(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

i was looking forward to being back at work today after spending the entire of last week sulking at home..but my cranky system has just prevented me from doing that. started to be the national icon again this morning. HB surrendered and applied for leave too, gone to e supermkt to buy ingredients for my blended rice solution. Sigh. Sometimes I feel like such a liability to him and such a baby myself! Truth be told, am a little depressed today. Just feel uneasy and not myself..entertaining dark thoughts too abt why now, thinking of quitting work altogether..to how to cope with work (though my clients and colleagues have been superb, I don't know how long more they can tahan me being so topsy turvy)..and how i should be coping.
sorry for the ramble, thought of just saying what i have been feeling today here so it gets off the chest and i know some of the babes here are also not having the time of your lives - yet. hope we will be having brighter days soon so that I can begin to indulge in shopping...(Chiapatty..the Suntec option seems to be interesting..I was looking out for a "one-stop" place with enough variety/options rather than stand-alone stores in the big shopping ctrs)..and to begin feeling positive abt this pregnancy like I should be..hmm..it is afterall a long-awaited child...Mama Astro, you can call me xoxo of course..esp since my light is now a little dim...hehe..what brand of stretch mark cream/oil would you guys recommend? I was also thinking whether it's the prenatal supplements that i am not syncing with..I am currently taking GNC..anyone else with another recommendation? I used to be on nature farm's twinlab but i realised that the Vit A was 8000IU!! 200% the daily limit...Citrus..I think we are abt the same stage though I can't spot you on the list yet
..and Raywen..congrats! pls don't get put off by what you are reading abt the MS...I don't wish it on you but do cherish your 3wks+ time cos I remembered that I was feeling very good then though I did not know I was expecting..last bit, Siangjiao..taking an inspiration from you, decided to ask HB to get me something, anything to read abt parenting/pregnancy..to take my mind off esp since I cannot stand the smell of newspapers! Can't wait for the doc to give you the all-clear!

glad: i also have the suan feeling liao.. last time it oly came towards the mid/last tri.. now so early. chiam.. i am 10kg overweight now. staring into this preg.. haiz. sian.

shugar: haha. i see. i think also safe liao. but this gynae.. Gynae Astro.. cannot guarantee one!.. hahahah.. i know douglas ong is exp.. coz.. my friends from other threads seeing him also. i realised this time.. no one seeing my gyane. she is very popular also. Dr Eunice chua...

raywen: call me astro
congrats..

astro.. Thanks.. I go get a bottle n try.. I've 2 boys.. The elder one is coming 10 yrs soon.. 2nd boy just turn 4 yrs not long ago.. Actually was in a shock when i missed my period.. In fact did'nt plan for a third child though hb badly wanted one.. Haha.. Since God has blessed me with this bb, i only pray for healthy baby now.. Even though i badly wanted a girl.. :p oh ya, i wil not want to know e gender of e baby too.. Haha..

hi astro,
he gave me utrogestan from 5th week to 7th week. now that we saw the heartbeat he said i won't need it now. and yah, somehow i got pregnant one month after the miscarriage. my doc wasn't too happy but this was truly an accident (or miracle if we think the other way). as for side effects, i dun think there was much except you'll be very very tired. at least i was.

hi shugar,
i think as long as the doc gives his ok, travelling is ok (that's wat all the preg books tells me). but we must take care of ourselves. tokyo is not that far so dun worry too much. as for why i never tell my parents and ILs is cos i know them too well. if anything happens, they'll lash out at me and say things like "you should know you shouldn't have done this...", "you deserve it cos you didn't listen to us...", "i told you so" etc.... i mean, if anything happens, i'll be very sad too. i dun need them pouring cold water on me further.

hi astro...soda biscuits i believe is those cream crackers like julie brand etc rite...water w lemon har...everyday hve 2 bring lemon 2 work...hehehe...

i knw le, eat w milo...hehehe...

citrus, really tough on you.. But no worries, believe u wil sure overcome it.
Since u wil be in states, rmb to buy some mat clothes there ya.. Definitely cheaper over there.. Go to malls like macey,target or gap/old navy. Haha.. If kiasu abit, can buy desitin cream for nappy rash.. :p

siangjiao: my legs are like what you described, 'sng'.. haha. the moment i sit down i dont feel like getting up anymore..

as for the stretch mark cream.. can anybody tell me how it works??? why do we apply it??

citrus: happy for you that you can see the heartbeat and the sac!! i'm sure everything will turn out great for you.. the first time i saw my gyne.. i saw the sac and the fetus.. but cant see the heartbeat yet. and the gyne said it was 4mm long at 6wks.. i wonder if its big or small for a fetus only 6wks.. cos hubby is very tall.. 1.91m.. i hope if bb is a girl, then she'll have nice slim legs like the daddy.. haha..

ryne: please take care.. will be praying for you too...

i havent really tried all the other types of drinks cos i cant get anything down into my stomach.. i feel extremely bloated.. burping and LOUd and loooooong... the only thing that i can eat and not throw up afterwards are fried stuff.. and i think its horrible cos it'll make me gain even more weight!!

loke, u know wat.. My hb is e same height as ur hb.. Both my kids r really tall, they take after their dad's height..
Since ur hb is so tall, ur bb wil be tall too

My goodness me! This thread is moving too fast! Pardon me if I miss anything out, I've only got time to quickly scan through the postings..

Astro: Hi there! My bb#1 is almost 10mths now.

Xoxolight: Yes, Suntec has a few shops and you can always cross the road over to Marina Sq too!

Citrus: I hope everything goes well for you this time round. Take care!

i hv feeding my wife lemongrass ginger tea sachets, dunno if she can tk lemongrass?

i also bot preserved ginger snacks, but ingredient got honey, can she tk it?

her morning sickness seems never go away.

can drinking 100+ really get rid of the MS?

saw one of u eat grapes to ease MS, did u eat purple ones or green ones?

thanks glad & chiapatty!

oh, i saw somewhere there's this acupressure point to relieve nausea. press hard on this point located two or three finger widths down from the top crease in the wrist, centered in the groove between the two large tendons (http://www.wikihow.com/Stop-Nausea-With-Acupressure). i tried and it didn't really work for me but one of my friends told me it helped her a bit. (just sharing)

xoxo: u are darn cute lor!! national icon?! :p
hahaha.. okok.. xoxoLIGHT! .. *looks at the bulb. shake shake a bit.. put it back, switching on the light for u now!* :p..
ur hb nice. still will take leave.. my hb.. haiz. so busy these days.. i suspect he flirting with machines!
hey. take some fish oil? will calm u down

check with ur gynae for more details?

i aalso have all those unhappy feelings. i get a sense of loss sometimes too.. and my hb got it from me all the time. WITH fish oils somemore wor.. :p
i wun recommend any stretch mark cream. coz my dermatologist said. stretch marks once u gena.. not return one. they will fade. but wun disappear.. laser also wun help.. and having stretch marks is in the genes.. haiz. i gena liao. no more cure

hey. u want to ask ur gynae to recommend the multi-vits or not ah? i haven't take yet.. and i can't swallow so many pills one! last preg i also never take.. my gynae prescribed obimin, which is specially forumulated for preg.

glad: wow! ur boys are 'old'! how old are u ah? :p to have a ten year old boy :p.. so cool. u tolerated two rounds of terrible twos! my boy ah. someties.. i am controlling myself not to throw him out of the window!

citrus:i see. that time i was quite scarred from the misccariage.. to TTC again. but i have heard that after miscarriage, normally very fertile.. i dunno why though..
and yes. the reasons u are telling shugar.. are the exact saem reaons why i am not telling my mum/FIL.. yet :p

wow, realised that the thread is super active during lunch time!!

am so envious of all those who can still go travelling.. hubby forbid me to go travelling, even in the 2nd tri, and guess this means end of travelling for me until end of the year at least..

i already started applying stretchmark creams the day after I tested +ve! very kiasu, i know, haha.. I apply twice a day, both times after my shower

Astro.. i always tell my friends this.. boys ah! Really headache, esp the elder one, very challenging! Oh ya, i believe in terrible twos and thank God, finally over for me.. for u must 'ren' okay.. dun throw him out.. ;p

Give u a hint, this will be last preg and i always wanted to stop before i turn thirty. My wish has came true.. lol..

loke: hi! wow.. 1.91m.. i confirmed gauranteed ur kid will be 'long'.. i am 1.75 nia.. my boy is like mini giant at his age now!:p

carlyn: hahah. yalor. bring lemons to work! they make good air refresher, u konw?! hahaha sot liao me.. getting high on fish oil :p

glad: dun need go so far get destinin lah. when our bbs are born.. tell me.. i ask my fren. help us do drugstore spree!! :p then we can order 40 tubes of desitin at one go.. on boh??
*check self. i think i am really gettinghigh on fish oil!*

glad: wah. ur hb also so tall! my hb shortie.. same height as me. i like taller man leh. haiz.. too bad so sad. once 'good sold, cannot refund liao ' :p

chiapatty: wow! 10 mths.. and u are expecting #2 liao! :p.. what his/her name? my boy has just turned two
. his name is rayner. borned on 1 jan 07..

mie: must apply ALL over the body, we stretch in all directions.. now i am wondering. if we need to apply to our head.. coz we 'stretch' right? so we become smarter? *straight face*

glad: i stay on the second story. right down is the covered walkway. so i throw him down. i expecthim to crawl/walk up himself!
Roger on ur age! u are such a young mama!

glad: wow.. its nice to hear that!! and thanks for the links! how old are you?? you have a 10yr old boy and you are below 30?? that's amazing.. ahha..

anyway, i just puked out the lunch.. the smell is getting into my nose.. gross.. staying at home today to rest.

astro>> huh, really have to apply all over the body ah? means after shower i have to slap the cream onto my whole body? oh no, then one tube is not enough for me, such a big surface area to cover leh..

can i join this thread??

hvin my #2 in Oct 09 also. but exact edd not known yet. cos i forgot my exact last menese date. hv to wait 2 wks b4 goin back to my gynea n then predict the date. =p

chiapatty,
ur #1 also born in apr/may 08?? r u intendin to buy a twin stroller? els, how to manage with two bb??

I apply on my breasts, tummy, thighs (front AND back) and nor forgetting my butt and my lower back.

I can't reach my back, if not I'd apply there too! time to get my hubby to apply for me hehehe

miemie: haha. you are so funny.. but yeah. i think you got to order direct from the manufacturer.. otherwise it'll cost a bomb...

mie: hahaha. then after that, all greasy liao! :p.. i think for a start.. apply on tummy, boobs, hmm.. arms and thighs?

joyce: no problem.. just passing on the information

hey pple..
was kpo-ing at my other thread.. one of my frens ' kids got HMFD.. HMFD quite dangerious on preg ladies and unborn feotus.. so be careful ok?
(i had chicken pox wheni had my boy.. *sigh*)
-------
Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease (Pregnant Women)

What Are The Risks For Pregnant Women Infected By HFMD?
Pregnant women who get HFMD may experience miscarriage, stillbirth or severe disease in the newborn with multiorgan failure (if she acquired the infection close to delivery).

What Should Pregnant Women Do If They Have Close Contact With Their Infected Child?
Pregnant women should practise good hand hygiene by washing their hands after each contact. If the infected child suffers from severe runny nose and cough, it is advisable to wear surgical mask when in close contact (less than 3 feet). Do not prick the blisters as the fluid can be contagious. Do not share toothbrushes etc, as saliva contains the virus.

Wow, moving real fast. I just stepped out for lunch and so many posts! hahaha

Citrus: I'm sure i'd be getting the same stories told to me too if anything were to happen! my MIL even enlisted my SIL's help to dissuade me from going... so i think you can see how bad i'm getting it now. I'm just thankful my mom is cool about it and that I'm not getting lashed from both sides!

Astro & loke.. yup! married young.. Thank God i managed to survive all these years.. lol!!

Astro, ai yo.. u so tall.. 1.75 leh.. i only 1.64 nia..

Welcome poky!!

glad: 1.64 and u got urself a 1.91 man! how did u do it? :p:p
steady la u.. married so young.. i thoughti married young enough. u earlir than me.. by one year :p

oh astro, so dangerous har...mi tinking sending my son 2 childcare in jun, by then i'll b abt 6 mths pregnant, quite worried abt the virus in childcare....or i really shdn't send my son there...i wanna send him there cos wanna him get used 2 the idea of childcare centre so when i get back 2 work after ML, he'll get used 2 it....

I was just wondering any of you told your colleagues or employers that you are preggers yet?
I work from home but am required to go into my client's office once or twice a week to oversee some work but now i am starting to find it a chore to lug my laptop down to the not very accessible industrial estate that their at. I managed to skip last week by saying i was unwell. hehehe.. but i can't be saying that every week can't i? :p

i have yet to tell my boss.. only told one colleague whom i need to back up quite often so that she will not play MC when I really need to take the day off to rest at home..

shugar, i guess you should let your boss know abt it soon, so that he can find other ways to help you?

MieMie, actually they not really my boss, I'm self-employed, so I work from home. Its my client. Actually I dun really have to make the trip there... just that they are used to me coming in once or twice a week lor, so they sort of expect me there. Now that's it getting to be a bit mafan to go, i'm wondering if i should tell them i am preggers anot.

astro,loke,glad
thx! =)
yep. my #1 is now 9m le. i wanted to hv a 2nd one faster as i not young le... also i prefer near age siblings, easier for them to get along n hv a playmate. but after a recent incident when my gal bochap me as i didnt hv time to play with her often for a wk, she ignore me!! so stop conceivin so that we can give all the time to my #1. but then it was alrdy strike. actually was pretty upset when pregnancy confirmed.. was super panicked at the tots that my gal wil reject me again when i get too tired from mornin sickness or takin care of #2. i v "sticky" to my gal. i dont like the idea of being #2 in her life... possessive mommy.. hahah.... after a few days of coolin, hv think it thru, so think it stil a gd idea, but hv to b xtra careful of not hvin enuf time for my #1. =p

glad, me even shorter... 1.6m only niah....

shugar,
i dun intend to tell my office til i in 2nd tri at least....

Hi poky, yah, i'm also trying to keep it from them till then. But meanwhile i'll have to cook up some excuses to not go over :p

yar, i haven't told anyone except, my parents, PIL and the whole forum world out there. I didn't even tell my best jie meis...think they will be pissed with me ... was planning to tell them after my gynae's visit next week

I've told my immediate boss coz I needed to take time off. Today my immediate boss told me she needs to inform super big boss, coz I'm supposed to travel during my delivery date, plus probably other manpower concerns.
I think I'll just tell my friends after 1st trimester. I'll probably just announce on Facebook or something. hehe.

Wah, so many tall husbands. My husband is quite short, but it's ok. My parents are short but my brother is 1.77m, so I think with better nutrition, my child can grow taller.

It's only 4pm, and I already had 5 meals already. Really burning a hole in my pocket with this eating.

wah glass, announce on FB ah! heheeh what a novel way! the wonders of FB... my fren announced her wedding there and did the RSVP with the 'Events application' hahhaah!

glass & shugar, i agree announce on FB...hahahaha...tat's wat my SIL did, she annouces her pregnancy on FB when she passes her 3rd mth....

but in between, she did do some hinting, like how she's feeling etc....

Hi Oct 2009 MTBs, Sorry to interrupt.

Any of you gals interested in buying swimsuits from this website? http://www.motherhood.com/maternity/swimsuits.asp

Some of us from Aug thread would like to get more mommies to share on the shipping cost.

VPost promotion will be ending 28 Feb, we would need to order from the site by Wed (25 Feb).

Please pm me or post in the Aug2009MTBs thread if anyone is interested! Thanks!!

I have a brand new Britax car seat for sales. It can sit from newborn to 4 years old. I bought it at $400 and will like to sell it off at $299 as my baby boy simply don't wan to sit in it. It's been used for less than 10min only.

Please email me at [email protected] if interested.

glad: seems like we've got some things in common!! i'm also about 1.64m only..

glass: its good that u still can eat!! i only managed to have one meal today.. and puked it out. after that i've got no more appetite.. went to sleep for 2 hrs just now. sigh.. i've got lots of snacks left over from cny staring at me asking me to eat them. but i just cant do it.. maybe i should just carry on sleeping.. haha..

anyway.. i'm kind of lucky cos i work for my father in law.. just say only and i can stay at home to work.. but the trouble is that when i'm at home, i'm either on the tv, reading books, walking or foruming (like now)..