(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hi Mums and MTBS,

I'm new to this Motherhood Portal and thread thingy. But hv been reading your msgs and found it really informative and helpful.

I'm a 1st time mum and will be doing C-sect in Oct. Need loads of advice

Hello, just went for my gynae's check out this morning. All is well, although i lost weight, baby is 2kg at 32+4 weeks. Did the growth scan, baby's at the 50% percentile. Dietician also say i'm controlling my diet well and allowing me one more serving of fruit a day.
Regarding rashes, gynae also boh bian, she sympathises with me cos she had this encounter too, but she said there is nothing much she can do due to the medication limitation for pregnant woman. Her only advice is to moisturise, moisturise and mositurise. By the way, my waistline is 37.5 inches. I think baby is tucked nicely inside my body cavity.

Anyway, since all is well, and i'm happy that hubby accompanied me today (1st time in 3 months), i celebrated with a slice of butter cake...(very bad i know, kekeke) Surprisingly, my rashes also didn't feel so terrible today

now back at the office, struggling with some reports... yawn.. 31 more working days for me.

mata: NOw that you mentioned mooncakes, my mind is now thinking about where to find mooncakes!!! I want to eat now! Where got sell? I want to eat bing pi

diana,
eh, post the link to see your interview leh?!
i dun get My Paper at my house. someone scan and post here can?

xoxo,
audrey will catch up in no time. just like she did last round. so dun worry. get a lot of rest and pls dun entertain your ex-colleague's phone calls anymore. they aint paying you to pick up the calls man

sotong
got your bottles already. pass u your playtex liners next week. i better dun forget

ong,
WAH!!! 16 sep!!! after that come back and share your birth story hor. i think you shud be the first to pop, barring any other surprises...

hmm... pity ur gynae dun get special rates. mine have tie-up thats why cheaper. but the sales rep quite ok leh. anyways since gynae is the one collecting cordblood, we just go along with stemcord lor. of course any point is our doctor frens all banking with stemcord so we just monkey see monkey do lah. they're the professionals right? ;)

re: mooncakes
funny u guys mentioned this. THE BIG BAD HIPPO ALREADY ORDERED HER STASH!!! bwahahahaha... citibank flier says "20% disc for raffles hotel mooncakes for first 1,000 online orders". so i promptly went and order 2 BOXES already!!! hehehe... :p

Diana
yah as i was reading tt report tdy, i was thinking: Nothing can beat the assurance u get when u can hear and see how the baby is doing. mayb the webinar is useful for those preparing to conceive or need more info. but in times of urgency, who will wanna bother to surf the web when u can rush down to 24 hr clinic?
if u r old, then i am older liao.

sotong mum,
yes finally a huge sigh of relief, literally.

agree tt the magic words, "Baby is growing well, all is fine. I shall see you next month" is the most impt. all the other figures is juz a gauge only.

ong
wow, 5 yrs ago the CL rate is alrdy $1.8K? Hmmm, consider quite steep then? In 2006, think i paid $1.7K coz i booked the CL early and it was oso partly coz i told her my close fren rec her. I understd tt fr her, the rates r revised mayb once every 2 yrs. Machiam like wedding table rates tt increase every yr!

envelope
no problem! hope it helps u! do update us.

Shugar: *Hugs*, we're in the same shoes. But hehe, i plan to buy them and keep them in the freezer until after delivery... I can't imagine missing my ping pi champagne chocolate truffle mooncake for a year. I love the ones from Raffles the Plaza. Flaky yam mooncake is one of my favs too. Bought at the Taka mooncake fair last year and fell in love with it.

Robinsons sale: I checked it out last weekend. Most of the items on 20% discount. However, cardholders do not another 20% on top of the 20% already given.

oh, btw for gynae visit, are you seeing your doc on a bi-weekly basis now? My gynae wanted to schedule 4 weeks later and i was surprised. Then she say ok la, i'll see you 3 weeks later but definitely not in 2.

glass,
normally raffles place change alley will have all the mooncake stalls set up there. but i dunno whether they have started this yr. maybe ask if anyone works around there? then go and EAT THERE LOR!!! hahahaha...

<font color="aa00aa"> hi angie!! Your c sect is a planned one? I think all of us here are aiming to have natural delivery. Nice meeting you!!

siangjiao,
was gonna suggest the same thing to shugar!

shugar,
buy and freeze in freezer lah. after delivery take out and whack lah.
i already gave instructions to hubby. once i pop, he has to go and get me sashimi from my fav jap restaurant and tao bao to hospital for me. hahahaha...

hippo>> never tot of freezing mooncakes before. haha.. always wallop on the spot once i buy them.
talkin abt sashimi- am salivating over it. i think i shld do that too. special orders for sashimi once i deliver too. er.. i dun suppose it will affect breastfeeding?!?!

<font color="aa00aa"> hippo, sounds desperate leh...I don't think my yam mooncake can be store in the freezer and still nice, I am like vedjarib, eat on the spot, if left for days, I won't take already.</font>

nomsnosm, natural delivery is good but I opted for C-Sect coz of age and health reasons. Feel that both baby and me will be safer.

Anyone delivering at Mt A?

siangjiao: Regarding the rashes, I developed quite severe rashes on my legs during my first trimester. It was so itchy tat I woke up in the middle of nite scratching like crazy. The cream gynae gave me doesn't help. My sis recommended me to try an E.Excel's product called Pearlin II whc is a natural food supplement that is good for skin n reproductive system. After I consumed for 1 wk plus, the rashes gone.

jRRT: oh yah, congrats on the good news!!
Hope I'll be lucky too!

Siangjiao/hippo: hmmm, buy and freeze? will it still be nice or will the bing pi become hard and dry? HAhaha, maybe i be so desperate I will do just that! :p

I'm hunting around for sugar-free birthday cake for my birthday next month! So sad hor! hahaaha :p

Angie: hi there! I'll be delivering at Mt A.

<font color="aa00aa"> sugar-free birthday cake?
normal cake one bite also cannot? is sugar-free cake nice? I've tried sugar-free cheesecake before, it was very very nice!!!

angie, take mooncake now? no mood mah..heheee</font>

do you any mummies here use california baby products? have never heard of this brand until i joined the forum and browsed thru BPs.
is the brand really good? as compared to e.g. pigeon or kodomo baths.. is it worth it to pay more for california bath?
how abt the ever popular calendula cream - is it a gd cream to prevent diaper rash? (as compared to maybe avent etc.)?
seems like there are a lot of brands out there now. i only rem my mum used J&amp;J and kodomo for my baby cousins maybe 10 yrs back. hehe

oh..my hubby/myself have eczema history so not sure if bb skin will be sensitive

Anyone interested in Avent manual pump? Used once only, comes complete with brand new spare parts..

I'm letting it go cheap (at a reasonable price you think it's worth), can't get my boy to latch so have invested in a duo electric one to save time on pumping.

Please PM me. So sorry for interrupting!

Angie: Oh i can't take mooncakes coz I got GD... no sugar for me till i pop! :S

nomsnosm: Hmm duno leh, but i imagine there's lots of sugar in cake?? I think cedele has custom order sugar free birthday cakes. Maybe I'll try there.

shugar, oic. just saw the EDD of most of u in another post and yours is around 05 Oct rite?

so our babies will be abt 2 weeks apart...cool!

tot of getting my maternity towels and breast pads from mothercare, under mothercare brand, any feedback?

<font color="aa00aa">angie, I am getting the silicone breastpads from USA at $35, you wanna join, a few of us are getting and I need to have 12 pairs to enjoy the rate. now is selling at $49 spring maternity. Use this one, no leaking/wastege of milk!</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> angie, is SGD35, sorry didn't make it clear. It is much cheaper so we get it online. Now got 7 pairs already, maybe another 3 pairs then can order.</font>

Hey mummies! I am back from my super sinful carbonara lunch cum tea break + lotsa bread and butter....I am sooooooooo dead....better exercise and stop eating this much before my appt on 7th.

Thanks, nomsnosm for the info. In that case, I do not need to make a special trip down. Just go after my gynae appt.

Re: CL lady
Wah you mean still got CL lady at 1.9k? Mine is 2k. But from agency...contact from mum's fren....really reluctant to have one...my mum kept insisting...sian

Re: California baby products
This one if highly recommended by my fren who has 3 kids. She swears by it cos she said that it's good for sensitive skin. But I am going with pigeon first and see if baby likes it or not...

sotong>> me me me.. most prob will be taking the 2 bedder in Mount A as well.. your EDD is 10 Oct, mine is 15 Oct.. high chance we might bump into each other? heehee

ong>> wa, i tink you're gonna be the 1st to pop in our thread.. and that is like another 2.5 weeks to go?

shugar / siangjiao>> hope i will be the lucky one who gets to eat mooncake? the mooncake festival is on 3rd Oct, maybe Isabelle decides to come out before that, then i will be able to eat some! Confinement can eat mooncakes right?

<font color="aa00aa">xoxolight, you wanna make payment for the 2 pairs of lilypadz you reserved? I think I will go ahead and get 12 pairs in order to secure the price. I'll see if my other friends or not. Thanks. You can email me directly at [email protected]</font>

how was the taka shopping trip for the ladies?

i went browse browse earlier.. then i got bored! heh. left earlier.. didn't join joyce and company..came back and sleep..
teng beside me, playing and talking to himself. just now he 'taught' me to recognise the animals on the flash cards.. i was still drowsy.. then he showed me a card and said 'Mama, is this a zebra?'.. i just said yes yes. he said 'mama, no, this is giraffe!' :S.. ha.. :p

vodkarib: teng uses the CB series.. shampoo, conditioner.. calendula cream.. good cos he has excema.. so far so good.. wah.. calendula cream as diaper cream?! exp :p i used it to soothe his insect/excema spots etc..
many products which heal the skin.. has calendula.. the boy very atas.. miser tells me.. 'need to use so exp skincare for teng meh?'.. i told him 'shut up'.. :p

yay! I have mooncake chomping kakis!

siangjiao/hippo
I want the raffles hotel champagne truffle ones!will go book later, can pick up on sunday already!!! a little bit of liquor i think ok, right??
Hahaha! thanks for the freezing tip! I will go freeze them then can eat throughout confinement also! SLURP!

Sorry shugar
didn't mean to remind you about your GD.

Hello Angie,

Wah vodkarib! Now i also want sashimi leh!!! i think i was too deprived already. Hub always not around to indulge my cravings, so maybe now everything also want to eat!!

mata: hehehe. its ok! :p maybe i will also try buy some now and freeze it for later ah... gynae says i can relax a bit on the diet once BB is out!

yay! I have mooncake chomping kakis!

siangjiao/hippo
I want the raffles hotel champagne truffle ones!will go book later, can pick up on sunday already!!! a little bit of liquor i think ok, right??
Hahaha! thanks for the freezing tip! I will go freeze them then can eat throughout confinement also! SLURP!

Sorry shugar
didn't mean to remind you about your GD.

Hello Angie,

Wah vodkarib! Now i also want sashimi leh!!! i think i was too deprived already. Hub always not around to indulge my cravings, so maybe now everything also want to eat!!

welcome Angie.

Welcome Envelope (heh.. a bit slow to welcome u).. i used to call myself Paper Clip.. hahahaha..

hippo/PY/Mie/Gal: the bumper mat i was talking abut this morning.. they will send to ur house..

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/1254501.html?1250260742

coupled with the play yard ringing it..
http://www.fingerhut.com/ProductGroup.aspx?offergroupxid=90044
(not this one per se. but similar concept and design.. theone i am talking abuot is the Haeim (think wrong spelling).. playyard.. can order extra panels.. if want bbs/toddlers more room to crawl/walk/roll/fall(!).. )

PERFECT containment for our monkeys.. eh.. ok.. bbs.. when they get mobile!

IMHO, better than a play pen.. in the long run..

all can be ordered via Cheng Soon or something like that (aiya. forgot the name again.. in china town.. they sell a lot of toys.. etc will do deliveries. playyard is big)..

u ladies can consider sharing panels.. i got the 6 panels playyard and the bumper mat.. it has served me well..

oh.. just saw on the same page as the bumper mat url.. they got the bumbo seat as well.. kekeke. i got that the last time also.. kekekeke. good to 'stuff' the kid itside.. starting around 4mths..:p

Hi Mummies/mummies to be

I'm from July thread 09 and just given birth. Due to health issues, the herbal stuff for confinement which I bought was not used hence I'm selling them.

They are bought from Hockhua.

1. Red Dates Seedless Premium 1kg
2. Black Dates 1 kg
3. Honey Dates $2.50 per pkt
4. Longan (Grade A) 1kg
5. 4 bottles of DOM
6. 4 bottles of Chinese Rice Wine

Pls PM me for the items and price. Tks!

mie: u solid lah. ok. in future.. i suggest.. u direct the rest where to get the things.. hahahahah :p

i seriously think u go and click on EVERY BP/Spree link in forum liao!!!!!

for mommies who hv checked out playpen at $139 and $149 at taka bb far, do u know wat brand is it? n wat is the dimension?

do they come w/ free matress n bedding set?

do the fair sell babysafe latex mattress too?

wat r the best buy for other items?

Mascot: ur gynae got the rash before?. i see.. ok. ur gynae is 'humane'.. heh. my gynae.. has 5 kids.. and all of them no such complications.. no MS.. no nothing.. sometimes i wonder if she's wonder woman :p