(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

oh.. okok... let me see in next few weeks when i reach 5th month will use such things mah.. LOL!

Now mine from small dot to one bean shape. LOL!

1.7cm i think is consider the average size bah.. i read somewhere online for 8weeks usually around this size.... so amazing.. how i wish i can have one scan every 3-4 weeks.. then i can see the growth of my baby.... :)

I envy all of you who already had your first visits. I think I will only really think I'm really pregnant if I see the ultrascan. Waiting for Wednesday.

Felt quite ill just now. Had craving for mee siam, but after eating a few mouthful, I couldn't bear to eat it. A slice of watermelon was good.

[cho]

LOL!

But my consultation is 60+, routine is 10, scan is 20. I dont mind paying 20 for a scan leh. Cos i like to keep all these. I take it like photos. Wahahahaha...... memories mah....

i think i will schedule my 1st visit to the other gynae in march..... cos i think the 3rd visit to gynae at TPS is really too long.

When is your next visit? Now you how many weeks liao? LOL!

[glass]
I totally no appetite to eat. Even when i am hungry, I don't feel i am hungry, just that i will be very very dizzy! I have to think hard what i wish to eat. But in the end i will also PUKE. TERRIBLE leh.

[princess] i feel like u too!
v giddy.. dun feel like eating.. sup to go work today.. but felt dizzy so apply urgent leave.. ;p

my next visit is 21 feb (when i'm 8th week).. now shld be 6w 5d ba? tis wed will be 7w

Hi cho, I need to ration my leave, so I can't just take leave. Even when I want to take Wed off to see gynae, which is covered by MC, my boss told me to make appointments where there is least disruption. Sigh.

Shucks. Feeling hungry again.

cho
i also read that abt him. but he is ok to me leh. i alredy made clear my stand that i dun want epidural and maybe he already knew that i had so many deliveries with no epidural anyway so no big deal to me. he didnt even do episiotomy on me. i tore naturally and only needed 2-3 stitches he said v good and healed v v fast

[glass]
i cant really drink plain water now. i will puke all the water out. ):

[cho]
you still can apply urgent leave. I cannot even take leave. i just started work last monday. SIGH. I am now trying to figure out how to tell my boss i'm pregnant. ): Even though its just a contract job, i still have to tell her cos the job scope here not really suitable for me. But bobian.. i can only sit here like da bo gong at the mean time while waiting for time to pass quickly.

So i'm about 1wk ahead of you? Today i'm 8w2d. this wednesday you gonna scan... hahaha... must be happy!

Now i have obimin besides folic acid to take every morning. >_<

hi mama to 5j
I really admire you for having such a large brood. I only know of another lady with 5 children, apart from others from my grandmother's era.

hi all... any idea if it is safe to go for facial when we r pregnant?? i'm supposed to go for my monthly facial this fri... but still contemplating if i should go... this will b my first session since i know i'm preggie...

episiotomy i tink is when e doc have to cut down there if e MTB does not dilate bog enough for baby's head to come out

haiz.. so sianz.. feel so pukey.. no appetite.. everyone keeps telling me importance of eating nutritious meals.. hubby, MIL, mum..

but i have no appetite for all these.. i only feel like eating mac!!! end up so sianz.. i dun eat...

anyone in e same shoes?

milkway... as the flow is quite heavy, it is better to use maternity pad as it is thicker. it is nothing special, just thicker than normal one

babylet... no worries... only the 1st 2 weeks heavier flow, after that it is not so heavy.

i am urs... sorry to hear about this. take care...

Lawshe... even with maternity pad, i still ended up staining the bed the 1st night after delivery(the hospital one, not mine wahaha)

shirley... think still can attend wedding dinner, i'm going to attend a few weeks later. for me, i didn't attend funeral during my last pregnancy, and my friend understood. but up to individual

episiotomy is to cut the perinium (the skin between the.. er hem.. 2 holes), coz somehow when the baby's comes out, the skin there will tear, it is said that by episiotomy, it is easier to heal after stitching. last time my gynae did for me, but it was not as painful as i thought. the pain comes from the pile which developed when i pushed too hard

I'm on MC this week and feel so relaxed. Bought some stuff from NTUC so that I can have healthy snacks when I'm hungry. Also boiling a black chicken in my slow cooker now so that I can eat later. Heard from a TMC program that black chicken is rich in iron.

Really glad to be on MC. Just glanced through my email just now and saw so many cases that I have to handle if I'm at work. Sure dem stressed. So thankful for my supportive colleagues who are happy to help me and not mind the heavier workload on them.

freesia

yep, my gynae does not hesitate to give MC. In fact, previously when I had run out of MC, she gave me hospitalisation leave. I guess she believes that resting well really helps with the pregnancy. She also knows that if I really need to work, I will continue to work even if she gives me MC so she actually asked me if I will rest if she gave me MC.

rach/princess

it may not be the gynae wants to earn extra by doing Vscan. I was 9 weeks last week when I went for scanning. At first gynae just did external scan but somehow due to my skin texture, cannot see very well so end up still need to do Vscan. It was also like that in #1.

Also, princess, regarding your question of FTS test. I'm not sure what that is but I know at 12 weeks, there is a first scan for down syndrome. My gynae will scan the nuchal cord (I don't think this is the correct spelling but it is at the back of the neck) thickness. At 16 weeks, another blood test will be done.

the diff between hvg episiotomy and lettg it tear naturally ( i had 4 episiotomy and 1 natural tear) is, during the time gynae let me tore naturally i felt a burning sensation as the baby crowned. its really hot! i think that was the time the skin was tearing apart! during episiotomy, i felt gynae used a knive and cut my skin. but becos by that time the skin was stretched so thin already, it felt like cutting thru paper. but still pain ah! more pain than baby coming out! wo episiotomy my stitches healed v fast. next day i didnt even feel i had stitches. thats how good dr chan is haha!!

[cho]
You still have cravings to eat mac. i totally no cravings. damn sian. ytd ate fried beehoon also puke. kaoz! really dont know how also. i wish my appetite come back to normal so that i can eat properly. ):

[mamijoan]
Hmmm... blood test is draw blood from where? alot of blood?

then FTS draw blood also??? draw from where? Pain?

i wonder how am i going to endure my delivery now.. when i get scare even drawing blood... oh my god!

>_<

LUNCH TIME now! but i no appetite.. also dont know what to eat.. i think i shall just stand around and see what i feel like eating..... -.-

princess

nuchal cord thickness test is only a scanning. Blood test draw from veins in the arm. I can't remember how much, 1 or 2 vials I think.

As for enduring delivery, I know some ppl choose to do c-section to avoid going through the pain. You just go to sleep and wake up, baby is born already. But c-section wound takes a little longer to heal afterwards and leaves a scar.

Thanks, ladies for sharing your doc pricings.

Dunno why but I suddenly feel less nauseating the past few days. One change in my diet recently was that I've been trying to take some sweet stuff at the times when I am prone to feeling nauseating cos I read somewhere that we could feel nauseating cos our blood glucose level is low. I don't know whether that helped. Hope this is not a bad sign. I'm going to have my first gynae visit tomorrow. Will keep you all posted.

I'm having stretching feeling this few days. For this preggy i'm hungry all the time. Eat non stop leh. Very scary. Even my mum say last time i don't eat like this time round.

I am down with flu, cough and sore throat..
n I cant take any form of medication.

Thought of trying Active Manuka honey ( I got one bottle with UMF 20+)... But is it okie to consume it, anyone knows ???

I don't think I'll go without epidural. In fact, I'll probably have caesarean. I think natural birthing is even worse than constipation. Sorry if this comment is a bit childish. I guess I'll probably read more and find out first.

Hi cho, same here. I feel like having mac, and kfc. The worse thing was not being able to find KFC potato wedges. Wonder whether they still have.

mei76, well, i have been having flu for a month already. Thank goodness I didn't take any medicine. But the last time I visited my doctor, he prescribed pregnancy safe drugs for flu. If yours is really bad, you can try this.

I know paracetamol is safe. The KKH doctors said so in their book.

new mtb, ya, same here. I notice i start to prefer sweet stuff now. But cannot take too much leh... otherwise the sugar level may be too high.

Btw, i just tried the sparkling ribena. Nice!! It's ribena with gas.

<font color="ff6000">mei76</font>
aiyo my dear gal... preggie mama also will get sick wan mah... must go see doc wan... I got flu in my 6wks.. so quickly went to see doc scared dunno the flu bug will hurt BB or not.. just haveta let the GP know u r preggy, they will give u medication safe for preggie mum wan.. if u r still skeptical about the medicines given by the GP..can always call your gynae &amp; tell them the medi u got frm GP if they are 100% safe... but most importantly u should get ur health back b4 u can give a healthy body to nurture ur BB mah...mai tu liao... see a doc asap... For me i also got take manuka.. but now dunno y find it disgusting so stopped taking.. but base on medical research...its a very good booster for health la...

<font color="ff6000">Ay freesia</font>.. what time u heading down to ACJ huh?? mine appt at 3:30pm.. hopefully i dun needa wait long ar.. den in turn won't make u wait long hor.. heehee...

freesia
<blockquote>Yah. Please be careful. I read somewhere there about gestational diabetes. Basically, take everything in moderation should be fine.
</blockquote>

[princess] vial is like a small testtube.. so 1 vial, 2 vialds of blood means 1 or 2 small tessttubes of blood..

[freesia] i oso like ribena!!

[glass] me too.. i long for kfc.. gosh

Hi tiffy and glass,

My gynea visit is tomorrow leh.. Thinking of dragging till then to get medi from her... At the same time, feel like taking something to make my throat not so sore..

This time round, pregnancy is tough. I also take a lot of sweets cos my mouth got the very bland taste and I constantly feel like throwing up.. Now plus the flu.... makes it even worse!!! I think I threw up 5 to 6 times throughout the whole day...

Sigh...

<font color="ff6000">mei76</font>
for my case i did tell my gynae that I'm down with flu..but he ask me go &amp; see GP instead leh..but if ur gynae is able to give u prescription for your flu as well den best lor..

a search on the net about active manuka

http://www.activemanukahoneyusa.com/Natural-Upset-Stomach-Treatment.htm#Can_pregnant_women_consume_Active_Manuka_Honey

its safe &amp; actually good la.. think i better start taking manuka back...cos it really helps to soothes sore throat..

<font color="ff6000">freesia</font>
oh... heehee...think i'll be there like 10 mins earlier...1st time there dunno need any registrations &amp; test or not.. &amp; if i see a lady with a box of tau sa piah in her hand later.. guess must be u liao lor.. hahahah

hi all, my GP told me to get a list of preg safe med for these common illnesses from gynae..

so next time u sick, go to GP juz show them e list of preg safe med will do

Hi cho &amp; tiffy,

Thanks for the info!!

First time I fall sick during pregnancy so I also dunno if my gynea can prescibe medicine or not..

Okie, will go and ask my gynea for a list of medicines safe for pregnancy..

[cho]
woah... i think i cannot siam all these blood test liao.. but i think i have to be very careful now. Few years back, i went to draw blood cos of company regular check up, then 5mins later, i fainted and when i woke up, i was on the bed. Really very scary. Imagine i am not in the clinic liao... i was so terrified loh...

[new_mtb]
Hmm... so far i have been aiming only at sweet items... :) all others will be puke out if i take. I tested already. LOL!

Recently i really have no appetite until i so scare if i dont eat i will faint or have gastritis.

lately i think i managed to eat more fruits only lor.. pears, green apples, apples, grapes, kiwis, strawberries.. and now orange juice... but everything all take moderately....

i wonder 1st trimester usually will gain how much is the norm??

[princess] no problem! actually i oso will faint when drawing blood! for 1 small vial i tink takes 3 tries.. means poking into my major vein my both arms and lastly a minor vein in right arm!! i will have fuzzy images when drawing blood..

u tink 1st trimester will gain wt?? i have been dropping wt leh.. used to be 46-47 b4 preg.. aft preg i'm always between 47.5 to 46.. now i'm 45.5!

cho, i think i'm gaining weight... i keep eating and eating non-stop leh...

cos i very scared the feeling of hunger already... had 2 occasions where i puked as i was eating due to "over-hunger" and then cant eat after that... i scared i puke again.. so now everything i feel hunger/emptiness in my stomach, i will munch... wonder how much weight i have put up?!?

Hi Mei76,
I am also down with running nose, not much of sore throat or cough. Guess I am a little heaty cos my nose bleed a little.

Hi NEW MTB,
I also prone to feeling nauseating, think my blood glucose level is low but after which I take some sweet stuff I feel better. Are you those belong to the slender or slim type?

Is it normal to have vagina discharge, do you all experience that?? I just curious, our water bag is at the left of our womb or right side of our womb??

babiesmeme: it's ok to have discharge ma.. so long as it's not smelly or funny coloured.. coz if there is a strong smell then it might be infection..

i hav cream coloured discharge.. i use those feminine wash daily to balance e PH level..

babiesmeme, I read that having nose bleed is due to the pregancy hormones. Had a bit of that when I blew my nose.

[cho]
i also no idea that's why i am asking you all lor. Before i was pregnant, i weigh 44. Then 5wk i was 44.6 then 8wk i was 45.3! Despite the drastic drop in my appetite and the increase of puking, i also no idea how on earth i could gain some weight. -.-"

The usual people normally gain how much during 1st trimester? :)

I totally dont feel like eating. I puke my fruits out too. I find it so awful down my throat. My "MS" gets worse during noon and evening. VERY TERRIBLE!

I'm very upset.... just went for my gynae visit. Scan shows i'm 6wks 3 days only, but based on LMP, i should be 7 wks already. And my baby's heartbeat is very slow. Gynae says there is a risk of miscarriage again.

Hi MTBs,
I have been reading but haven't input anything yet.. as I'm going through a tough time with this pregnancy due to bleeding. It's my 3rd one , last two ended with miscarriages.

Freesia,
Hang in there. Don't lost heart yet. Rest well, stay positive and talk to your BB.
My first scan @ 6th week, heartbeats was slow. But now BB growing well and heartbeats are stronger.

PrincessXiaoMei, ur weight increase could be a sign of increase in blood in your body due to the pregnancy, or also becos ur bb is growing well.. slow increase in weight should be a good sign…

As for subway, I am still eating it, raw veg should be fine bah… I din avoid that at all, the sandwiches are too good to give it a miss.. and I also those super big craving for mac hotcakes and double cheese burger..

You are turning 24, that is indeed quite young. You gonna be a modern mum when your kids are in their teens.. how I envy that..

As for delivery at ESH, my buddy is delivering there too.. she is at wk33, with a super big tummy and is still driving around and going for site inspection, I kinda salute her. Can u imagine she walk faster than I do when we were in town shopping over the wkend.

And for puking, base on what u say, 3 times a day is indeed very frequent. Must take gd care okay, after you puke rem to replenish your water intake. For me, I usually puke in the morning after breakfast, and sad to say, I am always in the office and as of today, a stupid colleague was waiting outside to see who is inside puking and when I came out, she was totally shock it was me.. just hope she is not big mouth to go around telling others abt my “Merlion” action in the cubicle.

And when you mentioned abt annual leave and maternity leave, I am not sure if I gonna have them too.. my probation period is 6mths and I only started working for a mth before finding out abt my pregnancy. My probation will due in end May and by then my tummy will be quite big, and if my boss choose not to confirm me by wanting to save on my maternity, these is nothing much I can do to… greatest fear here… Haiz……..

Hi Shirley, I was replying to your post last evening abt attending wake and I received news from my hubby that his uncle had passed away this morning. Sigh… shall let him attend and help out without me.. and for me, I guess I gonna break the news of my pregnancy to my in-laws if I am asked to attend.

Glass, I rem getting very surprise when several of my pals get pregnant within months of their wedding and here I am joining them too.. hahaha…

Milkway, there are so many things in your ‘avoid’ list.. I am cutting down on lots of things but hubby have other thoughts and suggest I continue eating but cut down on the quantity… but to play safe, I better give it a miss..

Like u, I puke whenever I start to feel hungry and if I don’t get to eat within the next 30min of feeling hungry, the over-hunger will resist food and I wont be able to eat anymore.. quite a terrible problem I am facing rite at this stage.. but hope it will slowly go away…

Waiwai, the bleeding sounds scary… I cant imagine staining my own bed, guess I gonna do some homework to add on a protection sheet or something..

Cho, I totally agree weight gain and signs of bigger stomach from wk9 to wk10 onwards… I kinda look like having a extra bigger tummy now… and worst still, my MIL who din know i was pregnant just commented that I put on so much at my tummy area.

freesia
ur gynae is negative but that doesnt mean u shld be negative like him. have faith in ur lil one. slow heartbeat is ok, at least there is heartbeat right. at times the heartbeat rate will improve as pregnancy progresses. u had miscarriage before this? im sure the phobia is there but talk to ur baby. dun underestimate this bond