(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

girlygirly> yupe yupe, I am a Thai. PR here, been in Singapore for quite some time.

Took leave today to nua at home...so have more time to be here
tot 2nd trimester suppose to be more energetic, I still feel tired and restless.

Does anyone know if we can eat oyster during prenancy? Wat abt the sour cream in Mac's Filet-O-fish? Dun noe why but have craving for Filet-O-fish alot but friends tell me tat the sauce might not be good for baby...any suggestions?

phuangthong,

i think oyster better not to eat coz its raw. mac filet-o-fish, i dunno, but i still eat :p hehe..

sandwich> wah.. good that u getting a bigger flat.. we're now staying in 3 room with my parents.. our flat rented out..
but we most likely getting back this Oct.. then can renovate and move in bfore Christmas if all goes well and we can get our loan..
sigh... pray for miracle!! hehee.. :p

But our own flat is also 3 room flat... we were doing our layout and design last few days...
so exciting to be planning our own place.. and we are planning it for 2 kids in future...
Planned to stay there for 5-10years ba.... i think 3 room is okay la...
Your boy sleeps alone??? how come still cramped?? hehehe.. :p
U converted one to walk in wardrobe isssit??

Wah.. when ur house come, can look for my HB to design for u la.. hehehhe.. :p

delfine> ghahahaha. ur gynae sooo funny.. unless this 2 things disappear.. hahahahahaha.....
Oh... okay.. so formula didnt work for u.. hehehhe.. :p

girly> clean and green ma... so green lo.. hahahahha.. good for eyes maybe?? hahahhaa..
dunno where's the link.....

jenifur> ahh.. icic.. her clinic at TMC so most likly most people will want to deliver there so she's available more easily.. hehehe.. :p
I dunno abt the parking... coz we dun drive... and so it'll be cab to the hosp when i'm due.. hehe.. :p
But i do see some cars outside the building leh.. thats not car park?? i dunno....
hahahah... u can give Mt A a try la.. go for maternity tour la.. then u can feel better... :p

hahahhaa... u die die want to take 1 bedded coz of what i said issit??
u go and see for urself la.. maybe u are okay with the 2bedded as well...

milkyway> hahaha.. u are like my HB in a way.. but my HB wont close his eyes.. everything he see not up to his standard.. he will do it..
he will clean it... but grudgingly.. hahahaha. coz he pek chek and dun understand why so messy.. like the kitchen or living room etc..
hahaha..and he dun let me clean..
(it's my own house which i've been staying for yearsssss loh.. i used to close 2 eyes too..
coz i cant stand the mess... but since after clearing it'll be back to square 1, i decided to leave it.... hahaha.. )

hahaha.. so u can look for my Hb too.. heehhehe.. :p

Ling> WAH!! she quit her job to do ur confinement ah... Mmmmmmm.... hard to say no like that leh....
wah... so nice of her??????????

Chern> got... if 4 bedded all taken up then free upgrade loh.. else how??? no 4 bedded then we wait for our turn meh??
i'll take 4 bedded first.. at the very last min if still dun have upgrade... ask HB to tell them we wannna upgrade to 2 bedded...
hehehehe.. :p

kiki> yah.. she happened to be lying very near to the belly skin la.. coz i was suddenly feeling my belly vibrating.. so i put my hand there..
and it was soooo obvious.. HB put and he felt it too.. but that was only like once... depends on her position loh..

these few days she is kicking me more.. hehehehe.. can feel it more too.. esp in the morning when i get u for breakfast..

piggymoo> yes u are right.. TMC need to go out of the delivery ward to measure and weigh etc...
but for Mt A, everything will be done in the same room...

but u booked 1 bedded and though u stayed in 2 bedded.. they still charge u 1 bedded rate rite???
Coz they always charge the one u book for????

Braxton Hicks> not sure if i expereince it last nite... there was these 2 cramps at my upper abdomen.. like below my breasts area...
it lasted for a min or so.. then disappear.... weird weird feeling.. and after i stood up from the MRT, my right sides was numb for a while..
weird weird too....

i puked the moment i reach office today.. so sian..
no mood liaoz... supposed to work.. but i puke till both eyes red red.. sianz...

anyone wanan meet for dinner or something?? or high tea or what?? i feel so empty in my stomach... sigh....

Anyone start to have leg cramps at night ? I'm having it for the past 2 night liao. Also starting to have the ligament pain at the belly . So uncomfortable. Though this is the bb #2 . Lots of things i have forgotten as #1 is 4 yr old already

*ling*
for my mil, at least she 'never' ask my hub for $ at all lor..she is working full-time so ownself earn ownself spend. sometimes will give my gals pocket $ somemore...

bt think it's very unlikely that she purposely quit her job juz to earn ur 2K bah...after earning ur 2K then eat grass after that?? maybe doing confinement for u is juz an excuse for her to quit her job coz she might haf wanted to quit long ago...furthermore, u'll only deliver in sept mah, so fast quit for what?!?

maybe hygienic part can don't mention bt tell ur hub that u prefer to do a proper confinement lor...coz many say is impt...and taking care of bb at night also beri xinku de, u definitely want better rest at night and doubt ur mil can tahan...furthermore say mil doesn't know hw to cook proper confinement fd for sure since never help others do before plus the bathing of herbs also beri mafan de...

*phuangthong*
haha..okie..fr ur nick i guess so...bt fr the way u wrote, u are so...singaporean and hokkien pie, haha..

*phuangthong*

oh...didn't know cannot eat fillet o fish...eat so many times already. 1st trimester also eat once or twice...what's wrong with the sauce??

rach..

I really dun tink she's so nice to just quit her job for me n bb. perhaps for other reasons ba. If she really cared n willing, then why ask me if i wanted to do confinement at my mum's when i wasnt even 12 weeks preg then?

hui chern,

yes, i got leg cramps that day...but in the morning when i juz woke up and gave myself a big stretch on the bed. then suddenly, my lower leg the calf there cramped. screamed for my hb...luckily he still at home at that time. was terrible, so damn painful!

mayo and tartar sauce contains raw egg...

so its not so good la..

i tot we were talking abt this before???

during 1st trim. everyone here was talking abt what can eat cannot eat.....

anyone wana go makan with me now??? hahahahaha.....

hui chern

usually i haf cramps only during last trimester bt then so scared of the feeling and pain...now hub and i sleep in different rm and he's the type sleep like dead pig, place alarm clock beside his ear also won't wake type, if i gt cramps don't know hw also...

he will only wake upon my hitting and screaming and he can only be wake by me...his ears shut down to other pple's calling one...funny...bt i cldn't be possibly screaming fr the next rm, whole family/neighbours will wake...

Ling,

hugs...understand that during this period, esp when we are pregnant, we need huuby to be ard...for support and comfort...hang in there okie...u have us girls here till ur hubby gets back yah
Just curious, wat line is ur hubby in? Seems he has to fly ard alot.

Dun cry okie...smile and stay happy...cos baby needs u to be happy and strong

girly...

Maybe like u said, its just an excuse for her to quit her job lo. Aft earning the 2K, she will still get her pocket money from hubby ma. By then, hubby might have to give her even more since she's not working. I tink 1K is the minimum.. She might want more. She will just say she not working le, so need more $.

Ur advise in the 3rd para sounds feasible. Will try talk to hubby abt it if he's back by 2 weeks. So he can talk to her. But if he doesn't n only back in aug, it'll be alr too late to engage a CL then.

fillet-o-fish

The sauce is made from beaten RAW egg white. That's why it's no good for preggies. But don't think will be harmful, if you have eaten, it's ok. But try avoid it as much as possbile lor.

rach..

perhaps another day ba.. my MIL is back from work le n she has started cooking (but i duno she cooking for me or not la). n hubby has just called to say he's reached safely n he might be borrowing his colleague's lappy to come online later if ther is a connection but duno what time.. so gotta wait for him lo..

Thank you Kam and Rach, will have to avoid eating it liao

Huishan, think better not have Filet-O-fish. Maybe can try Mac Chicken

Ling

that's why i say my mil is a good mother compared to many lor...she knows my hub is the sole breadwinner so never ask my hub for $ de. even hub is the only son, she never pressure me to give her a grandson. after my 3rd gal, she even tell me can close factory liao, say girls are juz fine, so many children, we will be financially beri strained one...bt think getting allowance of 1K and above too much le bah (at least we won't be able and can't afford to do so...) u not working and next time one more mouth to feed leh...hopefully she don't really asked for that much...

maybe can xian1zhan3hou4zhou4 booked 1st??(ok like not very nice hor) bt think last min find one CL fr agency still not too late?? why not check it out fr the agency 1st.

Phuang> now already 2nd trim ok liao la.. can eat anything... 1st trim is the most sensitive one... everything not stable...

as long as u dun eat it EVERYDAY! hehehe..

Moderation is the key..

kam,

really ah?! oh dear, i didn't know.. i think in my 1st trimester i must have eaten more then 3x macs fillet-o-fish.

rach,

when i make sandwich at home, i always pile it up with lots of mayo, coz my favourite. but mayo i think it is pasturised leh.

PhuangThong,
i still eat filet o fish with the mayonaise.. but not the oyster lah.. it's raw leh...

rach, i'm not like ur HB lah.. i dont do it cos i'm lazy and somemore i dont treat it as my home so all the more dont see a reason to do. haha... so just close both eyes lah. Anyway not staying for too long mah.. now pregnant, all the more dont have to do... kekeke

haahaa i have a similar incident.
yesterday i order strawberry & banana fruit juice from Coffee Bean.

When i was drinking halfway, i suddenly recall we cannot eat some type of banana. too bad i already left the place and drank half cup. no where to check what type of banana they used for the juice.

anw i console myself 1st trim is the most sensitive ....... rach u r rite. Moderation is the key..

huishan,

i think its the big del monte types that we're suppose to avoid. but i think 1 cup of fruit juice is ok lah... should be quite harmless. not to worry to much.

girly..

How nice to have such a nice MIL.. I actually used to tink that she was not that bad; aside from the cleanliness which i nv could tolerate. Plus at that time im still not preg. I'll just rewash the dishes before i use them or clean the house as much as i can tho' most of the time its back to what it was before in less then 24 hrs. I'll so things lidat last time lo. But now that im preggy, n without the ability to do much housework.. i cant help but tink of bb n the kind of environment he/she is goin to live in. When i lost my job n then i learned from hubby that she's not happy with what hubby's is giving her. (It was $800 then). I really started to tink as to what kind of mother she is. Her son is working so hard for the family n for the arrival of his bb n on the other hand she can demand so much. When she got more from him, she just say, then bb how? Contradicting right?

If I book first, I'll definately put hubby in a very difficult position le. ya.. not very nice.. If get Cl from agency, I might not get one which is good. So I duno ba.. Maybe by the end of 2 weeks, if hubby say he has to stay for another 3 mths, I'll put it to him over the phone then see if he's ok that I book my first CL lo. When he come back or whenever possible then he talk to his mum lo. Anyway, she quit her job liao. Tell her now or later wont make much of a diff i tink..

Huishan> what drink u ordered?? Malibu Dream ah??? that one is okay la...they dun use fresh banana also.. its all syrup... hahahha..

Maybe real bananas was used in extraction.. but its still syrup... hehehe.. :p

I love Malibu Dream too.. but i like it better without sugar... No Sugar Added... not so sweet..

I worked in Coffeebean for 3 years during NUS days..

Nowadays i drink so much cold drinks...

Seasons Peach Tea, Apple Tea, Orange Juice, Sugarcane, Soya bean with grass jelly, Mug, Teh Peng, ...etc....
haahahhaa.... i seldom take hot liaoz.... coz the weather is sooooooo hot man...

But i sometimes try to be more cautious and rem to take warm water la.. hahaha... :p

Thank you Rach, u saved my craving....hahaha...Macdonald here i come!!!!

girlygirly, i agree with ur xian1zhan3hou4zhou4 tactic for Ling....maybe both MIL and CL can take care of Ling, MIL can also learn from the CL. This way, Ling can enjoy and rest more...heehee

rach,
u wanna go for food now?? tot u said u just came in to office?

btw where is ur office? mayb can meet for lunch next time lah...

i studied here since pri sch...Peichun Primary, Xinmin Secondary...all very chinese sch...
Then my hubby is hokkien...so also speak hokkiien

thanks rach. haahaa ya i order Malibu Dream!!!!
I never see how they prepared. u know better since u worked there before.

yes i drink alot of cold drinks as well.
just finish honey dew juice!!! the weather is too hot!!!! I also drink packet milk, HL, Teh Peng, Iced cranberry juice, iced prune juice

milkyway> did u read tat i puke the moment i reach office???? everthing out...
stomach is empty now... bb keep kicking me...
dunno issit she hungry also... hahahaha..
but a fren going to tampines... so i takin her car.. she accompany me to eat.. hahahahhha....

I crave Cafe cartel's ribs now..droollll......\

Office at Newton... u wanna meetme for lunch must tell me early.. coz normally i eat lunch then come in office de... heheh.. coz nothing here to eat!!! hehehee.. :p

PM me ur number.. then i give u mine.. heheheh.> :p

Where's ur office?

rach,
oh sorry.. think i miss that part.. haha
u still puking now ar?

my office is in raffles place leh.. think newton abit too far.. yah i agree that there is nothing to eat there.. keke..

Phuangthong, i'm also ex peichun...

arh...u gals can really take a lot of cold drinks...me tries to limit to one cup of cold drink per day. sometimes juz steal drinks fr hub's glass, taking a few sips...i did this so often until my gal cannot tahan already and asked me: mommy, why u always tou1he1 daddy the shui3??

*ling*
oh mine..u mean even when ur mil is working, she still hiam S$800 given by ur hub to her nt enough?? so far i haf never hear anyone giving parents so much allowance de lor...

hey girly, to be honest with u, i kena from my sil.

she went to tell my mil quite a few times that i keep drinking cold water. anw my mil told her is okay.

ling
last time during my first preg hub also flew a lot. in fact he was based in aus and he only came back once every 2-3 mths for a wk of meeting in spore office. i also cried n cried lor and worst my family not in spore (they stay in indo) and most of my frds either working or partying. v lonely. but each time feel the kicks of the twins i know that they r with me and i feel less sad.

if u ask me, u better hv a good talk if u really dun wan mil to do confinement for u. to me, hvg a proper CL to do confinement no doubt is impt but ur feelings n emotions during the confinement period is more impt. cos i feel we feel v emotional n vulnerable during confinement and if we dun feel happy we can slip into post natal blues.

my first confinement was done by my mil and boy! was i miserable for that period. everyday cried until i think hub also got no heart till he asked his mom to go home and leave me alone! after that no doubt i was busy and everything do myself but i was such a happy person!

for me, i had a very cordial relationship with my mil. but thats becos she doesnt stay with me although i know she wanted very much to stay with us cos hubby is her bao bei son plus my hse is bigger than my bil house she stayed in. but i always made it clear to hub that its never possible to have 2 women of power under one roof. cos its my house and i want things done my way but mil is a very domineering person (esp the way she controlled everything during my confinement incl not lettg me feed my own babies!!) and if we both stay tog sure everyday conflict and our marriage will be affected. so he knows lah and in a way i also dun give face one lor. i rather sound like an evil wife than to tolerate everything in my heart and one day i will explode. cos i tolerated so much during the time she stayed with me for 2 weeks and i nearly went crazy!!

like what GIRLY said, i also think my mil is a very good in law, mother and grandma. she also never asked my hub for money even though she not working. she just wait for hub to give her every mth. if he late she also never complain cos sometimes he will forget and i gotta remind him to do it. and during my subsequent confinements, she would take bus all the way from amk to my hse in the east to bring me fresh groceries for my maid to cook since hub has banned her from stayg at my place to do confinement for me. i believe giving each other space is crucial to our relationship if not i would have disliked her until dunno when! anyway all these are in the past cos she just passed away last yr. she has her nasty moments lah, nobody is perfect mah. but when i think of my this confinement she will no longer bring food for me, i will feel sad also.

kiki / Phuang,

ya. But as I said, it shouldn't be that harmful. It's advise that pregnant woman should avoid eating raw egg cos of the salmolena infection. Salmolena is rare now but not totally not possible. But if you really CRAVE for it so much, then just eat lah, as long as you are happy. Raw egg white is just part of the sauce, and it's already processed, shouldn't worry much.

I am the type that believe in scientific sense. Anything can or cannot eat, I only believe if there is a scientific reason behind it. So basically I eat everything. Esp fruits, I eat everything, incl pineapple, watermelon, etc etc, as long as not too much, it's okay.

Puang
so u r just like me. i also study here all the way since p3 so im more sporean than indo! haha... but i hv just converted to spore citizen cos my hub cant stand my indo passport need to apply for visa everytime we go holi!!

girly...

haha.. yah.. but that's when u have a MIL who simply likes gambling. For me, I just detest such ppl who have not much control over their gambling habits. I'm not totally against gambling but one must know their limits n not to gamble beyond what she has aft deductin her needs from her allowances. She can come home at 3-4 plus in the morning n leave for work at 7am. When hubby asks her where she went, she can just conveniently lie that she was downstairs talking to our aunt. Haha.. but we were with our aunt that night at the hawker n we saw no sight of her. Instead our aunt, my MIL sis, always tells us that she always goes gambling.

Rach,
MS not gone by 2nd trimester? Aiyo.. poor thing! Eat more later or else your little girl will be hungry

PhuangThong,
Milkyway and I are also from Peichun Primary.. crazy! Anyone else?

ling,

what does your MIL gamble in? like mahjong, or u mean she goes to those gambling ships? your FIL no longer around?

Ling, hope ur MIL nv gamble at home. Next time if baby ard...dun think very good. Should have a good talk with her...but should wait when hubby ard...or maybe let hubby talk to her better.

Delfine and Milkyway, I grad in 1995, same batch?

Ling,
I think you really must speak to your hubby when he's back. Things like hygenie and certain living habits are quite important. If you just keep everything in you and tahan, one day, you will still burst out. Explain to your hubby in a nice way and since your concerns are justified, he'll understand and react accordingly. But I guess some things your MIL cannot change or won't change, then you just have to close one eye and ignore. Main thing, cannot si1 puo4 lian3 pi2 lor. Another way is to move out.

I know how terrible it is when the hub is away and you are very depressed and really need to talk to him. Maybe you want to try out this webpage. www.voipcheap.com You can call from your computer to landlines or mobile lines to certain countries for free for 90 days when you buy 10 bucks credit. Then you can talk as long as you want to your hub without worry about the $$..

Phuangthong,
Nope... I'm four years ahead.. meaning when I was a grand old Pri sixer.. you guys where still in pri 2.. hehheh

mamato6...

I feel very lonely too when hubby's not ard. This flat we live in also dun belong to me. hubby is the first owner n MIl the 2nd. So I cannot have much say in what or how i want the house to be organised. Its always his mum. She ever did ask me what colour to paint the house, the door etc.. but so what? my opinions were nv taken into considerations. She bought pink paint for the living room, green for the rooms n mud colour for the doors. Aft a few mths, I bought a rose white paint n paint our bedroom on my own. I dun care, its my room.

We stay in bedok while my mum lives in Sembawang. Tho' I drive, I try not to drive so often and so far cos of my rather sever lower back ache. Even movemts of my legs can cause me to be in great pain. So I will try not to drive lo..

My frens are all working and have lots of other committments so its very hard to meet up also..
We cant move out to live on our own cos my MIL only has 2 children. Eldest daughter is married with 2 kids n also living in a 3 rm flat. Same blk, same level as us. If we move to a bigger place, she's has to stay with us so theres no way i can "escape".

Seriously duno how long i can tolerate living with her.