(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Rach -
yummiestummies - I wan too.
By the way, any idea when will the milk tray reach me?

Jenifur,
any updates on the milk bag? Can est when will I receive it cos I left wif my last 10 pieces. So in case the milk bag cant reach me in time then I hv to tink of alternative.

Increasing milk supply
I tried the malunggay capsules - got it from the BP by Mumsfairy. Quite gd leh - I can feel my boobs getting heavier. milk supply went up quite a lot. Usually I can yield 170- 200ml every 3hrs after consuming the capsules I can yield 200-230ml every 3hrs.
Oni need to consume 3capsules /day.

Fenugreek,
Anyone interested to buy over? 1 X new bottle of Fenugreek Nature 's way 610mg 180capsules, letting go at $13/-. Self collection at Tampines. Interested pls PM me.

mamato6, lina, bbq, shelled

My 700 - 800ml is exclusively pumping, no latching lah. I'm too tired from all the washing, sterilising etc to latch then pump. Really can't afford the double work. Besides, my milk flow is soo slow - with only one ot 2 working ducts, sam sure scream his head off at my breast.

And seriously, this amt i pump needs total discipline. Miss one pumping n i won't hit this amount. plus i totally abuse my nipples n boobs to get this amount. really milk them dry lor! n still not enough to feed sam!

he drinks 90ml 12x/day = 1080ml!!!!! can die leh. my milk bags are just sitting there mocking me. forget abt freezing man, i just pump for the next feed until hei hei chuan liao.

sometimes i feel like giving up..

mamato6

sam was 5.5kg at 8 weeks, up from birth weight of 2.6kg, still wanna grow ah??? my arms are gonna break from carrying him.

<font color="0077aa">jul</font>
yes lo.. ur daily amt of 700 to 900ml is a lot!! mine is totally pathetic.... =(

mil is outta my house already.. she/ they think im the one at wrong for not being "filial" to her, for not letting her take care bb, not listening to their advices (dun BF etc)..
im getting my own mom to help me with my bb..

im BF my boiboi.. =).. but still give FM.. my supply still low despite taking fenugreek and doc's booster med.. (at least still better than initial stage)
i only like have time to pump abt 3-4 times a day only...

need to vent..

MIL keeps nagging me abt letting hubs rest. he needs to work, must concentrate on driving, he looks so tired,.. blah blah blah. did he wake up last nite, was sam noisy, blah blah.. let him rest, i can nap in the day coz i dun need to work.

WTH taking care of baby full time isn't work? feeding a baby with reflux 12x/day isn't work? what abt rushing to wash my pump so i can pump for next feed? or washing bottles n pumps till my hands are rotting from eczema? carrying baby n burping him for 30min coz he will puke otherwise? being so busy i can't even spare time to practise using the sling?

damned irritated man. has she ever see me nap in the day? yes I wake up at 9am because I sleep at 1/2am n still have to feed the baby in 2h intervals! That's called nap?

I gather that she doesn't realise how difficult it is to pump that amt for sam. I think she thinks I just sit down, open tap, can liao.

She was the one who went on &amp; on abt how I shd pump so that we know how much BB is drinking in the early days. Who the hell wants to know??? And she said, if pump out, she or anyone else can help feed, n not be totally dependent on me.

Then when Sam rejected my breasts due to low milk, she starts on about so mafun to pump n feed, so many bottles to wash. So difficult to bring out ebm to warm in time for the impatient baby. Who the hell wanted to feed ebm in the first place? And she never feeds Sam unless I specifically ask her to do so b/c I needed to pump.

Argh! Can die. Not enough rest will cause supply to dip. Wonder if she realises that. So she expects me to stay up at nite to look after baby n still be gushing rivers of milk???

<font color="0077aa">jul</font>
haha.. jul.. i only can manage to latch him on minimum at least once a 24 hours cycle.. cos my BM dun satisfy him at all.. latch him on minimum 10mins each side, and i can rotate 4 times, he is still not satisfy too.. in the end have to supplement with FM everytime.. (lucky MIL no longer ard in my hse if not she will sure snide me and laugh at my supply and scold me for making her grandson go hungry and cry.. very stress... the sigh of her makes me very very stress liao, even the mention of her and my hub's family -_-" )

so i alternate FM &amp; BM each feed... except at nite when i totally give FM so i hope he can go full on stomach and sleep longer...

everytime pump, i have to squeeze my boobs like mad lo to get more milk!.. lol

jess

yeah then it's a gd thing she's not ard to interfere.

Me too! I squeeze the boobs to milk every drop out haha. really squeeze until dry!

Just keep pumping n trying lah. If I can increase from so pathetic to 700ml, u can too!

ok gotta go store my pathetic milk (the 150ml bottle is a joke! I shd get 100ml or 50ml bottles to feel better haha) n wash pump again! hiaz

haha.. hello mummies!

finally can post after so long. HB suddenly decided to end his GAME early today to look after bb and i can concentrate on pumping!

How you ppl do it ah? I'm kiap-ing the funnels with 1 hand and typing this with another...

Jul: You're a very determined and wei-da mummy leh...

<font color="aa00aa">Jul</font>
Same like me.. i have so much to vent too but i really have no time to type type type... your MIL and my FIL is exactly the same! He says my hb must rest.. cos he need to concentrate on driving and work. So i no need REST? I will be going back to work in Jan too.. so if i continue doing everything by myself.. lack of rest.. i will have no energy to work too! And if i have no energy to work and end up lose my job, FIL will sure to nag again and say is my fault never work properly. Everything is ALWAYS my fault.. my confinement is ending soon... i dread going back in laws house... but i have no choice... that's my house... but soon it will not be... hahaha... i am so happy that i am getting my keys in end december or latest January! On the other hand, i think i will be super duper BUSY.. look after baby, settle reno stuff, prepare new school term stuff... confirm not enough REST! Now already not enough rest.... and at times my baby don't sleep at night I DON'T KNOW WHY......... sigh.... i feel like i am going to die very soon.... die of exhaustion! ):

pd> brought my son to c pd this morning cos yesterday he vomit after every feed. ended up pd say is normal as long as not using force to vomit, but rather juz like milk flowing out. haha. tok to doc 10mins, paid 107bucks -_-

ebm> so happy. manage to pump 160ml in less den 10mins time, 4hrs after feed. was leeking so badly, but was doing some prayers at a wake, so cant pump or latch bb. haha. so happy tat i eventually got to pump. =p

mamato6js> my bb borned on 3rd sep. same day?? lol. even though this is my first kid, de taking care experience is making me tell my husband this is oso my last lo =x so tired. heng i not sahm. else i will ki siao

huichern> lol. i feel like u. even though i only got one boy, wah. when i know my hubby cant finish wk n come hm on time. i really very sian. cos my mind is tuned tat working hrs is when he is at wk. anything more den tat. zzz

rach> i got de same rainforest cot mobile. my boy likes it leh. in de end i went to buy him de rainforest play gym oso. haven let him try on it yet. maybe this wkend ba. since 7wks+ liaos. it's time to try something new =)

stephanie> nhg polyclinic got sell fitti nb leh. tat time having promo. buy 2 get 1 free. each pack cost 14.90bucks before discount. not sure promo still on or not now

rach> lol. y stock up so many diapers? scared out of stock ah =p

Now that I've pumped, Fed BB (An hour ago ) Washed my stuff and got ready the EMBs ( Which My MIL DRAINED when I was at work ) , And waiting for my HB to take the "2nd Night Shift"I can now tell you about my baby shower which was on Saturday.

It was pretty screwed up. I was pretty cranky that day and I had to put a smiley face on till my Mum was out of my sight. Here's why.

I asked my parents to book the dining area at my clubhouse for the baby shower.

I had to attend to 2 customers before heading down, and so my father took the balloons and banner to help me get started.

When I reached the clubhouse, I saw my father in the FUNCTION ROOM at 5pm. He said that my mom didn't tell him which room it was and that was the only room that can be used. I HATE THAT ROOM as there was sticky tape that the people who had previously used it and not removed them properly on the walls. And it felt like a prison!

The caterer came at 4.30pm ( WHEN I TOLD THEM TO COME AT 5pm AS THE GUESTS ARRIVE AT 6PM ) Assemble so early the food will last till what time and turn cold?! Anyway he assembled the food in the function room and was waiting for me to arrive to collect payment and check my order. ( FOUR SEASONS will be the last I will ever order from them!!! -.- The dessert quantity was PATHETIC on top of the other dishes 'cept for the noodles for 35 pax!!! And I paid about 450! Buffer of 10% my ass! They should say Buffer of 10% for the NOODLES ONLY!

When it hit 5.15pm. A family came in and said they had booked the room... My father went to the security to double check and there! He got the wrong room! ( My Mother didn't inform him and he didn't ask! ) I was so pissed as time was running out and my poor old man had pasted balloons everywhere! ( His hard work all gone to waste! ) I felt like crying seeing him feel so bad. I had my B in my pouch and I was pasting balloons in the dining area as time was really running short. My Old man and HB had to carry the food out of the function room and REARRANGE the table that the caterer had put up. Luckily for the Security Guards that helped. It was late though.. My relatives poured in at 6-6.30pm and they were still figuring out how to put the table skirting into place. Called home to ask my elder brother for help but as he got married 4 days after my delivery, HE IS NOT ALLOWED TO SEE ME. So he asked my mother to come and help... WHICH SHE ONLY CAME DOWN 45 MINS LATER... STROLLING IN!!! * Blood Boils * At 7pm when most relatives poured in... My boobs were already really hard... >.< And I am not allowed to latch in public because my HB is very protective... And I can't go home to pump because my brother is home!!! 8pm... My right side was wet.. had my friend dry it with the hand dryer while I hid in the toilet. 9pm, I couldn't take it anymore... My brother was out and I went home to pump. Got more than 150ml out ( AFTER 7-8hrs of not pumping ) And when I went back down... That WOMAN said I wasn't supposed to step into the house! !@#$ So I was to pump in the toilet??? O.O Made my day man... And during the baby shower she kept holding onto my BB and didn't wanna give her back to me... Told her not to put the gold chain around her neck as it may strangle her, she didn't listen.. she still did it, and 15mins later I saw the chain already tightened around my BB's neck because they were passing her to one another and they didn't check that they were pulling the necklace behind! Dammit... Stubborn old people. Even my father isn't that stubborn...

So now my supply has dipped from more than 150ml easily in 3-5hrs to an agonizing 60ml and today it's at 130ml ( After milking myself silly and abusing my boobies ). Who do I thank man... I went into a 2hr depression and cried for a whole hour whilst pumping. Even my HB didn't dare to talk to me.

I'm currently back at work since Monday. And I'm absolutely DRAINED. I've been trying to squeeze in time to pump and my Mini Electric Plus isn't time saving at all... I have to pump in panic when I know my customer will be arriving soon...

up again pumping after 6h.. no engorgement. wonder if i'll ever experience that haha

momoteh

u're finally back. u still owe me something hor?

princess

yeah lor, mummies dun need rest one. guess in their minds, pple who dun work r useless??

pam

ah.. u poor thing *hugs* dun worry, supply will come back eventually as long as u keep pumping. u're getting a new pump right?

Kat,
i have not yet to start buying spare part for my pigeon pump when i bot, they give some extra in the packing already leh. i tink there 3 spare funnel &amp; the soft soft cup for pump one. 1 spare , all in the packing.

Rach, urs dun hav spare , spare parts in the packing meh?

my boy oso start talking and he can stand hard too when holding him on his armpit .. they grow sooo fast. kinda scary to me....

this morning when my hubby bring bb near to his chest leading facing out he standin on his own... EERRRRR..

Sheryn,
its ok, thanks for checking
. u got so many how come u din use the glass bottle?

pam
*hugs* must be a dramatic baby shower for u!!!

u need a double pump la to cut half of ur pumping time in salon. when u gan cheong, u lagi cannot achieve letdown. many moms supply drop when they go back to work cos of the stress n limited time to express. so go invest in a good pump n try to relax when u pump!

Jul
aiya i no pump 6 hrs oso no engorge one leh. just feel super duper heavy. our boobs hv adjusted their supply according to demand. the only time i feel engorged is maybe if i dun express 9 hrs??? that would be when bb has slept thru the nite n i dunno when that will come! dunno if its becos recently i start to let him drink ebm in the day n only latch him at nite he become so dilligent to wake up at nite to latch!

ur ILs so inconsiderate huh. it takes 2 hands to clap to bring a baby into this worlld leh. how can just leave the mother to do all the work once baby is out. cannot be that men only enjoy the process n the rest leave the women to slog wat. esp if ur hub himself not complaining.

rach - for old navy and gap, when i tried to make payment, they die die wants an US billing address. so even i use vpost also cannot. so i emailed them (gap does not reply...) and was told the system was meant to accept US cc. if wan to use intl cc, then must call in. haha so i am still figuring out how they organise sprees leh!! maybe like one of the mummies mentioned, they have bought from them before and have their cc records bah...

dun be kiasu and put stuff in your cart cos they will be cleared in a few days!!

bravado - haha okie i will email u and ask instead!!

rach

u were asking y huggies no gd right?

i notice sam can go 6-7 hrs w/o making noise if he wears mamy poko. but when wearing huggies, he will make noise once there;s poop, or when there's some substantial amt of pee. these 3 days i've been changing him at double the frequency!

mamato6

not fil, more of mil lah. i find it strange b/c she's a homemaker - surely she knows it's hard n she keeps talking abt how hard it was to take care of 2 kids by herself w/o help (got il issues then haha). or maybe she thinks she did it, so shd i?

cookiez

what's an international credit card?

Jul - i meant us cc haha!

mamato6js - hmmm really? then wad do u key in the billing add? cos they told me their website can only handle us billing and shipping add leh. teach me!!

Shelled
Wow, u so funny haha
. But having more than one is a challedge :p

bbq98
U got someone to help u cos u got twins leh. I got one newborn only.

Finally my girl is sleeping, now I can pump then take breakfast + coffee. I am still trying to come up with a routine with my baby. Any advise ? My bb girl wants to be cuddled before she can settle down in her cot. Arghh..

Jul
You are really wei_da to pump at 6am in the morning. I just cant get up..

MIM Slings - When my girl is slping, I can easily put her in but when she is awake she refuses to be in there. She will refuse to bend her legs. So how ???

-> leaking diapers

hey mummies, i'm currently using Nepia NB for my 1 month-old gal. it's a little big for her still.

noticed tt the diaper is always soaked with urine (to the back of the diaper), and it leaks sometimes at the back, esp when she is sleeping thru the nite now. suspect cos it's because there's a lot of space at the crotch area and when she pees, the urine does not get absorbed at the crotch area cos it's still too big.

(1) anyone using nepia diapers and experiencing leaks?

(2) any recommendation for good and absorbent diapers for use at nite? i heard mamypoko is not bad.

Pam... Hugz... everything will be better once on track (be it mother or pumping) just hang in there...

Cookiezz, think you got to call them to validate.. sometimes is like that one... Just need more time to validate

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">xiaowei</font>

Try folding down e top of the diaper before taping as shown in e video below. This is how e nurses in NICU fold Jed's diaper when he's too small for anything.

I've posted e link for 1 mummy to try (cannot rem if it's Paigey or bbq98) &amp; tink it works for her too

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JS5GekdL7-o

I've always like Nepia as it's v absorbent &amp; last thru e night</font>

haiz.. everytime I get my hubby or maid to warm the EBM, so stressed up one. Im currently using the lucky baby warmer but it seems to be taking forever. Wonder if it is use to warm milk sticks, will it take ages not. Then baby will be wailing her lungs out liao.

Anyone can recommend and warmer that;s fast and can warm the milk evenly and thoroughly?

Pam,
I think everyone here knows what you're going through. Quoting Nike's tagline, "YOU CAN DO IT".. Sometimes, you just have to take a deep breathe and close your eyes.. Don't see and don't care la.. Try not to let these things that we cannot control affect us.. Ar boh, like me, supply dip then will lagi pek chek!
Cheer up babe!

Need to vent

My company has yet to pay me my sept salary sign...Need to go look for another job soon.
But i really drag working again.Oh well, wat to do, no choice....

Jenifur,
any idea when the milk bags will arrive? i left with last 8pcs so must think of alternative just in case.

Hi Rach -
how abt the milk tray - roughly when i will receive? any est?

Why does thawed breastmilk taste bitter/metallic? And why does thawed breastmilk has small white particles in it? I taste it, it wasnt sour or bad, but just metallic.. kinda weird as opposed to breastmilk in fridge.

flower4

hee.. Kat nv get the glass bottles.. thk she might be getting the milkbags?

so do u wan the bottles? I'm not using them cos i've got medela storage bottles n pigeon ones.. n i nv buy caps for the glass bottles.. it's those small small glass bottles.. so put in store le..

hi prinzess55

yes yes this is the one!! I bought from this same bebelove, so comfy that i have 3 haha... u can get one and try, but i know she is clearing stock for this, so sizes are limited...

Just to share. I went for lactation specialist consultation at TMC this morning, for the LC to check on my not-so-productive-boob.

My aim is to make sure there is no blocked ducts or any other problem with this boob. And happy that there is nothing wrong with my boob, only a small lump at each side, the LC helped me to massage and cleared it. She said my baby sucks very well, she can get about 50ml from my good boob in 5 min, whereas the not-so-good boob only 15ml for the same timing. She advised me to stimulate the boob more often. She said the Medala pump is good cos it has stimulation mode, as in the first minutes turning on the pump is for stimulation and only after that is suction. Ameda pump doesn't have this. So Medela is good for those who need stimuation to get milk flowing. Since I don't have Medala, I need to use my hand to massage for stimulating my breast lor. I feel it's quite comfortable leh, the suction, but yes, agree, it's noisier than Ameda. Also ask me to start with Feeneguk to see if can up the supply. She said usually one would expect the milk coming out from 4-5 "holes". She looked at my not-so-good boob and said actually milk did come out from 3 holes, but only 1 hole is super effective, so I can't see the rest. Not a concern how many holes are working actually. That's all I can share. Consultation fee $40, ok lah, have a peace of mind that there is nothing wrong with my breast. It's VERY COMMON that 1 breast has more milk than the other.

rach, do you still have the nursing poncho? I have a friend who's having her bb one month celebration this sat. Thought of buying that for her. Let me know which colors still available.. thanks.

<font color="ff3399">happykae</font>
Wow! 200-230 every 3hrs?! That's more than a 50ml increase every 3hrs!! Now I'm very tempted to try, but worried it may have side effects on me similar to the nursing tea.

<font color="ff3399">Jul</font>
Even though no latching, it's still decent leh. Even if you supp with FM, your BM still takes up three-quarters of his daily feeds.

Maybe you should try that Malunggay capsules from Mumsfairy! happykae got such good results from it. I also tempted to try.

<font color="ff3399">cookiezz</font>
Actually all you need to do is to call Old Navy/GAP once. Then as long as you continue to use the same credit card, no problem for future checkouts. But that one call will take quite long cos they will also call your bank and do 3-way call to verify your credit card is truly under your name. Then they will tell you how to key in your billing address. Most times they just ask you to select Alabama (the 1st US state in the dropdown list) and the rest of the fields just continue with your actual SG address.
It's worth the effort if you really gian ON/GAP stuff lah.

And I can leave stuff in my cart for weeks leh! How come yours is cleared in a few days? Is it cos all OOS?

<font color="ff3399">hollow</font>
Top Secret nursing tank is good huh? I also want!! But I don't think she has my size left. *sobs*

I'm not feeling good...

Currently, I'm having rashes on my left wrist &amp; it's swelling like a pig trotter. Red, itchy &amp; swollen! All thanks to the wrist support which my hubby bought. Was meant to support my wrist to prevent from further pain as I've 'mother hands'. But who knows I'm allergic to the material! Went to a GP and was given cream to apply. I'm now trying very hard to resist the urge to scratch my hand but it's difficult lor. Now I can't bend my wrist due to the swell. Haiz...

<font color="ff3399">Angeline</font>
Oh dear, that sounds very bad leh!! Hope it goes away soon. Did the doc say how long it'll take to recover?

shelled

i think it is very good!!! not only it's comfy, but nipple really no show hahaha!! for glamourmom, nipple can be seen so i paiseh to wear out, only wear at home.

and at $30++ it's cheap! sure no more your size? Think u can check with her leh.....

kam

Gd that u have no probs then. 4-5 holes ah? Hmm... I have 4-5 holes! From 2 breast combined! muhahaha

shelled

Yeah lah, I'm very thankful that I can get 3/4 BM for Sam. Imagine my old supply of, what was it, 50ml/day? Not even enough for him to puke *rolls eyes*

The malunggay capsules also contain fenugreek right? Seriously, I do smell like maple syrup - my pee, my sweat.. Maybe that's why Sam likes to drink my milk so much - smells n tastes sweet like syrup?? haha

Silly boy has been sleeping all day since 130am last nite. Can cry like mad for milk n diaper change - can even wake up n smile n laugh at me during diaper change, then fall asleep after milk!

shelled
Dic no say when will recover leh but I do hope it'll go away very soon. Doc say apply a thin layer 2 times per day. Really feel like applying more times cos I see my hand I buay tahan. So fat! I still have to latch my girl.

To mummies who supp FM to their babies

Any one interested in Similac stage 1 FM? I'm selling on behalf of a friend whose boy is allergic to it. Got 2 tins unopened (400g).