(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

angeline
which size do u use? i mean to ask if the NB and S sizes are the same design, are they?

xiaowei
sterile gauze sounds good...i think i feel safer using that too. tomorrow i go pharmacy and buy. earlier i tried using cotton bud, cannot make it.. like come out a bit only. her whole tongue is almost white!

momoteh
haha..yeah, why do MILs have that kinda impression? my MIL also once asked me a really silly question. she asked is it i always want to feed my BM, thats why my bb so skinny! btw, my gal is not skinny hor... she is just sort of small size. but according to her age and weight, she is all good! i was really quite offended when she said that. as if i would purposely starve my bb meh?!

shelled
u're rite! it seems like last time ppl don't BF one. my MIL said she never breastfed also. u lucky lor, yours so supportive.

michelle
oh...different size also exactly the same pooh bear design? hmm... coz i'm trying to figure out the size of the diapers (from the diaper cake hamper) i got as a gift.

mamato6js
the LG playmat is very heavy ah? i like it coz i was thinking when we need to mop the floor its easier to roll it up. rather then the ABC mats which i'd probably have to take out and put back 1 by 1. the other thing also regarding the toxin, my hb rather paranoid. its not really very big right? coz i measured it and it seems quite small actually. did your kids like it? how old did u start to use it? when they can sit up or when they can crawl? wondering when should i buy it. is it easy to clean too?

i just had a terrible evening .... baby fussed from 4pm till now. usually he will be in bed after i bathe him at 7-8pm. but not just now. and today i kept feeling that my breasts were flat and floppy. didn't help that he kept wailing and wailing everytime i put him to the breast to try to get him to sleep. i think he was overtired (even though we were at home the whole day) and preferred to sleep instead of nurse. then my toddler also couldn't get to sleep till 10 plus since baby was crying his lungs out. hiyah ... was so depressed at 10 plus that i went to dig out my pump and bottles. washed them but in the end, i put baby to sleep with a pacifier and didn't pump out any milk. am actually trying to delay expressing EBM till december. just took supper and now i feel better. shall give bb a proper feed at 1 plus and then go sleep ... having my first month party this afternoon. don't want to get panda eye bags in all my photographs.

waiwai,
my boy has jaundiced eyes still even though he's turning one month old today. PD never arranged for any follow up on the jaundice after the first two checkups even though she was well aware that he still had jaundice. i think it's because it's quite common for the yellow-ness to last for some time, esp if you're breastfeeding fully.

momoteh,
my family members will ask such questions also (huh, baby hungry again? drink enough or not? why baby cry ah? etc ...) when they keep hearing him cry. although the intentions are good, but the comments are irritating. that's why for this child, i don't even allow my family members to visit me at my place at all. if i want to see them, i go and visit them, not they come to my place and disturb my schedule + ask irritating questions.

Michelle

I happened to be looking ard for one luckily i went in to KK branch and saw it on half price... so damn happy
Call them just in case cos the lady saw while stock last.

<font color="ff3399">momoteh</font>
Uh oh. Then you cannot defy MIL liao. Hurhur. Maybe you should just express a couple of time to demonstrate how much milk you actually have!

<font color="ff3399">Pamelia</font>
I did what Jenifur taught me – to use sterilising tablets. Then only need to steam once a day. But still gotta keep washing lah. Really quite sian...

<font color="ff3399">bbq98</font>
When you express less often, it's only natural that your boobs manage to accumulate more milk mah. So when you express, naturally it seems more?
If you record down each pumping session's amts, and tally up at the end of the day, you'll realise that pumping every 2.5-3hrs will actually give you higher yield (not to mention stealthily increase your supply). It looks damn pathetic to pump only 40-60ml per boob every 2-3hrs, but I get at least 200ml more than if I was to only pump 4x.

<font color="ff3399">Connie</font>
I wouldn't advise you to use cabbage as it may cause your supply to drop. It's what mothers who dunwan to BF do – applying cabbage leaves to "dry up" their supply.
Try to use those breast relief packs instead.

<font color="ff3399">Michelle</font>
It's a gamble with the Yummie Tummie. I'm taking the risk too. But so far all the stuff I buy also work out very well cos I sibei kiasu, always do intensive research for reviews before I buy. If you can trust my recommendation then buy lor.

mil n bf

i was surprised that mil is very pro feeding bb with bm. keeps saying that fm will cause constipation, dunno what they put in the powder, etc etc. she din even bf her kids coz she was really young n ignorant n had probs bf-ing till she kena fever from engorgement. perhaps it's from seeing my sil bf her 2 kids?

anyway since the beghinning, i had supply probs. she did make papaya fish soup, ask ard her auntie/hawker frens, n she has been cooking fish for me practically everyday coz they told her fish = milk! i dun dislike fish, but i've nvr had it so often haha

so anyway, since all along she knew i had supply probs, so i guess she can't really make comments like those that u gals have been receiving? in the begining, she also asked abt whether bb is hungry..

then when he stopped latching n i began pumping n giving ebm, the reflux thing started.. n she went into the dun-feed-him-so-much, he's too full mode haha

kiki
wah ur baby tounge all white means u never clean before ah? i clean once a day (lazy mom) using a very soft cloth and warm boiled water to wet the cloth and just wipe the tounge and gums. he hates it cos when he suck on the cloth, no milk comes out mah!

yes the LG playmat is not v big but v heavy! the ABC mat no good lah, last time my boys like to dismantle the alphabets and chew on them! the LG mat easier to clean too. i use that for their tummy time as well, can start using anytime now lah but best to be used when baby is ard 3 mths? and i like to throw many toys on the mat to entice baby to grab them. then when they learning to roll ard also v useful

kiki

u just reminded me.. sam is very chubby now, so mil can't say he's not eating enough. n she has also witnesed 1st hand how greedy he is - he will snap onto the teat like a crocodile, then proceed to suck violently till he chokes! she saw how much milk was in the bottle so she can't say he's underfed.

maybe u gals with mil n bf issues shd do that! pump out, feed bb in front of them n shut them up.

bbq
for me the diff abt pumping evey 3 hourly and 6 hourly is not so much the yield cos i should be gettg the same. my boobs on average produce 50ml per hour so i work on this formula, 3 hourly i get 150ml min, 6 hourly i shld be gettg 300ml min, sometimes more. if more of course its bonus lah. but what im more concern abt is the thickness of the milk. if my pump interval is longer the milk not as thick n rich as when i pump 3 hourly lor. not thick = lesser calories to me. my 2 cents worth la. but then again u r very right. if u r so timely on pumping, it really leaves u no time to play, bond and enjoy ur babies. not to mention u have 2 to enjoy!! we all do what we deem right for our circumstance.

mamato6js,

er...yeah, i never cleaned it before :p ok, i'm a bad mummy... but i really don't remember reading abt it leh. me blur blur...1st time mummy mah, i thought when teeth come out then its time to start cleaning n brushing mah! i only noticed quite recently when my gal gave me a big yawn and i'm like "whats that!" keke...

lg mat.. oh... 3 mths. yeah, i was also thinking that might be a good timing, coz around 3 mths their neck will be firm? just how heavy is heavy?? shouldn't be a problem rolling it up and lifting it against the wall, like a carpet?

Oh man.. my Jordan also fuss for very long.. and drank a lot also... I gave him 120ml FM thinking that it will knock him out but I was wrong... he still asked for more... then I ask hub to make another 30ml FM then is enough for him.. Oh man..

Just now so angry... As you all know that my supply already low... just now express milk already then put on the side table so that I can sooth baby.. then dunno if I knocked the table or my girl walked over knocked the table, my breast pump dropped and milk leaked..

Already so little milk supply, then spill it... so angry with myself..

jul,

if i pump out and show my MIL the amt of BM i'm producing, i think she'd freak out, coz my supply is so low! but despite it still being low, i still wish to do it as i really like the feeling and its good bonding time with my gal. if she's not sleepy, she will suckle and give me those loving eyes. sigh... wished i could TBF! too bad my breast bu zhen qi!

ahaha.. u also nv cleaned bb's tongue. its comforting to know i'm not the only blur mummy. :p

Pam:
Yah loh, have to 1 ear in then both ears out quickly in fact. Else even though she's a good MIL in other aspects, I'd have boxed her face.
U pumped for 2hrs?? Nipples not sore ah?? I was wondering my wrist will break first or nipple will drop first...

Michelle:
Like questioning our ability as a mother right?? If bb hungry &amp; we got not enuff milk, need them to tell us meh??? The fact that they are still seeing they grandchild CRYING in front of them means so far surviving lah!

kiki:
You tell her, long long time ago, before the invention of FM, babies survived on BM. Fed up hor to hear them commenting such things on our bbs, but lucky your gal is growing well. Else they sure blame everything on us, the bad mummies! >_<

I wonder issit because breastfeeding is like the "IN" thing now, and we're sort of being pressured into thinking that we must have the capability and ability to breastfeed. Nobody cares (ok, some hbs do) if we have enuff sleep or our wrists are breaking or whether we have enuff sterilised bottles. Just when you tot you can have some rest while they play with bb, once bb wails, they throw back to you and said, "nah, hungry, FEED!" &amp;*&amp;%!$^#

Seriously i tot i had post natal depression during confinement. I bark and bite at those who keep asking me what is wrong with bb when he cries. How i know?? They dun come with instruction manuals!!

kiki

Oh yeah, true hor!

Aiyah i know, it's darned sian to have unproductive boobs. I used to feel (and once in a while, when I'm down, I still feel) that I must be a useless mummy if I can't even feed my BB! Then I snap myself out of it n get on with "life".

But yes, I miss Sam latching on. I loved to look at his side profile while he sucks. So sweet n cute n vulnerable *sigh*

ok, i'm slow typing with 1 hand..

by the time i post the last msg, it's "outdated" replies le..

kekekeke...

Are those who are still online now "Pumping Pals"??? :p

Jul:
I quote "maybe u gals with mil n bf issues shd do that! pump out, feed bb in front of them n shut them up."

Hey, i'm very evil. I actually went thru in my mind how shiok it will feel to pump and store 1 milkbag-ful of BM, freeze it hard, then throw in MIL's face saying, "hungry right? You FEED!"

gosh, i'm a 恶媳妇

jul,

why not latching? still very sore now?

momoteh,

me gave up pumping liao. coz my supply very low so nowdays just latch on only. but oddly enough, now that i've been latching on at every feed instead of pumping, i actually feel that my breast are more full.

i'm just awake now waiting for my gal to wake up for next feed, which is soon.

Momoteh,

2hours of pumping with my stupid old pump I had soreness, and my wrists were breaking...

Now that I've finally changed my pump to the handsfree one... ( With a PRICE to pay and a hole in my wallet ) My wrists are finally saved... My wrists are very important to me. Injured wrist = no income.

My BB is wierd today.

She choked on her 12MN 100ml feed and I patted her... She cried and looked as though she was either in pain or throwing tantrums 2 - 3 times . I've never encountered that before... She slept till 1am and woke up again... Gave her another 90 ml because I am afraid her stomach would explode... I'm so tired... I think they should invent a pump for when we're sleeping... >.<

Latching,

Actually somehow or rather I feel that I wish I can latch now than to pump... If it wasn't for work and pumping maybe my supply wouldn't have dipped. T^T

Waiwai,
Dont worry too much..everything gonna be fine. Most importantly dont blame yourself, coz its simply not your fault &amp; it doesn't help in the situation. Be strong...Will pray for strength..

michelle,
EYS bai fong wai..

wow how i wish i have 20bottles. i use milkbag so wastage as my hubby prefer small feed per feeding lor.. so i use two milkbag for 150ml bm..

I NEED MORE GLASS BOTTLE... sob... still yet to go mt a :p... afraid they ask me , are u delivery in mt a then i stunk.

i very stress seh... im going to work very soon. if per day bb feed 6times. how much extra storage of ebm shld i have b4 start work ah?

any better solution forpumping mummies ah? i already use sterlize tablets instead of steam sterlizer save time to wash sterlizer...

any ideal to cut down on these chores.. there mus be a better way!!

very single pump, we have to Wash,Sterlize alos mus wait for half hour,ensure dry , ensure air tight argh..... etc..sigh..why so difficult?

Just browsed the Yummie Tummie website. Everything looks really nice, tempted to get all !! Any reviews ? Strappy or Boyfriend or Tube ?? Or even Peek a Boo ?

<font color="ff3399">Lina</font>
Oops. I just finished pumping.
Jiayou!

<font color="ff3399"> Jul</font>
When are you going to get yourself an MSN acct huh?? I think we should create a "Pumping Pals" chat group so we can all chat and distract while pumping.

Hello Shelled you are around too, you girls are soo hardworking. Because of you girls, I get the strength to be more hardworking with my pumping!!

My Msn messenger is [email protected] ~ do add me so we can chat, esp next month when my hubby returns to get us. We will leave Singapore, I will be all alone with baby when hubby goes to work. All my friends there doesnt have kids/babies.

flower4,
Thx, ummm then the rest are just nice BODY BINDER dresses / tops to wear out ?

kiki

coz sam gets very angry when i try to latch. only 1 hole leh, how fast can the milk be? sigh..

latching is good for milk supply mah. gd if u can latch more.

momoteh

haha that's funny leh

oh forgot to reply u.. i dun use the pumping pal, just hold with one hand.

shelled

er.. msn acct ah? haha i told u i'm a technosaur liao

Pumping now =)

mwerkz
thanks for the offer. i saw a BP have ready stock so went to buy liao. ex thou at $19

LG Mat
find it really useful. save my gal alot of bumps on the head...good buy!!! hee

kiki:
Sometimes i predict my boi will get up at a certain timing, i stop my things to wait, he didn't wake up as expected. Then the moment i go toilet or bathing only, he wakes up &amp; wails for milk!!
You pump in between latching to try up supply? I tot that's 1 of the way we can try lah, siong on the mummy though..

Pam:
2hrs of pumping is no joke..You're the Queen of pumping! lol~
I dun understand, why give her 90ml more when you're afraid her stomach will explode??
Know this is gng to be difficult, but maybe for this period try to limit # of customers you taking? Else waste your effort in getting a better pump &amp; working hard to up supply again. Jia you!

Lina:
ME! but i think you're done pumping, unless you're trying to break Pam's record..kekeke.. :p

shelled:
Jul HAS got a msn account! It's a dormant one though... hahaha, she only added me then end of activity.

Jul:
You tried massaging your breast before? Think it helps a little to open more holes. I also used to have 1 operating line nia. We must have SMRT's spirit k? Open more &amp; more lines!

Momoteh...

Yes Queen of Pumping I may be.. I pumped 2 hrs and only got less than 50ml that time...

Now I will pump before my customer arrives.. If it's a big job then when processing, I'll pump again. =3 Tedious >.<

So tempted to move my pumps to the study room so I can log on while pumping at nite too.. but hor, worried that I'll end up surfing instead of going back to bed... or even worse, end up shopping online! Hahaha

momoteh

i think my msn acct died long long ago liao! i dun even rem the email address for that!

haha funny, like smrt eh?

sheryn.. thanks for the milk bottles but i dun need it already.. i'm getting the milk trays.. Thanks ya!

pump: I'm so much in love w my frien's dual pump, it really makes life so much easier lo.. damn happy.. hehehe.. really can cut short my pumping time!

xmasc.. ur little one is so cute! can smile so sweetly!!

bb's tongue.. kiki, my mum also go by the way u say.. but i dun dare to go too deep.. so if i clean.. end up also not clean haha.. must ask my mum to do it
well.. she's done it for all of us n also my nieces n they r all growing up well so i guess no harm ba.. but nt cotton bud ba..

rach.. my mursing pillow is similar to yrs.. but i just cant adjust it to get the right position to be hands free!

momoteh.. next time u press ur nipple n saw ur MIL the milk tt is coming out lo... then cannot say no milk liao ma.. its bb whom dun wanna drink.. tt's wat i do to my mum n mil.

pam.. u mean u r on the pump for 2 hrs?? no break inbtw? not painful ma?

Gd morning!! hehe i was up pumping ard 3+ yest too.. but din log in here as just wanna get it over n done w fast fast then can go sleep..

sheryn.. thanks for the milk bottles but i dun need it already.. i'm getting the milk trays.. Thanks ya!

pump: I'm so much in love w my frien's dual pump, it really makes life so much easier lo.. damn happy.. hehehe.. really can cut short my pumping time!

xmasc.. ur little one is so cute! can smile so sweetly!!

bb's tongue.. kiki, my mum also go by the way u say.. but i dun dare to go too deep.. so if i clean.. end up also not clean haha.. must ask my mum to do it
well.. she's done it for all of us n also my nieces n they r all growing up well so i guess no harm ba.. but nt cotton bud ba..

rach.. my mursing pillow is similar to yrs.. but i just cant adjust it to get the right position to be hands free!

momoteh.. next time u press ur nipple n saw ur MIL the milk tt is coming out lo... then cannot say no milk liao ma.. its bb whom dun wanna drink.. tt's wat i do to my mum n mil.

pam.. u mean u r on the pump for 2 hrs?? no break inbtw? not painful ma?

Wow how did u gals manage to climb out of bed to pump 2-3x in the middle of the nite?? Still gotta wash, sterilise and pump!! The tot of these I rather latch and slp.. Very pei fu!! I'm so inferior as compared to u all.. Already find it so slpy waking up to latch lor.

I get the same comments for breasfeeding too.. But mil keeps saying something even more depressing.. She KEEPS saying that I didn't eat enough during pregnancy cos I scared fat so baby didn't get enough food, that's y now keep crying so often for milk and when she drinks like I've starved her for months!! Damn sian of her comments and she says the same thing evwrytime bb cries lor! I can't even fit into my pre-preg clothes and put on 15kg and she says I din eat!! True my gal is tiny at birth but I also don't know why mah! Complained to hubby n he says he didn't hear these comments n we almost quarrelled.. So pek chek!

wah sey.. e yummietummie so exp ley.. will skip this spree hehe..

i damn angry w rustic nirvana.. gave me wrong n incomplete information.. tot i can go for their postnatal massage after my confinement.. happily called them wanna book.. in e end they say c-sec need to wait for 3 mths later! then still call postnatal massage ma?! nver tell me in the 1st place.. i seriously dun understand the logic lo.. if home visit can do postnatal.. then go their studio must wait for 3 mths then can do?

<font color="ff0000">Steph</font>
hugs.. be careful the next time ya..

<font color="ff0000">kiki</font>
wah..ur girl will give u loving eyes...mine always suck with eyes CLOSED!
else she'll be looking elsewhere...
i've a feeling my girl dun like me.... she doesnt want to look at me!!!!!!!!!!!
she smiles at my parents and my HB....but she doesnt smile at me..........okay..maybe ONCE....
>.<"

my mum attributes it to me spending too much time on internet and not with her......

ur gal will wake up very zhun zhun every nite for feed ah??
my girl sleeps..and i jsut sleep...
only when she cries..then i turn and feed..coz she's sleeping in between us now...

<font color="ff0000">momoteh</font>
yah...my mum this morning just asking why let my HB take care of bb when he comes back..
he need to work and i dun have to..whole day at home still so tired meh??
Coming from MY MUM!!!
then she said i not automatic..... wah lao?!???!!!
And she sees me BF and all that..she said BF only ma..very difficult meh?? all i do is only BF...
bathe and nothing much....... everyday on computer thats why so tired..... >.<"

She said should let me HB rest when he come back from work..
hello?? then he no need bonding time with baby ah??
he no need to let baby know who is her daddy ah??? wah lao... kaoz...

hahaaa....operating manual.. if only there's an personalised one..maybe when we deliver them, an operation manual will come with it..
let us know what is this baby's temperament.. feeding times etc hor?? hahaha...

<font color="ff0000">Pam</font>
why dun u latch whenever u are with her..and pump only when u are away???

<font color="ff0000">Lina</font>
haha..thanks..everyone says her hair is ALOT and VERY black.. mmm..
hehe.. thanks..

But it has became more brownish... hehe...

Oooh.. i love Tank and Boyfriend... i quite like Boyfriend's cutting..
but when i choose size.. the colors quite limited leh.. sianz....

no pricing for racie and bare back..sianz.. dunno can buy or not..

yah..only nursing T can wear for BF..the rest all are just tummy binders... and nice to wear out nia...
hahaha... prob can wear when we stop BF??
then buy now for what???
or can still wear la...then when want to feed...put on poncho and take off la.. whahahaa...

Lina, only 10min on each side... 40ml is normal..
last time when i was using single.. i pump for an hour to get 60-80ml okie...
i switch every time the drip drip stops...

<font color="ff0000">Kris</font>
$19 is pretty standard....some sell $20 or $21.. i ever saw.
but BP got one selling at $18.50 also.. u didnt buy from her???
got 2 BP on Lansinoh now... LittleThinkies and KP..
i think KP is $18.50

<font color="ff0000">itsy</font>
most of us have our pumps in front of PC.. hahaha...
mine is handsfree.so once i attach everything and press the ON button, i come in to read and reply..
hhehe..

<font color="ff0000">kat</font>
i dun use it handsfree on the nursing pillow...
i still hold my girls head...
coz sometimes she's too far out..then keep slipping out...
i use the pillow more for support... and i still use my wrist to hold.. but less effort needed...

esp football hold... but sometimes..if she happens to be in a right position then i handsfree..then i reply SMS.. haha..

haha..yah.. now my mum will tell me... drip liao drip liaoz..quick put inside the mouth!
hahaha.... and with the packets/bottles of milk in the freezer..she ask me... you keep so much for what??
never feed her.. like that where got fresh??
no good to feed frozen ones... and my dad complains too..that its not good for bb... >.<"

sometimes..hard to get messages across to older generation.. sigh...

<font color="ff0000">milkyway</font>
hahahaha..when the breasts gets too hard and leaky.. no choice but to pump.. but i only pump once a nite...
btu i didnt last nite..
coz she woke up at 3hourly to latch..so save me the leakiness.. hehehe...
my pumps are always washed and then throw into the sterilizer..
and its in there till the next pump session... but during the day, sometimes i sterilize pacifiers, syringe etc.. so the pump does get sterilized again and again..
anyway...if u dun open the lid, can last 12hours...
so when i need to pump, i just take out my bottles and pump, assemble them and then go back to room and pump loh..

After pump, wash and throw into sterilizer again loh...

<font color="ff0000">Kat</font>
u wanna my contact for ML or not?? $170 for 5 sessions.. but then dunno she can squeeze u in or not..
tell her u are Rachel's fren..she does alot of jurong client.. maybe can squeeze u in..

rach
KP's milkbags are not ready stock, need to wait a couple of weeks. but i need them like NOW, so pay $0.50 more loh

milkyway
i don't wash and sterilise my pump everytime one leh, just put in a container and chuck into the fridge, so when i wake up at night, can just take and pump then put back in fridge. save me the time

Jul, Katherine, Rach,

I was sore of course... But my eyes were worse.. 1 whole hour of crying while pumping... Now in a desperate attempt to UP UP UP. If not, when her intake increases from 100ml... I will be SO dead...

By the time I am home... I don't really have time to latch her on too.. If I can I really would... Firstly, I can't afford her waking up in hunger at night because if I latch, I won't know if she's had her fill... 2nd, If she wakes up... It's 2 people she's going to be keeping up and my DH and myself can't possibly go to the salon like zombies can we? X3

Sandwich
Happy 1 month !! Hope you have a good time showing off your little precious during the 1st month party ? Previously you mentioned something about the dermatologist @ Redhill, you stay around Redhill ? I am currently staying @ Redhill, maybe we can meet up some day &amp; my little baby girl just turn 1 month too.

Rach,
Its normal to yield that little ? BB is already 4 weeks old, thought my supply will be more. Anyhow I need to have more coz its definitely not enough for my little princess.

<font color="ff0000">kris</font>
ahh.. icic..

but after pump, there's milk remnants in the pump rite?? u just chuck it back into the fridge??

<font color="ff0000">Pam</font>
once she latch, she'll unlatch when she's full ma... so.... when she unlatch and pui out..its full loh... no??

<font color="ff0000">Lina</font>
pump makes a diff also.. what pump u using??
after 2nd week.. i changed to Medela liaoz..and since then, it was a breeze pumping..and supply continue to up up up..
though i dun have 200ml at each pump.. coz i normally pump only after the wee hours feed... IF my breasts are hard or leaking...
which is usually once a nite..

and i can have about 140-170ml each pump after latch...
so i'm fine with that...
i just pump to empty my breasts so tat i can sleep for the next 4-5hrs without engorging...

i pump 1 hour.. u pump 20min..of coz little.. why dun u try pumping longer?? nowadays i pump 15min with a dual pump.. i can get 140-170ml liaoz..
so u might wanna invest in a good dual pump..