(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="ff3399">steph</font>
Don't worry, i also haven't slept yet. Hurhur.
Since last week, i've been sleeping mostly pre-dawn hours. Strangely, not feeling very tired. Just that it does get a tad too quiet and lonely sometimes. But i've got tons of stuff to do! OMFG.

3201547.gif

<font color="119911">Jess</font>
warming EBM using Pigeon Multi-function steriliser
I have this too but finds warming milk with a glass of hot water to be more efficient. ... Guess I didn't really answer your question.. :p

<font color="119911">mittens</font>
I only let Ian wears them in the nite cos of a/c. Day time just got to be careful when he's sleepy cos he'll rub his face and tries to dig out his eyes! Hahaha But so far no scratches. Heng

<font color="119911">Is this normal?</font>
Ian doesn't like to sit, keep wanting to stand instead. Is it ok to let bb less than 2 month old to stand? Very shiong leh, my arms are breaking from holding him in his standing position

<font color="0077aa">itsy</font>
yea.. i like using mug with hot water too..definitely faster.. but have to keep changing the hot water lo :p
then when bz entertaining the bb, no time or even forget to change the hot water regularly.. end up sometimes i have to give FM.
then i read somewhere cannot use directly hot water.. must be 50degC and below, if not kill the nutrients in the EBM... very ma fan lo..

u usually take out the EBM from the fridge ?hours or ?mintues before the next feed to warm it up?

I finally couldn't take it anymore and latched the bugger on for dreamfeed. (Or should this be called "dreamlatch" instead?) He has officially gone 6.5hrs without feed, FIRST TIME during the night!! And he has been sleeping for 6hrs straight. Also FIRST TIME during the night! This bugger always sleep 5-6hrs nonstop in the day but never at night. I think today he is sibei shag from having guests over that he totally concussed.

I IS SO HAPPYYYYYY. If he continues like that then next time I can dedicate my nights fully to doing work and/or spending time with Hubs or myself! *pops champagne*

<font color="ff3399">itsy</font>
I is superwoman, didn't you know?

Don't worry about Ian wanting to stand, it's just him wanting to pretend to be a big boy! Some other babies I know like to do that too, just make sure you convince him to sit/lie down after a while. J went through this phase as well, and I would have to tell him if he tire himself out, it would take him ALOT longer to learn how to stand on his own cos his legs were too tired!

Jess,I wouldn't leave the milk in the warmer for hours. I need 15mins to heat up(not sure why Rach needs only 5 mins) so usually I will take out 30 mins before feed. Longest I would leave there is 1hr if my babies oversleep. Hope this helps.

Shelled,do u ever sleep? Nw I wide awake but can't pump yet because have to jagar my babies. I have the urge to go ntuc now coz I wonder who are the pple who would do grocery shopping at this time.

<font face="Book Antiqua">I just had a fight with my husband so come in here to kpo.

Today really suxs. Ian frightened the life out of me by desaturating when I was home alone with him. Now my husband is angry that I sent Ian to TMC via ambulance and left Shane with our neighbor. My mil &amp; mum blames me for not being able to give him full breastmilk. Shane is also angry with me, wonder what did my mil say to him.

I am so STRESS!!! Any kind mommy has EBM to donate? I wonder if Jenifur mommy can donate some to me

I didn't pump for 8hrs and I only got a miserable 140ml on top of latching</font>

<font face="book antiqua">Shelled, Can I ask you a question about expressing?

I usually don't express if I am latching Ian. Yesterday, I tried expressing 3 hours before I latched him. I got my usual 60ml but after that I don't seem to have enough milk left for Ian. He cried after latching on both breasts.

I cannot do tandem expressing as Ian needs feed on both breast.

What/how should I do to increase my supply?</font>

Blessed,beside pumping more frequently, take supplements like fernugreek. Drinlk papaya fish soup,milk,milo, and lots of water. Sufficient rest helps too. Be careful about taking bm from strangers because they may not be responsible bfeeding mums or mau have underlyinh medical conditions which may be passed to your son. Why do the elders blame u for insufficient bm? Do u supplement with fm? If so, Ian shld be well fed. Btw, what is desaturation?

<font face="Book Antiqua">bbq98, I am drinking papaya fish soup almost daily. I am also taking fernugreek and nursing tea. Rest is quite difficult as I am home alone with no helper. I have to try to finish up the house chore,prepare the ingredient for dinner before Shane gets home from school. Expressing every 3 hourly is already very difficult

Ian is supplement with FM. Both my mil &amp; mum thinks that Ian should be on full BM since he was born premature. They never did openly say but have hinted I should make up to Ian for not being able to keep him in till full-term.

Desat means drop in oxygen levels due to ineffective breathing or baby holding breath.</font>

<font color="ff3399">OMFG MY TV JUST SHORT-CIRCUITED!!</font>
Tmr onwards no TV to watch?! HOWWWWWWW?!?! My boys are going to scream without Playhouse Disney!!

And yes, we only have ONE tv in the house.

Try drinking lots of milk. It's not your fault that he is premature. Mine was born with some problems too and I also blamed myself initially. However, that is not going to help in anything at all. And, u should be sleeping now instead of coming online. U need the sleep. Don't worry, shelled will still give u your sticker. :p

<font color="ff3399">bbq98</font>
Of course I sleep lah. Just probably not as much as other ppl lor. Don't worry, once my shite is done I will catch up on the sleep. Hopefully that will be next week.

NTUC still open meh?!

<font color="ff3399">Blessed</font>
So sorry to hear that things didn't go well for you today. Actually your supply isn't really considered low. When I first started expressing, it took me 2 sessions of dual pumping to accumulate enough BM for just 1 feed (ard 120ml).

I guess if Ian is the sort who can't slowly suckle to get his fill, then you can only pump AFTER latching him. Pump about 1 to 1.5hrs after latching him, so gives your boobs ample time to replenish supply for Ian to drink for the next feed. (This is a based on a 3hrly feed schedule.)

Agree with bbq98 that BM donations can be a bit dodgy. The biggest (and also most common) issue I have with it is if the mom has eaten (for example) seafood, and Ian happens to be allergic to it. The consequences can be detrimental.

rach reporting...
i'm dead tired.. coz my girl JUST fell asleep........
if not for the hard boobs.. i wont even want to get up............ Grr.........

<font color="ff0000">milkyway</font>
ooh.there's a time to put the baby in one........ haha..when they abt to sleep..
my baby will fuss for a few sec when put inside.. but once in, and i keep telling her.. okok.. go gai gai liaoz..
then i walk...(causing movements and momentum) then she stop crying... by the time i take lift nad reach downstairs.. she KO liaoz.
hehehe... ALWAYS!!!

<font color="ff0000">Jess</font>
need to swtich la.. y dun want to switch off??
yah..my girl too.. but somehow, when u bo bian, it just works..

its better than giving him milk that is deprived of nutrients...

if u know that he's gonna be fed at 3/4pm..then take out just half an hour before loh..
coz what some mummies told me is that once milk is warmed up, they can stay fresh for 4 hours... but then in our kind of humidity and weather, any unfinished milk should be put back into the fridge,
and then warmed up again for next feed...and to throw if still left unfinished...

so not so good i think...

<font color="ff0000">itsy</font>
dun stnad too long.. carry him on ur shoulder loh... its as if he's standing..
my girl likes to stand too.. but not for very long la..

<font color="ff0000">bbq</font>
in the 15min do u swirl the bottle???
mine is 5min..coz after 5min, i find it too hot liaoz...
so i take out and swirl almost every min..put back..take out, feel, and put back..
i also never time zun zun 5min.. it could be lesser or more..
but definitely not 15min... my house would be torn down liaoz.. hehee...
once i dun feel any coldness, and its warm inside the bottle, its okay liaoz..
i ever left it longer..then i drip on the back of my hand. so hot!!

what kind of underlying medical conditions will be passed to our babies???
wah...then isnt it very dangerous to BF if we didnt know we have medical conditions??

<font color="ff0000">shelled</font>
got 24hours NTUC... Jurong Point have one definitely.. i dunno BEdok have or not.. hah...

no one again liaoz???
shelled, u 'printing' stickers all at one go huh? no see bling bling today.. hehehe....

okie....19min - 170ml... time to sleep..

Good nite mummies!!

Good morning to the next shift mummies!

man.. i'm having blocked nose.. super painful sore throat..and i dun really dare to cough........

shall i see a doctor?? can take antibitics while TBF meh??

blessed

i had little limk supply too. worse is that the milk flow is slow, so sam always struggled n screamed at my breasts coz he was impatient.

i tried expressing n could only feed him half the amount n needed to supplement with fm.

i took papaya fish soup 2x a week but that din seem to help much. i took fenugreek n it took me abt 1.5 bottles to see effect. u need to take 2 caps 3x a day.

for me, pumping like shelled recommended doesn't work, coz the milk already little, n pumping will cause the milk to be depleted n sam will scream even more! imagine.. he feeds every 2-3h.. when i pumped, there's not even 10ml, sometimes got no milk! so if i pump 1.5h before his next feed, there wun be enough to eat!

so i had no choice but to exclusively pump n bottle feed him. at least this let me control pumping timing without being stressed over when he will wake up n want to eat.

rach,
We both can shake hand cos kinda same virus.
But m nt gg to see a doc cos I won't take d medication anyway so dun waste $

Blessed,
Take care and *smile*

Ok done wif pumping le..... 20mins 300ml

Shall continue my dream le.

blessed

As for blaming u for having no milk.. pls lor. who doesn't wanna be overflowing with milk, be able to complain abt wet t-shirt in the morning, be able to pump n fill 2 big bottles shiok shiok, complain abt needing breast pads, fridge overflowing with milk like Zoe Tay??? But what to do???

rach

think u shd go c doc. if really need antibiotics, at most pump n throw lor. it's heartpain but better than u fall very sick n supply deplete right?

sam has been fussing n crying all afternoon. yest only pumped at 12pm n 6pm n 12am coz so busy carrying n soothing him. hope supply doesn't drop.

<font color="ff3399">happykae</font>
20mins 300ml?! 厉害!

<font color="ff3399">EH, i already said tonight no stickers. </font>
I need to concentrate on my work mah. Only those who never claim the night before can get stickers.

I is sibei shagged liao lor. I go koonz liao. Baibai.

Omg! My gal didn't wake up for the 3/4am feed after last feed at 12+am!! She slpt ard 1.30am till 7.30am, 6hrs straight!! I'm so happy!! so Ive pontang last nite. But I woke up with hard boobs. Now latching her on one side going to pump after she's done..

shelled
I'm very curious wat r u busy with.. Work?? U r working fr home ar?? Hee.. U better rest also leh.. Not trying to curse u but not enuff rest might cos 'enemies' of happykae and rach to look for u..

morning! woke up with hard boobs, cant sleep despite the good weather! sigh going over to new house to pump now!

shelled! amazing leh, now then u sleep!

yeah my freestyle is here!!!!

<font color="aa00aa">rach &amp; happykae</font>
It would be better to see doc for medication. Nowadays the flu virus quite powerful. Don't worry about the medication. As long as you inform the doc that you are breastfeeding, he will give you something that is safe for breastfeeding.

<font color="aa00aa">Baby + Sister fussy</font>
For the past 2 days, I have been struggling with my elder gal and my baby son. Talk about my son first. He went strike on my left boob. Refused to latch. 2 nights before, he latched on my left boob for 3 HOURS nonstop (from 7pm to 10.3pm)! I can't move or make any noise as he is very sensitive to sound and movement. Just when he about to fall asleep, my gal came back with my husband. As it was quite late, my gal also started to fuss as it's her bedtime. She also insisted to latch too (btw she is 2.5 years old and still suckle to sleep every night). As my son hasn't sleep, I can't make my gal sleep. In the end, she cried nonstop and kana scoldings from me and my husband. Actually this scene happens every night!

I find it quite stressful and tired to handle both of them. Though my husband tries to help, my gal and son only want MUMMY. Sigh... Sibling rivalry.

Morning to all.

I also woke up with hard boobs this morning. My girl also did not wake up for her feed at 4/5am. She slept at 11+ yesterday and last feed was 10.30pm. Can't wait for her to wake up so I pump my milk out 1st at 7.15am then she woke up at 7.30am crying for milk. Asked MIL to feed her with the EBM that I've juz pumped and I continue with my pumping session. I've got a total of 340ml EBM after 8hrs. Yippe!!!

Blessed,
So sorry to hear you had a bad day. Doesn't matter how others (your mum and MIL) said to you, you yourself must get the right mindset - that is to NEVER BLAME YOURSELF! It's all rubbish that they put the blame on you. Have a good conversation with them, telling them if they keep doing this, it's affecting your mood and hence affecting the milk supply. If you don't bother to talk to them, at least you should keep yourself happy. In addition to the frequent latch/pump and taking supplement, and personally think that having a relax and happy mood does help boasting the milk supply. You are the mum, you have 100% rights to do what's best for your kids. Jia you!!! You are doing a great job already.

bbq:
What warmer are you using ah? Am considering getting another to put at my mum's place. It took around 20mins or so to warm up with the pigeon multi-function one. If <font color="0077aa">Rach's</font> dd cried with hers, imagine mine screams ok...

Jul:
Even though Sam is fussing, your pumping timing still so fixed at 6 hrly interval, 厉害!

Prettymum:
Latch 3 hrs w/o moving... aren't you aching after that!? No tv? no internet?? no game??? It's fun and cute to see them suckle for the 1st 5 mins lah, then it gets very boring.

Blessed:
How is Ian now? You must have gotten a very bad fright. *hugz*

Last night i fell asleep 1st while latching bb on the bed. Woke up 1hr later and my sudden movements must have startled him. Cried &amp; dun wan to continue sleeping. Quickly latched him again to "bribe" him but got "scolding" from him. Kept making gibberish noises and hitting my chest...

mampoko/mei76,
hahah!! Maybe we stay same block cos I knwo my house downstairs have newborn baby also when I was about to give birth..everyday can hear the bb cry.. Im at 204D...

girlygirly,
your daughter is so pretty!!

princessxiaomei:
You go back to your mum's place everyday right? Cannot pump and keep there? Should have ppl around helping you to take care for a while then you pump?

Who are those idiots calling you "stupid &amp; idiot"???

<font color="aa00aa">momoteh</font>
of cos aching. he is in the cradle position. it's frustrating. have tv. but guess what? the volume is 1.

Hey Mommies,

need to check with u all ar.. My ger last fed was BM at 11pm last nite.. then she slept all the way till tis morning at 7am.. she cried n i thot she wanted a diaper change n milk.. but after the diaper change.. i fed her milk n she pushed out the bottle teat wor.. seemed like no hungry yet.. so i tried again.. until she fed up n cried even louder.. then I boh bian warmed the milk aside.. but tried feeding her twice after..she only drank like 90ml liddat.. her usual was 110ml.. after tt she fussy again.. pushed the teat out.. is it norm ar?? her usual day time feeds are abt 2 - 3hrs once liddat..

Can anyone advise if tis is norm or wat? Thanks....

prinzess55> lol. my boy slept fr 1030 till 345am. not sure if its becos i up him nite feed fr 80 to 95-100ml or becos he tired. cos after 345, he wake up at 455, 555 n 655. nearly wanna ki siao. but 655 after feed i hand him to hubby b4 he go wk, than when to sleep till he fuss at 835, latch hill in sleeping position, till the phone woke both of us up at 1035 =p

rach> haha. ya. but i nv like to put milk in room temperature. anyway is 48hrs in fridge. is my mistake wor -_-

milkyway> haha. so cute. like mine oso botak. i still waiting for my brother to pass me the pics he took for me on sunday =p

prettymums> i havent receive my glamourmom tops. still dunno where to make payment of how much to ur acct for yummie tummie oso. can let me know? thanx =p

steph> haha. i oso wan exciting nite life. but cant wor. nite is only time i can sleep. cos day bb is awake n alone with me at hm, i totally cant sleep. -_-

itsy> so power. 2mths can stand. my boy can only kick =x

shelled> haha. u can try having guests over at ur place all day than =x

bbq98> haa. i used to go grocery shopping at this time. cos less pple n more empty. but but, now with bb. cannot

blessed> wat is desaturating? haha. btw, to increase supply, u can try pumping after latching ur boy. maybe u will only get 5-10ml, but over de days u will realise de supply will increase. cos de breast will send a signal to say not enugh milk, n ur body will make more. u can give it a try. gonna be very tired though, but tat's how u increase supply. pump even when no milk.

<font color="119911">Jess</font>
HUH!! Water to warm milk must be less than 50degC?! Really? Gosh! Then all these while I've been killing the nutrient in my EBM cos I use hot water to warm up the milk, not boiling but definitely more than 50degC. I only feed EBM in the nite and usually take it out from the fridge and warm it when Ian starts to make noise in his sleep. It means he's hungry and will start crying for milk soon...usually within 15-30 min.

<font color="119911">Blessed</font>
How is Ian? Our sons have same name
I took Fenugreek but didn't really help. My BM supply recently increased quite a bit after taking Malungay tablet and also consistent latching and pumping. U might wanna try. I drink lots of water too.. at least 3L a day.

<font color="119911">Shelled and Rach</font>
I read somewhere that young bb who stand too long will get bowed legged.. true or not?

<font color="119911">Michelle</font>
Ya lor, I'm surprise too, 2months can stand.. worrying too cos he doesn't like to sit!!!

itsy> think not 50deg la. is 70deg to warm de milk max. but y dun use food warmer? go buy from philips warehouse lo. tink it's quite worth it, fast to heat up milk

my milk supply is so little. after latching him, only manage to get 100ml excess a day -_- every pump only yield at most 140ml after 2-3hrs