(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegsfur, irene, pris
thanks for sharing your schedule. do you stick to that schedule, as in wake bb if he's sleeping, feed when he's not hungry but becasue it's time etc? or follow baby-led timing?

Gin - will try out your recipe for the puree.

I am 1.59cm. Bjorn really cannot make it.

Btw, our next gathering is on 3 Apr (Hi-tea). Can you make it?

liz,
Yup, i'm a SAHM
Meetups! Can jio Jul oso cos she's at sengkang. And Bear too if she can make it .. but think she quite hard .. hahaa ... judging from her schedule she posted just now

babymaking,
I try to stick to the timing so that he follows a routine and easier to plan/gauge if i need to go out or have something on. But i will also give and take up to an hour. Cos sometimes Ovann wake up late, so the timing for the rest of the day will be late liao. Or sometimes he poo right after a meal, tummy empty liao so i'll have to feed him earlier for his next feed.

sharon/joia, millet is a very small yellow grain. If you cook it well and soft, dun even need to blend. But I still blend cos Isaac will choke on it. Think he still cannot get adjusted to those bits still. Can buy from NTUC organic section.

About Millet: Millet is highly nutritious, non-glutinous and like buckwheat and quinoa, is not an acid forming food so is soothing and easy to digest. In fact, it is considered to be one of the least allergenic and most digestible grains available and it is a warming grain so will help to heat the body in cold or rainy seasons and climates.

Millet is tasty, with a mildly sweet, nut-like flavor and contains a myriad of beneficial nutrients. It is nearly 15% protein, contains high amounts of fiber, B-complex vitamins including niacin, thiamin, and riboflavin, the essential amino acid methionine, lecithin, and some vitamin E. It is particularly high in the minerals iron, magnesium, phosphorous, and potassium.

weishy, during my SAHM days, also feel like I'm trapped at home, really not easy. After 6 months, I was ready to tear my hair running after 2 kids, so I finally went back to work.

babymaking, here was my routine when I was a SAHM with #1.

7am baby wakes up, feed milk
8am feed baby breakfast (cereal with fruits)
9am baby bath time
9.30am baby nap time, rush ard to prepare baby's lunch
11am baby wakes up
11.30am feed baby lunch of porridge
12 noon, heat up my own lunch from last nite's leftovers/buy lunch
2.30pm baby nap time, rush ard to prepare baby's dinner and ingredients to do some cooking for hb's dinner
4pm baby wakes up
5pm baby eats porridge dinner
5.30pm try to get baby to self entertain while I cook hb and my dinner
7pm baby drinks milk and goes to sleep. Peace at last!!
10.30pm dreamfeed, eventually no need the dreamfeed when she turned 8 months old.

Housework was done when baby naps or at nights. Or I will let her self entertain if possible (most of the time not possible)

Pegsfur, I use the tingkat for dinner. If my hb didn’t come back for dinner that nite then I will keep it for lunch the next day. Lunch I will go out and tabao. Sometimes go NTUC do marketing so just tabao back.
If I wait for my hb to tabao dinner back, I think my son would have to go to bed without dinner and I would have fainted already.

Can la...I can meetup on weekdays. I will just do the necessary housework and leave the rest for tomorrow.

Felicia, yes…I start to prepare dinner very early. I can only do housework/cook when my girl is sleeping so sometimes its 12pm or even 1pm I start to prepare already and I have to heat up again later when we eat.
I cook when there’s only one kid around as the elder one still in cc. But the elder one is already coming to 3yrs old so he has no problem playing on his own while I do housework.

When I was a sahm with my no.1, I will ‘F’ anybody who ask if I will be going for no.2. That time with no.1, I still have a PT cleaner who comes in once a week but I already feel so miserable to be stucked with baby all the time. But when I see no.1 playing alone when he was older, I feel that I should give him a companion.
Its not easy to cope but with 2 kids but they can have someone to discuss with should anything happen to us next time.

Liz, I am in Punggol too and I am ok with weekday meetup.

Mich, hahaha…I am lucky my neighbour didn’t report me to the police as my girl will always be crying and screaming should I need to do housework with her awake. I just let her scream and cry…boh bian, I need to get things done as no one else will do it.

bbmaking, my schedule is controlled by baby but its roughly about there.

irene, now that I have to handle 2 or more kids, I really miss those days when I only had 1 kid. Today, my hb and I were on leave, and the 2 of us only had to look after Isaac as the older 2 were in CC. It was really enjoyable and peaceful and we even managed to go out shopping and lunch , told my hb it reminded me of those days when we only had Serene

Ya man, some weekends I'm home alone with Isaac when everyone else is out. And I'll just let him yell if I have to wash dishes or cook his lunch. I even take out all the tupperware to let him play cos he will refuse to play with his own toys!

Mich, hahaha...I let Jayla suck/lick almost everything as long as she can keep quiet and let me finish up whatever I need to do.

My boy is so super-glued to me now! After our 5D trip (where most of our time is in hotel room), he suddenly just reject bottle and he just refused to sit in his jumperoo or walker anymore. If he dont see me, he will scream / cry...

On the way back last night, the flight was so full~ no empty seat for my boy and I got to hold him throughout! He basically fuss/cry/scream throughout the 5hr. Siong!

bear,

Its true on the part abt having more kids where they have someone to talk to/discuss when something happens. Like just recently, me and my other siblings were discussing abt a loan my mum took up using our insurance a few yrs back. So everyone chip in to help repay the loan. I remembered my hub always emphasized on the fact that he was lonely when he was a kid and that he din have anyone to turn to when he had problems. So after this incident, i feel encouraged enough to try for a 2nd one.

But every nite when i lay on the bed with a tiring and aching back, i just chickened out and think i shld just have ovann. It's such a dilemma.

pegsfur: I totally agree... it was some similar incident that happen to my hubz that dawned on me that i should have at least 2 kids. Now with the second one being so well-behaved and cute, i have thinking if i should have another... think i am kind of mad... :p

BTW, sounds like pegsfur, irene (bear), gin oh, smurfy, jul are in sengkang/hougang/punggol... do u girls have msn? maybe can add me [email protected] easier to arrange meetups... :p

i also miss those day when i only have #1. so much freedom but the reason i wanted to have #2 is the same as some mommies here. she is too lonely when she is playing alone & most imptly, anything happen to us...they can share the burden. i think it's really too tough for them to bear the burden alone.

daph,
dun think it's a prob. personally, i prefer late teething. claira is having her 3rd & 4th teeth popping. i think it's too early.

DAph~same here !!!! lucas too...we tot few weeks ago he was teething n his gums were actually swollen but havent even see any curs....
anyway the later it is the better

michelle,
i dun wanna puree cos too troublesome when come to washing...

can freeze...good...
cos i got a couple of ripe avocado now...and simply can't finish all those in a night...

michelle~its perfectly normal
just get urself n things prepared
bring some toys for him n prepare water for take off n landing.
diff babies react differently esp in "mo shen" places

cloudme~ya can just mash it up

Michelle
On the flight there, we got one whole roll of seats to ourselves and he totally enjoy it. Can stretch and he also can sit on the empty seat to play.

Return flight is a nightmare! no emtpy seats at all and I have to hold him thru-out! Plus its bed-time also... super cranky!

I think the timing of the flight is impt. There's so many to hk, can choose one that's suitable.

morning ladies..

Daph,
my boi haven got any tooth yet also. but like weishy i prefer later la hahah quite like his bo gay smile:p

Cloudme,
puree for me easy wor jus smash only mah less cleanin also i dun even use blender lor...

piggy,

^hi 5
me also dun use blender to do puree...

for those ripe avocados...i remove the skin, half it and remove the seed and put into the freezer...

me thinking if wanna eat, just take 1 half and let it share btwn #1 and #2...
so no waste...

mommies ordered from drugstore before.

can i check... when i register 'billing address' we key in our singapore home address right. under state, what did you key in? i left blank cos it's all usa state but it was rejected when i submit. and ZIP i put our postal code. correct?

anyone can enlighten me? thanks in adv.

thanks mich for sharing your schedule too.

irene
i think i will be like you, leave bb to entertain himself or cry to *whatever" just so that i get my things done.

Looking at all the schedules *scare* me. where am i going to slot the time for my studies, projects, part time work, housework and playgroup?

haha, looks like i will be more busy and cranky staying at home.

plsu a lot of the tasks are new or out of practice - e.g. cooking for bb and hubby (been ages since i really cook), cooking healthy food for baby...like what is millet and quionoa, never heard of all these stuff. brown rice is already very exotic to me :p

it looks like a steep learning curve ..and a interesting journey ahead.

cLOUDME,
hahah usu wat i did is i will skin the avocado n feed straight i dun freeze etc... jus half the avocado n split into 2 meal... :p freeze is more tedious for still mus defroze etc lol~

Hi mummies, any comments:
I am torn between getting
a food processor or a normal blender or a handheld blender to make puree
a grinder to grind brown rice and normal grains
Help!!!

piggy,
usually i do that but hor i got a few more extra ripe ones that bb can't finish... so off they go into the freezer lor... lol

babymaking, its slightly challenging to be studying at the same time while looking after the baby. But I managed to do so somehow. I was doing a overseas correspondence course those few years. So I would try to study about one hour a day as well. Later on, I had someone to help clean the house once a week and that made life much better. So you can consider a p/t cleaner. There were some days I asked my MIL for help, about once a week for 3 hours so I can do groceries.

babiesmeme
I got a bullet type of blender, it's quite useful as it can process very small amount. (it very important as our baby dont take much, freeze also quite troublesome). Next time can also use to make smoothies. I only used it a few times though cos now I let my boy eat slightly chanky food.

babiesmere, like Kikilala, I got the bullet blender that can even grind brown rice, do smoothies and also use as a juice extractor.

See the photo,

3762004.jpg

MELim, I cut into strip and my boy sits in his highchair to self-feed. I have tried white bread, wholemeal and multigrains and he takes them daily when the whole family have breakfast.

kikilala, you can try scrapbook. I use that to create some scrapbook for Kai.

Kiki, my girl is also like that. I cannot walk away from her at all. She will scream and cry till I am back!
Pegsfur, I got phobia about having kids till Joshua was about 1yr old. So its normal that you are afraid of having another now. I have to agree that just one is a lot more manageble especially when they are about 2yrs old.
Daph/Weishy, yes…!!! The later the better when it comes to teething. I was hoping my girl can teeth as late as her bro which is 10mths old but hers slightly earlier.
Bbmaking, I suggest you get PT cleaner la since you need to do PT studies. And, order tingkat lor…cooking takes up a lot of time!!!

Mashy-bassinet is available if seated at the bulkhead or where the table for it is .in case too many Babies or chk in late...didn't request when buying tics then may nt be available looo.

Pris-thinking of gettig the U right blender.how much is ur set?bought in sin?tot u mentioned before is aus right

About teething, Ray has been showing signs of teething for quite a while but no tooth emerge yet. Anyway, like many I also hope his teeth come out later. Easier for maintenance.

Pegsfur, take your time when Ovann is one or 2, you might want another. I am thinking of #3, coz I want to utilize the room back home so mil cannot chop it as hers.