(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

weishy, any recommendation for nice dining place in HK? i mean nice but not too expensive one la heehee...I will stay in Novotel Nathan for my Apr trip to HK any nice dimsum ard tat area?

For dinner usually wat can we have ah? eat in restaurant expensive?

pegsfur,

Dun be disheartened. Actually, if u are just starting porrdige for him, keep it simple then slowly add stuff. For little M, her first porridge was just white rice cooked in pork stock.

Slowly slowly, I added carrots, potato, sweet potato, spinach, threadfin, cod fish. Mix and match. Take it slow, yeh? Jia You!

EL nino~actually those chk in staffs dunno anything about wat inflight can offer......which airline u taking?

for cx....once infant tixs booked then a seperate set of infant food will be loaded for them ( food 2 bottles/1 dessert/1 juice ) n if longer flt then 2 sets.comes with a mustela baby pack ( mash bag/diaper/diaper cream/face cream/diaposable bag)

mayeb when u chk in online can tick somewher for it just like requesting for special meals

cx do keep 2 bottles at least but hor.......soemtimes alot of bbs on board!!!!!!! those parents sometimes can dont even bring milk!!!!! bb / children drink fresh milk from plane....n how big can the plane be.......we dun perposely load alot of packs of fresh milk also...standard for us is 1 pack........really limited

Donkeymami,
I like tt location novotel use to be majesty how much u pay per nite?
Round the corner got 1 restaurant call Li Xiang got nice n cheap dim sum .. Hk got lots of food wor can eat at cha chan teng oh dun forget roast goose maybe WEISHY can recommend more

piggy, novotel nathan is the former majesty hotel ah..i didn't know haha...i booked thru asiarooms much cheaper ard $160+ for superior room per night. but cannot cancel one la.

Ok ok, will look for the restaurant u mentioned. thanks..ya i luv cha chan teng but some really small & crowded bring bb along so not convenient..so are u gng HK wif ur HB?

Will b goin to hkg startin this sun for 2 days, biz trip, but I'm staying in wanchai area, cosmopolitan hotel. Need to stay that area cos not too far from hong kong cec. If any mummies can recommend any nice place for dinner will be good also since I'll be alone.

Weishy, it's still cold there?

Janice, i'm tbf but got my period yesterday. last month i thought i was having my period but it was very, very light. but yesterday's is unmistakable. super heavy.

dunno whether milk supply dropped cos i latch but i'm feeling super tired...

Pegsfur, don't be discouraged. i'd been giving my baby carrot every day (twice a day) until I read Felicia's post that it causes constipation.

Felt really bad even though my gal seems to poop better when she had more carrots... but point is, we're all learning together.

what's most important is that u r doing the best u can for Ovann and u love him!

weishy,
didn't see ur msg until now. 12.30pm - 1pm I cannot leh. I got facial at 1pm. So a bit tough. If 3pm can? 3pm AMK MET? Then I can meet another mummy there too.

Sunshine,
Carrots cos constipation?
Not for my gal. She has carrots twice a day too.

Just ensure intake of carrots is not so much, else have orange hands and feet.

So dun feel bad keh? Constipation - most prob not enough water. My PD once told me, if give solids, must give plenty of water (not milk). So there we go, water water water.

Donkeymami,
ya can check with lobby staff if dunno wher it quite near the hotel
ya agree some cha chan teng v small .. I mus wait for my hb to confirm the date wor dunno can go anot.. Hopefully can:x

SunshineG/Phy o
sorry that's my MIL said carrot causes constipation not doc say one, i just listen to her and try not to give my boy too often, i dunno how true it is but seems that it is not easy to digest as when he poos, carrot all come out.. haha..

anyway carrot is very good lah, just that if i have gal i wont give that much cuz later skin become yellowish not pretty liao, wahahahaha..

puree> yeah. i finally bought my blender. can start making puree this wkend.

phy*o*, sunshineG> wat kinda carrot u use? can use baby carrots? den juz boil n blend?

pegsfur
dun be discouraged...keep on going.. my guess is that ur baby has fussy tastebuds... porridge on itss own is plain plain plain... perhaps u try to be more hardworking? boil some vege/meat stock to have a better taste?? how abt sweet potato porridge.. wholesome and sweet
.. u got to upgrade him frm cereals one of these days oso right?

carrots~~~~~~~~~~~
hey hey hey... too much of beta-carotene A can cause orangey babies leh.. :p.. look out for orange nose and fingers on ur babies.. if u notice that they have orangey nose.. time to cut down on carrots/pumpkins/n such.

my period officially reported yesterday
wondering what brands of pads u girls r using?? i am using whisperrrrrr but hads the leaks at the sides.. but scared to change

veges/meat stock
i am curious.. what's about preparing veges/meat stock? more nutritious? or more nice tasting? my #1 i never done it.. is thinking of doing it for my #2..

morning to all!!! Its friday liaoz!!!!!!!

smurfy... i'm using sofy got the gathered side to prevent leakage...

sunshine, mine already back b4 preggy menses liaoz

mich

NO WAY!!!! :p

Donkeymani
Call the hotline first. Coz by the time u check in, they've probably loaded the food into the carrier. Safer to call and tell them.

Actually for me, i inform them when i book the tickets.

pegsfur

maybe your boy is 'ang mo' type lor. Dun like porridge prefer 'ang mo' style. :p My boy also 'ang mo' type last time. Prefer jar food. My gal opposite. Doesn't like jar food, prefer porridge and must be home cooked.

smurfy, so fast? i'm still thinking... been pushing myself to go on feeeding ethan... at first told myself 6months den push myself to 7month... now pushin myself towards the 8th~ but menses came.. duno got energy to keep pushing or not

Smurfy,
thanks.. From wat I know using vegie n pork/ chix bone to cook the stock is gd for BB for both ntrient n taste.. The same reason y adult drink soup

janice dear
pls carry on bf-ing ethan.. milk powder so expensive :p

thermal magic pot
ehh all of u cooking rice using these thermal pots now arrr?? how abt grinded rice? oso can? but cooking time leh?

how abt thermos shuttle chef?? the same righttttttttt???????? i got one bought during #1 times.. never did opening ceremony yet.. :p.. dunno whether to use that cook porridge or not.

vegetables for babies :D
errr when u all say u cook vegetables for babies.. how many leaves do u give arr?

pegsfur
look look, i am 2nd time mummy but still asking lots of silly questions ahahhaha

smurfy

so fast. I'm still holding onto them just in case like last Sat. I sent my gal over to my ILs place for a whole day. So when my gal came home, she couldn't finish my bm and i was getting a little engorged already, so had to pump out. Now I just bf at night, once in the morning and once in the afternoon. The rest of the time are FM and solids alreaydy.

yes, thermos shuttle chef is the same. But it's a bit big for porridge bah... Grinded rice also can. Even faster cooking time.

Wah, woke up today and read all your encouragement and support, feel so much better after reading the posts here and i truly appreciate it. Gives me the courage to go on and not give up.

weishy
Tks for the blog link .. i've bookmarked it

el-nino
Ya, agree have to be patient with our little ones. Just that the cooking is tiring and after all the effort for cooking for him, he din like it! Want to bang wall.

donkeymami
Ya lor, alot of trial & error ... today is the 5th trial for me .. hahah
Hope i get it right and ovann eats it all up.

phy o
Tks for the tip .. ya, so now i'm giving him plain porridge without the meat. Have bot some vege last week but i guess gotta throw away liao.

sunshine g
Have to agree with u that we are all learning together, esp for us 1st time mummies

smurfy
Ya, i thot he's fussy as well ... and the porridge is really tasteless lor. So i added ikan bilis stock yesterday and he liked it. But the ikan bilis was TOO SALTY .. hahaha .. din know it until mashy pointed out that the ikan bilis have to be washed many times. Piangz .. stupid mummy ... i only rinsed once. *shake head*

mashy
Hahha .. really? Your boy & girl alot of differece hor? If ovann is the ang mo type, den i'm not so worried, cos there are more recepies for ang moh food

ladies going to HK
I so envy u! HK is me & hubby's fav country to visit ... but hubby doesn't want to bring bb there saying he's still small. So i guess i won't be visiting HK anytime soon

donkeymami
if you did not request upon booking, you may send an email & call them 48hrs before flight.

Weishy
I took SQ last time, on the departure from BKK-SG, i thot default cos my booking from company travel agent, they said no request so they din prepare, sucks man

CX package quite good leh, got mustela pack, they give out by default or need to request, sometime i also paiseh to ask but think of it, already pay and baby sleep on bassinet.

if I book myself i will surely request for baby meal. isn't fresh milk only for children above 2YO? you were ex CX crew? are you PTWM now?

mashy
that time i was pumping 3x a day.. sufficient for 2.5 feeds.. but then i was stuck in malaysia attending funeral wake.. toopid hot weather. whiny first male born..no time to pump.. in the end stopped totally.. i dun even intend to stopppppppppp sooo fast n sudden oso.. anyway that's over.. and since i am not going to have another.. might as well clear away all these things when they have resales value...

the thermos shuttle chef is the smallest size leh.. :/ nvm i go home see again.. dunno whether dismantled by my boy or not? :x

LAdies going to HKG!!!! i hv HKG $$$$ to eexchange with u....i need to exhange to SIN $$$ ma so instead of losing....can we change with each other???? these few days if possible la.pls call or sms me k tks alot 8223 7104

Weishy,
Would love to change with you but i need to have the exchange rate "receipt" normally issued by money changers in order to claim back from the company. Do you still have that with you? But i am leaving this sunday liao.

Pegsfur,
Trip to hongkong is for business, so actually not so fun, many things to do, back to back meetings. Will miss my baby so much. I would love to plan a trip with baby too but HB said why spend money on the ticket when the kid would not be able to enjoy and remember the experience. BUt i guess the thing is that i need a break! Haha...hope that he buys my idea of a break at the end of the year. Haiz...see how lah.

wow are we all going to get mense ard the same timing too ?
Ive not had it yet but feeling pms, abit crampy and pimples !!!!..maybe its coming soon

pegsfur

hahah, u reminded me so much of myself during my boy's baby time. I also spent so much time cooking for him only to bang wall when he refused to eat. That's why now I dun bother spending too much time cooking. If it takes more than 10mins, it's too long. :p So even if she doesn't wanna eat, i don't get frustrated like before.

So, dun bother making stock. :p Just throw in some sweet vege, it's sweeten up the entire thing. Since he's 'ang mo' type, better still. Dun even need to cook rice. Now I just cook the porridge in my thermal pot. The rest if i cook fresh, then dump in together. If not, i cook in a big batch and freeze them. We can't all be super mommies. I admit i freeze my food. Well it saves time and makes me a happier mommy.

smurfy> not keeping the pump stuffs for #2 or beyond? =p

janice> wah. menses come must stop breastfeeding? =p keke. i intend to go to 9mths. cos i bought pills for breastfeeding till 9mths. den slowly when hit 9mths, den buy another 2mths, den push myself to breastfeed longer =x

pegsfur> i'll be going hkk too if hubby goes for wk in june =p but but, i dunno whether to bring bb, cos i intend to go shopping when hubby goes to wk in de day. if bring bb, i can sit in hotel room liaos -_-

michelle
ah ger is my #2 leh.. and looking at the current state of things.. fiancial.. family.. constant quarrelling.. i will never have #3.. so sell off when there's still resales value and buy milk powder :D

michelle, menses come does mean need to stop bfing just that menses itself is very tiring... so lazy ma... hahah

i also pushing myself to continue breastfeeding... duno can push how long also.. imagine at work everyday still hv to pump and hving menses somemore...

joyce
u try asking ur company whether they accept conversion table from credit card company during the 1st day of ur travel. my company allows that as i dun change $$ for every trip(might have old existing foreign notes leftover frm previous trips)..

smurfy> keke. ok la. since oredi haf 2 den enugh liao. i oso will sell off after i have 2. so tat i wun have #3 =p

janice> haha. aiyoh, no menses oso tired le. haha. but juz push myself.

for me i ok la, i dun find menses tiring =p

Pegsfur, maybe you can try what I am doing. I will boil the rice with veg till its like teochew porridge style (about 15mins) then I will take the veg and half porridge to blend then add in the rest of the half and blend 2 seconds so there's texture in the porridge and not exactly puree kind. Its faster lor..coz I cannot afford to spend so much time cooking canto style porridge.

Michelle, for my 1st kid, I had spotting for a few rounds too before the actual mense report.

Janice, its very tiring before menses report. I will feel super tired and the ss will drop alot so it makes bfing very hard. Low morale.
Its not easier for me though I am not working as I need to attend to my 2 kids and housework eventhough I am tired.

irene> ya. my supply oso drop quite abit. sometimes have lesser den wat my boy drink on certain days. de supply is so unpredictable. luckily i got too much milk in de freezer. so i m taking opportunity to clear those milk

Michelle
Exactly! I'm sitting in hotel room now while my bb is sleeping! but my heart is downstairs in the shopping mall shoes dept! :p

My boy is also eating carrot / pumpkin almost every day... how to see if he has orange nose, hand or feet?
He does look abit tan, I thought its because we go more often in the afternoon now. how?

kikilala> huh. so u oso bring ur bb ah. lol. i was thinking if i bring my boy, i cannot go shopping. denn i might as well go wk.

but if i dun bring my bb, i scare i will miss him on day 2. den later got to change flight, go hm c him -_-

Carrots

i use organic baby carrots. actually they didn't cause constipation in my girl at all. she's been pooping regularly since she's started solids. even though she doesn't drink that much water.

ya, nurse at polyclinic also said don't give too much yellow & orange veg otherwise they will look orange. heh... so i'm monitoring, so far so good...

Kiki,
can bb sleep in de stroller while u shop? I always did that when I have only 1.. Now with two... Can't shop like that anymore.