scared later no milk supply.. hahah..

bbseed
is ur fren talking abt real contraction pain tt is 10x worse than menses cramp? its def not BH. supposed to b painless and so far there is no pain when i experience it. And dun worry if u dun experience BH, not everyone gets it.

yah i've heard abt ppl being v concerned tt the placenta might b mixed up... i am still considering...

hippo>> I tot of that also.. but like not v practical leh.. baby sleep awhile cant sleep liao hehe.

annette>> there's 2 standard sizes for baby cot right.. my cot is the bigger one.. mattress measurement is 70x30.

sunnyling>> ooo white is still in stock. haa but white doesnt match my furniture colour leh.. so i am waiting for the lightest wood colour to come in, in early sept.. think this weekend i'm gonna check it out again

dreamygal: no leh, even when my gynae see the red, angry rashes all over my body, she did not offer to give me MC. I think the problem is i should have asked in the 1st place bah.

bbseed, vodkarib: just as we were talking about back pain, just now when i went to lunch, as i was taking the stairs, i felt a shot again and the whole leg went limp. Next time, i better hold on to the rails.

Blink,

My bb is a boy leh I hope he eat be bigger size when out at least hit 3kg.

PY,

I like white cos I have white chest drawer for my first boy but brought from Seahorse that time.

Thanks for all the clarification on BH....

As much as BH and the constant movement can be uncomfortable at times, I think I can going to miss this feeling after I deliver...

Mrs L: yr hubby is quite funny...hehe. I also had to educate mine on all these technical terms...hehe. Passed him a few of my pregnancy books and he said," so many, which should I start first?" but he's qite good and started reading one or two of them....hehe.

my hubby is the one reading the pregnancy books and updating me on wad's next, wad to expect, and when i tested for my GD, he went to read up about GD etc.. seems like my hubby more gan chiong than me! *guilty*

regarding BH>>
i only encounter the skin ard my belly button being overstretched, not sure if it is BH... but when that happens, that area feels super tight and is painful..

mata: oicc.my gynae din do anything just say normal, hope really normal.

sunnyling: mien same as urs.1.8kg at wk32 too.Dreamygal , y urs still once in 3 wks?shd be once fortnightly liao wo,heard fr wk35 or36 be wkly.

sunnyling/hippo: maybe during ML when we get really bored, can get togther for MJ session haha and hubbies taking care of our bb:p But are u both super gd players?im average player wo

jRRt: mine the pain is at the lower V portion wo,is urs like contraction or muscle ache type?mine is like those tight ,heaty yet err..aching pain, worse is there 24hrs a day.it started last wk, urs for a few wks? not sure i can tahan for how long.

bbessed/siangjiao/vodrik:i apply leave end sept to clear leave n let my HL/mc start 1st oct as need clear lot of work, my boss dun allow me to take leave coz its vacation term exam period ahhhhhhhhh shd i just throw mc/HL, now so painful cnat imagine then when we aldy at wk36
bbessed, my frd said not much of a prob getting mc/hl fr gynae near EDD coz we definitey need rest then lor

nomsnosm:2rm apt then no rm for kids lor haiz. i think my hubby is more suitable to be househusband then me as housewife haha.he has been doing cooking,washing n cleaning lor,im like very bad hor

blinkblink: be careful wo since u staying alone now.better keep ur mobile with u whereever u go then can call for help

sweetzinc: my cot is same as urs also. urs is new apt isit, tts y the master bedrm so small.mine can just fit in,not much space afterwhich.

jrrt: guess she's refering to the contractions.. got abit confused.. oic so not everyone will experience BH, initially i tot its like a must got thru process..

siangjiao: its safer to hold on to the rails when going down the steps, as we will not know when the sharp pain will come.. you gotta be careful ya...

PY: regarding the baby monitor, recently bought one (avent brand) as a gift, but that one does not come with a screen. it can only detect the room temperature and when baby is crying..

for the reading, i ask my hubby to read and summarize for me, too lazy to read.. but ever since he subsribe the weekly update thing, he has never touched the book again..

annette>> yes new apartment... but it's not even the master bed room! ROAR!!!
mil is taking the master room.. so i only can have the common room.. >.< so it's even smaller!!

angie: not to worry, from wat i know not everyone's belly button will stick out..

annette: if you really cannot tolerate, thn should juz give MC/HL and rest at home.. juz imagine gotta tolerate the pain, ache and handle the work, will go crazy.. i will see how the aching and nite slp goes if really cannot thn will pop by gynae to request for MC.

dreamygal: ya my chck up is also once fortnightly and the last 4 wks will be on weekly basis..

me juz reach 33wks still got quite a few weeks to go.. last 2 week went for chck up, bb's weight 2.3kg, doc says avg and will be going chck up this week..

Angie, I think it depends on how much your belly skin is stretched.

Mummies, questions again... Sorry, I really very lost.

For water proof sheet, do we let BB sleep on it in the cot? Or only use if we changing diapers?

bbseed >> yup alot of moms bought avent.. but it does not come with a camera.. but those with camera like babyplus is so expensive! ha

Angie,

Me in 32 weeks also out a bit nia.

Annette

haha good idea but thk my hb will kill me to ask him take care of bb and I play mj.

Recently I so tired to work I will take half day and play with my friends hahahaha

ddnikz: i bought 2 types of waterproof sheet - 1 is the rubber one that i will use it after shower and the other one will put it in the cot for him to slp..

PY: ya i also saw the babyplus during the motherhood fair, its very expensive.. but looks very steady.. hahah..

how i envious all of you...

mine checkup still once a mth n next visit is 11 sep, which will be my 34th wks liao

gynae still not yet talk to me about anything or ask me to come twice a wk...

m i too gan cheong or is he too slow?haizzzzz

my belly button already made its way out since dunno when.. actually i tink its kinda cute to pop out.. but i dun like it that my belly button looks dirty (not that i never wash!!!), i tink is due to pigmentation.. my armpits are dark too..

sweet

its very hard to stay with ILs de, conflict.. no other choice? i oso staying with them... lifes sucks...

better ask ur hubby dun involve his name as owner. or dun involve ur ILs name as co-owner

my hubby is owner and IL is co owner, many problem... many many problems problems.. our rm too small for bb cot oso.

pardon me for saying, reali dun involve in the names, especially if your ILs are not financially stable by themselves. i dun wan u to live in regret like me

bbseed,
What do you mean by after shower use? As in changing pad at the diaper changing station?

mie mie,
I also same leh. the belly button not only looks dirty, have a black vertical line also. So ugly.. and the armpits. shucks man. Hope the colour will go away after birth

I stay with IL since married also. The hse is under my and my hb, IL only tenant.

I learn to close one eye after staying together for so many years. Sometime close 2 eyes.

bbseed : Is it a tradition? Anyway, I will be bringing my pump along to the hospital.

siangjiao : Ask for it bah. Get some rest.

Angie : Mine also not out loh.

annette / bbseed : Don't know leh. Maybe i'm not first time, so not so gan cheong.

Lin>> hmmmm i'm not in the kind of scenario that you've painted. We're just staying with my mil for a period for 1-2 yrs.. while waiting for our new flat hehe.

We already bought our flat. so the house we are moving in, is solely belongs to my mil.