(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hi xoxolight : I have a lot of friends who really refrain from water for that month. For me, i can't take it. I have to bathe and wash my hair!

My mum got me those chinese herb to wipe my body. The moment i closed the bathroom door, i added a lot a lot of water to the herbal water and have a nice good bath.

For maternity clothes...
I like the maternity clothes from a shop at Vivo. I can't remember the name tough.

There are a few shops selling maternity wear at Paragon and suntec. Can go down and try try.

I also have a couple of clothes, wore at home that i bought from 'This Fashion'. Its cheap and so still ok even if wore for a few mths only. Its not maternity clothes but those spag strap baby doll top.

Oh... And i have a friend who bought from ebay. I remembered she bought quite a lot and shipped in from the US. I think this time round, she may pass me some of her clothes.

Actually because for my 1st pregnancy, my tummy quite small. So i can wear those normal clothes till i reached the later part of the pregnancy.

today i feel my stomach area like very 'stretched' and tight like that.. it feels worst than cramps lor. anyone else feeling this too?

have a good night sleep to you all

Clumsy Babe : I feel slight pain. Dunno if its alright or not. My gynae appt is next sat. Waiting anxiously...

Have a nice weekends to all MTBs. I'm bringing my gal to the Bird Park tmr.

Hi, Zenn Yann. She charges $1900 onwards I think. Not very sure cos my gal was born in Jan 08 during CNY period so I had to pay more. But she usually quotes based on how many kids in the household, whether got maid and stuff like that. Cooking is good, especially the soups. No complaints by me or ILs. But frankly, after just 2 weeks will get sick of confinement food lar, although she does vary the menu so I don't eat the same thing everyday. Yes, she helps to clean up the house, wash baby clothes (hand wash), mummy/hubby's clothes (machine wash), change bedsheets, sweep floor, mop floor, cook and wash. Please call her if you have more queries.

Hi ladies!! my first post here! just tested positive last week and i'm not v sure how accurate the test strips are leh(used both clearblue and the cheaper strips).. kinda doubtful haha but i've experienced kinda bad morning sickness. cant take car rides, cant even drink water.. will puke everything out

Will be seeing Joycelyn Wong @ TMC next month to confim..her schedule is damn packed!!!! if not wrong shoul be 5-6 weeks preg now. Any suggestions how to mininise morning sickness as it's very xin ku and i cant really concentrate @ work...

Clumsybabe >> I do feel some tightness, a little pulling and at times, like a menstrual cramp but it shouldn't be worse than that..and it tends to go off..are you wearing something tight? Hope you are feeling better by the time you read this..

Lee >> Congrats!! The test kit is 99% accurate! The MS is bad (I am having one of my worst today actually) and I hope you will share with us your doc's visit soon! How to minimise the MS? I think you need to keep eating small amts, I find it gets worse if I don't pacify my hunger pangs which comes every 2hrs *troublesome*...but if you feel very dehydrated (cracked lips, shivers etc), you need to call your doc for immediate advice. Understand that TMC has a day care centre where you can get some relief via an IV drip for 2hrs and go home.

Hi Dreamygal,

Just the thought of not being to bathe in hot hot Singapore..yikes!!! You sure don't sound like you are suffering from any after-effects after "breaking the rules"!

I think alot of stuff I can tahan..like not eating this or that...cannot do housework (I love this one!! My gynae keeps repeating this) etc but not bathing...that just floors me. I mean it when I say I found the new mums at TMC yesterday quite grimy...hair was oily...you know what i mean.

I got completely no mood to go shopping for anything now, much less clothes. But cannot ignore this problem as I am quite small sized and my current clothes are all small...so while I am not really showing, it is getting quite uncomfortable...must set budget too, overspending this month
...and wondering very hard whether I can ever return to my current size i.e. do I even need to bother keeping my existing wardrobe at all....

hey gals, i had some slight spotting yesterday evening. I was cramping and i went to pee. To mr horror, i saw bright, red blood on the tissue. It wasn't alot and cleaned up by the 2nd swipe. Later , in the evening is some brown spotting, like a few drips. This morning, it cleaned up. I am thinking if this is normal. Should i call my gynae? Thanks.. I'm about 6 wks.

Hi siangjiao...

Pls call your gynae. It's better to overeact than undereact...I was spotting a week ago too. It was very light pink followed by dark brown and when I called my gynae, she immediately said it was good that I buzzed her. Spotting or bleeding is never really normal and not meaning to scare you, it's a sign of a threatened miscarriage no matter how little. I was given hormonal pills (if doc feels its necessary, this could be a jab instead) to stabilise and you must absolutely not walk and stay in bed for the next few hrs till you hear what your doc says. The bright side is that alot of us would experience it and come out just fine....*cross fingers*...

Hi Lee, welcome!
For nausea or vomitting, try drinking those ginger tea, it kinda works..

Siangjiao, please see ur gynae or call her asap.. Dr wil check on ur condition n advise accordingly..

Hey ladies, regarding abt mat clothes.. Maybe u can buy thru old navy or gap online.. Their clothes r trendy n nice.. N of course i find them cheaper than those mat clothes u can get from e boutiques here..

Dreamygal, u steady mommy lo.. So nice of u to bring ur gal to e bird park
I'm jus so weak n tired, dun wish to go anywhere.. I pity my kids..

Hi Siangjiao,

I would also think a call to the gyne would be good. Normally they would ask you to go over to the clinic for a check.
It happened to me on Thursday too. After a pee, i wiped and there were brown stains and 2nd wipe it was light pink. Got worried and called my gyne but he was away and his stand-in doc asked me to go over for a quick scan and to make sure everything was ok.
Strangly, when i got there, they could not find any trace of any blood... kept asking me what did u see on the tissue. :p what a relief! BB's heartbeat was normal and it was growing from the last scan so the doc said probably nothing wrong, gave me some pills and told me to rest the next day. But he did say it was good thing to get a check so that way we won't be worrying over nothing.

xoxolight, thanks for your well wishes. i still feel the 'pulling' and 'tightness' in my womb area this morning.. I woke up at 11am and now i feel sleepy again!

i declare today the worst MS day or me. more than 13x already and i wanna surrender. it's terrible and making me nuts (my brain don't feel like mine anymore). can't see how i can tahan this for another 5-6 weeks..

take care xoxolight. Clumsy Babe, I keep sleeping too. Super tired.

Loke: Where are the shopping centres where there are a few maternity wear shops? Do you know?

I was searching online and found a few shops. One of them seems to be cheap ($18 to $30+) and stylish. Searched through the forum and saw a few other people talking about them, so hopefully it's a trusted store. Other websites seem to be quite expensive. One top can be $60 plus and above. Not sure about quality though.

Thanks everyone for your concern... I called my gynae, (she's on leave) and the nurse advised me to rest well the whole day. If bleeding continues, immediately go to KKH 24 hrs emergency department. This whole afternoon, i ordered bed rest for myself, sleep too much, now tao gong gong

xoxolight:puke 13 times! wah, must take care yah.

The following items are for sale:

1) full set of the Medela Harmony pump (used only once) + Brand new (opened) membane valve (1pc) & Brand new membranes (3 pcs) all selling at $50

2180818.jpg

2) Brand new valve & membrane set selling at $28 (retail price ~$30)

2180819.jpg

3) NUK standard neck bottles without teats (Used only once)
- 4pcs x 125ml + 2pcs x 250ml selling at $40

2180820.jpg

Self collection at AMK or SengKang train station.

Interested please pm me.

siangjiao >> hope the spotting has stopped? if it has think you can worry less already. take leave on Mon if you can...you need to rest for at least three days and not move abt too much

glass, glad >> today was thoroughly horrible for me. i hope this doesn't recur tomorrow...panic if it is the same. the nausea is quite cham. in the end, i could only stomach plain brown rice porridge and water, lots of water. HB went from very concerned abt the nausea, to being very concerned abt the lack of plastic bags, to being very concerned that all the food he bought / cooked, were ending up in the chute. Sigh.

nope, it has not really stopped
its spotting brown discharge, but very very little, like a drop or 2 on my panty liner. It's like the very last day of menses that kind ... Hope it will clear up. My sis says it has happened to her for her 3 pregnancies and as long as it does not get heavier or turns red, it should be ok. Just keep monitoring.

But i've been feeling tired, moody and lethargic. Don't have much mood to talk or anything... i think i'll just go shower and try to sleep. Talk to you again tomoro gals. Thanks for asking about me. Nitez.

Hi everyone, thanks!

My ms is not as bad today as i woke up rather later than usual hahaha... and there's no work today!

just cant wait to visit the gynae... i've also tried the ginger tea and dunno if it works leh. so far still the same lol but at least i didnt vomit today.

siangjiao, pls take gd care of urself!

xoxolight, take care ya.. I can understand e feeling. During my first preg, whatever went in, came out immediately.. In e end hv to be hospitalised cos of dehydration n was on drip too.. Do monitor ur condition..

Oct Mtbs, sleep well ya.. Nite!

Sorry mummies to interupt:

Selling a rarely used lucky baby warmer bought at $35.90 selling at $25.00

and Avent niplette bought at $70+ selling at $60 (used once)

Self collect at sembawang.

glass: actually i'm also not sure if there are any shopping centres that might concentrate maternity clothing shops. how about novena??

i'm also experiencing some light brown discharges.. i'll wait for another one or two days and see how it goes before i call up my gyne...

xoxo : im also like that leh... vomiting like crazy, just cant stop one. once i vomit my chest feels very pain,, is there any way to prevent vomit? im also tired coz need to eat something after vomiting..if nit feel ctanky leh ... troublesome

loke : we'll be deliver at the same hospital, too bad we're having different gynae..thot will be nice to share story bout our gynae n all

i thot i read somewhere about maternity clothes fair by 27-28 feb at expo. is that true ? maybe we can find our clothes there ?
im also very lazy to go to mall to find clothes, so my mil bot me 3 new maternity clothes..so happy...
anyway, people who knows that im pregnant say that my stomach look so big for a 8 weeks old pregnancy, so i measure my self n its 32 inch.. is that normal or too big ? usually i wears 24 size jeans ... now can only wear dress...

where can i buy ginger tea? never heard n never try before, if really can stop from feeling nausea n vomiting i would want to try

Siangjiao>> I think you'd be ok. Brown means old blood and you are experiencing this around the time that there would be implantation bleeding (same as me & I am sure, many others). But do make an appt with your doc the minute she's back from leave so you can hear something assuring from her and not worry too much.

glad>> you got hospitalised the last time? are you feeling the same/different for this pregnancy? i try to keep myself hydrated by compensating with water each time I throw up but now even water has a metallic taste that irks me. hmmm...I think I can still take it..think that hospital is the last plc I want to be at now...

Angelina>> I have tried everything they write in pregnancy websites - keep blood sugar up, take small meals, drink ginger tea...not much use. I just woke up now from a very deep hunger - must be because whatever there was yesterday has all been spilled...and started to eat raisins. My last bite yesterday night was brown bread and peanut butter, which I managed to keep down so small victory there! Sigh...to think I use to love eating so much and taking my appetite for granted...let's hang in there together and do read glad's post...if it gets bad, it's to the hospie..

abt clothes...

(angelina again):thanks for the heads up. singapore expo is holding a mother & baby fair..i think they will have something for rapidly expanding waistlines. i used to be 22" just a week ago, now i am 26"!! so top small, bottom heavy..like a spider. i'd be keen to check it out as long as my MS is under control and not like yesterday.

hi girls, i was feeling so tired yesterday, i just nua in bed the whole day, didnt even on laptop or wii. for the first time in my life, i dun feel like eating meat n got husb to buy tofu and mushroom hotpot for dinner (which i didnt finish). i totally agree with xoxolight about taking hearty appetite for granted!

are the rest of the girls experiencing rapidly growing waistlines too? i only feel my jeans is tighter but the rest of the clothes are still fine. the pulling/cramping sensations are also getting more frequent, esp during night time. i wonder if it is normal?

angelina: it'll be fun!! but your bb will be out much earlier than mine. by the time i'm in, i think you'll be out at home with ur beautiful bb!!

talking about growing waistline.. i find myself looking quite unproportionate. upper body and lower body cannot match.. i really cannot imagine how i'll look after this whole episode..

xoxolight: your replies to siangjiao has been very encouraging. i guess we all mtbs just got to stay relaxed and try to enjoy this whole journey of being pregnant!!

ginger: my friend who just gave birth told me to start getting rubber type pants (whatever that means. haha) so that whatever pants we are wearing is not getting too tight...

i'm looking forward to the fair this coming weekend at expo!!

Ginger: I do feel that my clothes are getting tighter especially at the tummy and the bust area. I can no longer wear all my nice nice dresses. Had to do some last min shopping couple of days back so that I had something to wear to work and also casually.

Went to Dorothy Perkins and saw their maternity pants (din buy yet) and it's very interesting...they actually have a cotton extension from the waist line and it is rubberised at the cotton side. It's like u use that extension to cover the tummy...

I went to united square last night and bought two working pants, coz i can't squeeze into mine already.
It's actually expandable, so I think I don't need to worry much. But I felt so upset when the sales assistant/boss said that the thigh areas would expand as I get bigger.
Probably when I reach 2nd trimester then I'll ask my colleague who dresses very well during her pregnancy where she bought her clothes. She just came back to see us and she looked so good despite having 4 more kgs to lose. Some of my other colleagues looked like whales.

loke: I'm planning to take photos of myself, sideways and front. Want to see how I change as the weeks go.

ginger, well, my tummy is getting obvious, even though my weight has not really changed.

Btw, is anyone experiencing mood swings? I'm starting to get violent and I'll just feel like hitting my husband for no rhyme or reason, or I feel like calling him stupid. Anyway, told him he has to bear with me, and he laughed that my attention would soon turn to my kid.

glass: woooahh..taking photos!! i think i might want to be in self-denial.. hahaha.. its too scary..

anybody thought of names for their bb already??

glass>> I am sure ur hubby wld understand and give him to u de!!
But dun overdo...

Loke>> I am also thinking abt the names.. So far.. i like Thaddeus for boy.. it means God Has Given.. And Ariel for gal.. but my hubby said Thaddeus sounds like tedious and Ariel sounds like "AREA" Gosh...

mrs neo: i think both names are nice!

we are thinking of Everest for boy and Sapphire for girl.. cos my hubby's name is Kunming (like the mountain in China) and my father-in-law's name is taishan (another mountain in china).. so we thought maybe a mountain's name would be nice.. as for the girl.. we are in the gem business.. diamonds are too overmarketed.. sapphires can be really beautiful.. so might consider Sapphire for a girl's name..

ginger : yes, its normal to have cramps thats my gynae sids. coz our uterus is expanding thats why we have this cramps feeling, as long as there are no blood spots then no need to worry. mine also getting worse at night, wakes up very often because of this feeling..usually just screaming a bit n try to sleep again

glass : yes i feel the same way too, hahaha...but not so violent. i called my hubby ogre (shreck) one night bcoz suddenly i think thats he's too big n smelly. i forced him to sleep on the end of our bed coz i sadi that i need more space..hahaha

loke: i prepared name for baby girl already, so happy.. i dreamt bout a cute baby girl one night and when i woke up, i just suddenly got an idea of one baby girl, Audrey ... so hopefully it will be baby girl.. for boy only can think of chinese name,Zi Loong (coz my hubby name is Ying Loong) not yet the full name. how bout you ?

angelina: not sure about chinese names yet... hubby wants something to do with humility.. but his chinese is horrible.. so he suggested "qian xu" aka humble.. i thought it was a horrible name.. haha.. anyway.. hope your dream comes true!!!

hi All,

first time here. mother of a 2 year boy already. this is my second preg.. less than 5 weeks.. still very early

was just running through some of the posts on this page.. and i find some of them really cute :p

Mrs Neo: i agree thaddeus is a really nice name.. and i think your hb is like mine.. always giving his funny versions to the names we suggest! i wanted Yves for my boy (he said.. if the teacher asks questions ..'IF....'.. my boy's hand will be the first to shoot up.. i asked why. he said 'coz his name's is If (same pronunciation as the french Yves!) so he is reporting his attendance'...*fainted*) so eventually my boy is called Rayner kong.. i called him Teng for short.. borned on 1 jan o7

will hop back here again.. when i see my gynae the second time 2.5 weeks later.. meanwhile going for a hong kong trip.. prescribed the 'lizard eggs'.. just in case.. i hope i wun get to use it at all!

Mrs neo and angelina, ok I'll try to control myself.
Loke: I got my idea from this blogger Karen Cheng, coz I dreamt I was pregnant, probably around ovulation time, and I had a tummy like she had.

I haven't thought of names yet, though I wanted to call my son (if I have) long time ago xie ting feng, haha. But my hubby rejected it promptly.

I will probably have a hard time choosing names, because in my work, I come across many naughty or weird kids with certain names, and my husband also in the same field, so we have double headache trying to choose a name that has not been 'spoilt' by someone. And please don't misspell names deliberately to make them unique, coz it will drive the teacher crazy with so many variations. I guess we'll have fun choosing names.
Angelina: usually some chinese don't choose the same name as an elder, so if you choose loong, because your husband has loong, the status is a bit mixed, unless you don't care about such things.

I thought I had more or less avoided nausea, especially now that I don't need to take duphaston anymore, but today's nausea was bad. I basically slept through most of the weekend.

I've just started a blog to keep track of my pregnancy. I'll share with you after I have a few more entries there.

Hi mama silverback: what's lizard eggs?

Hi Mama Silverback

Rayner's a nice name!

BTW, Er, what's 'lizard eggs'??
Enjoy your trip and have fun!

Will be going on a trip too, but that's at the end of March. Booked way b4 we found out that i was preggers. Gyne says by then almost 12 weeks, should be ok to go, but my MIL is super paranoid. Keep asking us not to go. She says she will not be able to sleep for the duration that we are away!! :S
But I'm sort of looking forward to the trip, so right now have not really decided yet. :S
Anyone went on a holiday during 11-12 weeks before?

hey all again..

erm, for short, you all can call me Astro? hahaha. coz ihave this habit to change my nick .. random like the weather..
only 'Astro' stays constant though.. if we all have a chance to meet up some time in the future, you would realise why i call myself mama sliverback.. my boy is.. little sliverback! whahahah :p

Glass: Helo! opss.. sorry.. didn't realise i was using terms which might not be common to all..
'lizard eggs' is the progesterone hormone pills.. it is affectionately called lizard eggs coz it looks like lizard eggs! eh. i haven't seen lizard eggs myself.. but that's what the nurse and my 07 thread mummies descibed it to be

and let me guess? you are a teacher?

Hi Shugar: hey. ur nice is cute.. it sounds like Sugar! :p thanks .. I wanted to spell it as Reyner.. but thought most people might spelled it as Rayner first.. so might as well save the boy the trouble to correct others' spelling!

to add on.. the progesterone hormone is the one which sustain the pregnancy until the placenta is developed enough to sustain the pregnancy..
read more here?
http://www.paternityangel.com/Articles_zone/Hormones/Hormones1.htm

most mummies who experienced spotting or a threatened miscarriage would be prescribed this.. either in jabs or pill form..

i am prescribed this because like Shugar, I plan this trip before preggy.. so gyane prescrubed .. just in case..

I tink 11 - 12 weeks.. is ok.. but do you have bad MS? because MS can alter our sense of balance.. and can make us have some motion sickness.. u might want to ask ur gynae about this before you travel?

This is my 3rd preg.. my boy is my second preg.. the very first preg i had a D&C (clearing of uterus) because the foetus just stopped growing at 9 weeks, heart beat stopped. so had to clear..

with my boy.. i had extreme fatigue. didn't vomit but was queasy throughout..

now this one. hm. maybe slight very early.. not much symptoms.. hmm. i hope wun be like the first one!
i dun dare to be too optimistic yet.. my hb too.. *sigh* hope will be able to sustain the dialouge will you all beyond 9 months!

Hi Astro!

Oh thanks for sharing.. hehe, never knew those pills had another name! :p Lizard eggs makes them sound way gross.
I have MS but its not the throwing up kind thankfully. mostly the feeling of gas that's stuck. Motion sickness, so far i am fine in cars. so I hope it stays that way.
We're all along the same time in our pregnancies, so it great that we can get support here.

Enjoy your trip and dun think so much for now!

Shugar: yep.. i had loads of support from my friends in my 07 thread! everything from preg to parenting. to sprees and such. they are.. power ah :p

got a shock when i sign in the forum as there are so many posts over the weekends and i still tot probably not so many since everyone too tired to log on during wkend.

I just lying on bed during the wkend and even though i feel like gg out to get some new maternity clothes, i just dun have the strength to go out and it is so tiring.

I do experience brown spotting for my first one but i heard fm many frens that it is quite common to have that and therefore i did not visit the gynae but i guess case to case varies depending on the amt. My sis have quite alot of fresh red blood spotting and she was order by gynae for complete bed rest for a wk. Guess fresh red spotting is more alarming than brown spotting. I even had water discharge during my 2nd trimester last time and i was quite alarm and i told the gynae but she tell me it's ok after i visited her few days later.

Think of working 2mr so sianz........

Hi Ong: astro here. new member today. hee..
hey. water discharge during 2nd tri.. wah. that sounds scary. visited the gynae a few days later.. u didn't go to her immediately?
ur gynae is 'TBC'? not confirmed yet ah?

HI astro,
I am pregnant with 2nd one now & i yet to cfm which gynae at KKH yet. The water discharge happened during my first baby. I was quite lost at that time and my HB is not those kancheong type too so i end up doing nothing but mentioned it to my gynae when i happen to visit her few days later. My gynae that time was Dr Sim L N fm KKH. KKH do not have so personalised service as compare to private as i don't have gynae's hp no. to call to except gg to the A & E in which i did not opt to.

However, i still opt for KKH due to i belongs to those ppl that think too much.