(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

rach --- More bb movement to come haha.. very cute n funny.

Jenifur-- Ur MIL like my frend's MIL cannot mix the clothes together. They will simply make a hell out of noise for it say what husband later cannot "Chu Tou" .. VERy CMI.
Sorry if offended you har!! :>

heehee,Rach,u think really tat big, i tink comparable to booster la..

Rach, how to book tmc & mtA maternity tour ah?

i wish to take a look

TMC got so many previlege, u so lucky can choose between both.. so FBI is for TMC only ah..

ARgh. i really feel Glen E sux! sigh...
no freebie not benefit, no incentive. no maternity orientated.. my big mistake...

but year back they are quite good.but MtA & TMC pick up & specialist more in maternity..

i was born at TMC same as to all my siblings.

Mavis,
i tat type who always follow straight straight one la...if no follow mus well dun see. ::p

Flower-- Is true la up to each pax to believe la for your own good!! Pai seh being loh soh cos I know body got wind then to be very jia lat one. I use to fly last time then body a lot wind very "suan" in the bones very bad. Backside itchy la the older crew use to say after flight at least 2 hrs cannot bath I go bath lor cos the flight is damn bloody dirty to the core. In the end kanna suffer.

Jenifur,
u mind give me your gynea contacts? maybe con currently i see her. and see how my feeling go..
the worst come to worst i need to forgo Lisa chin package...So down to my luck.

WOW the massue at upp thomson ah, very from my home.

Mavis,
i try try my best to follow strictly for confinemnet period one, cuz my health no good mah.
so i will make sure i observe & rest well during confinment, jialuck jialuck

i dare not to call lisa chin clinic to check if i can get refund anot. for the package. so i take it tat its cant be refund lor.

Flower--- Ya my sister before birth also very jia lat her health. But the 1 mth if your hubby really can afford try to eat and "Bu" better so that when bb drink the BM will get the intake from them to build their immune system. My nephew now 6 mths le.. go every injection dun have fever at all. Very strong boy."Touchwood" better dun have. :>

rach.. i usually take every nite.. keke.. coz AM rush for work no time take wt.. hee.. wat's FA scan ah? so good u felt movements!!! i havent felt anything leh.. not even e quickening lately..

dunno issit coz i cant tell e diff.. sometimes feel sth rumbling but is not below naval.. is slightly above naval.. haiz.. wonder when can feel movements..

today went to MIL's hse for dinner.. then MIL keep saying i muz eat more.. if not bb not heavy enough muz stay in hospital cannot go home n v exp.. wa lau.. i feel v sianz!! 1stly seems like she's more concerned abt bb's condition than mine..

she doesnt noe tat bb's gaining wt at my expense..!

then gynae told me avoid tonics like ginseng etc now.. then we oredi told her.. she keep saying where got preg pp dun eat tonics.. dun dare eat oso muz eat! else bb nt strong etc.. everything is abt e bb!! urgh!!! i juz act blur n smile..

jenfur, mavis

rach,
yah i paid $88 for the 1.5hr session + services to edit 100 photos + same 100 photos in softcopies in a disc. topped up $4 to receive the disc through registered mail. it's definately the cheapest cheapest cheapest photo package for kids around!

flower4,
wore tube cos i only can bare my arm. the rest of my body, from lower body onwards, is covered with eczema. my eczema is so bad that i've not worn a skirt to work for close to three years already! even when i go out during the weekends, i try to wear long pants unless it's to go downstairs to eat at kopitiam/mrkt. when i wear shorts, will encounter well-meaning folks who come and ask me about my skin, suggest all kinds of remedies etc.

flower4,
please call the clinic to enquire. it's better to find out if the package can be partly refunded at least. cos $1K is a very big sum of money. think of how much bb clothes you can buy with $1K!!!! for my case, i think i pay abt $10+ per gyne consultation (if i am not wrong) at the moment. 95% i won't see this same gyne again at the next visit cos i rarely see the same gyne twice at the O&G clinic.

princess,
if you intend to breastfeed fully, you do not need to feed your baby anything except breastmilk for the first six months of his life. if in doubt, can check with the nurses, PD, lactation consultants, breastfeeding website. nobody will ever advocate feeding water to a fully breastfed bb for the first six months.

delfine,
to add on to what jenifur said, i will advise you to get a breastpump nontheless. some reasons why:
1. bb might get hospitalized for jaundice when you're discharged. so if you're not checking yourself into hospital with bb, then you've gotta pump out and deliver to the hospital for bb.
2. some bb are lazy suckers and might not finish an entire feed, so there's extra milk leftover in the breast. can choose to express extra out to freeze in case of emergencies (like you suddenly fall sick and have to take medicine that is not suitable for breastfeeding).
3. can use breastpump to artifically stimulate/increase milk supply when supply is low initially. just keep up with your pumping effort even on occasions when bb is not drinking and even when there is no milk initially. do this for a couple of days, and milk supply will definately increase thereafter. but this mthd should be used discretionally because it may result in engorgement.

for your case, the breastpump is just a contingency device right? so you should just get one but choose a cheap and basic one will do.

*jenifur*
wahaha...ur mil story arh really is joke of the day sia...oops sori arh...bt really hilarious lor...so DRAMA! nw i so glad that i don't say with mil also, really no freedom...

undies i can understand la bt clothes also cannot really is bue liao kai *scratch head* then invent the machine to wash male clothing only?!?

*rach**
haha..for me no beehoon i take kway teow lor...opp fr u...bt yellow mee is really last resort if really no beehoon, no kway teow, no mee kia, no thick beehoon...

mavis> actually we went to the talk once.. the gynae says should bathe.. to keep ourselves clean and healthy..
as long as u get enough rest and dun carry too heavy during confinemnt.. wont have backache all those..
its not caused by wind or bathing.. but lack of rest ....
our backs need to rest during the confinement period...and if we have ample of that... which may or may not be easy....
we'll be ok de..

yeah... anticipating more movements!!!!!!!!!

jenifur> wah.... i saw the shop before leh..... i always pass by the shop now when i go to work.... i take 167.. hehehe...
Err.. how much is the pre natal massage??????? sounds shiok man... woohoo!!

flower> u look at the picture.. the pillow is like engulfing the mommy liaoz..
hahaha... how nice to be sleeping in one!! wheeeweee.... :p

Booking of Maternity Tour>
TMC
at the counter next to Delifrance.
Fill in a small little registration form with ur particulars...
Tour is available DAILY at 11am and 2pm.
So you can walk in anyday and tell them u wanna join the tour, fill up form and ta da.. wait for the time.

I'm not sure if the DAILY applies to weekends though... u may wanna check out by callin their hotline??
Or if u are going there for the FA Scan, tour on the same day la..

Thats what we did today..

The tour is abt 30min.. goin to the maternity ward, observation rooms, different bedded room, (actually only 1 bedded & 2 bedded..)

Mt A>
I called up... ehh..lemme check the number....
6347-6636
Need to check with them when is available.. coz its not like everyday they have kind i think..
The lady asked me for when i'm looking at... she checked and tell me.. okay.. have...
its 11.30am and 2.30pm usually i think....

I've booked for next wed, 2.30pm.

I havent been to Mt A tour.. so i dunno what it'll be like...

FBI Privilege> its only a membership program meant for TMC patients only....
$148 for 1 year subscription....
And if u think u'll be spending more than $2k there, then worth it la...
Coz there's only some discounts.. 5% - 10% for the services..
FA scan is 10%...
But maternity stay is about 5% discount from what i calculated earlier on... its like $60 off package for 4 bedded...

cho> FA scan is detailed scan done between 18-22weeks..
checking of organs like heart, brain, kidneys, liver, length of thigh bones, arm bones etc.. to ensure bb structure and organs all developing properly...
today i'm feeling alot.. hehehe.. mabe bb know mummy seen her today liaoz..and she suddenly become more excited??
hahahhaa. i dunno.. but seems like bb very excitd today..and mummy is excited too.coz can feel her!!!!

girly> hahaha.. i prefer whites... no kway teow then bee hoon... yellow noodles is last resort..
and mee kia and mee pok is never my option... unless that stall dun sell whites then i take..
but i'll never prefer.. or unless that stall's mee kia really nice and Q-Q one.. then i'll take.... hahahha...

food poisoning for bb,
i'm thinking about something that's gross ... mummies who are breastfeeding fully and do not keep themselves sufficiently clean during the first month might risk infecting the bb with food posioning. i'm imagining that if the mummy a lot of discharge and cannot use plain water to clean their privates, what if they get an infection and then the same hand that may come into contact with the privates when the mummy visits the toilet is used to bring the breast to the bb. like that the nipple will be infected with the same germs from the toilet, and then the bb will likewise be drinking from a receptacle (breast in this case) that is sweaty, stinky, unwashed and totally unclean! if we are sterilizing, washing and cleaing all milk bottles, we should definately wash and clean our human breasts too! otherwise, double standards!

Hv an extra tube of Brand New Medela Purelan 100 Nipple Cream to sell as I bought 2 ... now heard from friend that only need 1 tube the most as it is very effective.

Just bought as am only due in Jun09.
37g Medela Purelan 100 at $16.40
Expiry 08/2011

Meetups at AMK Hub/MRT or YCK MRT or Suntec City.

Pls PM me if interested.

Dear Sept mummies,

Hi, can I join this thread? I've been reading silently for some time, and I feel really excited too!

I'm currently in my week 17, this is #2. #1 is a 20-mth gal. :D

I'm now seeing Dr Tan HK at SGH, and I think I'm the only one seeing SGH in this thread? Maybe not a popular choice!

Monring, mummies!

Mind I join this thread too? I have been reading this thread on and off, as I spend more time on the Jan08 thread talking about my boy (now 15 months). But think I should spend more time talking about my girl (20weeks), felt somehow ignore the little one in my tummy cos too engage with my boy :)

Mummy's Nick: Kam
EDD : 07th Sep 09
BB# : BB#2
BB's Gender : Princess
BB's Name : TBC
Gynae : Dr WK Tan
Hospital : TMC

Read that some of you go to the same gynae as me, my favourite doctor, hello to you!

sanddwich - i miss out ur photo shoot. Can give me the place i also wanna take photoshoots and it is so CHEAP!!!!!!

Re TMC & MT A
i attended class at TMC and delivery in MT A.
Personally feel that TMC had more packages for maternity such as discount card etc... But what put me off is the carpark for TMC it is terrible of which i cannot stand...
so end up din even bother to tour around MT A juz go MT A. And true the parking is much better and easier then TMC.
For MT A i find that the nurses are good and professional. For food i find it pretty standard coz i not a food picker. Upon discharge standard package of things to bring home including the bathtub!

RE: free samples of diapers and milk powder.
There are various of number to call for obtaining free samples so can surf for the numbers and get the samples if u are unsure of what to use.

sandwich, kiddo

ya the photos are so lovely and well taken...bt too bad no make-up provided...bt given the price and the amount of photos given to customers, it's really value for money...think i might be going too when tummy is more obvious, muz take the tummy shots, haha...

girly,
yah, very money for value package. share with you, i am a no-frills person when it comes to looks and will definately will not choose a studio that requires me to make-up, hahaa. so i don't own any make up at all, and am not interested in make up also. in fact, i don't comb my hair 95% of the time, and certainly didn't comb it for the shoot, or for work this morning. tell you a funny story. the only time i had to make-up was at my own ROM. and the make-up person made me so angry cos she forced me to agree to get my brows plucked, i was quite against it, but she didn't want to carry on if she didn't get to pluck my brows. and i didn't have other choice except her. haha, anyway, that was 5 years back, and my brows have all grown back to their original natural state, which is something that i prefer.

kiddo

You so solid ah. You not scared they will fire you due to poor work performance ? I really sick of working for my company. Organisation is like shit lor. I really wish i can quit right now. Too bad don't think pple will want to hire pregnant woman. Why must we face so much discrimination. Sigh ....urgh

Jenifur

Your MIL is so terrible. Last time, when i was staying with my MIL. We also 'fight' over the washing machine. She very bad, if she wants to wash her clothes that night. She put all the clothes into the washing machine in the morning to chop first (cos she works full time).

That time i was pregant with DD, tummy so big still got to handwash my clothes. Very one kind. So i'm glad now i got my own house. I throw everything even my panties inside haha. No need to see people face ahaha

huichern - err... i slow in doing things but not , not doing things lor... actually i do everything execept for one person things i always delay... so if complain only one person would complain (HE THE BOSS - VP lar) even BIG BOSS ask me do things very fast done lor... juz the VP creating too much issue i HATE him.
Dun think they fire me due to work performance but Attitude problem but still only that one person!!

Being a woman already need to face many issue further being pregnant that the reality of life we can't do much except face it! That y i hate the P*P say things often not that true de....

mavis, mamato6, katherine, jenifur, wifey...

Thanks for the advise on hand me down breast pumps. I tink I'll probably have a look at it first then look for new spare parts else will get a new BP. Dun wana risk anything in between since home sterilising might not be sufficient. Furthermore, I duno really know who have used it before and their hygiene.

Thank U!

Day Time Confinement Nannies; 9am - 6pm...

Just got a reply from an agency which provides day time confinement nanny service. Super ex lo. i'd rather engage a 24 hr one. This is what they quote me.

Our rate for day confinement services (9am-6pm) of 28 days for your EDD 15/9/2009 is $1,880.00

Duties of our nanny include:

1) Cook confinement food for mother
2) General baby care
3) Wash mother & baby’s clothes
4) Marketing (if required)
5) Basic housework – sweeping & mopping of floor (2-3 times a week)
6) Cook for hubby (if required)

kiddo> have u calculated how much discount u have saved from using the FBI card??
Coz i fugred its not that much taking into account that we have to pay $148 for the card.. which is only valid for a year....

sandwich> then on ur AD u didnt make up????????????
I think its easier for people to find if u indicate the post date and time....
Haha.. i had trouble trying to find initially also.. coz Joyce doesnt post according to date taken...

Mummies, look for the post in the link http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2029748.html?1239844895 posted on:

Posted on Tuesday, April 14, 2009 - 9:22 am:

That will be sandwich's photos.. there's 2 posts... one below the other only..

Chern> hahaha.. i used to handwash my own panties.. now i throw in, my mummy scold me... say cannot wash with HB's clothes...
hahahahaha.. old folks pantang... hahaha...

Ling> wah.. i get 24hour one only $1800 loh.... this one never stay already so ex...
my fren engaged one direct from Msia...

Introduced by another coll de... she say not bad la....

kiddo

true lor. say liao also like tat . So many pregnant kena lor. I also do my work but had to deal with one oversea office one stupid guy, fake ang moh arabic.Wants everything fast, but he can bloody take his own sweet time to reply me. Dun give proper instuctions. No documents. Just email. That why i hate the structure here (sorri it's no structure at all !!!)

All crap lor. Regional director sits there pay so high but don't want responsibilty. Boss always not in spore. Dunno what is this plc doing ?

Sorry i end up venting haha

rach...

Thru my gynae, I paid a package of $231.10 which includes the NT scan and FA scan. Based on the orange form, I tink its optional for the 3D or 4D scan. Tink will have to pay extra for those. Ours might just be normal 2D scan like u mentioned. Will check it out at the end of the mth when I go for my FA scan ba. Tho' its nice to have a clearer look at bb's face, keeping it a mystery for the time being might not be a bad idea too.. heez..

Have you all felt your baby's movement? I first felt mine when i was in my 16th week. Baby likes to move around the right side of my uterus. May be he/she finds it more comfortable there, funny huh?

hui chern - no worries me too... alwyas end up complaining.. ya lor boss himself take all the big fat bonus and i have none not a single cent. so i only work to the minmial and acceptable range but nothing more...

Rach - i glance thru the card... most of the stuff i dun use so i dun think would consider TMC... unless really interested in the things otherwise not much different

Oh yah, I'm thinking of getting a pregnancy pillow also, any recommendations? It'll be best if we can still use it when breastfeeding right? Don't know where to buy such pillows?

PrincessXiaoMei,
I understand your predicament. I'm not working too. For my confinement, most prob I'll be alone at home most of the time. Can't afford to hire CL or maid, not even to cater food. I've to prepare my own bf and lunch. My mum can only come over in the evening to prepare dinner.

Initially I was v worried abt looking after baby (1st time mah and I've never taken care of baby in my life), taking care of my own meals, and also doing laundry and house-keeping. But now, I've learned to relax. I've decided not to be so bothered abt having "confinement food", I'm sure any nutritious food is good enough eg, sandwich. Housework I'll just close 1 eye, hopefully hubby will help. Diapers wise, I've been adviced to use cloth diapers in day and disposables at nite. I can't use disposables for whole day cos it'll cost too much.

For other confinement month rules and regulations, I'll do it if it's not too troublesome, else I'll just ignore and save myself the trouble. Eg, boiling red date water is easy, can do. Preparing herb water for bathing, I think too troublesome to do it myself so most prob I won't do it if I really can't handle. Just use hot water and dry myself properly will do.

Others might disagree with me and elders might say I'm wrong but I won't bother myself with their comments too much. Like what you are experiencing, if they think all these are so important, why dun they offer to help me? How can they expect me to take care of baby and myself and follow all the extra confinement regulations all on my own?

So dun gan chiong and worry too much.. your bb might pick up this gan chiong and worrisome characteristic from you. No good wor. Think of all the problems you might face, discuss with your hubby to see if he can help with any, other not so important worries, just forget abt them. Anyway, some confinement practises are not necessary in todays society and standard of living. But of cos, if any of your family can help then that'll be a bonus. Take it easy ok

rach..

yea lo.. some one intro a 24 hr nanny also from malaysia at $1.8K for a mth lo. Heard she not bad de. Just that her appetite a bit bigger cos she quite big size de.

someone once posted the benefits of the FBI card. which is valid for 2 yrs i tink. Have saved the info on my desktop. Should most prob be signing up when i go for my FA scan ba.

The incentives are as follows:-

1) Fetal assessment scan (Oscar or Detailed scan) /X-ray or Ultrasound scan (excluding laboratory tests and Amniocentesis) at TMC Level 4 , enjoy 10% savings.

2) Ante-natal courses ( Parentcraft Centre) at TMC Level 3, enjoy 10% savings.

3) Hospital Services – Savings on Total Hospital Bill Delivery .Single room - $100.00*+ off total hospital bill, 2 bedded : $80.00+ off total hospital bill and 4-bedded $ 60.00+ off total hospital bill.

*Applicable also to Deluxe, Super Deluxe and Suites.

4) If your Obstetrics & Gynaecology is in our FBI/SBI program, you enjoy a 5%+ off professional fees (delivery fee) . Max of $100+ per outpatient visit/hospitalization episode

Paediatrics is 10%+off on professional consultation fee (inpatient & outpatient)

5) Visit Thomson 24-Hr Family at TMC – yourself, spouse and new born - enjoy 10% savings.

6) If you, spouse, parents & grandparents would like to do a yearly health screening at our TMC Lifestyle Centre at Novena Medical Centre #10-14/15 Sq 2 S’307506 – enjoy 15% savings

7) Upon signing up for FBI/SBI program, Complimentary 3 books worth $48.00 (Childbirth, Breastfeeding & Childcare) which is written by our Lactation Consultant Mrs Wong Boh Boi.

8) Retail Partners that tie-up with TMC - maternity wears, baby products, milk products, confinement food and health products etc.

9) Price of card for FBI: $148.00nett, $188.00 nett (late subscription) – applicable to those who are more than 28 weeks pregnant and over

Price of card for SBI : $ 128.00 nett applicable to those who have previously delivered in TMC, $ 148.00 nett – applicable to those who have previously delivered at hospitals other than TMC and $188.00nett(late subscription) – applicable to those who are 28 weeks pregnant and over.

10) Cord blood banking for your new-born with M/s Cordlife, you can save $50.00 per year on the storage fee (start from 2nd to 6th years). For the 1st year, you need to paid a fee of $ 1,200.00 instead of $ 1,400.00 (save $ 200.00)

I've been feeling this flattering feeling since last week, tot it was gas. So it's actually bb moving? My hubby v funny, he listen to my tummy and said he heard bubbling sound so maybe bb blowing bubbles or farting.

How pregnant do you guys look now? I'm at 17th week, can't tell I'm pregger, perhaps just fat with tummy. Very sad.

Hi itsy,

I can feel bb moving and sometimes can actually see my stomach skin like bulging out a bit haha...

I'm now coming up to 18 weeks, tummy becomes bigger but I'm still wearing my normal office wear (but of course not those skin-tight ones).. guess may be i need to start wearing my maternity wear starting next week hehe

Hi Myfavchoco,
I wish you all the very best, come back and update us ya..

sandiwich
nice! v eau de natural. i always do mine at attitude photography.

wenlim
wah i heard its painful leh! and not all recover well, i scared got complications. otherwise i also thinkinbg to do

mama to 6Js,
share the studio link, i like to see photography packages. maybe can sign up for another one when #2 arrives in sept!

itsy,
on the bright side, staying alone at home with bb in the first two months can be very rewarding. you can be the slacker sort like me who just breastfeed lying down and when bb sleep, you just just lie down there and watch bb sleep, eventually you'll fall asleep together. don't bother doing laundry (unless it's a major poop or puke) and cleaning up the house. just live with the mess in the afternoon, and get husband to help clean up in the evening. spend all your time enjoying your bb 100%. no need to spend time entertaining additional people at home like helper, confinement lady, parents etc. no need to answer to anyone, and just have to sit there when you're free to stare at the bb, hug the bb, massage bb, smell the bb, read to the bb, etc. for my lunches, i survived on a lot of bread, tuna, cereal, milk, bananas, ribena and milo. for my dinner, we packed but asked for less msg to be added if possible.

katherine,
have to bring our own clothes to the photoshoot. actually i bought an additional shirt for my boy to change, but he refused to get out of that polo-t and wailed when i tried to strip him, hahaa so wear same shirt throughout the three background colour swops. photographer will provide props like sunglasses and hair accessories for girls, but not suitable for us, so we didnt get any accessories from her.

rach,
my ROM is my actual day wedding already. super simple and unorthodox one. ROM in the afternoon, tea ceremony and family dinner for 70pax at night. i actually enjoyed my wedding dinner very much. we had ours at gallery hotel, and hotel set up green apples everywhere cos i wanted to wear something green (MIL went to tailor the dress with me, and she liked the green dress hahaa), and threw in lots of purple balloons for the kids, so ambience was whimsical, informal, intimate and lots of fun. walk around the venue and you see a lot of people eating green apples. best of all, me and husband sat down for a long candlelight dinner, and finished eating then we went to talk to the family guests, hehee.

itsy, estergal

hopefully, cos everytime i go scan, bb always sleep. same as the daddy, like to sleep so much =P hopefully today can do some stunt for me? haha

sandwich (peanutbutter),
Hee. I like.. " ...just have to sit there when you're free to stare at the bb.."