(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

mamato5

Haha bcoz u r Indo & u speak the language u dun have lang barrier leh. Then pple like me how??? haha

But I agree abt the off day thing. Their frens will teach them things lor.

Jul,

currently with one child and my mum taking care of my son during the day, I can still manage with a part-time maid. But it is very tiring coz my hubby is not hands on and comes home late every night. Every morning, I have to get myself ready for work then get baby ready and fetch him to my mum's place. At night, I bring him back myself and put him to bed then do some housework before going to bed. I don't have much life other than this. But in my opinion, having maid is another set of problems so as far as I can manage I prefer to do it on my own. Same for my mum, she also prefer not to have maid.

But since this is my #2 and #1 still fairly young, I don't think I can manage anymore. But I'll try to have maid for a few years. When they are older, I'll try to manage with only part-time again.

Regarding infantcare, before I had baby, I also thought can put at infantcare. But when baby came out, I can't bear to put him at infantcare. They need a lot of attention and infantcare is 1 caregiver to 3 babies. I don't think baby can get as much care as they can with mummy or grandparents. I am a strong believe in attachment parenting i.e. comfort baby whenever they cry, carry them often etc. It has a lot of long term benefits. If you MIL is willing to take care, I think that would be much better than infantcare.

As for confinement lady, I'm also thinking whether to get. I'll see how after maid comes. If i can train her to take care of me during confinement then I won't get confinement lady. But if she is the really slow learner sort, then I think I will need CL coz my mum also cannot manage as well as CL. CL are very experienced so they are very efficient, can prepare 3 meals a day, take care of baby and mummy and do housework some more.

lxlb> who say. u're not fat.

mmto5J> indo maid very "kampungan" (village-minded). so must be patient to teach...both indon and filippino got good and bad ones la. have to choose properly.

kiddo
yah, if never get a good maid then become long term problem haha...

actually maid issue is something we have to seriously pray about! my frd changed 8 maids last yr! kept hvg to go for interview

wahahahaahha

Ixlb > we are all having pregnant brain

hahahahahah but i pretty big size lor... hmmm also i had my mc last jul so at that time my tummy already bloating till now it never deflated yet hahahahahahaha

Re: maid issue

agreed .. my fren maid juz run away and they had so much problems the deposit and police case etc... so that y hire of maid also a matter of luck!!!
i very kiasi die also dun wanna have maid unless left with no choice...

oooo can look for nanny too!!!!
some nanny good....

Hi Mtbs,

Me very busy , now then free to say hi. Your package all like very cheap. Not sure what is my gyn package now. Aiyo, pay & pay, so sian. This sat going to see gyn liao

hi all... so busy today.. no time to come in till now... wow.. kiddo ur tummy is big leh.. mine dont have anything yet... cant really tell... me only 9 wks...

today's topic is CL and maid.. well personally i prefer not to have a maid as long as i can survive... this is my no1.. so think should b fine still.. as for CL.. lucky for me.. my mum has offer her help.. think she more excited than me... keke.. so i can save some money also.. just give her a big angbao at the end of it lor... and own mum easier to communicate too... keke..

Another diff... Filipino can eat pork, most Indo can't so maybe got to prepare separate meals, v mah fan.

Oh boy this thread is really moving damn fast…my question oredi in 2 archive back.

mama to 5Js & rach
HL milk will b cold from fridge rite, tot we cant hv cold drinks?

Jul
Thanks.. Btw, whats OSCAR & FA scan? Is it on the down syndrome one? I have done tat last thur, will get to c the result tis thur. In fact that day when doing my bb was sucking the hand, the tech asked me izit tat I m hungry, din hv lunch ah..hehe, so funny n interesting to view on screen.

Mamijoan
Izit will put on weight? Coz my sis-in-law has been drinking twice per day, seem fine to me leh…haha. Anyway, is goin to b my 2nd trimester le..

Crystalz
progesterone level? How do u knw u r low on that? Hmm.. Hw come u ladies r toking abt blood tests…my gynae din hv any blood test for me so far.

Kidkiddy
I tot my tummy v big liao, tink urs is bigger than mine..my sis is like saying hw come my tummy so big, when I m onli like 12wks nia..shdnt b tat big rite. Then, did u go for postnatal massage for ur 1st birth? Sigh, think is my spare tire..scare become too fat..

Babiesmeme
Ya, as wat mamijoan has said lor..according to my sil, she asked to buy clarin frm Sasa..has anyone started to use? Which brand r u using?

mamijoan,

slim is good but u noe woman la, once shrink we wrinkle and look haggard & old.

oh ya , this week is my 13 week. some say 1st trimester end at 12 week some say end at 14 week. so i oso wonder have i pass my 1st trimester :p

re : CL MAID or infant care,

my initial plan, get confinement lady & put my baby infant care , no choice.

i quite uncomfortable to stay with stranger. My mum health already no good and i believe she will be very bored every day facing maid & baby if she come to my place, very poor thing leh for old pple.

cuz currently if she stay at her home, she got alot of visitors can spend time with her during days. not so bored.

delfin,

my gyne took blood test for me since 1st visit. erm.. different gyne have different practices.

mummies with #1 etc,

my girl is 15months old. and lately she keep standing on the high chair.. haiz really very tiring to feed her. izit a phase that they will go through? if i strap her, she will be super angry... and she even manage to come out despite all those buckles. haiz..

shelled> *yawn*... so tired.... gonna be seeing my bb tmr.. yeah.. so excited to see how bb is growing..

jul> yah lo.. maybe will try to ask see how.. hehee.. :p

defin> u take out leave a while then drink loh. MMmm.. too much cold drinks no good la.. but milk.. too me i feel is okay.. hahaa. :p

flower> 1st trim according to the gynae at the baby seminar ends at week 14.. hehehe.. :p

rach, you are back. heee, do let us know how its go tmr ok.

during this period, we can see baby with different style & possition in our womb. sooo amazing one leh.

for my last scan baby was very busy turn here turn there, at one moment the head will at left womb then next moment at right womb. and hand wave & wave. head turn & turn..

in my 9 week, baby was swimming busily hahaa

i always waken up this wee hour, sigh.

thanks manz, then i still have hope for my pregnancy sickness to go away. after 1st trimester. if according to 14weeks, im still within 1st trimester.

Woohoo! Went to bed 12mn, wake up 4.18am go pee pee, until now cannot fall back asleep. *LOL*

flower4

Don't worry, 14wks will come very fast one.

Although this time round for me, I'll be 15wks this Saturday. MS went down, but starting to get more and more sleepy. Supposed to have energy spurt in 2nd trimester lor. Where is my energy!!

Lucky my Hubs never complain about my laziness. Dunno how many days never mop floor already...

Since I am up now, going to do my work and hopefully can come back and join you all soon!

If you all miss me then add me on MSN lah. shell.shush[at]gmail.com

Hi anyone interested in buying the kangaroo sling to put your bb in ?? I saw it was bulk purchase... any one interested?

I think I've passed my "1st Trimester" yesterday, at 10th week. Haha cos I woke up and suddenly I dun feel the bloatedness and queasiness anymore. I haven't been able to eat much so far, total lost of appetite, but yesterday morning I felt so "normal" that I bought Big Breakfast and actually finished that whole meal! Felt so good. Then I could finish my lunch and even dinner. So I dun care what books or Doc says, I think I've passed my 1st trimester already :p

hey mavis,

do u happen to have the pic or the link to the sling?

I might be interested. anw i jus bought a bra extension. i find it quite useful. cos such a waste to put our usual bra aside. and it makes me feel more comfortable.

itsy

Congrats! But like what some of the mommies here said, CHOY CHOY. Later say it's better, it will come back again. I also experienced that in my 13th wk. Say MS better liao, next thing I know I am puking again.

jasonhuishan

I used that too for my 1st preg, but I realise after a while... you really need new bras cos the cup size go up liao.

So many post , dunno where to start. Well, very moody recently. Abit abit i will get fed up. Vent my angry or show black face at DH & DD. I wonder how to keep my spirit up. Maybe it's my job or my hormones , so sian.

Shelled> My hubby also told me not to say so early but I'm so happy and relieve that finally I can eat that I have to share the happiness. Haha

morn...

huishan, where did u get the bra extension from? think i need one too... dont know if should just get new bra or wait awhile more...

flower
yes, I agree too thin also not nice, look more haggard. That's why I was trying to put back on a little weight before this pregnancy. Also, this pregnancy, I don't mind putting on more weight. I think can produce more milk after delivery coz my appetite was only normal after 1st pregnancy. Some people can eat a lot during breastfeeding but for me it was slightly more only.

mamato5J
yes, you Indo of course get Indo maid ideal. That's why I say communication very impt. You speak the same language and know the culture so you can understand them well.

But you really think off days is no no? I thought maids also need some rest mah, let them go out and relax a bit then they enjoy the stay with us more. Maybe I too kind lah.

Since you have 2 good maids, any tips on how to choose and any good agent to recommend?

huishan

I was using bra extension for a while then around 2nd trimester, even the cup size is too small already so I bought a few larger bras. After delivery, if you are breastfeeding, it will be even bigger. At that time, you may need maternity bras (can flap open to breastfeed) which you will need if you breastfeed outside.

I am new to this thread. A friend just intro this forum to me. Nice to meet all of you.

I am in my 10th week and my nausea is still here periodically.
To top it off, I had a flu last week and it is now tapering into a cough. Does anyone know if I can take pi pa gao?

mamijoan
yes communication v impt. but if u give them some time, so far i never heard friend complain about language barrier. the only complaints abt indo maids and the v common ones are, slow and stupid. that being said, i have frds who have very good fili maids as well. so choosing maids is really abt luck!! but off days are still a no no for me. my sis in law's fili maid has no off days, she is polite and patient, but slow. however after working 2 yrs she improved a lot also.

i get my maids from this particular agent at coronation plaza. i wont say the agency is particularly good or bad because all my maids have been "tried and tested" by my mom in indo before they come. maybe thats why so far my maids standard above average. i treat them v well yet i draw the line with them. they know they r a part in this family but can never be part of the family. u know what i mean

mamijoan,

personally i prefer the indo helpers to the phil ones. maybe because i can also speak some of their language though not fluently. now in the mkt there are myanmar helpers too, heard some of them can speak mandarin leh. maybe you can consider them too.

but do pray you get a good helper, else you'd have more headache then before you got any helper. i've heard so many horror stories as well as read in the news until i feel a little phobic. i dun think i ever wanna get a foreign helper if i can help it.

mamato5Js

yes, I think it is all about luck. Previously, my aunty had a maid who was honest, fast and very smart. Later she transfered to work for my grandma. I even got her to come and work part time for me for a short while and I don't need to tell her what to do at all. And me and my husband too used to leaving our valuables around also no problem. But she has since went to Russia to join her husband. Now having good life there, don't think she needs to be a maid anymore. I think she was with my aunt and grandma for a total of some 10 years.

Wah, so lucky, mum can try them out and even train them first. Got anymmore good ones to recommend?

Yes, I know what you mean, must draw the line clearly with them.

I am very tired tdy. Must b b/c I had a lot of dreams last nite. Can't rem what they are now, but in the moment I woke up, I cud. Keke preggie brain breaking down again.

jasonhuishan

I used bra extender until early 2nd trimester, then I had to buy bigger cup size already. Worse for me cos I die die have to match my undies to my bras, so I bought more than usual. *LOL*

Also cos I cannot tahan wearing underwired bras during preg, I find it very uncomfy, so I bought quite a few lor. Basically is, as long as breasts not fitting into cup properly, I buy new bra lor.

Bras are something very importantly, if ill-fitting can cause backache, mastitis (if you plan to nurse or is nursing already), worsen sore breasts... so i don't play play with bras.

itsy

Hahaha. I understand your joy. But play safe lah. It would suck if MS come back again lor!

babybloom

Hi! Welcome here. I think pi pa gao should be fine, but most importantly is try to drink more water to keep yourself (and your baby) hydrated.

Hope you get well soon.

kiki,

my friend tried Myanmese before. She said cannot make it. Too slow, and culture quite different, very hard to teach.

I also tried to live without helper as far as possible. Many of our friends are actually surprised we don't have one. Currently, we can still manage with part time help but when #2 comes, I don't think I can cope anymore.

In fact, I was thinking of getting a local to come and just work from 9-6pm. But it is quite hard to find and very expensive. Now times are bad, don't want to be too extravagant.

shelled

Haha I have upgraded cup size since week7 or 8. Coz the cups were sutting into my skin liao. So horrible to have the line there.

hi babybloom,

me having flu these few days. went to see doc on mon. took flu medicine n panadol. of cos doc already comment is not strong thus will not recover so fast. not too sure abt pi pa gao.

well we got to try not to fall sick.

mamijoan

I was thinking to put babylet in infantcare, then get PT maid to come more often to do hsehold chores. But then, my frens all tell me that it will be tough. Like, when kid pukes at nite, falls sick, need nite feeds etc etc..

I think more & more that I prob got no choice but to get a maid liao. But I am really very resistant to having a maid living in the hse, but seems like it's a hopeless battle

Now I wonder when I need to start looking for a maid. Coz prefereably need to come & be "trained" a while b4 I deliver right?

babybloom

To play safe, u better not take pi pa gao. Coz u dunno what herbs they use. I know Panadol is safe for preggie coz I asked gynae. Maybe u shd ask GP to give u something suitable for preggie ladies, & not self-medicate.

Thanks for your advice, I will prolly go to the GP after work for some medication. Yea the flu tab I took last week is not very strong too.

I see all of you are about the maid issue. I am thinking of getting a confinement lady when the time comes, just to cook and care for the baby but I am not going with the no bathing or wash hair schedule!!

This is my first pregnancy and I am finding and learning many new things. Very overwhelming indeed!

Anyone of you looking after your baby long term?

Jul
if u get a maid it best to get it soon and u can pick those have experience in handling bb...
or u can bring the maid and bb to ur MIL during day time so u can have a peaceful of mind at work.. then nite time bring maid & bb home then maid over the weekends then help u do some housework etc...

sian so boring boring ....

hi hi babybloom

Confinement lady only stay for a month after that how...

ooo there are mnay many funnie myths and stories hahaha funnies cannot use those heater water to bath must use cook/boil hot water to bath i find it very funnie.... i always talk back to my MIL & Mum with all these nonsense..

kiddo

Yeah I was thinking abt bringing maid & BB to MIL's hse b4 work, then pick up & bring home at nite.