(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

jenifur
welcome back. Was wondering what happened since you suddenly "disappeared" from the thread. Glad to hear that everythings alright.

a little advice needed. Is it normal for nausea to come back? i haven't had it for a while but now i'm getting it at night again.

Jenifur
Long time no see, glad to know that all is well. R u working or SAHM ? Do post when feeling more upbit> Take care

Susanna
Baby kicking : I'm not sure is it , cos once in a while when i'm at a certain position. I will feel somethin fluttering in my tummy too

flower4
Hugs to you. Know it is not easy for u. Try to vent it out here or with friends. When preggy & plus at such a stressful time, we do get abit worried & emotional.. So do take care & try to work things out with your boss.

Susanna/funny76/flower4
Think like all of us are facing some sort of problem at work. And we can't change job due to our stage. So it's quite obvious that pregnant ladies here are really facing discrimination in S'pore. Plus boss all frown when they learn that you are preggy....

Strollers
I agree with Susanna on light strollers. I got a combi which weighs only 4.2kg for my #1 almost 2 years ago. It looks flimsy but I handle it with one hand, throw it around and it is still in good working condition till today. The only thing is that it is getting too small for my 20 mth boy. I may need to get a larger one for him then use the Combi for the newborn.

Gd morning to all mummies! just came back to work after one wk break.. hehe was at bali last wk.. totally relax

Hope everyone is feeling good today..

Can I asked if it's a fact or myth that we cant eat mutton? I always forget to check with my gynae on this.

Angeline> wah... 17 weeks can see gender liaoz ah?? wah.. technology is really getting better man.. haahhaha.. :p

susanna> i was thinking of Capella S705 leh.. looks a little bulky... but then very multi purpose leh. hehehe.. :p

Really??? Which Breast pump did whoever says is good huh????

How abt outing to the taka fair??? then the newbies can learn from the oldies here... hahahahaa..
We can know what to buy and what not... Mmmm.. how how???

But are u all looking at going with ur hubbys so that you can someone to carry for you huh?? haaha.. :p

Katerine> hahha... mutton was said to cause yang tian feng. not sure too.. hehehe...

Sad to say that it hasn't been a gd few days for me. I was down with cough since Fri, & it was worse during the weekend. Cudn't sleep properly coz the stupid cough kept waking me up. And I coughed so much that my tummy hurts. I hope it's just the ligament kena stretched stuff, rather than I did any serious damage to Babylet. Quite miserable now

mamato5

Yes I am taking cough syrup. I took 2 doses of runny nose med also but stopped. And I finished one bot of cough syrup liao. Very jialat.

B/c I chose not to take anti-biotics, doc says prob will take me abt 2 weeks to recover *sad*

I also cough more at nite, esp in the wee hrs of the am.

This am got a coughing fit in the train, pple giving me funny "u got SARS??" looks *hiaz*

mamijoan,mybb,susanna

my boss very slack one, he din do anything one, he just take my report & submit, he do noting at all..

when got problem then he act kind.

im still having MS now approaching 15weeks.

indeed not worth it , ya i guess due to stress i got spotting..

im on medical leave now, later i go get mc, i caught a flu..

i also wish to get some herbs, where shld i get beside EuYanSang, they kinda overprice and some herb they dun have.

what kind of herbs shld i buy?

jul

u got see doctor anot...

oh NO, my neighbour house is drilling i guess renovation, the noise is killing me...

i go see doctor now..

Confinement lady:
anyone has booked CL already? anyone has tried to hire trained CL from TMC before?

Taka baby fair:
If u gals consider buying expensive items from Taka (e.g. baby cot, pump, stroller / pram), firstly better go and buy 2nd hand Taka vounchers which are sold at some discounts. that's a tip from my friend to save $$

Baby pram:
i'm using Capella, can't remember the model. usually Taka sells very expensive prams. do look out for sales at Carrefour, where i bought the pram at a much cheaper price

i'm going to see my gynae tomorrow, also see the results of NT scan last week

flower
its not easy to be a mtb working mom. there r bound to be discrimination esp now economy so bad and esp if u work for smaller company. take it easy ok. the priority is baby.

<font color="0000ff">jenifur</font>
was wondering what happen to u cos didn't see u in Mar08 thread too...

oh...u take care k...

same my gynae also didn't wanna commit about the gender as she also caught a glimpse of something betwn the legs during last scan...next scan on mon and she said she should be able to confirm it as it will be 16wks...

mamato5js,

like wat mamijoan mention, my boss is oso trying to lower the work expectation, always do short cuts kind and not hard ground, when got problem then he try to find ways to cover or rectify it, im not tat kind. i guess working style oso differ.

i dun mind if the problem are within my scopes , but its other depts problem, i keep helping them. which i feel is taking advantages of me, jus within my scope i already done beyond and they still wan me to do other depts jobs when i still struggling for my own duties.

i will try to lun til after maternity.. i guess i will forgo their course sponsorship, any way if fail i got to pay myself one, and need to sign bond..

im working for MNC, its really sucks, culture unlike mnc.my boss is angmoh , all these while i tot angmoh very thoughtful, i guess im wrong, they also slack &amp; heartless

now its only mar09, sigh.. still got April,May,June,July &amp; maybe mid Aug. to LUN. 4 &amp; half months to LUN..

lxlb, it's normal for nausea to come back, at times I feel as fit as a bird and sometimes I feel lethargic and sick.

mamijoan, our mummies' cooking are the best! Yummy! Where did you get the tonics from? Last time I went to the "tonic" stalls above the bugis street hawker centre, very confused with all the brands/tonics and scared to become carrot head. Then I headed to Hock Hua and brought the tonics from there instead. EYS is a no no, I see the price and I feel like fainting already.
For ginseng, I heard from my frd that it's not so suitable for pregnancy. I google and found this info from the web

http://mental-health.emedtv.com/ginseng/ginseng-and-pregnancy.html

For cordyceps, I took it during my 1st pregnancy and it significantly improve my immune system as I was very prone to cough and flu during the 1st trimester and I think it benefits my ger too as she seldom have flu and cough *touchwood*.I heard it's very good for children too.

hui chern, The fluttering become quite obvious especially when I sneeze. Nvrmind I just take it as it is though it sounds v early wahahhaha
It's very hard to find job now so no matter what, we just have to ren...
One of my friend actually got terminated during her maternity leave and she complain this to MOM.

flower, you might like to ask the medical shops to recommend the tonics to you and you can recommend to us too..heehee..

Don't stress yourself too much, a KK nurse used to tell me to tell things easy and sometimes if we stress, it's not good for the baby.

If they wan to push everything to you, try to "taiji" away. Do whatever you can to not to feel so stress.

US MNC are not so pro employees like Jap Co. They are very result oriented and have no qualms to send away the staff if they underperformed their expectations.

Nonetheless dont think so much and try to rest as much as possible.

katherine, not sure about mutton but I am quite scared of the taste. Maybe u can check with your gynae.

jul, mama5 Hope both of u feeling better!! Take more water.

rach, The stroller looks good but a bit bulky, is it very heavy? I will prefer a lighter stroller to handle especially in shopping malls, going up and down of escalators, in the lifts
narrow lanes, through the busy crowd and also loading up and down the car boot.
Sometimes when I am taking bus, it's easy for me to fold and bring up the bus too. I second the Combi one that mamijoan mentioned, it's so handy that I can even carry it behind my back and carry my ger at the same time.
When my ger reach 1yo, I brought a umbrella stroller, it's even lighter at 3.2kgs and fits in the car boot easily and a breeze to handle. The bad point is can't fold down for the toddler to sleep.

For breastpump, I am actually looking at Avent manual pump, it works well for me with a easy and fast let down. However some mummies prefer electronics pump so it really depends on individual. I am actually looking forward
to the Avent and Pigeon bundle sales for the breastpump and milk bottles.
It's very crowded during the weekend so I will suggest to go there during weekday if you want to shop with ease.
Actually for mummies who been there, maybe can share with us whether there's any good buys then we will go down and see?

If you buy to a certain amount, you do not have to carry the heavy stuff home, they provide FOC delivery with a certain amount.

You can take a look at the stroller that you like and call and check the price with this baby shop. They have the most competitive rate and provide FOC COD delivery too!

Cheong Choon Store
Category(s) : Baby Products Bulk
Address : HDB Upper Cross (Map)
34 Upper Cross Street #03-132,
Singapore 050034
District : Outram

Phone: 65323855 | Fax: 65327816 | N/A |

flower

Got see doc. But my cough is like that one. Aws very serious &amp; need a lot of time to recover.

Yeah we all shall ren for the sake of BB, maternoty benefits &amp; the poor economy!

flower

No leh, I dun dare take much Chinese herbs now that I'm preggie. I used to take this CHinese cough syrup from med hall, very good one! After a few doses the cough will def get well. But now I dun dare to take *sigh*

susanna

you have hock hua branches? how to cook cordyceps ah, i got asthmatic...

ok gtg, hubby asking me to bath. heee. so lazy.

hmm.. cannot take ginseng ah? my FIL just cooked black chicken with ginseng for me. Perhaps I should ask my gynae this thursday during the appointment.

joopz

My gynae said not to take too much ginseng. Something abt too much ginseng can lead to dunno issit miscarriage or abnormality (forgot liao).

flower

I google Hock Hua branches here, Toa Payoh and Ang Mo Kio Central have too but not stated here. Maybe you can call up and check with them your nearest branch.

Brands:
Hock Hua Tonic

Name of Mall Unit Phone

Central
Anchorpoint #B1-31 64768804
Junction 8 #B1-09 62501160
Liang Court #B1-07 63375831
Tiong Bahru Plaza #B1-13 62740430
United Square Shopping Mall #B1-28
East
Century Square #B1-17 67873358
Tampines Mall #B1-13A 67837768
Whitesand #03-10 65824618
North
Causeway Point #B1-12 68941230
Lot One Shoppers' Mall #B1-17
North-East
Compass Point #B1-36/37 63849272
Hougang Mall #B1-09 63858611
West
Bukit Panjang Plaza #01-11 68922551
IMM Building #01-76 65618489
Jurong Point Shopping Centre #B1-40 67935683

Cordyceps, my mum cook with pao sheng, wolfberries, pork (muscle meat) in the slow cooker for dunno how long. Maybe you like to check with the medical hall?

Enjoy your shopping!

susanna, flower
yeah, I also quite worried of becoming carrot head. EYS definitely more expensive in my opinion so when buying these expensive stuff, I don't go to them. I usually go to Hock Hua. But this round, i bought from a TCM clinic in Jurong East near IMM. I consulted the doc in my last pregnancy and noticed that they sell some popular herbs so that day in Jurong just pop by to check out their prices. I think they are quite reasonable but actually these things very hard to compare especially bird's nest, got very different quality. I bought the golden type for $280 one liang. It looks very thick so I think the quality is good. Hock Hua got some bird's nest as cheap as $180 plus free this and that but quality is very different.

Cordyceps I bought those that cost $440 for one liang.

Flower, cordyceps can boil with black or normal chicken in soup. Can mix with Dang Shen, red dates. These are safe for pregnancy. For one person share, use abt 3 bundles of cordycep. Boil for abt 2 - 2 1/2 hours. The cordyceps can boil for 2 rounds so as not to waste. Let me know if you need more details.

Susanna, I also don't dare to take ginseng during first pregnancy coz I also read this information but surprisingly, it was the lady at the TCM clinic which recommended and I think it is with advise from the doc. A lady before me even bought it for eating during 1st trimester. I guess to be on the safe side I'll avoid it. Will just stick to cordyceps and bird's nest. how often to you drink it? I'm planning to take cordycep and bird's nest alternatively each weekend. Was just doing a rough calculation, the cordycep will cost me $88 each time and the bird's nest, $60 each time. So expensive!

jul04, mamato5,

Thanks. Hmm.. he's planning to cook it weekly for me. Dunno how to tell him I cannot take ginseng.

joopz

Maybe u can keep the ginseng till after u deliver, coz prob after that u need to "bu" as ur body wud be weaker. For now, better to stick to the tried &amp; tested things like birds' nest lor.

Actually this ginseng thing v subjective. Some pple say can eat, some say cannot. But best not to ask those medical halls which are selling the herbs. B/c they will surely say can eat as they want the sales mah. If can, ask some TCM doctor.

Mamato5 &amp; Jul

Do take care.. this morning i was seated beside a lady who was coughing so badly.. i wanna to change seat but feel so rude.. so i stick to the seat.. kept facing the other side..

My mum says not to take ginseng nw also.. kept complaining to her i feel so tired wanna drink ginseng tea but she says cannot..

jul, dont feel worry about the fluttering, I highly suspect it's my imagination that it's bb kicking heehee..but then it makes me happy thinking about it lah..haha..

mamijoan, I do not know how to differentiate bird nest but the person recommended me was bird nest @ $130 per liang and cordycep was around $330 per bundle (I forgot how many liang) but then that was in 2006. Since urs is recommended by the professional, that is definitely good stuff!
For ginseng, there are 2 types - Americian and Korean ginseng. Maybe the one to be taken with Pregnancy should be the Americian Ginseng? Heard it's to "bu" qi.
I think it's safer for us to take during our confinement to bu qi.
I heard the price for cordyceps greatly increase in 2-3 folds, very ex now but as long as it's for babies, i feel it's worth it..heehee..

For 2nd trimester, I took it once every month, 2 weeks - bird nest once and cordyceps once. From 28 weeks onwards, I took cordyceps and birdnest alternate 1 week.
Alternatively, my mum also brew black herbal chicken soup.
One of my colleague is very good in brewing soups, she is saying she brew fish bone soup with papaya, pork ribs with watercress and alot which I couldn't rememeber. Maybe I check with her and share over here.

susanna
I didn't take cordyceps during 1st preg. Didn't know that it was so good then. 1 block is abt 1 liang. The clinic had one type which was $260 per liang and another type $440 and another $480. Not much difference between the latter two. Lady says the $480 is slightly bigger only. The $260 type can tell that it is not as good. Smaller and colour darker. The colour must be golden and the herb looks like a worm. Got fake ones around so gotta buy from reputable sources.

Yes, my mum also boiled black chicken soup and bird's nest on alternate weeks for me during #1. My mum also very good at boiling soup. Learnt from both her own mother as well as my father's side which is cantonese. I've also picked up some skills. Used to boil soup regularly before I had kids. After I had a kid, no more time to cook but I definitely hope to cook for my family again when the kids are older and can eat together.

i'm suddenly feeling less hungry these couple of days, esp today. i don't have any MS and for the past few weeks, i was really constantly hungry and ate almost 5 meals a day (<u>must</u> take afternoon tea break and <u>must</u> take supper). the transition to 2nd trimester (i am between 11-12 weeks now) seems to be causing my body to slow down in its food intake. i had porridge for lunch and now i don't even feel like taking my afternoon tea break today.

chinese herbs
i didnt take any cordyceps or ginseng through the first pregnancy. tried birds nest once, but didnt like the taste, so didnt try it again.

sandwich

Me also experienced the same thing. I was constantly hungry for the first tri, then as I reached 2nd tri, appetitie reduced.

Wah, u dun like birds' nest? I love birds' nest!

I'm like opposite.. dint hv appetite at all during 1st trimester, and now appetite is like slowly coming back..but stl has some MS.. must say its mild oredi la..

My MIL will make for me Bird Nest once a week during her off day. I hv chicken essence but not sure if i can drink... also forgot to ask.

sheryn

Have u gained weight? I dun seem to have gained any weight, except maybe 1 kg. Wonder where the extra eating went to?

Sheryn
<blockquote>I had good appetite in the afternoons during my 1st trimester, had 4 small meals in the afternoons, but kept puking in the mornings and evenings. In the end, I lost 1kg from wk8 to wk11. sigh. But my gynae told me not to worry. She scanned the baby and said that the baby is doing well.
My FIL has been making Bird's Nest for me once a forthnight and I've been taking chicken essence on alternate weeks. I heard that chicken essence is ok but some people said not to take Bird's Nest in the 1st trimester. But cos my in-laws mean well, so I just drink lah, don't want to disappoint them.
</blockquote>

sandwich

Hmm.. I really dun get it. I was 54kg, then at week9, I was 56kg, then at week 12 I was back at 55kg. But maybe the week12 one was before lunch, whereas the other weight measurements were all done after lunch.

Jul >

I weighed on the 14 Feb and i was 45.5kg then, on the 19 Feb when i went for Oscar Test at NUH, they weighed me at 45.4kg. Then my most recent one on last Sat, I weighed 45kg.

So I'm like instead of gaining i'm losing slowly. Doc also said its not worrying and its quite normal. Alot of ppl also say 2nd Tri n 3rd Tri will start to put on alot.. so i just wait and see.

New MTB >

okie..so maybe i will start to try taking chicken essence soon.. not sure if now i preggy le will dislike the taste or not cos bb doesnt seem to like the smell of meat! haha.. I havent been eating alot of meat also.. the most one piece for dinner. I only eat veggies n plain rice for dinner..a little fish..very little.

For lunch i eat one small bowl of soup noodles sometimes porridge.. morning i wake up is one glass of fresh milk/milo/horlick/nestum.

But hor.. I am a junk food junkie! I like to eat potato chips n cheese balls n cheezels. so now at nite when i watch tv i stl eat junk food and eat marigold jelly those fruits one.

BB like grapes n plums n banana and apple n bits of orange..

Everytime i visit my gynae i say I nv eat alot..will affect bb mah? Then i ask him give me something to top up bb's health since i dun eat alot.. now he just started to give me multi vits n dha fish oils.. stl eating folic acid also.

We all hv to like gobble so many pills after meals.. hai.. Mummies!!!!

sheryn,
for first pregnancy with my boy, i took a lot of fruits and veg. for this pregnancy, i prefer stronger tasting food (like lamb chop and bah kut teh). maybe difference in baby gender = different food preference? heheee

sandwich, sheryn

I also prefer strong tasting food now! Ask me to eat those bland food, I am very sian wor. I even like curry these days haha.