(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

how's everyone? i m 'dying'.

managed to sprain my left wrist - not sure if it's tue or mon? but it hurts more everyday. can't even pinch anything now. worse, sam wants to be carried. or when i'm trying to burp him, he'll jump n wriggle ard n my wrist hurts more from trying to restrain him. even diaper changing is a pain. i'll be trying to hold his legs n he'll be doing butt squeeze exercises or will jerk his legs away. ouch!

Hahah .. jul, Ovann does the butt squeeze exercise oso!

I was abt to sms u ... cos din 'see' u here for quite some time. Did u go see any sinseh for your wrist?

Anyone knows the author for the book 'First Foods' as recommended by alot of mummies here? It's impossible to borrow from library so was thinking of buying it instead. Any other books recommended to read for baby food recipe?

phy> is de pediped shoes based in us or sg? de price quite high wor if usd, cos baby outgrow the shoes very fast

donkeymami> i juz check. it's de same person. her bp juz closed but her url is: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3736733.html?1268746380

mashy> lol. for a moment i tot us too. hehe =p

pretty ex leh uss tix, den our little devil dunno anything yet. was thinking of bringing him to hkk disneyland, but colleague reminded me tat it's a waste of money -_-

gin> i got the income plan for hospitalisation for my boy. bought the best plan so he can go mt a instead of kkh =p

babiesmeme/april> wat's good to buy at metro?

jul> keke. i'm good. got 2days mc cos running a high fever. juz woke up from a good sleep from 10am till 140pm. =p feel so good now. hoho

thanks for the help on constipation peeps!

i fed trisha avocado and sweet potato today. Apparently..she ALWAYS poops after having avocado. Ive tried the apple,pear,peach,prune. Doesnt help. How ironic.. avocado

Pediped,
If Metro having sale like what babiesmeme mentioned, would it be cheaper to buy from there? I recall seeing it but hestited as baby cant walk now. So no point buying now.

Karihome milk
On offer at NTUC $39.90 for 2 tins. They mentioned it's step 2.

babymaking~alot of times is bb tryign to express themselves n we dunno wat they wan....so dun lose ur cool first.

me no good temper person but i hv to tahan....reasoning....hehehhe think over3 then fully understand...trying to reason is just tryign our luck.....they dun really care n know wats right n wrong.of cos early coaching is needed but dun be too harsh.

I called leapfrog just now. The free trial for this weekend is full. I've left my contact with them, they will call me next week to arrange. Let you all know soon.

pegsfur~u can borrow that book from library as well as the anna karmel ones.

jul~think u may hv "mammy hand"....try nt to carry bb too much.....hv to see sinseh....if worst then hv to go surgery.

michelle~u will need a pairs of those alike shoes....though they utgrown easily but for starters.....thats a hv to unless u hv other options of shoes....too hard its not good n painful for them too.

Joia~tks for the milk info

walker shoes.....they hv to walk one day....n its a must hv anyway.its surely cheaper if BP or online purchase

Just read this on the net.
How can we protect our little ones?

-----------------------------------------------
THE number of children who came down with hand, foot and mouth disease (HFMD) crossed epidemic levels in the first two weeks of March.

And going by past trends, the cases look likely to go up. In the first week of this month, 517 children came down with the normally mild childhood disease that usually causes fever and rashes.

The number rose to 559 the following week, with cases crossing the warning level of 500 in both weeks. The cases fell slightly to 496 at the end of last week.

During the first 11 weeks of this year, 4,269 HFMD cases were reported, a rise of about 15 per cent from the 3,705 cases during the same period a year ago.

Associate Professor Chong Chia Yin, who heads the Infectious Diseases Service at the KK Women's and Children's Hospital, said it saw a total of 438 HFMD cases as of mid-March, but there were no serious cases.

HFMD is transmitted by coming into direct contact with the infected person through saliva, nasal discharge, feces and fluid from the rash of an infected person.

pegsfur,
the author of book "first food" is Anna Jacob.

Baby's Day out Event

NTUC members: $10 per person / $15 per couple
Non-members: $15 per person / $20 per couple

Get a Baby Bag filled with goodies worth more than $100 with every registration!

Entry requirements - have a baby that's 12 months or below 12mths old

Event details
Date: 17 April 2010
Time: 2pm – 5pm
Venue: The Little Skool-House At Tampines-Junction

It's Baby’s Day Out! Look forward to talks by a pediatrician and a child development expert.

What’s more, develop your baby’s cognitive ability and motor-skills through our hands-on activities at the gathering!

Highlights:
Talk: ‘A Strong and Healthy Child’
by Dr Ang Ai Tin, Consultant Paediatrician and Neonatologist, Thomson Medical Centre
Talk: ‘Importance of relationships to infant and toddler development’ by Dr Melinda Eng, Senior advisor, Curriculum, NTUC First Campus
*Baby crawling contest
*Photography sessions for babies and families
*Learning & Developmental Toys Corner
*Exercise with Baby
*Chopsticks Oriental Healing Massages (for daddy and mummy)
*Craft Activities (for baby’s older siblings)

Those keen to go, pls leave down your name, and email address (i will email you the information required for registration)
1) babymaking
2) mystifiedjan - [email protected]
3) [email protected]
4) gin oh [email protected]
5) sandy dee- [email protected]
6) eboey - [email protected]
7) piggytoh - [email protected]
8) Shirley - [email protected]
9) jul - [email protected]
10)

ONE MORE pax and then i will email out the tamplate for you gals to fill in.

my bb finally knows how to sit unsupported.
mummies, do you realise that you bb starts to aware what is happening around them?

it has been 2 days that my bb cried when i left her at nanny's place. she cried the moment i waved and said 'goodbye' to her.
ah... my heart starts to feel so bad when i have to leave her there with nanny. i can hear her cry very loudly from my house.
i stay at level 9 and she is at level 10. :'( mummy also want to cry. hahaha!!

i think it is so important that we really need to discipline our bb at this stage now ...

Oh btw, may i ask. how do we choose avacado? i went to shengshiong and the skins are so hard. i pressed pressed (haha, bad consumer) the avacodo are not soft.

Sweetmama
if those that the outside hard skin is dark green and when you press the inside is a bit soft.. can eat already. If a bit hard then can wait a few days more...

P.S
I also like to press when choosing... :p

My gal hates avacado...so now i just give her porridge...so far tried pumpkin, carrot, sweet potato, potato, & brocolli..wat else i can try ah?

pegsfur,
Anna Jacob more to asian, in the end i buy on last Friday, i fed up during work hours, went to shop at the MPH along robinson rd, 10% discount if u hv safra card, passion card, OCBC baby bonus card.

Sweetmama-yes of cos appropriate discipline is necc but telling from. Experience things sometimes dun turn out as wat u wan
so be cool

Thanks mashy & piggy.

I will try cauliflower & peas...so far i oli give her fish, pork oli for the taste nv give her the meat.

kiki

i steam or put in boiling water. i use the multi chopper now rather than blender now so that it's a bit coarser. When she was younger, i use the blender.

pegsfur,
price of book tink S$20 plus after disct..

kikilala,
i saw tis on aug bubs on facebook, m quite tempt to try too. collection at which part of tampines?

Very busy at work but need to pop in here to relax.

Pumpkin. Must try Australia Pumpkin, it's sweeter. My girl loves it.

Rock Melon and Peach also very nice. My girl also love them.

Avocado. Hmmm... I always patronize the same fruit store at chinatown, the man will pick all the nice fruits for baby and for my family. So if that week, avocado is good, he will pick a few for me. I'll ask him how to choose avocado on coming Sat.

Sweetmama, my girl also same. When I enter the house, she will stare at me smiling. I will always walk to the bathroom to wash my hands first and before I finish washing, she will start whining. When I pick her up, she will laugh but when I put her back to her Ah Ma or the helper, she will whine again. I guess very soon my baby will cry too when I leave the house. Sigh, so heartbreaking... dont feel like going to work...

i guess its the time when our babies develop separation anxiety? I read its ard 7, 8mths..
i tink there is a thin line between pampering n spoiling? Actually im quite lost..my boy also starts to throw tantrum, cry n whine to be carried..some ppl say cannot give in will spoil the baby but yet i can't bear see him cry? Hmmm..wat to do?

BB/Sweetmama,
my boi also same when he saw me he will luff n smile when i walk away he will make sound but when i leave him with my IL n i go to work i say bye bye to him he smile instead of lookin sad wor
i tink he enjoy his stay at my IL house haha at least i know he is in gd care:p

I ever bought indonesia avocado and it is so different from the australia avocado. the indo one is fatter. hahah and fleshy.

BB alva,
Like weishy said, be cool.. and also be firm. just say 'mama is going to work and will pick u up tonight. bye bye' and quickly walk away.

But having said that, my heart melts and i'll carry her and sayang her awhile... then this morning, the nanny's maid have to carry her to a room and hide...

haiz haiz.... i also miss her........>.<

pegsfur,
i reserve using e nlb..u can transfer to ur nearest lib..u pay ard $1plus..they will inform u to go pick up at e lib u wan
btw its first foods by anna jacob..abit ex to buy i feel

piggytoh,

lucky u! but i don like my MIL. Luckily she is in oversea.... i rather put her w nanny than mil. bad me :p

any mummy here leave her bb with nanny?

my gal also has separation anxiety.

it's a normal process. My boy didn't have any separation anxiety with me leh. Last time he never cry for me. sianz... Anyone can carry him then. He only started separation anxiety at 2yrs old and not to me. Only to daddy. I'm nobody to him.

This time round my gal is much more sticky to me. So altho it's tough, at least i feel loved. :p

piggy, when i leave my gal at in-law place she also nv cry..but if i go fetch her if i go in the house but nv carry her on the spot she will cry haha..i thk she know morning she will stay there &amp; evening it's the time to go home.

piggytoh,

lucky u! but i don like my MIL. Luckily she is in oversea.... i rather put her w nanny than mil. bad me :p

any mummy here leave her bb with nanny?

btw i realise that most of the baby food book introduce olive oil as part of the recipe. i wonder if oil can be used at this stage? anyone use it?

Also, why do need to steam apple, pear?? is there a different eating fresh and steam or boil fruit?

Separation anxiety: before i go to work in Jan I put my bb in last Dec for half a day to try out at nanny house and stay there for an hour before I go home or go out he is ok. But when Jan I send him there at 7 plus in early morning he will cry and cry for two weeks I very heart pain but I force myself to move on. After two weeks, he is ok. I told him daddy and mummy goes work and will fetch him home in the evening, then gradually he is ok. Now he sees my nanny he will smile at her. he will still feel something but never cry anymore. Evening time he saw us he was happy. Think he get used to it now. Think we have to make the first move and explain to them, somehow i guess they understand.

sophia> my boy poos no matter wat he eat. i've given him papaya, sweet potato. o. but he doesn't when i give him banana =p

donkeymami> okie. =p can try papaya. wonder if papaya is suitable for baby. but my boy likes papaya more den sweet potato. maybe i shuld tried pumpkin nxt? ur baby like sweet potato or pumpkin more?

sweetmama> ripe avocado is dark brown in color. choose those. they are usually soft inside

mashy> u buy the frozen corn kind isit? yummy i love corn. wonder if my boy will like it too =p

Separation anxiety-mine too...Hayley dun hv this problem till after 2 :p. But now we tell her we go out or work etc she will undestand.

Best part I when I call her from outside...she will tell my helper " mommy at the door" heheheh she still dunno how to use e phone as in really use it heheheh.

Lucas ma....he blur blur one le...nil from him now too.but can't leave him watching tv etc too long cos he will make noise or cry

pegsfur

that's not the most irritating. sam likes to squeeze his legs together n i can't clean his groin! i have to fight with him n force his legs open a few times each diaper change. darned irritating!

nope, i put some miracle shen long medicated oil that mil swears by tdy. seems to be a bit better. or maybe coz i din bathe sam. anyway tonite i'll apply again.

michelle

u got high fever still can say 'good'???

weishy

i think i kena mummy hand too. sian lor. now sam more active n i kena this. he's pulling himself up to stand liao.

Michelle-the corn bestbis blend till can't see the skin if nt difficult to digest I find .

Guess boys bowel system abit better.