(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

piggy
i saw this kind of setup before.. when the younger kid is put in a bigger class.. actually the teachers will pay more attention to the "baby' of the class

jul:: cos i cant keep still de!!! then i owas wana know wat's going on in the treatment room mah... like wat sort of cream or 'weapons' they use on me.. etc etc.. so i try to peep, n der-neh-neh... scream went in lor.

Cloudme,
ok ok maybe today i go down to take a look at the environment cos it those landed property tt day check out 1 also landed 1 but the environment i dun like keke... thanks ya...

Jul,
the 1 in my packagethey use a machine with a tube wher the tips is attached with a diamond ring n it will suck the dirts n remove the dead skin of our face so after each session ur face will look v bright haha...

fatbobo,
this is the 1:
http://www.eurekaschoolhouse.com/
they charging $880 be4 sub so it like $100+ cheaper than LV n the curriculum looks gd.. our house ther totally have no vacancy i called alot liao gave up so find this 1 in clementi lo so mus rely on my IL if HB work late they will sent him home lo... ya i also worried he will be bullied anot tt it cos the 1st CC i put him i see the morning time they combine all age group the older kid will push push n the teacher not enough to control i dun like...

bobo

Btw I used to not be able to keep still too. Keep fidgeting & I even get a bit of claustrophobia when they put the mask over my eyes!

But now I'm so tired all the time that I usually fall asleep haha

piggy

Oh so they use the dimond to 'scrape' off the blackheads, whiteheads, dead skin etc.. & the tube sucks it up? Ok ok, I sort of get it. Thanks!

Pre-school Fees

Can I just poll on what would be the max that you will spend on your child for pre-school (either kindy or CC set-up)? Including the school fees, miscellaneous fees, materials fee etc, not including school bus?

Cloudme,
ya my package is gd tt y i sign up on the spot after some bargain haha.. cos i usu quite firm 1 seldom sign package summore i tried so many spa group be4 i know the mask they use r cheap 1 so after trial i know the std of their product den i sign 1...

smurfy,
oh gd to hear tt.. ok shall go n see if ok will jus put him ther

Jul,
yup yup sumthing like tt..
hmm for sch hor nowaday it not how much u can pay but if u can find 1 sigh initially i only willing to pay below $500 after sub but now no choice mus up my budget...

piggy:: eureka..izit by the AYE de? i owas see it when i drive past... yr IL can pick him up.. so actually location is afterall not very very crucial i guess. :)

jul, diamond peel is some kind of suction machine that sucks up dead skin cells, to encourage renewal of new cells. Re pre-school fees: If you asked me about 5 yrs back, I will say 1k is ok, but now with 3 kids, think max is 600-700 each...

smurfy

It's not recommended to have enrichment outside coz the child may get confused with 2 different methods of study. The sch will actually talk to the parents & ask them to choose one method of education or it becomes a negative impact on their development to have 2 methods.

I'll prob just put him in extended day Montessori or Chinese class in MFC when he gets older. Which means more $$$

piggy

Assuming you can get vacancy

mich

Now Hubs is very willing to spend. But I do think abt having No 2. I prob won't have No 3, bcoz I CMI liao. Really too much work & not enough $$, altho I would like to have 3.

fatbobo,
yes tt the 1...
no leh but i also mus consider accessible anot cos the IBP 1 if no car really v troublesome esp 1st few days if i acc him at the CC after sch i alone n no transport v headache at least this 1 gt bus stop in front n v near my IL cos when i on leave i would like to pick him up myself mah

smurfy,
ya i agree jus scare the bullyin part la keke...

jul:: max that i will be willing to spend arh? i duno! for my case, 2 children... fees itself we're paying $1.4k/mth, im stil not very clear of wat other material fees or watnot that will cm along the way. but i guess if looking at that, if i had 1 child, i think $2k max!?!

Jul,
vacancy???
ya tt CC have vacancy i called to check liao jus tt now only 1 kid of his age group so would like to get some feedback from the mummies here..
actually if i only gt 1 kid i can afford a higher fee but now #2 comin v shiong leh..

piggy/jul, yes, with 1 kid can afford the best, but with 2 really got to rethink and cut back. Even for enrichment classes, for a while, I only send the oldest cos its to help her prepare for P1. Only recently, I signed up #2 for a phonics class since its during CC time and its subsidized. If 1 kid has 3 enrichment classes, then 3 kids will have 9!! Where got so much time to drive them around, plus that will cost a bomb.

mich
muahhhhh tat's why enrichment onli starts at 4. and yah.. it's oso more abt "sending them around". super sianz right, if wkends all spent on driving them ard in sg.. and waiting for their lessons end.

I think its ok to combined... anyway the teacher will usually pay more attention to the younger kind anyway... I prefer to have a group in class cos peer pressure usually help the child to adapt or learn things faster...

Re: facial

Think i need to start going for facials... been too lazy with myself and with the big 3 coming, i realised i have aged... hahaha... But i am the lazy type, trying to find good deals within my area... hehe
Any facials recommendation around Hougang/Serangoon/AMK?

i want to send my ah boy for so many things.. but there's a limitation of cash n time
art - doing now (stick to me instead of gluing on the stuffs)
piano - hates it
berries/tien xia reseraching
english - icr most probably in mid of this yr

mich

Exactly! So although I really like MFC, but I keep thinking of the money issue
The good thing abt MFC is that there would be no need to send Sam for Phonics or Math coz Montessori is famed for these. Maybe I only need to worry abt Chinese. Hiaz time to dust off my old Chinese dictionary haha

Actually I don't believe in enrichment either. Unless my kid really CMI, then I bobian will send him there. let's hope Sam's an average kid so that we can spend weekends playing & bonding rather than forcing him for enrichment!

liz

Stop complaining abt aging when u have so many kids & I have 1 & I am in my early 30s hahaha

Jul,
oh icic... paiseh...

Mich,
ya i agree cos workin mums only free on wkend n if sent them to enrichment would mean lesser bondin time etc...

so if possible i hope when my boy go kindy i can no need to work n let him attend 2-3hr kindy n 1-2 time enrichment class durin wkday so we have more time on wkend for bonding.. keke..

piggy

No paiseh lah, I didn't make myself clear

smurf

Don't say kiasu or not. If you feel that it benefits your boy, go for it if you can afford the time & money.

But I musts ay that in Spore, even though I may start out as not wanting to be KS, I'll get influenced to a certain extent. let's hope I stay strong & that Sam can make it hahaha

Jul,
for my case it my HB wor.. cos now my boi no CC n jus finished his last lesson at GUG he ask me wan sign him for other lesson anot wor.. hahah ..

smurfy

Yeah I will get influenced, no doubt. Just pray that I will stay strong hahaha

piggy

Haha so r u gog to sign up?

Jul,
hmm if i wan i will try zoophonics la cos gt 1 near my house but now no time cos i goin to pop soon if sign now my HB will have to bring my boi ther himself.. but if i confirm the CC den i wun sent him to any enrichment class at the moment...

I used to spend like 1.5k amonth for my #1... now reduced to less than $350 a month... i really hates the feeling of driving them everywhere for lessons on weekends cos it the only days where we can spend time together...

So now what i do is i do spend quite a bit on books for her... she has got her own library and new books are added once bimonthly... good as she likes to read again and again and repetition can help memory retention...

I am glad with my choice to switch her from cc to kindy as i realised her relationship with her younger sis has improved soooooooooo much... sometimes i caught her reading to her sis or cuddling together and it warms me up...

bobo,
btw tt time i got check out this Little wonder montessori leh the environment is quite ok n near the Jln bahar sheng siong but no car cannot fetch la so i din sign tt 1 n abit far for my IL to drive up n down they got vacancy as per my last check be4 sub it $900 so u can consider tt as 2nd alt if LV too ex or not convenience

http://www.littlewonders-montessori.com/

Liz,
hahah my HB also bott a few books lately cos he say he not goin to sch so let him read n heng he like books so ok keke... hope i can switch him from CC to kindy when i can afford not to work!! heheh..

i quited my job last march as #1 has been complaining about me traveling and working late. and she got really unhappy and grouchy during then... so hubby and i had a discussion and i decided to quit and stay home for my girls...

The switch was actually later part as i was really upset with the management at kinderland for making major decision without consulting or informing parents. Imagine they merge two schools into one! The toa payoh branch was closed and they brought the students into the kovan branch. from a class of 13 into a class of more than 20. So decided to make the switch as i also can get more time with #1... School is MUCH cheaper, she can learn things with me and yet have free time to do what she likes...

piggy: its really good to start them young on books... my #1 used to tear up books... now she reads like everyday or rather, flipping the books... haha... but she loves it... so recently she is even requesting to do assessments and etc. BEST PART is... #2 is mimicking her and also starting to sit down at the corner and flipping her books...

liz
u r great! to stop working for ur #1. i can never do that. i need my sanity and cash. but u got a maid to help out now? kinderland charges so much? hey, ur #1 how old? can really "read" the words or books by herself?" i am so stressed abt my #1's progess in english.

piggy:: but..the little wonder n LV oni $100 difference rite? i dun like montessori.. (haha..oppt of jul...) n ya, i tink LV is still more convenient. i already tot abt it..if my hb is travelling..i wld prolly pack at the park-n-ride carpark at clementi n mrt dwn to work. if say he needs to go entertainment in the evng, he wld prolly park the car in town for me to pick up aft work.. else if not, i will taxi frm clementi, pick them n taxi hm.

but anyways.. thnx..

Liz,
icic if i decided to stop workin will definitely withdraw #1 from CC to cut cost

ya i thot he so young will tear the pages etc but to my surprise he like wor will flip to find his fave animal n read me the animal he saw keke.. hope he will influence my #2

smurfy: She can read those simpler books... i bought different levels for her... simple ones for her to read herself... Difficult ones for us to read for her and to introduce new vocab to her..

I never thought i can manage to stay at home and be sane. Lucky for my maid... if not i think i would have gone mad. At least i can steal some time for myself on and off and not worried about the kids... My #1 is coming 6 and next year P1... Yours?

Smurfy,
Are you in education line so u place more emphasis?

Liz,
Movie sounds great but weekday

I am also thinking just few hrs school but if got #2 it's v shiong for my mum to have 2 at home?

Re: books
Since bout 8-9mths we expose Ryan to books
He just flip n tears them out
So I bought v cheap ones fr dang dang n let him play n tear...haha..plus alot of hand me down books
Surprisingly at times, he will pick a book n wants us to read
But he hardly sits thru the whole story...just want see pics

sharon
i am in the "want to be kiasu, but lazy, so outsource" line.

liz
to add onz, i think my boy's school is wonderful, so i am sticking him in there till K2 and will be putting my #2 there as well. and for that, i will have to continue to work coz i am not able to coach him the way u are doing, better off he in school and me at work, and meeting together at nite for quality time.

Liz,
I got a box of small books which my frend say kinderland uses? Black n white ones
She got it cheap like $0.20 each so got a box for Ryan
Is it good? Haven't take out yet

smurfy

Hahaha I LIKE your "want to be kiasu, but lazy, so outsource"

I also need to work for the money & to get away from Sam for a while. I've been toying with the idea of staying home with him for a while exp if No2 comes along then can take no pay leave again hahaha

Smurfy: 4 is still young and have time to learn. I think school environment is VERY important as they pick up loads from the peers as well... I actually prefer to work but minus the OTs and Travelling which is quite hard for my line of work then. Hubby used to travel alot too... so hence my decision to quit. Quality family bonding time is important...

Sharon: i dont know which books are thosee... got pic? Very cheap leh... But kids these age have short attention span so its pretty normal. Just read those few words a page books to them lor... I am rather lazy these days too... so my #1 is helping with that... haha