(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

HI Girls,

it's another day! I am 15 weeks n 1 day today! Into my 16 weeks..yeah~~~~~

suzanna >

stay at home best.. but if got more money also best.. i thk when i hv bb le.. maybe 6 mths later i will go back to work bah.. cos if i hv more money then can buy more things for baby to play.. and send baby for some interesting enriching classes. =)like play time like that.

jul >

okie.. good..at least u seen GP.. does it cost drowsiness? dun thk GP will give u the cost drowsiness one since u stl hv to work rite.. take care!!!!

rach >

I cannot go weekday one.. cos the hubby works till 7pm then knock off.. so no choice hv to spend a little more n attend the weekend class with him instead..

waiwai >

okie.. i pm u ur blog url.. u at how many weeks le?

sandwich >

hee..i dun hv ur facebook account yet.. i pm u also for blog url.

I going to bugis later.. meet hubby lunch with friends. guess will be back to chat in the late afternoon or nite..

don't know why I couldn't access the forum the whole day yesterday. Seems like not everyone has this problem.

Mavis,
cordyceps are not worms. They are a type of fungi that looks like worms. Bird's nest at 8 Liang for 1.2k is a good price if the quality is good. Is it the thick type in original nest shape? White ones or golden ones?

Cordyceps 1 liang for more than 1k is really too expensive. The cost just outweighs the benefits. 1 liang can only cook for abt 7-8 servings which means each time, it will cost more than $100. I think I'll try my $440 type first and see if I really see the benefits.

Mamijoan,
Cordyceps sinensis (vegetable caterpillar), mostly whole dried choice specimens.They are a mixture of both.
The bird's nest are the thick one all bird nest are not in orginal forms as they need to go through cleaning of feathers if not they look disgusting. It's more on the golden ones which I got it.

** Some Informations
Enhancing and strengthening of the immune system. Cordyceps is supposed to increase the number of the Natural Killer Cells, which are responsible for the body defense against viruses and bacteria. Some trials show that the fungus works effectively in the leukemia stricken individuals.

Improving sexual function in men and increasing libido by stimulating the production of sex hormones. Cordyceps may also be a means for fighting female infertility.

Building muscles and improving physical performance. Those Chinese athletes, who use Cordyceps, tend to show better results than the other sportsmen.

Providing anti-aging and fatigue reducing effects. The fungus works as an antioxidant and increases cellular formation, especially in the elderly patients. It also promotes more restful sleep, soothes the nervous system, and reduces anxiety, thus working as a sedative.

Improving the respiratory function. Cordyceps shows good results in fighting against cough, chronic bronchitis and asthma, since it relaxes bronchial walls and has anti-inflammatory properties.

Enhancing cellular oxygen uptake. This benefits all the body systems, giving them more energy and vitality.

Benefiting vascular system by improving circulation, regulating blood pressure, and strengthening the heart muscle.

Protecting liver and kidneys. Cordyceps improves blood flow to these organs (as well as to the others), which results in their better activity and ability to fight the diseases, including Hepatitis and chronic kidney disease.

Some people may think of the fungi as of something disgusting and ugly. However, the mushrooms do not look so when in a tablet or a capsule. Moreover, Cordyceps will definitely become even attractive to those, who have no trust in the pharmaceutical drugs any more. 2-4 grams (some people consume even up to 9 grams) of the mushrooms per day – it is nor an exorbitant price for the health improvement, which may become obvious as soon as in 1-2 months.

Cordyceps is said to be safe and has no side effects. However, pregnant and breastfeeding women, as well as children are not recommended to use it, since no studies have been conducted in such persons.

Luckily, time, progress, and the growing demands of the modern society make the scientists keep on working on the unsolved problems and open questions of today. That gives us hopes that soon Cordyceps will become an open book easy to read and understand for all the people.

Cordyceps is a large fungal genus with an estimated 400 species. This genus is of note because of the way in which it reproduces: the fungi parasitize insects or plants, and then produce a fruiting body which sprouts directly from the body of the host. As if this wasn't enough, some species which attack insects are actually capable of controlling their hosts and forcing them to engage in activities which will further the cause of the fungus. In other words, some species of Cordyceps are capable of mind control!

On species in this genus, C. sinensis, has been used in traditional medicine in Asia for centuries. This particular representative of the Cordyceps genus attacks caterpillars while they burrow underground, encouraging the caterpillars to come to rest near the surface so that the fungus can put out a fruiting body which will emerge above the soil. The roughly club-shaped fungus comes from the caterpillar's head in most cases.

The resulting caterpillar-fungus combination is known variously as semitake, Chinese caterpillar fungus, vegetable caterpillar, hsia ts'ao tung ch'ung, dong chong xia cao, and yarsha gumba. It is supposed to confer the benefits of vitality and energy, and is used to treat several conditions. Most notably, the fungus is often prescribed to people with sexual dysfunction, especially men, but it is also believed to benefit the immune system, liver, kidneys, and heart, and it is used to treat bronchial conditions as well.

Analysis of C. sinensis suggests that the fungus contains compounds which stimulate the T-cells in the immune system, which means that some of the uses of this fungus are not entirely far-fetched. The stimulation of helper cells does indeed boost the immune system, and some of the compounds in the fungus appear to promote better liver function. While the fungus does not act as an aphrodisiac, it also contains chemicals which would address erectile dysfunction, as well.

Cordyceps fungi are available from some Asian markets and health food stores. Consumers should be careful about purchasing this and other substances used in Traditional Chinese Medicine because regulation and enforcement of safety is erratic. Many dried fungi can look like Cordyceps, making it difficult to confirm that one is looking at the right fungus, and while the fungus itself does not appear to be toxic, samples contaminated with lead have been found in numerous markets, which is an issue of concern. Going through a reputable Chinese herbalist is strongly recommended, as is being prepared to pay a fairly high price

Mamijoan,
Well you can try out is not an issue. I bought was the king one which is more ex that's why the last time during chinese medical show 1 liang can cost up to 50k if it's really super good. But no one will spend unless it's super rich or no where to spend. hahaha... Wish i strike toto.

flower4

I think gynae gave me hosp leave. But GP norm gives norm sick leave.

Nachos - I asked the other gals, the cheese dip is cheddar cheese which can be eaten. What we need to avoid are blue cheeses, feta cheese, basically cheeses that Sporeans norm dun eat haha.

Thanks, sheryn

GP gave me the non-drowsy one. I am feeling even better tdy than yest. Guess I am finally starting to recover *whew*

happy bday kiddo!!!

morning mummies..

milkway: oh u were given jab too?? i was given jab e last time i bled.. tat time q alot.. tis time juz spotting so no jab.. haiz..guess gotta be patient la.. kekeke

hi mummies, i heard alot of pp mentioning to go for prenatal classes.. wat's wat for ah? to teach breathing technique during childbirth??

when shld we start to enrol?

cho, yah i was given a jab when i bleed lor... before that got spotting already but no jab or medi given.. only when bleed then got jab and medi

so now i very careful with my steps and actions too...

Hi New MTB, Jul, Rach & Whitley: Yes I did have my gynae he is Dr Fong. he said once I finished my hormones pills at week 12, he will give me some calcium pills but never say much about fish oil. My sis last pregancy she went to GNC to get them instead. I am nearly 12 week and have been puking and vomiting for two days in a row every morning, breakfast, lunch & dinner and I was quite worried whether my baby will not get enough nuritent. in fact I have gained 3 kg so far.

cho
prenatal class teaches quite a lot of stuff. It starts from exercises preggies can do, how hubby can massage you, what food can and cannot eat.
You will also learn how to care for baby, like carrying, changing, burping, bathing, feeding, breastfeeding techniques. Lastly, breathing techniques during childbirth to reduce pain. Good to enrol during 2nd trimester. It is also good for hubby to learn about how to care for baby so that he has no excuse not to help later. The last time, I started only at the end of 2nd trimester coz limited vacancies for weekends. My baby came out the day after my last class coz he was premature. haha!

*flower4*
yup, i also have many friends who doesn't have MS at all.. so to them, they said i am WEAK and i have weak foundation right from the start. I don't think so lor. Before i was pregnant, i don't really feel so weak. I ate everything moderately, i drink lots of water, i take vege, fruits... hardly take unhealthy food... my immune system not that lousy loh... somehow i just don't know why i have such terrible MS!

The dizziness giddiness can kill me lor. It's really very xinku. Too extreme will make me puke again. Which is what happen every night. SIGH.

hi jul,

Gd morning. Still remember me?
Long time didnt log in ttc-ing thread liao. Me was on bedrest
fr 6 weeks neh. Now i'm in 12wk.
My edd is 22/9/09

*cho*
mine a little gentle as compared to how others describe theirs... mine no kicking and punching some more.. just moving around... we will see whether mine is girlgirl yours is boyboy mah.. haha... i am so anxious to know the gender lor.. my hubby also... he says now still early... he also dont want to see anything from those shops.. cos he also don't know is girl or boy. LOL!

I took blood tests, they scan for me... they scan at the part from the neck there.... if less than 2mm is safe... you taking FTS?

*milkyway*
i also hope so lor... i wish everyday i will totally be like normal.. no more puking.. no more ms... no more any wierd kind of pregnancy problems caused by hormones.. i want to enjoy my pregnancy.......

princess: i tink my FTS will be next Mon when i'm 12 week.. is juz to scan e neck thickness there rite?

but e triple test will be ard 4th mth.. coz nurse say do so early nt v accurate..

hee.. mayb i lucky happen to see baby when he/she is active.. but feel v relieved tat doc say it's v active.. mayb urs juz woke up during scan? haha

i oso anxious to noe e sex liao.. bui tahan.. i tink if everyone noes theirs n i dunno mind, i'll go cranky!! keke

*cho*
They will scan the thickness... then they will also check the length of the baby... you can see your baby for longer time than the usual scan... haha.... i did the scan when i was 11wk5day. triple test? my gynae never mention anything to me... i only next "unusual" scan is detailed scan when wk20 liao le... other than that, no other kind of scans besides the usual one...

i hoping my baby will cooperate when i do the scan on wk15.. hopefully i can see the gender... but by the then, i read somewhere all have formed liao le.. so if baby cooperate, should be able to see... ( : just that cannot confirmed till detailed scan bah... hahah...

princess: triple test i tink is e blood test testing for down syndrome and all those things ba..

ya, i oso hope bb will cooperate n open leg big big for us to see! haha

mavis> wah.. so far... hahaa.. if only my mum wanna go there to get it..haahaa.. thanks...

sheryn> hehe.. okok..

Jul> i ordered too.. hahahahhaa.. i cant resist the pictures!!! and it really looks sooooooooooo nice man. wah kaoz...

hahahaha...

Channel 8 Tonite> dun miss me!!! 8pm!!!
ahhahahaa...

Mamijoan> how many classes are there to attend???

princess> is urs a boy? i think its just hormones too much la.. heheh..

my fren had the same experience too.. she cant stare at screen.. she was literally bedridden for 3 months.. when she was in 2nd trim then she went back to work..
she took like 1 month unpaid leave after she utilised all her leaves and MC...
she had a boy... now she's so much stronger after confinement.she said she feels stronger la..

*cho*
haha.. yah i will ask baby to open his/her legs big big... so i can know is girl or boy else must wait another 5 weeks leh....

*racH*
ermmm.... dont know yet.... but if play around with all the myths all those, it might be girl... last week i read a book... It's A Girl and the other IT's a Boy .. i randomly browse through... seems like might be girl also... now just have to wait and see how loh.... my hb even ask me why i like to eat so much tomato lately... cant even take a little chilli.... -.-"

princess> hahaha.. i tot girls will take chilli de.. hahahaha.. i've been eating chilli as per normal.. initially i got cut.. now i dun care liaoz.. hahahahaha.. i jsut eat when i want to... hehehe..

*rach*
initially i take a lot of chilli.. now cannot lor.. i take sweet stuff... cannot take in spicy stuff.. no salty food for me either.. and i dont really like to eat meat anymore... my appetite really siao siao one... before pregnant, i have strong cravings almost every meal.. now i dont really have much cravings..

Today is such a busy day for me and I feel so sleepy as usual!

<font color="0000ff">HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO KIDDO!

flower, hope you are doing well today! It’s ok lah, just ignore whatever the others say.
If you feel like fainting, take a glass of hot water.

Where can I get the special coupon?

cho, if you have spotting, try to take more rest, sit instead of standing and possible, take a nap.

rach, I did not sleep well last night too, I woke up to the toilet then after that, I also zzz until 5+ and I m feeling so sleepy now!

mavis, tks for sharing, I will go there and take alook! I think they are selling top grade tonics.

sheryn, now u can rest, have a good rest at home 1st. When bb is out, you will be very busy..heehee..
I think next yr onwards, the job market should be better than now, hopefully easier to find job too.

rach, wat show? Share share..keke..

Didn't know that cordyceps are so good for the pregnancy. If some how you end up with the bad quality ones, will it do more harm than good?

Hi Cho!
Hey! Hope that you are better already. Has the spotting gone down? Don't exert yourself too much these days and do get more rest ok?

The Quinny Buzz is a real eyecatcher! But I thought it is only suitable from 6 months onwards, unless we buy the bassinet. The Quinny Buzz here is $800 and the bassinet is $400
2238484.jpg

A bit the expensive lor! How much is it in sing? Plus must buy the car seat too. Look at this picture.. cute hor!
2238485.jpg

susanna> i already share before..
just that u didnt read.. hahaa..

Pai Pai Zhan Episode 1.. alot of trailers recently.. every once in a while u'll see the trailers.. for the last 2 weeks..

Juz back from lunch with colli

Hey gals.. thanks thanks for all the wishes... older by a year but i dun think my wisdom got increase whahahahah but size increase

mamijoan, how u know??? u see it in facebook izzit????

Hi Susanna,
Thanks for your input.. the stroller looks good and is really worth the price. Some how I seem to only be able to get prams from Quinny, Peg Perego and some other brands I've never heard of. But the prices seem to be really crazy. Maybe I'll just sling the little one around a bit till I come back for cny'10..hehheh

Your FTS risk is really super lah! Worth the money! I guess it puts the mind at ease to know that the pregnancy is progressing smoothly. When will you be going for your next appointment?

Yup, I cook most of the time cos I don't really like German food leh.. haha. Plus I know what I put in my dishes. Surely healthier and fresher than at some places. But I really miss the convenience of hawker centers. Do you cook?

Try to empty the bladder before you sleep! Then you don't have to wake up in the middle of the night. Sleep early tonight!

rach,
i was on PM leave yesterday and saw the pai pai zhan crew filming at the dover mrkt downstairs (i stay at dover). they were trying out the curry stall. quite poor thing cos it was 3-4pm, super hot, they were sitting under the sun and had to finish a bowl of curry each. michelle chong and rayson tan were there.

Hi Kiddo!

A very happy birthday to you. Hope that your ms passes and that you will feel like a million bucks really soon!

rayrachel &amp; Susanna no problem most welcome. I see my sister eat already nephew health is good even his first injection he also did have any fever so no harm trying out.

susanna: ya! i've been napping e whole day!! haha

delfine: i checked out e Buzz 09 version at baby hypermart.. now it's gg for 1168 b4 10% disc.. 08 version gg for 1168 b4 20%.. e only diff is 09 version got other nicer colour combi to choose from..
it's really cool! e folding looks a bit difficult.. but opening it seems q ez coz there is hydraulic.. e bad pt is it weighs a whooping 12kg.. so i'll be good if u drive..

actually no nid bassinet la.. i tink q waste $.. e maxi cosi car seat will do juz fine for newborns to 1 yr old then there after u can put them in e normal Buzz seats.. 1 tink i like abt Buzz compared to Quinny Speedy n other models is tat e thingsy for adjusting baby seat's inclination (to adjust is baby lies flat or sit up straight), Buzz model got some mechanism.. for other models n speedy, u fasten a string to make e seat upright.. so somehow if e string gives way, baby seat originally upright will juz give way and become flat.. haha.. dunno if my description u understand not.. but u can go see la..

Hi Cho!
Your description is very good! Understood. Ok, then the price about the same. Buzz09 3 wheeler is $1000 and 4 wheeler is about $900. Ok, backside a bit itchy already.. When are you going to get the Quinny?

I also thought about not getting a bassinet and just using the car seat. The bassinet seems to be a bit overpriced. Problem is that after sep, the weather gets chilly.. don't know if the little one will get frozen in winter!

delfine: which 4 wheeler u talking about? keke.. personally i prefer 3 wheelers.. i tink easier to maneuver..

prob waiting for july great SG sale to get.. hee..

ya, bassinet i felt is a bit overhyped.. car seat will do la..

hmm, winter.. u gg overseas???

Cho: Got 4 wheeler.. wait ah. I've read that 3 wheelers are more unstable as compared to 4 wheelers.
2238754.jpg

I'm in Germany lah and the winters here can be damn cold one lor. That's why I ask you if the stroller is cheaper in sing mah! hahah

oh.. no wonder! ya, germany can b v cold in winter.. but i tink juz wrap e baby in more layers will do?

haha.. i nv see e 4 wheeler in SG b4 leh.. but looks good too.. tink generally e buzz is q heavy so wun be unstable even if 3 wheeler la..

Hi delfine,
I think the price is about the same maybe cheaper by a few dollars. I heard most of my frend in Europe that the prams are better.

rach, cho
I went for the one at TMC although my delivery is not there. I specifically ask for the course conducted by Mrs Wong Boh Boi who is very experienced. She frequently appears on TV and radio to give advise. There are 6 lessons. Details are here:

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm#childbirth

And rach, yes I remember you are coming up on TV tonight. My father is a fan of the program and he thought it was yesterday and wanted to record it then after checking found out it was today. So even if I forget tonight, I can watch it from the recording, haha!

kiddo
yes, saw on Facebook coz I subscribe to the birthday alert mah.

Delfine, That’s why it’s safer to buy herbs from reputable medical halls, more quality control and trustworthy..haha
The pics that u posted look like the high end products selling in Robinson..wahaha and the bb is so cute, look like a doll!

If you seldom go out, can get a sling. However if you always bring bb out for grocery shopping as well, then have no choice or else will be hard to carry bb and also heavy bags.

My next appt will be 02 Apr, how about urs? Maybe by that time, we will be able to know our babies’ gender.

Is your place very far from town? I do not know hw to cook and definitely a is a lousy cook :p
What did you usually cook? Ur hb is lucky to go home for home cook food. My friend used to work in Germany, Luxemburg for Siemens and I heard from her that the food is very ex there and everyday she had sausages and german beer for dinner, very ke lian.

I’ve already empty the bladder be4 zzz but then I will auto wake up at 330am and become insomnia after that, hopefully tonight I will hv a good nite sleep..keke..

rach, haha paisay I miss out some of the earlier post but I will glue myself to the tv tonight. What will u be wearing?

kiddo, u still at work? Tot u must be spending a romantic bdae with ur hb.

Cho: Yeah, maybe just wrap the baby like bah chang then can save $400
Anyway, it's only good for 6 months. Really not worth the money. I'll go and try pushing the 3 and 4 wheeled Quinny around.

Hi Mavis,
Thanks for the input! Then not point to buy in sing if it's only a few bucks difference. Haha.. didn't know that the prams in Europe are better. So many brands and so confusing!