(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Happen to chance upon your thread. Being a 'lizard-hater' myself, I have to share this fabulous tip. It's actually quite easy to kill lizards. You just need to pour hot water on it and it'll die almost instantly (cos' it's cold blooded). Think it's also less torturing.

Now i dun depend on my hubby to kill lizards anymore...

Two newly hired part time maid (from 2 different places) stood me up today. I certainly have wonderful luck.

linny_47 : er..how to first catch the lizard to pour the hot water? i dun even dare to go near one. If I do try to whack the lizard, I pretty much freak coz' scared of the tail. *shiver*

Gal^: Lizards usually hide in one corner after u chase them with insecticide. Then I'll retrieve some hot water to 'ambush' it. But of cos' I kinda flood the whole place during the process :p

morning all mommies,
anyone battling with severe belly itch and losing sleeping over it?

anyway to overcome the itch besides applying mosituriser/calamie lotion, applying heat pack relieve and taking anti-itch pills (prescribed by gp?

WW >> Yeah, I wouldnt want to use insecticide if I can help it. Hubby will usually kill it by hitting it with a roll of newspaper. He's good at it, that's why asked him to get rid of it lor. Who knows, he's so tired that he asked me to leave it be, so I had to resort to insecticide.

Lin >> My mum also said lizards eat flies/mosquitoes or whatever, but I definitely cant stand living with one under the same roof!! This is one of the things that totally freak me out, so whatever good it does, no thanks, I'll still get rid of it! :p

Linny, haha ... flood the place with hot water? Err... cant leh... end up more work to do. It was on my kitchen wall when I spotted it and I just had to kill it there and then. Also dont want to accidentally scald myself.

Cat02 >> I dont hv any itch, but my colleague does. It happens in 3rd trimester and it was so bad she will even scratch until bleed. Her gynae gave her steroid cream but she tried not to apply if she could help it as the cream is not that good for preggers.

WW >> Is that your CL you're talking about? Freeze a few days' soup? Like that got fresh meh? You shd take freshly made soup, then more nutritious. The most I did was when my mum made me those chicken with wine dish and if I had some leftover, I would heat up and finish it the next day. Never had a dish lasted me for more than 2 days. Even so, it happens only occasionally, cannot be daily got leftover lor. And soup is freshly made daily.

So did you tell her your requirements? Are you keeping her?

Hi mummies-to-be

Sorry to interrupt. I've delivered in Apr 09. Have bought the Mini-Electric Plus (dual pump) + cooler carrier for $380+ in Dec 08 and is now letting go at $280. The package comprise of the following:
- Dual pump + BN cooler carrier
- 2 valves, 6 bottles & 4 membranes (of which 2 BN)

Above in excellent condition: 9/10 as I only used for 3 months, 2 pump per day. Pls PM me for pictures if you are interested. Self-collection at Telok Blangah.

Cockroaches and Lizard?? I will scream loud loud... And let them have the luxury of the whole kitchen for the entire night...

dreamy: that's so passive!! hahaha.. i'll also scream loud loud and jump around though.. got once i also quarrel with hb because of a stupid cockroach.. he said i dont have to scream... but that thing almost jumped on me!! how to not scream.. plus hb in the toilet pang sai-ing.. grrr.. hahha.. i gave him a piece of my mind.. now he also guai guai help me settle the cockroaches. i cant be bothered if they are in the kitchen.. but not in my room!! hahaa...

hello all
been a looong time since i posted. Im so busy with my new maid..she been with me for about a month now. Thank goodness i get a maid earlier..MY BACK IS BREAKING...and my #1 keep asking me to carry him..
Which I realise we should not carry heavy stuffs..cuz my back cracks here and there (literally with sound!) after bringing him out for a day..I told myself no more carrying him..maybe for less than 3mins..MAX.

Hehe, so how are you gals doing? My EDD is 18th Oct..But i might be a Sept mummy..cuz my gynae said since my first birth took only 4hrs plus i also induced 2 weeks earlier that time. His guess is #2 will pop out much earlier.

Are you gals going for induced or natural (means wait for the water bag to burst)

i have a problem, and .need ur help...

my hubby has quarrel with his dad 2 wks ago and hasnt spoken to each other cos due to my hubby bz schedule and they havent got the chance to see each other except for a few minutes a day.

this morng, when i told his maid that i m going home, she told me that his dad ask her not to clean up my hubby room. fyi, his dad is paying for the maid monthly salary and my hubby is paying for the monthly levy.

actually i was wondering if should i tell him abt it cos my hubby likes his room clean and tidy. and i feel that my hubby is entltled to his maid's help too... but, when he called jt nw, i told him abt it... sort of regret it, cos i scared make them quarrel again and me and the maid is in diffcult position, seem like we telling tales n etc.. (but when i spoke to the maid this morning, i already told her that i will inform my hubby) .. am i wrong to do it? i reali scare my hubby will quarrel with his dad again, his temper very bad de... HOW?

hi chnyle,

i am replacing the following parts for my old avent duo pump for hygiene reasons. Even though it's my own pump, just feel better if get new parts for the following:

(a) 2 new pump bodies
(b) 2 new silicone diaphragms
(c) 2 new white valves
(d) 2 Let-down massage cushion

The plastic tubing and everything else don't come in contact with the milk so I'm not replacing those.

I emailed philips-avent for the prices. Hope you find their reply to me useful too

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Dear Ms Famela,

Reference to your enquiry below, the parts for your ISIS IQ Duo pump are available at:

The Philips Experience Showroom
620A Lorong 1 Toa Payoh
TP4 Building Level 1
Singapore 319762
Tel: 68824570

Operating hour: Mon - Fri : 9.00AM - 6.00PM
Sat : 9.00am - 1.00pm

It is packed and consists of 1x silicone diaphragms,1x duckbill valve,1x let-down massage cushions $20.00 w/gst.
For the body pump 1x is $20.00 w/gst.

Best Regards,
Rina Long
Philips Experience Showroom<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

soh,

am hoping to go natural delivery this time round too. my EDD is 9th october. I'm definitely going on leave from 1st Oct onwards so work til end sept.. Hopefully baby won't come out too much earlier. But if she does, then there's nothing i can do also la.. i've already told my bosses that my last day will be 30 sept. 1 week to rest and settle down and settle the stuff at home.

but there are many pple who work till they pop. my fren worked til the day her waterbag started leaking at work. baby was 3 weeks early. she was quite flustered when it happens but it worked out too in the end. really cannot tell lar these things.. know wat i mean?

depends on personal preference too with regards to how early or how late you wanna go on leave oso i guess

im hoping to tahan until i give birth, but from the way my back is aching and my legs swelling, i think i might be going on ML on week 38 (which is 1st oct).. have a feeling baby is coming out on 5th Oct (my EDD is 15 Oct).. actually is more of i hope baby will come out on 5th oct..
if possible, will want to go for natural, meaning contraction started or waterbag burst or 'show' appearing.. natural also can mean there is induction ma.. coz having contraction doesnt mean the waterbag burst le, may still need gynae's help to burst the waterbag to hasten the contraction process...

Soh : I worked till the last day. My #1, i delivered on 9th April (monday). That night when my water bag leaked, i sms my boss that tmr she wouldn't see me for the next 3 mths.

But before that i did inform her that i may disappear anytime.

blinkblink : There's a lizard in my house. I see it quite often when i go to the kitchen to prepare bottle and uniform for my girl at night before i zzz...

So, whenever i see IT, i will scream and jump. My hubby also always tell me not to have such a big reaction, no need to be so scared... ... Blar Blar Blar...

shugar (shugar) : Haa... Giving the guys a chance to save us from distress.

lin : You have already said it, so worrying too much now is not going to help anything.

Maybe just tell your hubby that he needs to have a talk with his dad. He is still the son, talk to his dad nicely.

Hi Femela, thanks for the info. It comes in handy for me. We have the same breast pump. I shall get those you mentioned. I thought it would be ex to get those accessories. It seems not the case.

hi all, I went for a scan yesterday. Cannot see my baby's face again! His hands were blocking the face. Weight ok, at 29 weeks, 1.27kg. He seems to have a head full of hair already.

My ob is going overseas in Sept, so I have to go to her friend's clinic during that time. Just realised that there are about 10 weeks to go!

ladies.. i'm looking for Himalaya Herbals baby care &amp; hair care range but don't seem to be able to find any at retail pharmacies such as Guardian and Watsons. Anybody knows where I can find them? TIA!

hi pei yu, it's just normal scan. I could see a layer of hair (looks furry) around the head. The ob pointed it out. I was born with a head full of hair. Hope baby follows me, coz my hubby has inherited balding problem. Thank goodness he still has hair, though, must see doctor.

glass: ah how cute! i like babies with a nice tuft of hair :D hope mine will have too coz i was like a mini porcupine when i was a baby.

shugar: same here. coz i find bald babies a little strange, esp when the mummies tie ribbons to super fine hair that can't be seen. My cousin reminded me of Mini Me for the longest time before she grew her hair.

dreamygal: haha.. i'm ok with lizards and moths. but not cockroaches.. keke.. hb is the opp. he cant stand moths.. he got to chase them out of the house. but i just pretend that i've got pets at home.. hahaha... anyway.. if one got phobia means got phobia. 10 years later u'll still scream at a lizard at ur hb will still tell u that u no need to have such big reactions.. i guess that's just life and the fun parts of life itself. hehe...

glass: haha. ur description of ribbons on super-cant-see-fine hair is funny.. so the ribbons must be floating.. hehe.. but its so cool to see ur baby's hair even before its born!! and yeah. we all got about 10 wks to go!! final countdown.. wahha.a.

oh yes, i have this pain below my stomach, above my belly on the right for some time. It's a pulling feel. It turned out that the baby's feet are right there, so they are pressing against the uterus on my muscles. My baby is already head down now. I need to sit up straight just to feel comfortable.

loke: I hope I don't offend anyone with that. But sometimes mummies buy so many clips and ribbons, they are just excited to use them. Mine is a boy, so I can't. Hehe.

10 weeks seem long, but time flies! I still get people telling me my tummy is too small, but the measurements are fine.

glass: hehe.. i dun think anybody expects the baby to have super fine hair esp for a girl. so its understandable that they wanna buy and that they wanna use it.. cos looks cute mah..

blinkblink / glass : My girl started dropping hair at 4mths and she got very little hair. Her passport photo looks funny as she got little hair but i still clip on a hairclip for her. Haa... See her photo...

Her passport photo
2715058.jpg

No hair Glynnis
2715059.jpg

glass : Small ok as long as measurement and weight ok.

dreamy>> i intend to shave my girl when she is 4 months old, coz the old folks say will grow more hair like that.. dunno how true..

i like glynnis's passport photo!

miemie : Ya. heard before. But i never shave her as i dont like the idea of girl girl having no hair but who knows... Haa... Still ended up like that... Haa...

Astro : Very fast, now our little babies are all toddler who are always up to some little mischief.

shugar : Thanks ya. Changed a lot right? Comparing this picture and the one you saw that day...

I was reading glass and blink's post on girl with very little hair, so immediately... Haa... But frankly, was quite scary then, our bed were always full of mine and her hair...

Ya, after giving birth, i lose quite a bit of hair also. Luckily not to Glynnis' extent... Haa...

Dreamygal: The one i saw that day still as cute! :D hehehe
Yup, heard from my fren she and her bb gal also shed hair at the same time around the 4th month. :S will grow back anot?? (i mean ours!!)

hi glass

heard ppl say that tummy small but our top is very BIG, is urs BIG?

my tummy also very de small for 26 wks, but ppl who just met up with me say my top is very BIG