(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">bbq</font> - Pigeon teats I'm not very sure... Cause I only used Pigeon briefly through my 4 kids infant stage. But I think should be M, cannot be L...
http://www.pigeonbaby.info/product.php?pr_id=61
Think for Pigeon. after M is Y size leh..

But Avent one is confirm 2 or 3... if u not sure which teat BB prefer for Avent bottles, you can get the Variable teats taht have both Size 2 and Size 3 in the same teat.. just have to align the respective number on teat to bb's nose, then the flow will be of that size stated..

<font color="ff3399">itsy</font>
Why?? Miss me meh?!

I have now converted to "silent reader" status. Keeping my finger strength to type out 正经事. Hurhurhur.

Wai Wai,
I saw the pics of the food u all had at Zhou's Kitchen...wah lau..make me drool leh...

Gelare...*drool*

Steph,
I think I will never forget Jordan's bday cos it's my bday and mikayla's EDD..hahahah!!! Mikayla was born on 09.09.09..My yield also 60ml lor..but last time within half and hour settle..then these few days suddenly went haywire..dunno what happen again..I keep going thru these phases..this week Mikayla started drinking 70ml so yesterday and today I really like squeezing every single drop out and take at least an hour to reach 70ml..Very hard for me to pump regularly cos Mikayla keeps me very bz during the day and Im usually at home alone with 2 kids...really a madhouse..but whenever I can I try to pump every 3hrs at least..I've been boiling fenugreek seeds to drink..and really upping my fluid intake but still like that...Im using Avent..it has been good..works well for me but dunno y suddenly like that..

myfavchoco,
I love your son's pics! so smiley!! Such a happy chap

Re: Green Papaya Soup
In the end I put fish bones, ginger, red dates and wolfberries and peanuts! hahah! just throw everything inside..tasted good!! oh! I also added some fenugreek but think I added too much cos could taste slight bitterness..

cookiezz,
Boiled fenugreek has a bitter after taste...I usually add abit of honey to help it taste abit better..

kam,
if boiling fenugreek is not as effective as taking the pills then now I know y the fenugreek water is not helping much! hahah!

Michelle,
My girl have some problem when it comes to latching.She seems to have difficulty latching and when she does manage to latch,she doses off in less than 10mins either that or she'll suddenly vomit the milk out after sucking for awhile..no idea y..as for the crying..she can cry for 6hours non-stop leh..how to just let her cry?? haha! Hey! I just realised we have the same cot mobile! U also having problem pumping today? Can shake hand liao..thats y say already, we can throw our boobs away..haha!! SInce yesterday I feel like I pumping air only..no fluid coming out like that..so sian.

itsy,
today I cooked the fish soup I put the bones in boiling water for awhile then throw the water away and cook in a new pot of water but in the end also not clear leh..btw, whats Malungay leaves?

bbq98,
I think steph is rite about trying to chg the teats size..last time my no.1 also same problem..sometimes when Mikayla doesnt want to drink I will make the sucking sound and most of the time when she hears that she will follow me and suck..hahah!

Pamelia,
I also dont use Drypers for both kids cos dunno y no matter what size I buy they also will kena red marks...I think it depends on the individual body structure..

Rach,
u want to have #2 so soon? My kids are 2 year gap..I feel too soon liao..at first me and hubs thought 2 years is good but now we realise too soon liao cos #2 not independant enough yet adn we feel like we are depriving him of the attention he needs..nowadays no time to read to him and teach him things..dont even have much time to have conversation with him just keep letting him watch tv cos Im so bz with Mikayla..feel so bad...

so long never talk...my girl got ear infection over the weekend...sigh ..sian...now got to take antibotics...so small only got to take antibotics...heart pain man

bbq --> my girl also cry like siao over a bottle of only 60ml milk...sigh..not sure izzt coz of her ear pain pain ...

Ivy, how you know she has ear infection?

Next time we meet, we should have a feed demo to see if we are facing the same problem. I hope it will be soon, at least one time before the year ends hor?

steph,

my gal is now 9wks using Avent no.2 teat. i think we changed it when she was 4wks old. my hb insisted on changing because he says she like drinking until so xinku. but i'm quite frustrated with the no. 2 teat though... like always leaking! i find the flow too fast. but the no.1 teat now for my gal is really too slow lor...she like suck very hard. wish there was a 'in-between'!

bbq98,

i tried calling that part-time helper u recommended leh. but the line like not in use anymore.
maybe she' not doing anymore?

Back from shower and bottle washing.

Now HB is feeding her.

With regards to the Teat issue <font color="0077aa">Stephanie</font>, She takes maximum 10 minutes to finish a bottle of 100ml? That's not slow right? She occasionally chokes and coughs. So I guess I should stick to Size 1 teats?

<font color="0077aa">Itsy</font>

Chalky is when all the stock is completely drained I guess.

<font color="0077aa">Mel</font>

I believe the red marks are due to the leak guards... Better a little red mark than to have wet clothes/bed. XD

<font color="0077aa">Ivy</font>

How is the ear infection like?

so where will the gathering be at? i'm keen to join but scared to venture out alone with my gal! no courage to do so yet. so many things to handle...and even going up and down the escalator with the stroller i'm also damn scared and its always my hb that does it. and knowing my dear hb, he won't go these mummies gathering with me one lor!

Pamelia, 10 mins is quick. If mine can finish in 20 mins, is quick for me already. Sometimes they take 1 hr for each feed. 1 hr of fussing and I have 2 of them. Does the milk leak from the side of her mouth?

pam,

100ml in 10mins sounds fast to me leh... i think my gal even with no.2 teat takes longer then 15mins. and halfway still stop must burp. does your gal leak when using the bottle? i'm not sure if its the avent bottle or my gal is just a messy drinker or maybe i'm a lousy feeder. she always leaks all over
feeding time, especially the night feed is a nightmare for me...coz she's sleepy and drink lagi slower! at least 10% wastage due to leaking. not to mention i got to scrub and soak the milkstains off her clothes too. sigh...

i saw jul's aug mummies gathering in facebook. so damn cute! it'd be nice if sept mummies can have one photo of all our sept babies too!

Kiki, is it because the teat is too big and your gal can't swallow fast enough and thus the leakage? My babies used to leak a lot when they were really young. Now, they are able to control the sucking and swallowing motion.

zzz.. finished pumping

Supposed to wake up again at 4am to pump, but dunno if can make it. Better make it coz milk is running low in the fridge. really wish I have ample supply to freeze..

But then I guess I can't complain, b/c at least these 2 weeks, Sam hasn't been drinking FM at all. But more b/c he's sleepin thru the nite n skipping feed rather than my supply increase haha.

bbq

Maybe u try size M teat lah. Coz Sam used to scream at each feed until I changed to size M teat. It took him a while to get used to the faster flow, but at least he din scream anymore! Btw he used to drink 100ml in 5 min, but nowadays he slowed down to ard 7-8min.

Sept Mummies Gathering Updates
A. Weekday Lunch
1. Stephanie
2. Waiwai
3. Girly
4. Prinzess55
5. Angeline
6. Sheryn Toh
7. Jul

B. Weekday Tea Break
1. Rach
2. Stephanie
3. Waiwai
4. Girly
5. Prinzess55
6. Angeline
7. Sheryn Toh
8. enxuan
9. Jul

C. Weekday Dinner
1. Rach
2. enxuan

D. Weekend Lunch
1. BBq98
2. enxuan

E. Weekend Tea Break
1. Bbq98
2. enxuan

Any Particular days for preference??

16th Nov - Mon
1. enxuan

17th Nov - Tue
1. Sheryn Toh

Mummies, please add in ur names!!!

rach> lol. my kitchen is oso open concept. but no glass in kitchen. but i hacked another bedroom n put glass all de way for hubby's study room. ya. de glass is ex =p

steph> till now my boy still using no1 teat. think i still have like 3 no1 teats. seems like i better faster use them. can we poke de holes on de teat ourselves?

pamelia> my boy oso still at no1. isit avent teats flow faster? keke

ya, my boy oso finish de 100ml bottle quite quickly, though no choke. but i think since he is ok, i juz give it to him, cos i still got many no1 teats n very new. cos i only started bottle feed when he is 6wks. n i got like 4bottles with no1 teat, plus i only bottle feed once a day. so dey are all pretty new

hollow> i got california fitness membership. intend to go with hubby during wkends soon. anyone else wanna join?

mel> lol. but i manage to pump out 95ml juz now after latch on. but, juz tat there is still bumps n de milk refuse to come out. -_-"

my boy only have prob of vomitting when latch on. think he drink too much, n i dunno how much he is drinking. juz now hubby feed him with bottle he ok

bbq98> bottle feed take 1hr? omg. if 1hr my hubby will complain, n definitely he wun feed them. sure say latch on.

kiki> maybe u shuld juz stick to no1 teat? maybe flow too fast den leak? or r u using bpa free bottles, i read fr aug thread tat those bottles leak.

Aiyah.. better go sleep, else how to wake up at 4am to pump?

Btw I dun pump every 2-3h one. Where got time with BB fussing in the day &amp; needing to rest at nite? I find that pumping only 5-6 times a day is optimal for me. Enough times to maintain supply, yet get enough rest &amp; less stress so as not to have supply dip! Not sure if other mummies out there with ss probs also wanna try?

Jul, 5 mins!!!! That was when my babies were extremely hungry and it happened only once in a purple moon (not even blue).

bbq98,

hmm..not sure leh. but my gal's mouth is small lor. is there a smaller size teat? they all look like standard size.

<font color="0077aa">Kiki,Bbq</font>

She does leak occasionally but not always. Sometimes she drinks so fast when the 100ml is gone... She wehhhhhhhhh~~~~~~~~~ but then after burping her, she keeps quiet. I'm gonna up her feed to 110ml tomorrow. Pray she doesn't puke.

jul> wow. so good. sleep thru de nite. how much is his nite feed?

actually once supply is established, dun need pump so often, juz make sure u empty de breast at each pump will do.

bbq

Haha purple moon.

I told u Sam ia very greedy lor!

Just now he was fussing coz he wanted to sleep. But I wanted to feed him so he wun wake up in the middle of the nite n want to eat!

So bad mummy kept teasing him with the teat on his lips until he finally started drinking. In the end, he downed 120ml in less than 10min.

michelle,

the bottle is not leaking for sure, because at first i thought it was too, so i tested it. but no. 1 teat cannot leh... she sucks very hard and at times get frustrated and will start to cry.

michelle

Sleep thru the nite = feed at 10pm, maybe sleep at 11pm then wake up for milk at 4 or 5am. Not really 10 or 12h no milk hor!

Anyway Sam's reaching 3 mths next week. A lot of BBs start very early, he's slow liao

I heck care, just give him the same amt for eevry feed - 120ml. I dun differentiate coz too lazy. Just pump, then store in the fridge in 120ml portions then take out n warm when needed.

jul,

you're so lucky your boy is a fast drinker. my gal drink super slow kind. sometimes feed her until my arm feels like its gonna break! she is getting so heavy!

kiki

Just be patinet for a while. I think after a while, she will get adjusted to the faster flow, then no prob liao. Better than she gets frustrated &amp; lose interest in milk, or suck so hard that she sucks air n gets tummy ache

kiki

Not so lucky when I was struggling thru the days when he wanted more milk, more milk, n I had no more milk! My arm also wanted to break fromm feeding in 5-10min, can't imagine feeding for 1h like bbq!

Kiki, the size of the teat refers to the hole, not the actual size of the whole teat :p

I am also going to wake one of them up for dream feeding so that I can sleep longer later.

tummy time

mummies, can i ask, how often do u do tummy time with your babies? it seems that at 9wks my gal still can't really lift her head. i'm always very nervous when doing tummy time, sometimes her whole face will be facing down and she seems to be out of breath, so i'd quickly flip her over, or help to turn her head to the side. should i let her try more? paranoid mummy here!

bbq98,

yes, i know the size refers to the hole. was replying to michelle regarding the teat being too big and my gal's mouth too small. i think she was referring to the size of the whole teat not the hole? lol.. ok, now i'm confused too.

jul,

my gal usually finishes her milk in abt 15mins (if she's very hungry) or up to half hr or longer if she's not so hungry or really sleepy. 5-10mins u complain ache liao ah!

<font color="aa00aa">Mel</font> - Ur girl also small eater leh.. my boy now taking 120 - 150ml during day feed.. I'm going to faint... the good thing is he doesn't cluster feed at night already.. he used to drink 90ml during day and 160 during night.. scary loh..

Another thing is rest.. with rest and being relaxed, I do realised that my supply slowly increasing.

If you have latching issues, you should really go see the TMC lactation consultants... really worth spending the money...

<font color="aa00aa">ivy</font> Hope ur girl recovers soon.. If she's crying during feed only recently during the infection, then most prob its that cause when baby sucks, the ears "move" as well..

<font color="aa00aa">kiki</font> - leaking where? at bb's mouth or at the bottle neck? If bottle neck, then maybe teats never fit properly? It happens to me as well.. if at BB's mouth, then maybe flow is too fast for her...

for changing teats, I always feel that we should look out for bb's cues..

<font color="aa00aa">Pam</font> - I read before that ideal timing is 10mins to 15mins to finish a bottle of milk. wah.. ur girl good leh.. Size 1 teat still can drink so fast... If she's alright, never fuss when drinking, then I don't think need to change... Unless you find that she falls asleep very frequently during feeding (cause suck too hard then tired) or sucks a few times then cry, then u should change the teats loh..

<font color="aa00aa">bbq</font> - wah.. ur kids take so long to finish their feed and they are fussing, maybe you should really change the teats.. cause 1 hr is way too long... ideal time is 10-15mins

steph,

leaking at the mouth, from the sides lor.
it only doesn't leak when she is super hungry and chomping much faster. but come after midnite feeds, or so called 'dream feeds'...omg, leak bad. frustrating for mummy me! but like i said, no.1 teat cannot make it too, worse! coz she chomp so hard until face can go quite red then she starts to wail!

<font color="aa00aa">mwerkz</font> - better not poke on our own cause it may not be suitable.. either too big or too small... so better buy the teats..

<font color="aa00aa">Jul</font> - I think mine also 5-7mins whole bottle of milk gone liao.. hahaha

<font color="aa00aa">kiki</font> - if that's the case just leave it loh.. let bb learn how to manage the flow..

Tummy time - My boy sleeps on his tummy at night... like that more soundly... and his neck is very very strong.. so I no worries.. day time if I need more time to do my stuffs, I will put him on tummy and sleep.. my boy dun like to be on tummy except sleep time.. if I put him on tummy when he's awake, he gets frustrated cause he's not moving anywhere.. hahah

steph,

how old is your boy now?

yes, seems like my gal is frustrated lor cos she will kick her legs but not moving anywhere too! haha