(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

felicia

actually maids spoil the kids too. Who wants to have a more difficult job? Just give the kids what they want, tv, snacks whatever.

mashy
haha yup he is willing to help me but he got his own business to run so i do not really want to trouble him..

but he told me even help me also not long term cuz after all that's our baby so we parents are the ones hold the responsibilities.. he is more willing to help me train my helper, haha.. i also cannot fully trust a helper but guess i am lucky enough to find a quite good one so far..

and very jialat hor you can tell i really listen to my father right? no choice de cuz almost everytime he is right lor, and i get stressed up if we have disagreement, so hubby told me then dun get overstressed, just follow my father's advice, since most of the time he is right, and even if he is wrong, we just blame him, LOL...

Felicia,
ya lor i got no choice la.. i tink it will be worse if i only rrely on my maid cos she only know how to carry my boi when he wan to be carried... now waitin for him to reach 18mth goin to sent him to playgroup...

mashy
you are very right! I also agree that maids can spoil the kids cuz i've seen that myself.. but hor at least you can correct her, whether she listens we won't know if we are not there to supervise her.. but if ILs we can't even say anything lor most of the time.. even worse right..

Feli, renzo can take strawberry ah? not sour meh?

I gave my gal yogurt & pear but she dun like it cos she gave me the yucky & sourish face haha..damn cute then my hubby said my gal got the same taste like him dislike yogurt & pear..faintz.

re: Drink from Straw
I jz switched my gal from sippy to straw cup yesterday after few attemps she can drink from straw liao...as in she know how to suckle from straw but i thk the flow is too fast she dun swallow fast enuf so leaks from her mouth. i quite happy cos i tot may take sometimes to train her nv expect she can do it so fast.

Re:toilet train

I thinking to get a potty for my gal since she can sit quite well now.

for toilet train means we nit to let bb pee/poo in potty right?

donkeymami
Renzo can bite on it, more for him to rub his gum cuz he is teething, and some babies like sour food in fact, but he didnt really eat much just bite off a bit of flesh only..

I also let him drink from straw yesterday only, but he was frustrated cuz he can only drink the water when we tilt the cup and let him use it like a milk bottle, but today suddenly he can drink from it liao, haha.. i know how happy you are cuz even my maid was so happy that she laugh till she choked herself, so funny..

toilet train
yes donkeymami means we help them so no need to always wear diaper liao, slowly they will know what is it and signal us before they want to pee and poo, though think that will take months really..

and yes i also need to get a potty, cuz now we train them to pee/poo in toilet bowl when we carry them, but next time go to childcare i think teachers will not like to do this same job de, so it is good to let them sit on the potty and do the business, haha..

on 2 occasions i let ethan eat apple & pear, he chomp off a mouthful, i saw him chewing but he did not swallow, then he chomp another bit again. then next moment i saw him coughing & choke. then when i realised he still cannot chew, wriggle my finger in his mouth to take out the pcs.

straw - he plays with it but still cannot suck. will try magmag stage 3.

cup - he still love love to drink water from cup even though water will leak from side.

semi led weaning - how to start?

Quite difficult to depend on helper to dicipline our kids... For them, they will do whatever to prevent bb from crying. Like my nephew, the helper let him stand right in front of the TV cos he will cry if she stops him!

Felicia
My MIL quit her job with the plan to look after my bb, but hor she never ask me lor cos I dont intend to let her look after!

For me quite headache now... my MIL will come to my mum's place to KPO, even when I'm at my mum's place now... and everything she got comments one lor... from what I feed my boy, how I cut apple, what toys my boy is playing... sian!

like yesterday afternoon... she wanted to feed my boy coffeeshop fishsoup! my mum told her cannot cos got MSG and salt, she can still reply "dont eat salt where got energy"!! luckily my mum tell her that I dont allow, and since bb is under her care, she has to answer to me... heng my sister witnessed it and told me secretly...

worst still... she tell my mum that her other DIL gave her pocket $ and I dont!!!
wah lau! her son dont give me pocket $ even lor... and I always remind my hb to give her some $$ when he is back in SG.
My MIL lives with her other DIL and she does ALL the housework for that DIL, even iron clothes for her, give her $ is 应该 one lor, cos save on helper pay already mah...

sorry... complain a bit lah.. need to destress lah!

thanks ladies for all yr comforting words.
i feel more assured now tat there's nothing wrong wif my boy.

piggytoh,
i also intend to send ethan to playgroup when he's 18mths. r u sending kyler to the one near our place or near yr in-law's pl? i went to the MMI @sports complex to enquire. it's actually a childcare but they hv infant care cum playgroup. after subsidy $700+. EX leh. think i'll jus send him to normal downstairs playgroup for the time being.

Kiki
wah so poor thing, i wonder how can she say all those things when your mother is the one helping you..

and you are right, if you dun even stay with her then it is alright not to give her $$ lor, you have your own family to look after mah.. last time when we don't have baby, we give my in laws 400 a month, 100 from me 300 from my hubby lah, we are not staying with them and we don't earn much so i thought that's quite okay.. after we have baby i stop giving that 100 so only hubby give 300, luckily my in laws are understanding enough de cuz i will be out of job soon and with a baby our expenses increase a lot lor..

btw you are not joining your hubby in shanghai already huh?

zen
wah playgroup so ex meh? thought usually childcare center is like 400+ after subsidy, playgroup is those just go for a few hours a day de right? then cannot be more expensive right.

Zen,
i wun be goin to so ex 1 thinkin of apple i tink they have half n full day 1 if not wrong i have got time to go n enquire:p

Felicia
My hb and I dont combine our finance one, we just share the household expenses, and we kind of agree than I give my mum $, he give his mum $. I dont even ask him how much, I just remind him that he must give.

My MIL not only give me stress, also come and stress my mum! and not as if she is expert lor, the last bb she looked after was my HB and that was 35 years ago!

My company let me move back to SG to work, so if I join my HB, then got to quit.

PLUS my MIL said that if I go over, then she will follow us there to help me take care of BB. I got scared... imagine have to deal with her 100%! so leave the country also cannot escape.

kiki
haha i see... me and hubby also never combine de, same we also only share household expenses, but last time i try to help a bit cuz my pay was slightly higher.. and we dun give my parents $$ at all, feel very bad about it but they always tell us they rather we manage our own family well and they dun need our money..

haha you better dun go to shanghai then later she really follow you everywhere then you headache sia..

you know when i told my father that my in laws want to help me look after Renzo, he asked me, then why you hire a maid? why they need to supervise the maid? what can they do to help? Renzo is your boy and that is your family life why let them get into the picture? I really have no answer but just wish my in laws can think the same way also lor.. but really leh i think if either side of parents are involved we just dun have a personal life already..

a few days ago i kenna scolded by my fil on how i prepare meat and veggie. yesterday and today i've been giving Zachary corn and pea without mashing them. to teach him how to chew and let him practice. can really see his improvement in that.

also read from baby-led weaning that if baby cant swallow, they will gag out (one of their reflex). when Zachary cant chew the skin of the pea and corn, he will actually leave it inside his mouth then spit out or gag out (sounds like got choked but it is different lah). sometimes he might even cough due to PIL playing with him when he is suppose to be chewing instead of smiling/laughing... so irritating!

kikilala
PIL always got things to say one lah. very sian hor?

felicia> my parents same as ur dad wor. when hubby joked tat i shuld stay hm n be a sahm, my mum not happy leh. she say why stay at hm, waste their money put me thru uni den ended up stay hm -_-"

reira> lucky for me my pil dun tok much =p or at least i can juz close one ear

Donkeymami-u will sure use e food jar later as bb will eat pasta/porridge etc

forgoos-me using it n was good for me (ESP coloured n nt so dull lookig :p )

biscuits-Lucas seems nt interested le.... Good also lesser snacks hehhehe

Fatbobo-u need to get a slightly bigger thermos jar bah. Portion x 2 le

Sharon-blender ,find e Braun handheld good enough n handy.

Sitting up-Lucas n sit up by himself n crawl too now :p
last week he was just trying

Hi Mashy,
Yup, on top of all the cereals, purees, porridge, noodles, pasta,i am giving my boy veges/fruits to munch on while i go about doing my stuffs in the kitchen.. i do enjoy looking at his different expressions and mouth movements while trying out those food though.. ;p i supposed im still not at the baby-led weaning stage yet.. im more into letting him explore and taste the different types of foods in their own natural form.

Sharon(mimosa),
Wow... its amazing you can remember my boy's name as i seldom chat around in SMH.. ;p thanks ya!

weishy,
foogoo good ar? then i shall get it

okies..thanks...shall go look at braun

sharon teo,
hehee...yes yes i rem

i even rem u had a smooth delivery n no epi

re: mini pears
the mini pear my mum bought fr ntuc was small, sweet n v soft...i left it in the open for 1day only...can mash juz using the pigeon bowl n the baby spoon...dun need steam n ryan loves it...portion is juz nice

Hi mummies I put 2 table spoons of healthy times brown rice cereal with 60 ml similac fm in a bowl it's quite watery and when I feed him he gets angry and bb gets irriaited. Then I transfer into bottle he drink finish .. Can we feed via bottle ?

babiesmeme,
the healthy times hor v watery 1 so i dun like usu i will add more to be it less watery.. bottle i tink the teat hole mus expand wor...

sandy,
yes...bought at our ntuc

babiesmeme,
healthy times v watery...i add only 30ml to almost 3 big table spoons
PD says dun add to FM...but my frend does abit of healthy times to her ger's FM

sandy,
yes...bought at our ntuc

babiesmeme,
healthy times v watery...i add only 30ml to almost 3 big table spoons
PD says dun add to FM...but my frend does abit of healthy times to her ger's FM

Sharon-the mini pear so cute hehhehe sure go look see cos portion just nice n soft too convenient to bring out ma.

Forgoos-to me it's good enough la.from morning till early evening is oki la still warm.

Sharon - why pd said don't add to fm? What the reason? Do you still buy healthy times? I shall try again for dinner hehe
. How you feed the over the counter purée? You add into the mixture or feed alone? Which brand is good

Hi Sharon(mimosa),

haa... you have a good memory, gal.. if i remembered correctly, you are staying at Yishun, same as me.. you are around Khatib area ;p maybe we should meet up oneday for the 2 boys to catch up with each other ya..

babiesmeme> i usually feed over de counter puree direct. but last nite i bought pumpkin, carrot and beef puree, my boy dun really like it. think later i'll add it to his usual brown rice cereal n feed it to him tgt.

hi michelle, which brand of brown rice cereal you using? mine very watery I add 2 tablespoons to 60ml fm? very watery...i just boughter gerber apple sauce dont know good or not? can add in fm? or eat alone

babiesmeme,
so far i only feed healthy times cereal wif ebm..juz tried wif fm today..planning try happy bellies next
PD juz say dun it n i neva ask y
i make apple n pear puree n feed separate

sharon teo,
yes yes..we shld do dat

babiesmeme
i give my boy Healthy times cereal and very watery so usually have to add alot, or add in biscuit, or puree...

btw i have the applesauce sample and personally i think not bad.. i feed my boy directly and he likes it.. so if he refuses to eat the porridge i prepared, then i just stir in a bit of applesauce, he can finish all.. so you might want to give it a try, can feed directly or add to your cereal also..

michelle
my parents also say I shd work, dun waste all those yrs studying...that's why I didnt tell them I'm going on no pay leave until I actually started the leave. Now every wk they'll ask me when I'm going back to work. I told them when $$ run out, I'll go back and work :p

Hi thanks piggy Sharon and Felicia for the great tips look like I have to change to happy bellies instead . My bb did enjoy it but guess run out of patience cos it's too watery .. Instead I bottle feed he finish very fast ! Btw where can I get the happy bellies

weishy.. bahaha... majiam bring an entire magic pot or pressure cooker out... tink in future..might hfta drag a cabin bag out le.. muahahah~

babiesmeme,
soemtime BP may have happy bellies.. i got mine from the organic shop at harbourfront but from wat i know currently all suppler no stk n stk r runnin low at the harbourfront organic shop...

fatbobo,
my counsin when she go out she carry those luggage bag out 1 lor.. v kua zhang 1...

felicia,
the one i mentioned is an IFC & childcare, that's y so ex. those downstairs kind abt $165/mth for 2 hours per day.

babiesmeme,
i heard cannot mix cereals wif FM in the bottle cos babies may get choke. my boy prefers healthy times brown rice cereal to happy bellies. but i find happy bellies more filling & nutritious so i alternate 1 wk healthy times, 1 wk happy bellies. healthy times need to add in abt twice the amt of happy bellies to get the same texture. for bottled puree, my boy prefers to eat separately, like adult eat side dishes. when mixed wif cereal, he still eats, but more slowly.

re: forgoos
i also like the design + the fact tat we can pour the porridge straight into it instead of the different bowls first. but it's made in malaysia & china so it makes me think twice abt buying it.