(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Baby S, the suntec outlet did not mention abt starting from A... hahahha so I guess its depends who u speak to.

But i feel that even start from A, the kid dun really absorb also.. ahhaha...maybe they subconsciously absorb lar... ahhahah

baby s,

No need start from beginning de. Ovann even started his class in the middle of the term. From wat i see, no need to know abc oso ... cos they r teaching zoophonics. Every lesson they will teach a letter but will repeat the whole a-z zoophonics.

puroland,

They started A from the new term of the year, and will continue with the rest of the alphabets along the term. So by the time u joined, just nice they teaching H.

Ovann also started in the middle of the term in babes class. Now he's in tots class and they are doing K liao.

A, B, Cs

Hmm.. Sam knows a few. Random ones lah, like A, B, C, D, E, S, T, O, M. But he gets mixed up abt C, U, coz it's a matter of orientation. And he thinks Q is O. He calls all circles & holes O too haha. I just let him be lah. Dun wanna pressure him or keep telling him he's a made a mistake.

Ohhh.... my tummy is sooo big! Major water retention prob leh. I look like 4 mths preggie! Drat! What to wear for the next few days???

sweetmama

I have ABC magnets on the fridge - which Sam manages to mess up & lose half of them. Sometimes he will pick one up & run to me & I will tell him it's "A" or "B" or what lor. If he doesn't ask me, I don't bother to teach him. If he asks me too many new alphabest at one time, I'll also distract him with something else. I don't want him to get confused lor.

sweetmama

Yeah I aws get water retention at the tummy during PMS. Super sian coz it makes me very FAT *angry* No lah, not preggie or constipation

Now I must find clothes to hide my tummy for the next few days else someone might embarass us both by asking if I'm having #2 hahaha

Celine
ya, they can be gd friends except my boy won't talk much to yours. Lol.

Joey
better don't else I stress. Coz he's very lazy too. He only likes to read. If in gifted class I'll be the one helping him with his work. Anyway he's more skewed to one area. His Chinese sucks.

pegsfur, which outlet is Ovann attending the lesson now? My ger cannot recognise ABC... hahahha... when teacher teach, she like not very interested... easily distracted... maybe also because she cant speak yet. Most of the time, we are running after her in class... hahahha

Sweetmama
Yup, one milk feed b4 nap..
They have a few sets of menu on the board and they will indicate which set for that week..

Hahaha ... tks jul

puroland, jul answered for me
I'm oso running after ovann every lesson. I think it's normal for them to be uninterested in the 1st few lessons. Later on when they managed to catch on wat the teacher teaches, or recognise the songs they sing, she'll want to participate. In our class, all the boys are running around, with my ovann leading of cos. He's been nicknamed 'the supervisor' by his previous teacher cos he roams around more than half the time in class!

Re : Child lessons
morning ladies, my hubby like not very interested in sending my boy to those lessons leh. a bit sad. he said if we are hiring maids, than will not be sending him for lessons. wait till he older bla bla bla. he also said if the child is clever, he will learn whatever. but i believe early childhood learning is very important.

Sbb

hehehe, then if he's not clever how? So should start earlier right? We won't know how clever or not at this point. If start at the time when we realise that he isn't that clever, will it be too late? I start the classes for my kids with the
mindset that they are just average kids. If clever good lor, but if not so clever, hopefully the classes helped with the
exposure. But most importantly, the classes are for social exposure. So that they know how to play with other kids, how to share and how to control their own emotions.

sbb,
dun be sad...either you find some official documents to convince him to send your kid for lessons or just do what he said let your kids take time... Different parent have different ways of parenting no right or wrong.

Celine

hahaha. Ya, they can share books to read. But my boy will only read lor. He prob won't be talking as much.

Joeey
no la. He's not that smart. Anyway, also better don't go gifted class la. He's so lazy. Later end up I get more stressed.

mashy,
ok...then i am sure our boys wun be bored since we have tons of books to share with each other. :p

2 weeks ago he managed to convince my husband to get him the Human Body Kit..haiz..

Celine

He seems fine. Will just wait for the referral. I read up that cyst in pretty common there and it's untreatable. So likely the
neurologist can only tell me if it's life threatening and prob monitor over the years.

mashy,
C will be ok!

May I know how tall is your boy now? Sorry just want to see whether my boy need hormones injectio or not :p

Celine

98cm. We decided on the jab not so much becoz of
height but rather coz he has low growth hormones. If he had normal growth hormone levels, we may not do it.

Mashy :
Ya lor that is what im thinking also. Cos when young start them better why wait.
Than I was thinking than might as well don have 2nd one liao le. If same scenario than how.
I already told my hubby that our boy doesn social too much with other kids which I think it is not so good.

Hes a good hubby but his brain huh.. don kw how many donkeys years back mindset.

Celine:
U knw he doesn want to purposely bring kid down to class than come back.
Aiyo… how can right? Than I told him u don like to participate in whatever his activities and than compared to his sister.

I said his sister, last time when her daughter is young, everytime bring her to enrichment class.
The problem is I cannot drive, if can than I can send my boy anywhere I want to lor. Sad..

SO THE RESOLUTION : GO LEARN DRIVING. How long to learn driving? 1 year can complete?

sbb

Hmm... actually there's no right or wrong method & time to start sending kids to school. It's up to the individual parent & the kid. There was a time when I felt very stressed abt sending Sam somewhere - coz everyone else seems to be attending JG, GUG, Kindermusik, Schichida etc etc. I felt very panicky that my boy was gog to be "stupid" coz I didn't send him for all these.

Then after a lot of struggling with myself & hard thinking etc, I finally decided to send my boy to pre-nursery next yr. No other classes for him at all for this yr. Just play & bond with him. At the end of the day, you have to be comfortable with your decision.

Aiyoh I also cannot drive. keep saying wanna learn but keep procrastinating haha

Sbb
can get driving license less than a yr if u can pass within first 2 times. If he doesn't send, u take taxi lor. Or take train lor. A lot of the parents don't drive too.

My son has a cyst in his head. So going to check if that is a prob.

pegsfur,
whats the average age in ovann's class?
ryan's class all seem much older...they know alot..ryan still dunno anything n running about
the other kids know their ABCs and numbers
but ryan still dunno after attending 2 terms
i just submitted the non renewal today
only good thing is he can learn to keep toys! hahaa

re: GUG
i tink its a good mixture and they offfer once a week lessons..kiasu mentality they cover everything so ryan gets exposed to abit of everything
singing, phonics, art& craft..even got chinese for bilingual class

sbb,
i also take mrt to bring ryan to class
hehee

sbb,
I got afew frens the husband dun participate in bringing the kids to enrichment classes but THEY themselves do it. They don't drive too...but they are very persistent in bringing the kids to the enrichment classes themselves.

so if your hubby dun bother then you have to take the initiative yourself to give your child the headstart...

sorry by citing the reason dun drive or husband dun fetch is not a strong valid reason to not let yr child attending lessons.

So many mummies here take public transport themselves with their children to the enrichment class you know.

Jul :
I want to send my boy to enrichment classes cos I want him to socialize around with other kids which I think is very good for him.
I didn’t panic but I want my hubby to be more proactive. But I was planning to send him to GUG or JG. Hehe..

I didn’t source but I happens to see so right now I was waiting for their reply.
GUG at Suntec or Thomson and JG at Forum. So maybe after that can go shopping. Haha..

I want to go learn asap. Don’t know will be a good driver or not. Haha..

===========================

Mashy:
Hmm…take train expensive wor compared to train.
So if I know how to drive can take my sister in law car.

Huh? How come? How you know he got a cyst wor?

Sharon:
The GUG ya I want to send him to the weekend class. 
Also take train ah? You alone ma or with hubby?

Jagiebaby :

Got a licence and if hse got car. Try to drive first but without bb this time. Hehe..

Celine

my boy is also very very fussy eater. He only eats a few things. And he doesn't like to eat meat. Other kids will be clamouring over chicken wings and nuggets. He dislikes them.

sbb
he had an MRI done becoz of his growth issues.

Anyone has the official website for Zoophonic ?
They do have a branch at Serangoon ?
Cant seem to find it via Yahoo search.
THanks..

JG Play Nest class in Forum is only on weekdays , weekend will be in Evan Road... I don't know where it is but I'll sending my gal there for a term only. It's too expensive, so I can't afford to sign up for another term.
Hubby was reluctant to sign up as the fee is too expensive. I don't care, so I used my own money to pay. We don't have a car, and i think i'm killing myself for bringing my gal to evans road, ulu ulu area. ahaha

mashy,
oh my boy also dun eat quite alot of meat like ckn wings, fish & chips, hamburger but he does eat nuggets lah.

The only abundance food he eat alot is CHEESE :p

Sbb,
Ryan attends sat at united sq..beside Mrt, convenient
Suntec one also convenient
Sometimes with hb n sometimes alone

jagiebaby / cloudme,

Me too !!
Have driving license but dun like to drive.
Just the other day my husband "force" me to drive but its at nite, not too many cars and short distance...so far so good..
So I might try to pick up driving again so dun need to depend on husband schedule or to leave home an hour earlier to reach some place on time...

i still remember got 1 time few years back HB force me to drive coz he drink. no choice i drive but keep crying.. but at nite and short distance also lah..

I bring shayna to her weekly kindermusik classes on my own too via taxi or bus. Thank God its nearby lah..

Celine: there is a article abt picky eaters in last weeks lifestyle page.

hihi everyone....

bbja:: hahha.. sorry..but.. lol~ y u cry? n u cried as u drive?

for me.. i like to drive.. but oni hv 1 car at hm! oni if hb is overseas, i will smtimes drive to work (cos expensive to drive to town mah..).. else, ya.. oni when he drinks lor...den i get to drive oso. like he'll smtimes park his car near my offc so i could pick the car n drive home.. hehe.

driving is fun la... like kiki said... try drive more..n u'll hv the confidence.. n love it.

sbb
maybe try to sign-up somewhere nearer to home?

Although I can drive, but I dont really like to go alone with my boy.
they can get easily cranky in the ride there and sulk for the whole class afterthat.

I let my boy attend 1hr MyGym now to let him socialise and get use to "school" setup before cc in Jun.
Most important when I sign up is that it's within walking distance, so I dont have to wait for anyone to send/fetch or take bus

I really marvel the determination of the mummies who travel so far for lessons!
I'm very lazy, so every Sat morning I'm super no mood to bring my boy there. somemore throughout the whole session have to pretend to be super high, sing, dance and laugh along! SIONG!

Blogging

I need some help here.

I'm thinking abt starting a blog. But I have no idea how & where to do it? There are free websites which host blogs right? What happens if they shut down that website? My stuff'll all be wiped out? What are the 'better' more user-friendly places for a blog?