(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Reira,
i use measuring tape also but tt time at Mt A the nurse n my CL say more accurate mus measyure from center not side leh...

Jeni,
usu spinach i also use ahma method like sandy den add to potato/cereal if not the smell v strong blend is faster n more fine.....

babyled weaning method
i am going to start that soon.. now only give Renzo biscuit, banana and papaya, not very messy yet for biscuit and banana, but papaya very messy cuz it is too juicy liao.. i also cut apple and let him hold and bite on his own but a bit hard for him still, so i plan to start it maybe next month, put food on high chair tray while we eat, then let him use his fists more, i think it is good lor help to train baby to be more patient, and better eye hand cordination, and better chewing skill also.. must let them learn to be independent.. hohoho..

re: sitting
any of yr babies not sitting yet? mine is end jul baby but still can't sit on his own leh. i'm getting worried. according to health booklet, they're supposed to be able to do so by 7.5 mths.

zen

dun worry, every kid is different. my boy sat up supported by his hands only at 8mths. But within a week, he could sit without hands already. So in his time...

agree agree health booklet is onli 4 us to c & understand. Not all babies r same don worry

zen
think so leh no need to worry too much.. every baby is different, my boy can't even flip at 5.5 months and according to health booklet got to see doc if he can't do that by 6 months, so i think he is rather slow in learning or maybe just don't want to learn that.. but he sits very well on his own without any need to support with his hand at 6 months.. so to me they might be slow in certain things but faster in other things lor.. and usually if they start later than other babies, the moment they want to do it they can do it immediately de like what mashy mentioned..

Claire & Dolcevita,
Yea I share ur sentiments,tat is why we are so "anal" (some may call it) when it comes to buying toys to make sure those tat bb puts into mouth are NOT from China.But sad to say almost 90% of toys(fisherprice included)r made in China.

Just last week,I went to Toys R Us to buy teether and almost all brands are made in China,so I bought from NUK which is made in Germany.

Am also considering buyin those lead tester strips to test the toys at home.Some China manufacturers really have not ethics even repackaged the Melamine tinted and resold!

Miaon,
My boy does the zhutzhut thingy when he is tired or super bored,so i will tell him in a firm voice using the same repetitive words n then proceed to take his fingers out.
Have been doing tat til now he begin to understand,whenever he does tat,he will shoot me a sheepish look n i say those words,he will slowly take his KFC fingers out of his mouth.
U may wanna try.

Zen,
My boy is also still tryin to sit also..unless there is back support or else u will see him struggling to support himself with his hands,then wobble within secs n then make soem noise n then *chee bom* head slam on mattress! Actually a very funny sight

Felicia
baby-led weaning is more angmoh style, quite against our chinese education of "dont play with food"!
I kanna some comments from my old folks already... which is quite true lah... so I think I'll go semi baby-led bah

Kiki
I see.. in fact my father trained my niece in this style leh, that's why i dun mind giving it a try.. cuz baby will like to play with food at first, but slowly they will imitate what we do so i think the key is to train them while we are eating together.. also take away the food if baby is eating first but later start playing so slowly they will know...

i rem for my niece she eats on her own using spoon before she was 1 year old, then around 1 year she can eat with chopsticks already.. so at first is just to use hands of course.. but while my father train her on that. he will repeat "谁知盘中餐,粒粒皆辛苦", and explain to her that you cannot play with food must make sure you finish all and do not waste.. so when she was about 10 months i think, when we say 粒粒皆辛苦 she will open her mouth big big and finish all her food de...

i am sure my in laws wont support the idea as like you said they will say dun play with food.. so now whenever i feed Renzo, i will put him onto his high chair and tell him, this is mealtime, so no play allowed, no toys, and if he is trying to grab the spoon and play with it, i will bring him down from high chair and don't give him food anymore, tell him if you want to play then no food.. i think they are smart enough to get the idea of it slowly de..

kiki, think when it come to baby led weaning, it is given bite size food instead of puree. Usually at this young age, they dun take more than a small bowl of food.

donkeymami
ask hubby to help will donno have to wait until when!

baby ja
yeah i am using digital. used to carry him and minus my weight. today tried to let him sit since he can sit unsupported.

piggytoh
measure from center as in move baby's legs to center ah?

felicia
how do u teach Renzo to hold the fruit/biscuit and put in mouth? Zachary will just hold and squeeze then drop. then sometimes i will itchy hand go and help him put his hand to his mouth lol. for apple, he actually chew on the apple. after he dropped it, i took a look at the piece of apple and really got bite marks!

like kikilala, i am going semi baby-led. will only try doing that totally when i move out. else PIL sure make noise.

another thing i worry is end up he didn't eat anything if let him do it himself. altho now till 9 mth they get most nutrients from milk lah...

lastly, will be super messy and have to bath him after.

zen
dont worry. try to put him on sitting position. Zachary sits without hand supporting for only sometimes. most of the time he will put hand infront/side of him to support.

PJPJ
haha your boy is so cute.

zen

actually, enjoy your freedom while it lasts coz it won't be long before your boy will learn to move about. I'm having a really hard and tiring time now coz my gal is not even contented to sit anymore. The moment i put her to sit, she'll move to crawl position. She's been crawling all over, gumming everything she sees, climbing everywhere. I'm very tired from chasing her. Now that she has learnt to cruise too, i think it'll be a matter of time before she starts to run about.
My boy was slow in his development and i worried all the time. Now my gal is so fast but I feel so tired. Guess I'm never happy with whatever situations I'm in. sigh. I need to learn to be contented.

Pris,
saw u upload many photo the image quite clear also jus curious u usin norm digital cam?

Reira,
v hard to explain.. u can place the measuring tape ont he bed n place zac on top on it so it will be in the middle of his body vertically u understd?

Reira
jialat think Renzo is a greedy boy, i nvr really teach him how, just give to him he will hold and bite, and seldom drop, if drop hor he will turn his head here and there try to find it de. LOL.. that day my sis let him bite on strawberry, he bite for a while still can take it out and scrutinize it before putting it back to his mouth again.. think he was wondering why is it so hard to bite sia..

that time when my father train my niece, he will leave the food with her and while we are eating, he will feed her the same food with chopsticks, and when he is not feeding her she will just pick up the food and eat on her own.. but messy for sure lah, Renzo change clothes at least 4 times a day lor..

Felicia,
hahah my boi similar to urs leh tt day gave him teethin biscuit he jus hold n put into his mouth take out look at it n put back again n yes i agree v messy..

pjpj
hmmm....i oso do the same to her leh and repeat cannot eat her thumb and pull out. she does give the sheepish look sometimes, but most of the time she machiam give me the "i wanna eat and wat can u do abt it" look. super yaya lor. until i gotta get up and pull out her left hand, then her right thumb shoots in. duh! like playing thumb catching leh. *sweats*

keke. ur boy is so cute. my gal oso similar. she tries to sit for a while and during the entire time, she will slowly tilt she kaboms onto the ground on the front or the side. i so worried her face become flatten by the impact.

juz back from toilet..(errh..ya..paiseh..but....) realised my belly-button is now more to the right side (after delivery or perhaps after got preggy!). no longer in the middle (centre) of my belly liao!

n ya.. the upper part of button still protruding out!!! KNS.

piggy
haha i see, funny hor.. that's the thing i like about this forum, can always find similar stuff about our babies, and also can always learn new stuff about other babies.. hoho..

mashy
I salute your gal leh so fast can crawl liao leh.. envy envy..

but yup my father is really great i have to say.. cuz my niece last time really can do a lot of amazing stuff de, very independent and easy to look after.. then now my father ask me to potty train Renzo already, at first i was really against it.. till he told me, kids do not have good habit because they have lazy parents.. stun.. haha so in order to prove to him i am not lazy, i start to bring Renzo to toilet everyday, and he asked me to observe his pattern, usually drink fluid liao 10-15 minutes will need to pee, then another 20 minutes can try to let baby pee again, if he pees, the next time is 1 hour later liao if he doesnt take any more fluid.. And for poo he asked me to bring Renzo for a walk in the morning, come back drink some water, or eat some fruits, rest for a while then bring him to toilet and let him try..

so for the past 2 days, he pooed into toilet bowl 3 times, and peed dunno how many times already... till my helper is super proud that yesterday from 2-5pm+, Renzo had 2 naps but his diaper was completely dry, haha cuz my helper brought him to toilet at the right timing.. LOL..

i meant if not because of my father i will not want to do this de seriously..

Felicia,
wow u really got a v knowledgable father

sigh how i wish i am SAHM den i can go thru all this trainin with my bb cant rely on my IL on this...

felicia
u are good~!~ potty training ur boy now.

mashy
ehh how do u handle this issue arr? last time my boy cheong aka crawl on the floor,.. but never attempt to put things in the mouth. the girl arrhh... she just interested to grab things n put them in the mouth.. now she is becoming more mobile liao..i cannot be forever making sure the floor got nothing at all right? especially with her korkor around, sure got toys or small objects..scared that one day i find a small object in her poo (last time got one mummy found a 5 cent coin in her son's poo poo)... ur girl is doing leopard crawl or proper doggy crawl? mine's leopard crawl now.

felicia

dun envy, it's really tiring. She zooms ard very fast now and had crawled to the kitchen many times I just hope she didn't eat up some lizard poo along the way.

Wow, you're doing a great job, so fast can toilet train your Renzo.

Haha, i'm a lazy parent, so i doubt i will be able to potty train my gal even when she's ready. My boy was toilet trained only after 3yrs old. :p

piggytoh.. agree with u...
hw i wish i hv all the time to spend with my girls..n feed / expose / train / do watever not with them.... -.-

hehe..feli... cos in toilet nothing to do.. den while i pick up my pants... i noticed!!!! bahaha~

fatbobo,
ya lor being FTWM not only we miss out alot of thing alot of time we have no time to train or play with them n like my IL they dunno abt all these method 1 v diff to ask them train him on my behalf

smurfy

i think it's the 2nd child syndrome, i'm more bochap. Many things that she mouthed aren't clean. Things like remote control, my boy's toys, my handphone etc. I try my best to keep all the small stuff. The big stuff are still lying around so once a while she'll gum them. She gums her kor kor's chair and even the plastic laundry rack. sigh. I try to confine (altho it's impossible) her crawling to within her playmat. Whenever she goes out beyond 2 metres of the playmat, i'll go catch her. Very tiring to do that though. She's still doing leopard crawl, but think should be changing to doggy crawl soon coz she did a few steps on 4 legs. But think she finds it too slow as she reverted back to leopard crawl after that.

piggy/fat bobo

actually i would have preferred it if my ILs or whoever can help me toilet train my kids. hahaha. Tiring u know. Have to catch their poo. I had to clean poo/pee on the floor dunno how many times when i toilet trained my boy.

mashy
err me oso guilty of 2nd child syndrome.. i oso let her gum for a while.. then take it away from her... i just tot at the rate i am taking things away from her will it cause a reverse physcological effect in future? ie. she not interested to take anything ?(anything i take, mama take away?).

mine's doing leopard crawl.. at home on wkends, can confine in playyard.. but weekdays at my mum's place, no space for playyard.

my temp solution is to stuff her mouth with pacificer :p

smurfy

at least she takes pacifier. My gal takes pacifier like a teether leh. She doesn't suck. She holds it in her hands and chews. Then after a while when she's bored with it, she'll throw it one side just like any other toy.

piggytoh
yeah i think i know what u mean.

felicia
did your sis gave Renzo the whole strawberry? strawberry's size is quite good for them to hold with their small hands haha

oh wow, so ur niece eat the same food with the family? when i place the bowl of food on the tray, zachary will take the bowl and hit the table. end up food drop everywhere. headache. really dont know how to teach

did your helper take out the diaper in the room then bring him to toilet ah? earlier Zachary made the ngg ngg sound want to poo, but i dont dare to take out the diaper in the room then rush to toilet... scared he poo on the way. lol so i tried to take out the diaper in the toilet but end up messy. *give up*

mashy
is leopard crawl tummy on floor while dog is tummy dont touch floor?

Mashy,
ya i know tiring but my IL cant help me on tt. if not i wun be havin headache... i got so much thing i plan to teach but no time.. like drink from straw etc...
my boi will also do tt to poacifier but when he needs comfort in suckin he will still suck..

smurfy

I also dun have space for a play yard. The only 2 places which i can confine her is her cot and the exersaucer. Now she hates the exersaucer coz i think she knows that mommy's dumping her there for a while. She doesn't sleep in her cot anymore, but uses her cot to practise her cruising. That day I tried to use the crying out mtd to make her sleep in her cot, end up i was so tired. She cried for 45 mins, fell asleep for 10mins, then wake up and cry for another round. It went on for many rounds until i gave up coz i was simply too tired. I think i will never be able to train her to sleep coz I dun have enough sleep already.

reira

yup.

piggy
wow, u so good. I'm not a gifted teacher and i'm too lazy. hahaha. I tried to introduce the straw to my gal. End up she chewed the straw. I tried to let her drink from the cup, but the moment water touches her mouth, she spit/let it flow out. She hates water. My gal doesn't do comfort sucking with the pacifier, she still prefers me. Argh.

Piggy
yah lor i wish I am as good as my father, he reads about kids upbringing online everyday and always share with us..

me not going to stay at home for long liao, i am working from home for the last month now then will have to get a new job, busy looking for job now although the initial plan was to stay at home till Renzo goes to childcare.. but talked to my father and kena scolded, haha, he said if i choose to stop for even a month, it is hard to get myself up to speed again, and i will nua all the way, later i will lose a lot of skills and dun even have my pride and confidence like a FTWM.. and most important thing is he feels that i should not stop learning and developing myself just because i have a baby now.. nothing against SAHM of course (i always respect SAHM and am happy to be one myself if not because of my father), just that for my case since i have a helper at home, father say i should focus on my career and fully trust my helper, he said Renzo needs a environment that allows him to explore things and grow up on his own, rather than me and helper 2 person stay at home and watch how he grows everyday.. so FTWM you all should be proud that you are also giving your kids the room and freedom to grow in their own way, hehee..

Pris
i think you are really one of the most experienced mothers here, can tell that Kai is a very good boy and I am sure Ray will be as good as his brother also under your great care.. share more with us here, you know lah being first time mother in fact i dun even know what to expect from my baby, and i learnt things from you here, eg: we can train baby to use straw, in fact i dunno how to train but at least i know can give that a try, if not hor i guess i will wait till he is 1 year old then let him try.. haha..

smurfy/mashy
thanks.. no lah i am not really good but i am lucky to have a good father i think..

fat bobo
haha so funny.. for me i nvr care about my belly button cuz i think anyway there will be changes again once i have #2, LOL

Felicia, I am still learning, daily is a learning process. Just need lots of prayers, patience, strength and wisdom to bring up children from the Lord.

MAshy,
nope i am not a gifted teacher as well.. but i do wan to try better den do nothin mah.. like now i no more carry my son to make him sleep now tryin to train him to sleep on his own... hopefully he can in no time..

Felicia,
i agree with ur father in a way but for my case hor under my IL care less room for explore cos both my IL n the maid is lookin after him.. it like 3 pair of eye watchin after him how to explore? durin wkend i take care of him alone i tink it gave him more room for exploration cos alot of time i wil leave him in his playpen or playmat while i do my things... n seriously i dun tink i can place my trust fully on maid la..

Reira
yup the whole strawberry.. hehee..

and yes my niece used to eat what we eat, just that they cook for her separately so no salt lor.. but still she started on adult food very early which is the only thing i cannot really agree with my father lah, hahaha.. but after all it is really good training for her and bringing her out is so much easier.. haha..

for the diaper we also bring Renzo to toilet then remove it, for boys easier in fact cuz once remove diaper they will have urge to pee liao, gals are not like that i think.. but after he pee usually we don't let him wear diaper again, so can air his buttock, then bring him back again after maybe 15-20 miniutes and stimulate again, haha.. poo is easier cuz he will need time to "gek" then we immediately bring him to toilet liao, and even if he doesnt really want to poo we will still bring him every morning and let him get used to it.. but got one time he didnt give any signal while we were airing his buttock and hubby was sitting beside our help so immediately catched his poo with his hands.. hehee..

i have not put the bowl on his tray so far leh.. that will be really messy.. i think it takes time for them to understand that they cannot play with food.. so i think it is better to start with things like biscuit, puff, fruits, rather than cereal or porridge.. slowly when they get used to it then they will not anyhow throw food liao.. i rem last time when my niece play with her food, my father will move her with her high chair to one corner and let her sit on her own and we continue eating and no one can talk to her, so a few times she understands it's no fun.. but now i think still a bit too early to train our baby on this ba, maybe got to wait till at least 11 months to 1 year plus..

felicia

is your father going to help u with renzo? what your father said is true, it's difficult to get back once you stop working for a while. For me, if i have someone whom i can trust to take care of my kid, i will go back and work. Unfortunately for me, i dun have any. The prob with helper too is that they may be too easy on the kid like bribing them with sweets etc. Discipline is a big prob coz you've to decide if you will allow them to discipline your kid. If no, will your kid bully your helper and if yes to what extent. I think it's not easy trusting a helper with your child. Sometimes for me, I also felt like throwing my gal away. If it's already so trying for me, i can understand how much worse it'll be for the helper who is totally unrelated to the child.

felicia

it's really an eye opener reading abt how your father trained your niece. I shall do that with my gal when she plays with her food.

piggy
i understand that cuz if my in laws know that i am going to get a new job, they for sure will come over everyday, even they cannot help with looking after baby, they will want to keep an eye on my maid still.. Luckily my mil is still working part time but i am not surprised she will quit her job even.. so i guess i will run into the same situation as you very soon.. still scratching my head hard to think of a solution to it..

haiz if they could have same mindset as my father i will be so happy, cuz my father believes that grandparents can only spoil the kids so maid is the best choice.. so hopefully i can lun till Renzo is 1 year old hor, then i might send him to infant care so that my in laws wont need to come over, although my father dun support the idea of infant care because baby get sick easily... haiz lots of headache and lots of decision to make leh, i even thought about migrating to canada or australia just to siam away and get Renzo a better environment leh..