(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

RE: Pigeon pump
if i remeber correctly, the pigeon pump is a single pump onli...
so if working mum best to get dual pump!

RE: MT A
Wahahaha RACH, ya my hubby cannot tahan the carpark at TMC so he say stick to MT A.. also he find the nurses there pretty good.. although services same in all slow coz shortage ....

itsy,
u r welcome!

Shelled,
Thks!

Hui chern,
I was used stool loh...$72 nt worth it leh...so sad...tot can hav better life...Hahaha...

Flower4,
She veri strong headed...notti at hm oso...nt scare of ppl...faintz..imagine all her classmates scare of her at such young age... hope she dun perform anymore stunts again...

went for my detail scan yesterday... so happy =)

bb is so cute lor...he cross and shake leg like little boss. when scan his face, he use the hand to cover his face. then when scan his "private part" his lower body go up down up down, like wanna show off.. so cute =)

Hi flower, itsy and shelled

Thanks alot for your advice.

I think all of you are right, the I should have asked to listen to the bb's heartbeat.

My MIL even scolded me for being stupid when I said that I have not heard the bb's heartbeat even up till 4 months!

Usually my monthly gynae checkup will go:
1. How are you?
2. Let me scan.
3. Everything's ok.

He doesn't bother to explain what he sees during the scan, neither did he mention anything about the bb's heartbeat at all.

He doesn't even bother to explain the tests and scans i went for. For e.g. the triple test. It was his nurse who explained to me instead!

Recently I just went to see him for severe gastric pains, and all he did was to scan and said NOTHING!!

And like what shelled said, I believe that my gynae just goes through the checkup as a matter-of-fact procedure.

Do you gals mind sharing what is your usual gynae checkups like?

hi christina: my gynae let me listen to baby's heartbeat for every checkup since the baby was 6 weeks old.

My usual gynae checkups are:
1. He will see my weight, my urine test result
2. How am I feeling? any questions?
3. Scanning, check baby, check heartbeat, check womb, check baby's growth and weight
4. Results of scanning. Developments in the next few weeks. Any other questions?
5. See me in 1 month's time.

I strongly advise you to tell your gynae that you want to hear your baby's heartbeat. It is more reassuring that everything is going well..

Hi Christina,

if ur gynae has e equipment, he can let u listen to the heartbeat every time.. they just need to point to the heart then on e speaker i think. Its very simple. My gynae tried to let me hear the heartbeat at my 1st visit when my bb was just 6 wks old.. I tot its impt to hear so can know hw strong bb's heart is? I always asked him if tt's a strong heart beat.. if bb's ok..

I guess sometimes we just need to raise our concerns/ enq to them if not maybe they dont know what to say also?

Normally for mine, when i go in, will sit down beside him 1st, measure my blood pressure, ask me hw am i. tell me hw mani wks i am nw, then will go for the scan.. during the scan, he will show me the bb's head, legs, hands and hear e heart beat.. see the measurement and says e size is on the track as well

after tt.. if i got any questions i'll ask him lo.. if not he will just ask basic questions ba like supplements finish liao ma etc lo..

Christina, just want to add that different gynaes have different practices of doing things.

Most importantly is how comfortable you feel with him.

Gynae check various from people to people... so depends on what u need..

My gynae din scan every visits de nor would he check to the detail like growth..
What he did first trimster would scan everytime then on 2nd trimster no scanning coz would do the detail scan and onli hear heartbeat. Would only ask got any problems like leaking fluid or bleeding. then on 3rd trimseter even no need to scan juz feel the tummy and do the monitoring on contraction in the last mth... overall if nothing major happen the whole medical fee would be less then $1k he dun have package de.. but surprisingly he only charge me $300 in hospital fee and every day he still cme visit me i stay 4days.

I had heard many stories on fetal heartbeat issue even myself also happen in last m/c... when things wanna happen even u see doc also no help de... Doc can do is all the necessary prevention give u the standard injection and pills and rest... but if it still happen it happen.. i understand from one doc say that if do a detail check on the death fetal u would see that somehow there is a defect in their growth and even if they are out in this world highly there would not survive either..

to me the most impt part is the delivery part... need a very experience gynae to help u and in case of emergncy they know how to do and what to... coz delivery porcess is more dnagerous then pregnacy, u could die bcoz of deliverying....
during the process of pregnacy it is very hard to do things..
Accident cannot be avoided but only be prevented..

oops am i too lor soh.. sorrie lar.. friday mood and i'm suffering from total exhaustion and tiredness....

rach..

Eh.. I tot the FBI card is $148 for 2 years leh? That's what my ex-col told me. Will have it checked out again when I go TMC for my detailed scan ba.

Thanks! U let me know abt the rooms at Mt A ba.. then when I go do my FA scan, I go for the tour myself then compare. Hubby says he prefers TMc tho' he's nv been there b4.. haha..

Ya.. Go check out the Pigeon Breast Pump ba. But I dun tink they come with those freebies.

flower4,
I'm at 17th week.. already put on 4-5kg! Stress.

Christina,
My usual gynae checkups are:
1. Girl at recep will check my weight and urine test result
2. Doc will ask how am I feeling.
3. Scanning, check n listen to baby's heartbeat, tell me baby's length and weight. Will also show me where is the body, arms, fingers etc.. cos sometimes I'm very blur, dunno what I'm looking at.
4. Sit down and she'll tell me result of scan or any extra test, eg Oscar then ask if I can eat, sleep, puking, fainting or any other questions.
5. Prescribe vits and see me in 1 month's time.

Christina
<blockquote>My usual gynae checkup:
1. Nurse will check my urine test result, weight and blood pressure.
2. Doc will ask how I'm feeling and whether I have any questions.
3. She will scan. She'll check the baby first before explaining to me what's going on. Usually I try not to ask questions so that she can concentrate. Heh. Once everything's done, she'll let me hear the baby's heartbeat.
4. We'll sit down and she'll ask me whether I want to do any tests, e.g. Oscar.
5. She'll prescribe vitamins.
6. Nurse will make next appointment with me (usually a month's time).</blockquote>

halo,
just quick update for my DS-FA scan yesterday...
bb is growing well...
bought a 3D pic but ex..cost me $50...
and got back the x-ray film with the parts...
total damage is $280(incl of the 3d pic)

bb at 20wk6days is 385g...

Ling

Yes, the FBI is for 2 years. I asked few weeks ago and confirmed this. So that you can make use of the 10% discount for your baby seeing PD in TMC.

Kam...

Thanks! Ya, I tink if I confirm delivering in TMC, it'll be worth signing up ba. My gynae from thomson women's clinic, so i tink got disc. off his delivery charges. plus got disc. off the room charges also. So quite worth lo...

mamato6,
kekeke...but count wks mine is still lighter than urs...
...i think i have gain about 2kg so far...cos 1st trim lost weigh...
will know actual gain after 2morrow visit to my gynae

kiddo> hahaha... i'll decide on next wed.. but suddenly i think I'm back to Mt A... hahaha...

purpleclouds> i think Sheryn signed up liaoz.. check with her which date she signed up for it....
I want to know too.. if i'm deciding on Mt A, i probably will sign up on the spot next wed too.. heheh.. :p
But i think Sheryn signed up for the weekend one....
I would think i'm gg for the weekday one.....
HB will have appts on weekends... and its cheaper on weekdays.. hehe. :p

Ling> you can sign up for 1 year or 2 years... 1 year is $148... 2 years is another price...

i got the brochure with me...

haahhaa.. never been there how to prefer?? he best....

i prob will go walk walk later... so tired whole week..today staying at home to rest....

cloudme> oh..my report for the FA scan will be sent to my gynae.. hehehe. :p
DS-FA is what?? meant for Down Syndrome???
I didnt do that.. i did the Detailed scan.. :p

mama6> wah!!!!!!! ur baby is 385g??????? My bb is only 280g.... unless i rem wrongly and its 380g....
but 100g difference is a lot leh.................... man.... i'll verify next week during my gynae visit.. hhehe.. :p
I've put on 2kg so far... since week5....

TMC Card> hahhahhaha... SORRY!!! its 2 year subscription for $148!!!

$188 for those 28 weeks and above......

Blur.. i took out brochure and see again...then i realised....

I wonder why i keep seeing it wrongly... :p

Paiseh... :p

rach,
DS is detail scan = FA scan...cos they refer to the same thing...
so in short is DS=FA scan...

i lazy so write in short... :p

cloudme> hahaa.. okay... i usually just write FA scan.. hehehehe.....

shelled> did u managed to find the Supernatural Childbirth book???

rach...

ya.. I remember its for 2 years. So aft birth if see PD in TMC got 10%.
wah.. u all get to weigh your bb alr ah? When will we get to weigh ah? my gynae haven weigh leh.

really hope hubby can go for the FA scan with me. He missed the NT scan cos he was working overseas then. But I tink this time he's gonna miss it too.. He tentatively would be flying off next week.. haiz..

me too lazy to go out get my lunch. I ordered Mcdonalds instead. heez

Ling> but if we deliver at Mt A, we'll go back to Mt A to see PD rite??? Mmmmm.....

I also just went for lunch... $2.30... haha.. cheap cheap rice....

cloudme
u put on 2kg only mah. i put on double ur weight leh! haha.. but on the average my babies are all relatively big, so if this one turns out big too, gynae will not be surprised.

rach
urs princess leh. so naturally more petite and smaller maybe? haha..

aiyah all these are just estimated foetal weight. not 100% accurate one

Ling - i so tempted to eat MAC but funnie i like mac burger but hate the fries hahaha... hmm maybe can bring my little terror out to eat tml!!

mama6> ahahaha.. but 100g... abit scary.. Mmmm... next week i get the report i let u know.. I'll be glad if my girl is petite... unlike her mummy.. so big-boned.. hehehe.. :p

kiddo> i dunno leh.. else where do we go???
Ling was saying go back TMC to see PD ma...
when do we need to go back to the hospital? hahahahha.....

Rach - i din go back to hospital after delivery wor... Upon delivery the hospital would assign one PD for ur BB first time i dunno so we din bother to find out but this tis time we would request alternatives of PD choices for us coz last round that PD i HATE him and charge even more expensive then my gynae!!!!
After then discharge got to visit the designated PD for review then upon this PD say ok everything is fine... CASE CLOSED... Lucky juz one visit!!!!
Since then i choose my OWN PD that near my place and a GP that also near my place and lucky is that my gynae also see bb and have injection for BB so all these 3 choices i'm no need to go back hospital for BB..
Further in any case of emergency i would go to NUH CHILDREN ER or KKH and not back to MT A lor.. But if ur hme is really close to MT A there are PD there also can see lar...
FOr me is the closer the better!! easier for me and my mother in any event!

Kiddo> so where is the PD they recommend located???
Mt A is closer to my place then KK.. but KK cheaper rite??

Injections we can go to polyclinic cheaper rite??

rach,

phew~~ i thought onli my bb so light weight.
mine is 268g. kekeke

but i go check average weight from 19 wks - 20 wks is 240-300g. so ours considered normal? keke

me also veri scare my bb same as me so heavy. =P
better follow papa style. haha

KK not really that cheap lar if u consider the time waiting blah blah .... so depends on what u wan...

Yes some injection i heard also free in polyclinic but bear in mind that subject to crowd in polyclinic althog bb got the first priority still need to wait subject to crowd!!

So i would say dun worry too much first sure around ur hse got PD de...

myfavchoco> ooh.. okay..then relax.. hahaha... i rem the nurse telling me my bb is average range.. not big and not small.. normal.. hahahha.. okie.... so 280g is okay.. hahahaha..
but i think abit higher.. hahahha.....260g seems okay.....

kiddo> where to find PD?? hahaha.. as in. how i know they are PD or not?? i've got like 10 clinics at my neighborhood loh.. hahaha..
Yishun Chong Pang area... :p

rach - err yishun i not familiar with... norm they will state outside their door de...err i need to ask around...
can google and find the area in yishun lor...
is sebawang consider near?? coz there one kidlinks in sebanwang

kiddo
my kids also with kidslink bedok. pd very good, medicines v effective but so exp lor! heng now can pay by baby bonus. but v near my place so very convenient lah if not i gotta go all the way to mt e.

Afternoon Mommies,

I had 10 chee kueys for lunch.. ^^

About the weight issue... I don't think I am gaining weight at all. Or maybe, really slowly... Because I am 52-53kg when my pre pregnancy weight is about 50kg! I am about 19weeks!

Anyone knows is it okay?

I've checked the Pregnancy weight gain calculator and I am supposed to be 54-55kg.

rach
they will put at their signage "consultant paediatrician". usually pd clinic names end with baby clinic or something for baby. so very easy to spot.

if u have a particular pd in mind that comes to do visit in the hosp u giving birth u can let ur gynae knows. else they will just assign one for u

hi moms... wondering if there has been any conversations on breast pumps.

I was actually offered a 2nd hand piece for free, but i read somewhere tht it's not good to share breast pumps cos the BM will get into the components.

So i'm looking to buy a new one. Figured it's a good investment...

Do u mothers use the same breast pump for all ur kids? And wht brand do u recommend. I am looking at medele Freestyle, but wondering if its too extravagant.

Wahahahah sure there are many other choices around no need to go all the way back to hospital de...unless urgent i do not like to go back Hospital unless got no choice like my dotter kenna fever or nose bleed urgent middle of nite and sunday no choice go to NUH Children ER ...

Ya kidlinks is rather expensive but Doc good and med go.. and always can get free tin of milk powder!!

RACh - in this forum u can read around there is few recommendations of PD in woodlands, AMK, etc....

kiddo> sembawang is relatively near.. which part? Sun Plaza or Sembawang Shopping Centre??

mama6> when will we receive the baby bonus huh??? how long after birth??

Pamelia> 10 chwee kueh??????? wah... u are good.. the most i can take each time is 4... or maybe 6.. but never tried.. hahahaha....
usually i buy 4 for $1...

lxlb> now i'm considering Pigeon Silent Electric Breast Pump... its silent...and seems good... but still considering.. hehhe.. :p

Rach -

Sembawang Branch New!
355, Sembawang Way
#02-03
Singapore 750355
(Opposite Sun Plaza)
Tel : 6484-4192
Fax : 6484-4152

Are our body temperature usually higher when we're pregnant? because i just took my temperature. It is 37.7deg. Am i having a fever?Safe to take panadol?

purpleclouds
<blockquote>Panadol is safe to take. I think you're having a fever. I had a fever about a month ago.
You cannot let your fever go above 38.9. It's not good for your baby.
When I had fever, I tried to drink more water and rest. When the fever went above 38.0, I took Panadol. If the fever goes above 38.5, it's best to either sponge yourself or take a cool shower.</blockquote>