(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

I'm new in here. It's my no.1, EDD is 1st Sept.

Have u gals started looking for confinement lady?
Is it too early to start looking now?

kiddo can help me update my EDD to 23 sept 08 instead? many thanks!!

delfine yup! u shld try do BW if u can tahan! keke.. personally i find it much cleaner la.. more hygienic.. i tink 1st few times it might itch whene hair starts to grow.. but e "hairless" feeling is v shiok lo..

<font color="ff0000">Cots VS Playpens</font>
hmm.. y do infants not slep long in their cots? e cots look q big leh.. can they slep in there till 2 yrs old?

i tot of buying a playpen only at a later stage.. i din noe baby can slep in playpen too! coz carry in n out of playpen v xinku since playpens r q deep..

oh ya, for strollers, is there any brand of stroller which i can use from infant to toddler? i was looking at maclaren and quinny.. only quinny seems to have 1 tat allows 3 types of "seats" like bassinet for infant, car seat for < 1 yr and normal seats for 1-2 yrs.. any suggestions??

hee.. sorry for asking such noob qns..

hui chern &amp; flower4,
Thks!
I can understand how u feel...so sad, rite? But dun tink too much...try to take 1 things at a time....dun worry n get upset too much... will affect the BB...Happy mummy= Happpy BB...We must all Jiayou together...

Welcome, all the new muumies to be!

Hi again all!
I've not been in the forum for 3 weeks now! Miss chatting with you girls. Now so many new members, and I can't keep up with the fast moving thread!

Work was 'killing' me...so pressurising...even had to bring home to do and working through the weekends for the past weeks.

I hope to be active in this thread again =) So happy to chat with all MTBs here =)

Just an update... Now I'm in Week 14 + 3 days.

I went for my OSCAR test last, last friday (27 Feb). Was really really looking fwd to the scan as I was very worried for a few weeks about their safety, whether still got heartbeat etc.

Thankfully, the scan showed my twins are good, I could see both hearts beating regularly on the scan monitor =) Was so happy! This past week I shared my preg news with my colleagues. Cannot hide liao cos my tummy is big now since I am carrying twins.

Rach

You mean this coming 12 March there’ll be a baby fair at Taka? =)

I would want to go and see, to get a good idea of prices for stuff that we will need to buy in future.

wow mummies
glad to hear all are progressing well

Hi Lin Yen Ching
Welcome! for CL i suggested u booked early
I have a prior experience
I booked late &amp; the recommended ones are fully booked end up I just use one that no one recommended before &amp; it was a mistake!!!!
i changed my CL at 2wks, so I would suggest you to book EARLY

hi all mummies to be,
when is the good time to take calcium pills or fish oil-any good brands to recommend GNC, Nature farms?? Do we still continue to take prenatal vitamins?

babiesmeme
<blockquote>I just take what my gynae tells me. She gave me obimin and folic acid in the first trimester. Now she stops my obimin but asks me to continue folic acid.</blockquote>

babiesme

I also took according to what gynbae gave me leh. I dun dare to anyhow eat, in case got substances not suitable for Babylet.

cho> hahaa.. will try if there's a chance.. its not cheap either.... where salon u go to???

Whitey> yeah.. i heard there's a taka baby fair on 12th mar..

babiesmeme> the vitamins are all given by gynae leh... u not seeing any???

Jul

haha yes! *winks*
Got to get those twin strollers, hopefully I can get the one where twins face each other. Cute right!

teenie
Yes, fascinating to see the 2 heartbeats. Doc normally scans to let me see them one by one, and he refers to them as Baby A and Baby B =)
But twins is more high risk compared to singleton pregnancy. Furthermore this is my first pregnancy. So everyday, I pray hard for their safety and good development.

Flower4
Sigh, so sorry to hear about your work situation. But it’s the weekend now, hope you can try to cheer yourself up. Distract yourself by reading up more on baby info maybe? I think that can help – focus on baby than on other troubles. Main thing : enjoy your pregnancy as best as you can, let's try together ok? =)

babiesmeme
My gynae prescribed me the multi-vitamins (Obimin), calcium tablets and fish oil since I was in Week 9. (Now I'm in Week 14.)

susana &amp; funny76,

endure endure endure
... have been dreaming of works since ytd, this morning twice.. oh dear...

whitey,

thanks ah, but one day my work problem not solve its will keeep affecting me, and i cant resign now.. as my hubby is jobless now..

i will talk to my boss again, tat im din apply for other dept jobs and im will not do it anymore.. if i keep doing other depts jobs end up my own job nobody do and got problem, i got to answer for it. tat isnt fair.

my colleagues already mc for almost 4weeks, company still no action plan rather push everything to me, when i ask what going on to her, boss say dun care , i can dun care and i wish i dun care, but tings are affecting me.

friday i tot give letter very very impulsive, lucky one colleague stopped me. or else i lugi.

my boss keep sayin, im understand u overload, but he still keep pushing jobs to me.

its like telling me to take my time but hurry up.. twist &amp; turn his words.

HI girls,

just came back from my gynae visit.. BB was in kneeling position like praying.. then the hands like holding a book n reading.. so cute.. but stl cant see gender yet.. also took routine blood test for thalessimia and some other blood counts.. total paid like 623 today cos started package..

next visit is 4 april.. =)

Re: Taka Baby Fair

12-29 March!

I wonder if I should buy now or buy later... Cos I've dedicated our spending money to babymoon liao... Die lah!

But i think i should at least go and buy a few boxes of breastpads first. :p Cos we don't really need anything else since can reuse #1's stuff.

I have Medela PIS Milk Pump to sell... bought only for 2 months but seldom use due to low supply in milk. I am willing to let go at $650 which i purchased it at $799 and bought it at Thomson Medical Centre. I still have receipt with me. Please PM me or email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

hi all mummies,

wow! thread's moving v fast!

I went for my appt on Friday morning as well. haizz...little one was ZZZZZ the whole time. so unlike my first one who was already kicking and swimming around at 12weeks!

this one's more docile it seems...hope it's a girl for me...

<font color="ff0000">hair treatment</font>
hi mums, i noe we're not advised to go salon for hair treatments..
how abt DIY hair masks at home? panicking now..! i juz applied ampules to my hair and hair mask.. din do any steaming thou.. juz wrapped up my hair in shower cap..

is tis still safe?

i juz read that colouring etc r not advisable as e dye mayb absorbed thru e hair roots via scalp into our skin.. but my diy home mask is mainly on my hair ends.. i din really apply it to my scalp..

shld be ok?

Hi all, few days ago just had my 2nd scan at 10weeks 4days. Baby is now 3.94cm. DOc said can't see the gender yet perharp during the FTS scan in 2 week time i might be able to know the gender.

Ok, will go down for the taka baby fair on the weekend to grab some bottles.

Anyone try Confinement lady from GPLS confinement Care agency before. Mind to share your experience with the CL. I am looking for CL.

cho,

shld be ok , as long the color dun touches your scalp.

i done it when i 5weeks preggie, cuz stand the messy color of my hair, as partially color all ready grow out..

but salon smell will kill us though.

cho,

since you've done it already, then just let it be...won't be too harmful. I remembered during my first pregnancy, i actually went out drinking with my frens, binge drank somemore...but i didn't know I was pregnant then...aft that i just kept off drinks lor...nothing happened..

if you want to do hair treatments, wait till 2nd trimester then do lor. more stable by then.

<font face="cosmic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Jul_04/Cloudme/Whitey/Hui Chern/Mama to 5Js

Still remember me, I'm finally back!!!! Was on bedrest for the past 6 weeks and my stupid laptop had to crash @ e same time. This pregnancy is really very tough for me but am glad the baby is growing well.

The thread is moving so fast now. How's everyone doing??</font></font>

jenifur
hey! u MIA so long! how have u been? and the lil one? know the gender yet?

cho
i agree with nelleu. since u have already done it, then dun look back. if u dun do near ur scalp shld be ok. i did my hair rebond when i was 5 mths preg.

<font face="Cosmic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">mama to 5Js,

Ya lor, bed rest for 6 weeks, I nearly died of boredom. Now though still grounded but @ least can walk around the house.

Gender.... gynae's guess is likely to be boy. She managed to catch a glimpse of something extra between the legs during my last scan. But she cannot really confirm as BB was too active.

What about you? Another prince or princess?</font></font>

Hi Jenifur!

Yes of cos I remember you! Glad to know that at least now you can walk ard the house. And most importantly your baby is safe! How many weeks pregnant are you now?

Wah, doc managed to guess your baby's gender. For me, I hope during my next visit on 19 March (will be 16 weeks then), can tell the genders of my babies. If not, must wait til 16 April scan.

cho
I agree with the rest, since you've done the treatment, don't worry too much. But for hair dyes, I think my advice will be not to do it until after giving birth.

flower4
Hey gal, how are you feeling now, better? Hope you're recharged after the weekend. Yes, I think good for you to talk to your boss.

It's your job that you're being paid to do, not others' jobs. I mean, we can help abit here and there but not until people take you for granted and leave you fending for yourself, carrying out your duties and others' too.

So try reasoning out with your boss, I hope he will understand what they've put you through. It has to stop, must be so bad til you even broke down. Good luck, gal!

whitey,

thank you, i have recharge a little, but the problem jus keep buzzing me. whiey, what if my boss say no time to talk to me and keep on dragging it how ah.. Yes indeed , cuz my colleagues mc for continuously for 3weeks me been doing, and mgt no action plan, keep pushing to me...

my right eye bottom jumpy, any sign?

Sheryn

i got brown discharge last week, maybe due to stress, my colleague ask me not to walk, i wonder why too..

why have brown discharge at 13weeks cant walk much, i was carrying heavy bag climbing up the overhead bridge in the morning, later afternoon i got brown discharge.

are you on hospital leave for unpaid leave for pass 6weeks?

thanks all mum's for advice!
keke.. actually i not doing colour la.. dun tink i will wanna risk tat! juz doing hair mask myself at home.. haha..

btw, i read e above post many mums mention during scan baby v active.. fr wat weeks on ah? my last scan was at 9w.. i dun see bb moving alot leh..

but i muz say it's really amazing! today my hubby flew off for biz trip again and i was feeling q emotional last night.. somehow i tink e bb might "noe" so i wasnt feeling so bad today! alt i din eat much, but no puking at all..

Whitey >

Hee..yeah..happi but stl anxious to know the gender cos everyone in the family all anxious too.

Flower4 >

Guess u wanted to ask jenifur.. but anyway.. brown discharge sounds like a little mild blood discharge to me.. Touch wood la.. so maybe u can chk with ur gynae?

I got abit of cramps lately.. so i told my gynae n the next question he'd asked was..
Any bleeding? Any spotting? Cos apparently seeing blood is always the impt sign to something urgent. So I hoping and praying that i won't see any thru out my pregnancy.

oops. paisay sheryn see wrongly.

its meant for jenifur :p.

cho,

i can see my baby swimming during 9 week. maybe u scan during ur baby sleeping.

hmm, but my scan is in e noon leh.. haha.. oso good la, hope my bb likes to slep next time can slep easily then i got more time rest!
keke

flower! ur brown discharge is it like 1 clump of blood like menses?

i realised i have 1 small lump of brown blood.. like mayb 0.5cm by 0.5cm.. but it's 1 small lump la.. like those menses blood..

but at e same time, i hav nausea feeling leh.. hope it'll be fine tmr..! gynae once told me tat bleeding means nt stable, but if got nausea means shld be ok..

Re: Bleeding/blood clots/brown discharge during pregnancy

I would still recommend mommies to PLEASE go let your gynae check it out. Blood clots aren't common during pregnancy.

Not to scare you all or anything, but I once had a m/c before having my #1 and I still continued to suffer from nausea even days after the D&amp;C (procedure to remove whatever's left in the womb after m/c).

So pls pls pls, let your doc check will be safer.

As for brown/pinkish discharge, I also had that on and off in my earlier weeks. My gynae was quite concerned (considering my m/c history) and I was told to rest as much as possible and to try and carry my son less often if possible. My first 2 checkups were also scheduled 2 wks apart because doc wanted to be sure the pregnancy was viable.

Oddly, the discharge really stopped when I stopped pushing myself to do too much. Previously I would actually sling my 14kg son when he was napping and walk long distances (cos I don't like to bring pram out).

So please, if you feel any uncertainty about the bleeding/clots/discharge, do get it checked out.

I agree with shelled. If have any blood-related discharge during pregnancy, get it checked asap. If it's nothing, at least you get peace of mind. If it's something, gynae can give you pills/jabs to stabilise the pregnancy and then prescribe bed rest if required.

Overstraining can cause discharge. WIth my #1, I had fresh discharge when I was on holiday in Taiwan (last trimester). We walked too much the first few days. Though worried, I waited coz didn't want to shell out the $$ (soo stupid) but could still feel baby movement, so was reassured. When I went back, gynae said it was due to the strain, and friction of the bag against the wall of the womb (or something like that). Gave hormone pills and rest, and thank goodness, it was ok and my girl is now 3yo.

gd morning mummies.

An update of my gyane visit on sat, 7 March at 14 weeks. Baby is 8cm and is very active. He is turning here and there when dr did the scanning. We even saw baby scratching his face. So cute.

Dr say can't see the gender yet. Should be able to see the gender during my next visit at 17 weeks.

Was given multi-vits and fish oil this round.

<u>Strollers</u>
After my 1st experience, I prefer something light less than 5kgs and Combi seem like a good choice. I think there is a new model less than 5kgs and comes in pink and orange, ard $200+

<u>Taka baby fair</u>
Although I prefer to start shopping after 5mths, I am still very tempted to get Avent bottles and breastpump 1st, they have very good deals there!
For mummies who noe the gender can consider getting some home wear like long sleeve sleeping shirts/pants etc, baby booties etc

<u>hair treatment</u>
I suppose it's ok as long as try to avoid our hair scalp, i apply hair mask to my hair everyday and m very tempted to go for haircut and hair treatment as well. Actually I did my bonding but that time I didn't know that I am pregnant :p

<u>Discharge and cramps</u>
For mummies who experience that, please refrain from sex, carry heavy stuff and also take plenty of rest. Try not to walk around too much. Whenever I experience cramp, I will sit down, take some hot water or take a short nap. For discharge, please see a gynae for jabs, duphaston and also bedrest.

<u>supplements</u>
I took chicken essence, folic acid (florxsin?) and also fish oil daily, not yet started on multi vits. Maybe I will get from my gynae on the next visit.
I also tried to go home for my mum's home cook dinner daily. Sometimes she will brew black herbal chicken soup for me.
By next month, probably I will start on bird nest and cordyceps once a month and gradually increase as times goes by.

<u>Baby kicking</u>
Although it's still early and sound unbelievable, any mummies experience baby kicking yet?
I can sense something fluttering in my tummy whenever I sneeze or just flip my body and it's v obvious in the morning.
It feel exactly the same just like when my gal kick me when she's in my tummy.

flower, hope you are doing well today!

haven't logged on since last Wed coz busy with work and family. Would be 14 weeks in abt 2 days time but still having morning sickness and appetite still not very good. Last night, my mum cooked cabbage rice which was one of my favourites but for once, i didn't enjoy the cabbage. Previously, I always tell her that she didn't put enough cabbage. MS is such a funny thing. Wondering if any mummies are also still having MS at 14 weeks?

Also, last Friday on leave went to buy some chinese herbs to bu. Spent $740 on cordycep and birds nest. And the lady was persuading me to buy ginseng which costs $980 for the whole stalk. Said I'll think about it. Don't think I'm prepared to spend so much on something which you cannot see specific benefits. Any mummies have tried an can really see benefits of these herbs, foods?

flower
I also had a bad day at work last Thurs. I have very different views and work style from my boss.
Actually, I never liked this job from day 1 coz i used to work in banks and really didn't want to "downgrade" my standard to this place I'm in. But it is not as stressful as in a bank. I'm just taking my few years here to build up my family. Planning to change jobs after maternity.

I guess most ppl have grouses about their jobs. Since we are pregnant, we must consciously not let ourselves get too stressed up. Especially for you, I think you may have started spotting again because of stress. It is really not worth it. It is just a job. I know it is even more difficult for you since you are now the sole breadwinner. Which line are you in?