(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">sarah</font>
The milk will come in after 3rd or 4th day.. first few days the 'bm' is colostrum.. which said to be sufficient for a newborn....

ultrasound pics

all my u/s pics are kept nicely in this book, along with all comments made by my gynae during each vist, plus charts and data like my weight gain and bb's weight etc. kekeke.. ok, i sound like an organised freak rite? ya, i know... my hb always say i scare ppl. in fact, that day at my gynae's my hb noticed the mummy next to me staring at my book while i was busy scribbling in it, he said 'i think u're stressing the mummy next to u'. :p

even when i do my hse reno, i also go a 'book' for it. in it details of almost everything, design, estimates, concept and ideas, pictures, drawings n scribblings (that maybe only i can decipher :p)

<font color="ff0099">Katherine</font>
Eh... I think I will be going Taka in the afternoon? Slowly wake up, slowly nua my way there. But wanna be there before evening because sure will have after-work crowd one lor.

<font color="ff0099">myfavchoco</font>
I'm not sure about C-sec with GA, but both time mine was C-sec with Epi and cannot get off the bed until they remove your drip and catheter. Meanwhile you won't have to go pee cos they will give you urine bag.

You'll be able to try and walk after they remove the urine bag and drip. For me, I requested for them to remove catheter/urine bag early because J was running around my hosp room and kept wanting to play with the urine bag.
The nurse helped me off the bed and made sure I was able to walk before removing it for me.

<font color="ff0099">Sarah</font>
The actual milk only comes a few days later, but you'll have plenty of colostrum to feed bb with!

sarah,

yep, i think it takes abt 3-5 days for the milk to come in. i believe the nurses would act upon your instructions whether u allow FM or wanna TBF or perhaps allow some glucose water etc. you should discuss these options with your gynae and see what he/she advise you.

kiki
wow u r stressing me lor.. haha.. i only kept the scans in a folder then bo chap already. Now thinking of how to keep them that's why i started this topic :p

shelled,

how long did u have the drip and urine bag after the op? u mean, if u request to remove it immediately after the op, its allowed? or only after gynae says its ok to remove.

i think i might pop by taka fair over the wkend. wkdays i can't make it. can help me see which vendors are there? if nothing interest me, maybe i'd skip it.

milkyway,

paiseh, me don't mean to stress anyone. :p well, u can always start now...hehe.. to me these scans are soooo precious, i even scan each of them and keep them in my pc as backup copy because i think over long period of time, the scans will fade.

does any mummy know how to tell if our nipple is going to have a blocked duct? i rememebered reading that jul had blocked ducts and she had to have her breast massaged by the lactation consultant and she said it was really painful! now i'm kinda worried, i can see some whitish thingy coming out of my left breast already, but none for the right breast. i'm crossing my fingers and hoping its not blocked or anything.

<font color="aa00aa">sarah</font>
Yeah man! :) So must insist on TBF if you want to BF... :) we will try our best right.... heee...

<font color="aa00aa">kiki</font>
Woah. You really very detailed leh... hahahaa... btw how come at times must feed baby with the glucose? If we want to TBF, they ask if want to feed, i will have no idea leh... LOL!

milkyway,
yah, NZ is so nice! subsequently, i went for a couple of trips but nowhere came as close as NZ. that was my fav holiday so far even though i fractured my arm halfway on the trip because we did a lot of adventure stuff, hahaa. i only went to north island. i heard south island is a lot nicer. i am planning to bring both kids to australia/NZ when #2's slightly older (but still falling within the infant category)

princess,

according to my gynae's advise, we can feed a little glucose water if bb is crying non-stop. while colostrum can 'fill' bb's little stomach, sometimes they cry due to dehydration. he said that this is usually the case if the bb's wee is very little and very orangy in colour. he said in his years of experience, he has seen many bb need to hospitalised due to dehydration.

perhaps different gynaes have different opinions, so its best to discuss with your gynae the options that he/she would recommend.

sandwich,

we were planning for a trip to NZ and then found out we were pregnant, so plan aborted! now, we're planning to maybe go NZ when our gal is older.

<font color="0077aa">sandwich</font>
my hub n me went NZ last yr aug/ sep for ~2 wks.. simply enjoyed and luv it.. missing NZ... yes.. south island got more scenery =)we spent more time in south island than north! we planning to go back again too :p

anybody experiencing sudden short sharp pain jus below the belly (somewhere flat triangle area)? starting to have this pain since afternoon, on n off...

<font color="0077aa">kiki</font>
O_O dun scare me.. i dun think so bah.. the "pain" comes very very short only.. and i still can "move around normally" aft the pain is over... lol

my bb hiccup not very often.. but it so cute when bb hiccup inside :p

jess,

ahaha.. solly... i'm juz saying it might be mah. did u time it? contactions are like cramps rite, the 'pain' also comes and go. is your bb engaged already? maybe the pain u're feeling is the pressure of the bb's head on your pelvic area?

kiki
<blockquote>My baby has been hicupping at least twice a day. I think it should be normal. Don't worry.
</blockquote>

Jess
<blockquote>I've been getting a slight discomfort from time to time when I walk. It usually occurs at the pelvic area. I thought it's cos my baby is already engaged and pressing against the pelvic area/bone. When I saw my gynae on Monday, she said it's normal. When is your next gynae appt? You can ask your gynae if it worries you.
</blockquote>

<font color="0000ff">Baby hiccups</font>
My baby hiccups quite often lately. Some days back was wondering why never hiccup.. then suddenly hiccup about twice a day.. for about 5 to 10mins each time... LOLS!

new mtb,

oh..wah..yours at least twice a day? mine usually once a day, i noticed its rather consistent somemore, always an hr or 2 after i've had my dinner. and it usually lasts quite long, about 5-8 mins.

kiki
<blockquote>ya.. it used to be so cute when she first started hicupping. Now, it can get quite ticklish/weird at times, especially when I'm in the middle of a meeting.
</blockquote>

<font color="ff0099">kiki</font>
Cannot request to remove immediately one lor. Cos you must finish the whole bag of IV drip first before they will remove the urine bag for you. I was hooked up to IV &amp; urine bag ard 11pm on Sunday night, and they only remove the IV on Monday afternoon, and urine bag removed in the evening after I complain.

The nurse said: "We can only remove the urine bag for you if you can walk." Then I asked her: "How will you know if I can walk or not if you don't let me get off the bed and try?!" Then she no choice help me hold my urine bag while I walk 1 round in the ward just to demonstrate that I CAN WALK so that she will remove the stupid urine bag.

Blocked ducts are not in the nipple leh. It's in the breast. Until your milk comes in, the possibility of you having blocked ducts is very very very low lah. So don't worry, ok? Later when you start to BF then you worry.

<font color="0077aa">new mtb</font>
tmr's my chkup! looking forward.. will ask him then =)
the short sharp pain not only occur when im walking.. sitting down oso have.. tat wat i noticed lo

<font color="0077aa">kiki</font>
haha.. no worries la.. i oso thinking abt it.. but i brush it off lo.. din time it too.. cos it very short pain.. only at the front part..
tmr chkup then i ask doc whether 'engage' or nt :p

shelled,

so they gave u the epidural 1st rite? then gave u the IV and then the urine bag. is this the procedure? how many hrs before your csec was the epi, IV and urine bag inserted? erm.. for natural birth, do we need the IV too?

oh.. so now can't tell if my ducts are blocked ah. i was worried coz 1 breast like producing colostrum but the other like 'dry'. i'd pray pray pray that my ducts are not blocked then..else i can't imagine someone else giving me painful massages to unblock it. :/

awwww CONGRATs to all mummies who have popped..

My last gynea visit on monday i still not dilated :p... but water still enuf so bb can still wait to pop... will see how the progress on next week gynea visit..

VE
VE is soooo painful, first time experience last monday...
after the VE later of the day i got mucus in bloody color, and i hav last few days in the evening time. am clueless, Mummies can advise me, if im alright?

So far i dont have contraction..jus bloody mucus in the evening time only..

my EDD is on 28 Aug 09... but i hope i can stretch til 090909 :p... if my water level still enuf by then...

when my water is low then need to be induced...
i so worry if induce but not dilated how manz.

Abit late for me to be posting now, But I need to do some ranting...

I went to taka today at about 7pm to have Seoul Gardens with my gfs when I am still as "One" person. And to also utilize the 50% off ladies night voucher from Zingrill as it is the last day. DH and another guy friend came only after the salon closed.

I have to say.. I haven't been to Seoul Gardens in the longest time... About 8 Years I guess, That's it... Today... I am really really disappointed with what I've come across.

We reached at 8 pm and was told that we'd have to wait 1/2 hr or more as there were no seats and we'd be on the waiting list. I left my number and got they called about 1/2 an hour later.

Everything was fine ( EXCEPT the missing fork, spoon and chopstick ) And when we asked for a bigger soup bowl ( The size of the dessert bowl, the girl actually told us to use the RICE BOWL and claimed it to be THE SAME ) OMG... The size is so different.. How can it possibly be the same? Just replenish the dessert sized bowl and the problem would be solved.. But no...... She didn't wanna replenish the bowls. * Faint * They didn't even clear our empty plates causing our table to be so cramped. -.-

The closing time is 10.30pm. We were told at about 9.40pm that they would be closing the buffet section in 10 minutes.

Reasonable...

So we thought maybe we'd get some ice cream and desserts first. At 9.45pm. The guy staff was standing at the ice cream section.. Waiting to clear the tubs! And as my DH was scooping the Cookies and cream flavoured ice cream... THE GUY KEPT THE REST OF THE TUBS!!! As though my DH wouldn't take any of the other flavours huh?! And for me, I was at the dessert section, the girl behind the counter actually KEPT THE LADLES, I actually had to use the ice cream spoon to scoop what I wanted. I have not even shaved ice on top of my selection and the girl actually COVERED THE SYRUPS!!! She THEN asked me if I wanted the syrups... I was SO TURNED off I said no... I don't even know what am I eating anymore, They've already kept some of the choices... Tsk... It's like you're taking a shit in front of my doorstep and you're asking me after you've left your poop there if you can poop at my doorstep!!

Some kind of experience after 8 yrs. Pfft...

Pam,
write complaints to the group , not cheap leh, seoul garden..

Strep B is using a Giant size cotton butts stick into your virginal.

VE, is FINGERs inserted deep deep inside your virginal &amp; check if dilated by using fingers to measure deep deep inside our virginal... after the VE later in the evening i have see my mucus plug drop off(bloody show), see how painful its is...

imagine when we are in labour they too will do such VE very often leh.. sobz....

Flower,

About Seoul Garden, I have already sent my comment over to Zingrill. And I marked it was my 1st visit. When asked if I would recommend a friend... I SAID NO.

The service seriously sucks when it comes to closing. -.-

VE,

OMG... Kuwai~~~~ >w<

I hope my Gynae is gentle...

<font color="ff0099">kiki</font>
Mine was administered shortly before C-sec, cos considered emergency c-sec mah. Epi administered ard 11pm, followed shortly by IV &amp; catheter. Proceeded to op theatre ard 11.45pm, where they shaved my lower belly in preparation for the op, then K was extracted at 0028hrs.

Not too sure about natural, maybe the other moms here can answer that?

If you and your hubs went for Mrs Wong's antenatal class, he should know how to help massage your breasts. My hubs has been doing it for me when I was BF-ing J, and also since K was born. Prevention better than cure!

As for "imbalance" of colostrum/milk, it's actually pretty common. I have more milk in my right breast compared to my left. Was the case for J, now also the same. Somehow my right tit is just more proficient at making milk.

<font color="ff0099">flower4</font>
I think you're discharging your mucus plug?? It's quite common to drop/discharge your MP without contractions. Heard it's possible to drop MP, then a few wks later then start having contractions.

Most induction cases go on quite smoothly, so don't worry about it yah? Not everyone has cervix as stubborn as mine.

You can request for fewer VEs when you're in labor. But to play safe, can request with gynae first, then remind nurse again. VE is even more uncomfortable when you're already having contractions!

<font color="ff0099">Pamelia</font>
VE goes much deeper than Strep B leh. And it's 2-3 fingers instead of a small swab...

Long time no post. I popped last Sunday!

ADD: 23 August 2009
Weight: 3.510kg
Length: 52cm
Name: TBC
Method: Natural without epi

Now my breasts are engorged and pumping is to no avail. Feeling quite desperate about this. Mothers with experience.. HELP!!

And congrats to all other mothers who have popped!

Morn gals
today gg for my gynae check up. will be 38 wks tomo. i not sure if i tell him i had false labour last wk will he do VE for me cos i hope not! yes lor VE is v painful! esp if done in labour ward some of the midwives can be quite chor lor cos they poke until dun wanna poke anymore!

Flower
wah ur edd is tomo u still wish to last till on the 9th?? too long overdue leh! usually after VE u will get bloody mucous, quite common. but its ok lor unless contractions start.

ok i ciao first. be back later in the noon!

*delfine*

CONGRATS!!
haf hunch tat u oredi delivered and u really did!! And wat 'mousy' bb u haf! Gosh 3.5kg okay...haha..

abt the engorge breast, try placing a warm/hot towel over the breast and massage for a while say at least 5-10min before trying to express out the milk, hope it helps...

*princess*
glad tat u r able to get interest-free loan...rem tat returning a 20k loan is definitely easier than a 40k loan... U and hub still young, can always refurnished the hse when financially more able and stable. BB coming along and u haven't gt a job yet, it will be quite stressful nw wif a new flat to renovate...so i guess life will be easier for u to keep things simple rite?...

ya boh bian lor...wat gt to be done haf to be done....even if can move in without furnitures, basic reno is a muz especially the flooring!! and oso kitchen cabinets...

friends can give suggestions, ideas, advices...bt end of the day, we muz think thoroughly and figure out if it is true and feasible....coz we r the one living in the hse and paying for everything...So when we had a chance to choose betw std and premium flat, we chose the premium. some don't like oso for the reason the whole block r having the same flooring, toilets, doors, nothing unique anymore...BUT isn't condos the same!!! wats more, for condos, even the kitchen cabinets and wardrobes for all the rms r the same. Quality wise for premium flats i wld say ok oso...

okay haha...think im getting more loh soh...most impt, do wat u feel is rite and comfortable...

<font color="ff6000">Morning!</font>

delfine
Congrats!! so u secretly went to pop!

sandwich
u should go south island.. it's so much more scenic than the north!! I love Mt Cook the best! U can check out FB pics but i think i have not finish uploading.. haha... now makes me wanna travel again.. might be going Taiwan end of the yr for one of my besties' wedding if i can manage with my bb... pray hard.. hehe

flower
hope i dont get VE check next mon on my visit. I suspect Dr wong wanna check me cos she says i'm engaged and mentioned VE check the last time lor. and u wanna delay 2 wks?? can meh?

Good MOrning Mummies!!

My eyes super tired to look at all posts. Juz briefly look thru.
Have been busy lately with work...to many changes..haiz..long story.

So how's everyone?

Jiahui,
I also seeing Dr Adrian Woodworth leh and also will be choosing C-Sec w Epi. Please do share with us your delivery story when you have discharge and free. Once again, congrats!!

Btw, I remembered someone here did mention that she chose c-sec and for cow choose before 3 will have hard life, after 3 will have better life. Anyone have any idea what does it mean? It means date or time?

delfine,
Congratulations!! I afraid I can't help u on the engorgement part coz when I delivered my #1, I also have this problem and no one to turn to, in the end, I gave up very sadly. BUt I know this time round, there will be many experts mummies here with great BF experience to help us.

itsy> aiyah. actully reason y my scans so messy is becos, some i ask hubby take to office scan, den he nv bring them back or dunno where he put when he bring back. den most of the time my gynae appt are like 9pm? when we reach hm it's 10++? so we juz throw anywhere n go get rest. =x

girlygirly> we started to save right after i grad n start wking. cos we know we planning to get married within a yr+ of grad ma. anyway we only got the keys to our hm 3mths after we got married. so got additional time to save again =p of cos my parents were willing to lend us de money n we can slowly repay her. but i dun feel good ma. so we juz have to curb our spendings n save more =p

hehe. housing loan we oso din borrow much. although we drag 30yrs period, we intend to go clear de loan every yr with our excess money in cpf. hope can clear de loan fast enugh before de bill piles up.

princessxiaomei> keke. ya. u can start with doing basic tiling, doors, window grills (cos got kid), kitchen carpentary, n maybe a wardrobe for ur mbr. de rest can buy off de rack first? slowly when got more money den add in more carpentary stufffS? i oso nv do wardrobe for bb's room. cos i got a feeling kids spoil things very fast. i will only do builtin wardrobe for my boy when he grows to maybe 16? haha =x

since u orerdi opt out of the tiles n door, den nvm. keke. although tat would have been much cheaper. but like u mentioned, de quality is bad, worksmanship need to complain n complain oso =p

keke. last time reno cheap ma. now reno more costly. so of cos prices go up. haha. ya. fire rated doors are very costly. keke. so urs come with them? cos i buy resale ma. of cos i change de door too. but in my case, it's not necessary i do a fire rated door. so i paid only 600 for my main door which is not fire rated. so pls dun come burn my main door =p

sandwich> keke. at least u still got honeymoon!! i haven go for mine. grrrs. dat time hubby juz changed job when we got married, so cant go on long leave.
den when finally our finances allow us to go, bb is out -_-

kiki> so sian rite? i was planning a trip to japan to get my LV neverfull, den realise pregnant. lalaa -_-" all holiday plans gone.

flower4> better start preparing soon. i got a feeling u r going to pop soon. pls dun try to hold on to 090909. =p dun snatch single room with me at mt a. keke =x

hope i dun haf to do VE since i oredi goin for csec? erms... but i do VE many times when she check for infection liaos. super pain n she go super inside. stressed.

VE
Oh no..What's this????!!! Sounds scary! When will this be done and is it compulsory?

delfine
Congrats! 3.5kg, natural w/o epi! Good job! Do share your story soon.

Jess
I'm experiencing the same type of pain too. Short and sharp just below the belly. I brushed it off as bb kicking :p Can u update what ur gynae says after u asked her. Thanks

delfine> grats!!!

moojenn> keke. it actually means before 3pm u pop in de day, de kid will have a harder life. n if u give birth after 3pm, de kid will have more comfortable life. cos cows wake up to wk in de morning. while in the afternoon ard 3pm, dey r usually resting.

actually it was my cousin who told me this. n since i was going for csec, might as well i juz choose 3pm? keke. but actually hubby check tat those born on 090909 9am, deir bone density is very good. meaning oso good life. keke. but since i oredi told doc i wan 3pm, i'll juz stick with it.

btw wat day r u checking? hubby check dates before 16sep. he found out tat 4, 9 n 13 are very good dates for giving birth.

<font face="segoe print"><font color="#FF6666">Princessxiaomei...</font>

I also got hairy tummy lo.. then besides the "zebra" lines, my linea nigra also very obvious.. Its just full of lines la.. very UGLY to look at.

No need to worry la.. i read that some mummies only engage during delivery de. So dun worry hor.. Eh.. i duno if VE is goin to be more painful cos my gynae hasnt done it for me yet.. I only did Strep B nia.. But if u've read, some mummies here do comment that its painful.. but i tink should still be bearable la.

The mitten n booties I bought are all in sets de. so they are equal lo. </font>

<font face="segoe print"><font color="#FF6666">kiki...</font>

U're good wor! Thumbs Up!

Its sure gonna be very nice to look back at them in future de..</font>

<font face="segoe print"><font color="#FF6666">flower...</font>

U sure u wana stretch so long ah? It will be more than a week wor.. 顺其自然 la..

Btw.. how was ur maternity shoot?</font>