(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Liz
I'm left-handed, so I can teach him how to use left hand! hahaha!
my boy can hold the pencil and draw some lines without anyone teaching... I remember when i was in P1 my sis hold my hand to write... somehow we manage to do it.

anyway I never encounter any problem in life because I'm a left-hander lor... no problem at all! but my hb says he's a boy, will have problems in army... blah blah blah....

BTW my MIL also say that my hb wants to use his left hand when young but she changed him!
win already lor... like that also can, my boy must everything also take after their side de!

Jagiebaby,
thanks...

kiki,
my boy sometime use right and sometimes use left...
i have no preference...but hope that he will be a left handed like me...

LIZ, BOBO

Hee there are supporters n derogators of Montessori/ thenatic learning/ learning through play. Personally I think the parents just have to decide what they feel is best for their child n do it. I don't believe there's right or wrong. People who insist on their prefered method for other people's kids are plain bigots!

But i do think that consistency is impt. Like our babes need routine, same goes for education style. My 2 cents worth lah. Btw montessori's only avail in spore for up to preschool level

RIGHT OR LEFT HAND

Haha this debate eh? I think left handers are generally acknowledged as being morecreative n clever etc. I won't force my kid to change his dominant hand. But i guess i have to be prepared that there will be difficulties like sitting at a round table, using scissors, writing without smudging the ink haha

Jul: I do agree with you... consistency is important... for me, i dun really care about the method... different strokes for different folks... What i care about is the teachers or people who are going to be teaching my kids... From my experience, it is usually the teachers that makes a different...

i have got a friend who changes her girl's school like every other year so as to maximise her potential... My hubby's colleague even best, they send the kid to a 2 kindy, one focus on mandarin and one on english. I also known some who sponsor maid to get driving license, get them a car to send the kids to and fro lessons, etc. at the end of the day, to each their own i guess...

i haven been thinking much about the sitting at round table part... haha...

This world is made for right handers. So if your kid is left handed, u will need to buy special scissors. If u are going to get training chopsticks, u need to get those meant for leftists. Leftist are not necc smarter la. And when writing, they may get their hands smudged in ink coz the words go from left to right. There's research that says leftists have a shorter life altho I dunno how true is that.

LIZ

Huh??? So 夸张???? Sponsoring maid to get driving licence is like unimaginable for me!!!

Actually MFC said that they will invite parents who're sending their kids to another kindy/enrichment 'for tea'. They will ask them to decide on which method they want n stick to it. Else the kid'll get confused, esp since montessori is so 'left wing' for want of a better word.

MASHY

Left-handers aren't smarter huh? Haha that's gd to know coz i think sam's a right-hander lol

talking abt lefties and righties..

my boy seems leftie by nature.. and we just let him be.. but in school the trchers teach him to write using rightie... so now is more rightie.. so times he still searches n uses his leftie when he couldn't get things done in rightie..

nature n nurture.. whatever.. best is in future, both hands oso can use kekekeek

I am a left hander and i'm not smart. Haha..

Only issues i face is with pens and writing. I cant write on whiteboards, chalk boards or ohp (unless its perm ink). By the time i am at the end of the sentence, the begining of the sentence will already be on the side of my hand. Haha..

As for scissors and all other things for right handers, i feel left handers learn to adap very well. In fact, if u give me a left hander scissors now, i will have difficulty using it.

I dont think left handers r necessarily smart but i think they can adapt very well cos we're living in a right handed
World..

I think as a left hander and trying to adjust to a world of right-handers will help them to learn adaptability. I know people who are born left-handers and end up be able to work with both hands. I understand from a piano teacher that left handers will have a easier time with learning piano.

Liz: haha.. I am one of those forced to work with both hands. In front of grandmother i am a right hander. When she isbt around i am a true blue left hander! Hahaha

Haha .. I din know there are special chopsticks & scissors for left-handers!
My mum is left-handed and she's never needed any stuff for left-handers. The only thing that needs some adjustment is when we are eating together. She'll ask to change seats if she knows the person sitting next to her left is a right-hander.

i didnt know there were chopsticks for left handers too!

Isnt it just two pairs of sticks? hee..

I know there are those pen grips for left handers, those to correct ur holding.. I also cannot use ah! so weird!

Back from my staycation! Enjoyed myself, and so did ovann
Oh ya, this ovann really buay gia see ... when we went to the pool, he almost jumped in himself without putting on any floating devices. Scared the hell out of me. And he din want to sit in his wave rider and tried to wriggle out when i hold him in water. Basically, he wanted to swim himself!! I'm thinking of buying those arm floats for him so that he can paddle in the water himself. Anyone has it? Is it suitable for toddlers? Is it er ... safe? Cos to me it seems 'buay zai'.

hey

a quick question

What medicine do you give a kid when he has a cold? called the PD clinic but they refuse to share the info - say must see the PD then can know. **which is silly**

pegsfur

Sounds like you had fun! Or rather, Ovann had fun & you had a fright lol

babymaking

Is it running nose or blocked nose? I usually give rhiniramine for blocked nose.

jul,
Haha .. ya fright & fun. Hubs even won some $$ when he tried his luck at the casino, so basically, the expenses for this staycation was all paid for!

babymaking,
Zac has no prior flu records with the PD? Maybe that's the case that's why they say must see the PD.

I've bought flu medication from 2 different PDs before and no prob ... though ovann has seen them before for colds.

running nose, i have Chlorpheniramine which was prescribed by KKH the last time Zach had a running nose - not sure if that's the one to give this time round.

babymaking

I take chlorpheniramine for runnung nose. For adults, it's a small, yellow tablet that causes drowsiness. Not sure abt for babies.. Dr EK Ong gives me rhiniramine.

pegsfur

Wah! Free vacation, not bad haha

Pegsfur,
wah shiok huh i am so lookin forward for a holiday lo duno when it will be zzZZzz.. hhm i bott a vest type but i tink they too small not stable in the vest wor... i saw 1 float for theis age put under their arm 1 tinkin of gettin tt...

pegsfur, Zac has been seeing that PD since birth, definitely have records. the person who picked up the call said just come down and see the PD. checked with her what was the previous med given, she mumbled something, ask her to spell it out, she mumbled it out. got her to repeat, she said, oh cannot, got to come down to see PD.

i was like ??

jul
rhiniramine is the same class of meds as chlorpheniramine, KKH gives chlorpheniramine in liquid form.

Actually i prefer pediatrics medicine from KKH cos they come in sealed bottles, the ones from the PD is often distilled into small plastic bottles by the staff at the clinic.

babymaking

I think she kiasi, don't dare to tell you lor

I checked wikipedia. Seems that rhiniramine is a derivatice of chlorpheniramine. They all seem to be anti-histamines.

babymaking

Oh just saw your post.

I actually prefer the small bottles from PDs. Cheaper! And I usually don't finish by 6 mths, so even with the big bottle, it's a waste.

But then, Sam's getting heavier, so he needs higher dosage. Guess the emds will run out faster now? haha

actually the ones from KKH is included in the price of the consult, so a visit to KKH is usually cheaper than a visit to the PD.

they prob will give meds with more active ingredients so that the dosage will remain the same or lower, otherwise it's a lot of liquid med to feed.

and zac refuse to be fed meds.

Sam hates meds too. I can add rhiniramine or terbutaline etc milder-tasting meds to his milk, but he can taste panadol & he'll refuse to drink his milk. If you spoon feed him the med, he will reject the spoon after that. If you pin him down, he'll struggle like slaughtering pig. Gek Sim!

lol slaughtering pig - it's the same with Zac for medicines, but then having said that, Zac now likes the white cod liver emulsion *which i hated as a child*, he even asks for another spoonful. *shakes head* - my weird boy.

babymaking

I haven't given Sam cod liver oil.

I hated the white one too! It makes me puke whenever my mum tried to give it to me. Even drinking water doesn't get rid of the taste. I complained abt it recently to my mum that we shd have had the orange version when I was kid. And she said SHE drank the orange one when SHE was a kid. And she had to cheek to shrug & say that she just chose to give me the white one coz she felt like it!!!! Faint

lol jul, that is just so funny.
i am glad zac likes the white one as i found the orange one too sweet - can't imagine the sugar content, and worse, wait zac developed a sweet tooth from taking it.

piggy,

U can go for a staycation like i did ... shorter, easier & cheaper too!
But of cos, now u going to pop, must wait awhile liao

Oh, the float u mentioned, is it arm floats?

babymaking: Can... chlorpheniramine is also anti histamine.. only concerns u might wanna consider is zac's body weight now compared to when he was prescribed this. Cos dosage is calculated based on body weight.. (but give lesser is safer than giev more..)

Jul: terbutaline makes shayna gag and vomit!! she will resist all meds (cos sweet.. she doesnt like sweet stuff) so i'll talk reason with her "If u dont drink, mummy will then have to force. u want pain pain or not?" and she'll stop struggling and open her mouth for it...

babymaking

I think my mum secretly hates me lol

babys

I envy you. There's no such thing as reasoning with Sam. he's like an animal!

Speaking of medicine, do u all give med when u suspect your kid is going to fall ill? Esp if u are sick and it seems that u are going to pass the bug to him/her. It's like cough a bit or sneeze, and u'll quickly feed med?

pegs, actually i dun feed him in advance... but MIL always ask me to find him to 压 the virus... personally i dun really like the idea...

tink my javier is weird loh.. he likes the med especially by spoon.. he always open more for the pink paracetomol.. faint.. he used to hate ventolin but now ok..

actually i like the med given by KKH also, sealed.. can keep till the expiry date.. PD's wan usually 6mths nia.. but weight is a problem too.. how many mls ur giving for ur kid for chlorpheniramine? i still have that at home.. the last round he was given oni 1.5mls coz is for his allergy not sure for runny nose.. he got a mild cold over the weekend, so no choice i gave chlormine which was leftover from the last time.. he's abt 13+kg..

wat is terbutaline?

babyja

Take note that once the bottle has been opened, you have to discard the med after 6 mths too. Pls don't keep it till expiry date.

If I rem correctly, Sam was taking 4ml for paracetamol, terbutaline etc. He was abt 12kg then. Now, I dunno liao. I dunno aabt the concentration in various different brands of meds though.

Terbutaline's for cough

jul
ya i know.. but coz sometimes the pd's med still got extra bottle but cannot keep so long also..

hmm.. during his last jab in feb, the pd say 6ml for paracetamol.. nv came across terbutaline.. the pd always give ventolin leh..

babyja

Hmm.. maybe terbutaline is the geenric name for ventolin? I thought ventolin is for asthma?

Wah 6ml! Javier is big hehe

Babymaking: i usually give the girls Zrytech from Pharmacy if they have slight flu/running nose... feed them according to the recommended dosage.

Pegsfur: feed them with Vit C! But for my #2, i just let her fall sick and build up her immunity...

Wahaha ... ovann just promoted to taking 2ml for his flu & paracetamo med. Dunno hv to wait till when then he'll be taking 6ml ..
He din gain any weight from last month .... still 10.3kg nia. So tiny.

jul,
Cos like wat janice's mil said, to suppress it b4 it starts full blown mah. Dunno if it works or not but a sick mummy will naturally gets paranoid whenever she hears a cough or sneeze (ha.. dat's me lah)

liz,
Ya, i've started giving him vit c since a few weeks ago and i hope these few weeks of consuming it will prevent him from getting the bug from me

finally i am back to work, after a 6 months break.
no internet access in the office yet so i have to use tethering...
hows everyone?
talking abt CC, finally manage to find a CC for Regan. going to enrol him by Aug when he turn 2!

pegsfur

Small has advantages. If like Sam, big & strong, you'll be very very tired & get a lot of injuries!

Last weekend, he stomped on my pelvis! I think he crushed it.. no more meimei or didi liao *faint*

regg

Hallo regg!

babyS
I have never used anything made specially for left-hander, quite waste $ to buy and use. actually i never had any problem using scissors, can-opener, fruit peeler etc.. those supposedly made for right-hander!
When I was teaching for a while, I did have some maker marks on my hand but somehow after a while no problem already!
I totally agree that we can adapt to the world for rights.

I only ask to change place with my hb if someone I dont know will be sitting at my left side like during wedding dinner. For my own family, we never had any chopstick "fighting" incident before. I guess we got used to each other.

One thing good about dating a left-hander is that can hold hands throughout a meal during phat tor times... kekeke!

Jul
hahaha! For a while I thought I read that Sam stomped on pe(n)is... then no meimei or didi!
oops! problem with speed reading... only read the front/back and didnt see the middle properly! :p

Hello Jul!

Kiki,
talking abt lefty, i use my right hand for chopstick and writing only, the rest all ony my left! i dont have any issue on knite, scissor etc except those fruit peeler cos for lefty u have to peel toward urself which i find it abit difficult for me...so for this item i have to get those for lefty and another issue is golf. it is really not easy to play/find/get lefty club so i have to train to play with right swing

But as a lefty i always perfer to have someone sit/walk on my left instead of right side, anyone share this? or only me? hahaha

Jul: My girls are very violent too! They on average crushed my nose every other day...

Kiki: hahahhaha... u very funny leh... speed reading! hahaha

Left handers: i think its admirable the efforts left handers put in to adjust to the world of right handers... I tried to use my left hand at times for fun but failed so badly! haha

Living Sanctuary:
I just submitted my registration for #2 and i understand that alot of 1st time reg parents have already submitted even though they havent started accepting! I told her i have friends who are keen to send their kids and she said to ask them to call and arrange appointment to see the place and submit interest...