(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

claire> no leh. ingredient got egg yolk? no? den i bought this strawberry yogurt too. 6mths onwards so many interesting flavours

Sophia,
My experience tells me do not mix both milk powder even they are of the same brand. I remember when my bb is about 2 months old, we switch from pro-cal to advance plus. As we are inexperience, my mil said can mix both and give bb. In the end my bb's poo very watery every 2 hours, he was crying and screaming we got worried and we let him stay on with pro-cal, he was fine. After 2 month, we let him try advance plus. This time we use two bottles eg pro-cal 100ml, advance 50ml gradually we increase the advance and full force on advance plus. Now switching from step 1 to 2 we also do the same 120ml step 1 advance plus 60ml step 2 advance plus. But i must say step 2 is very sweet and my bb loves it

babiesmeme
hehe, at least your hb is on your side. SOme will just say forget it, or even worse, stand on the mother's side

michelle
i got this apple/mango puree from a brand called organix. He HATES it. I heart pain lor. 4 tubs cost abt $8. I think will end up me eating it.

phy, I also brought Isaac to see that Chee Seng Tong doctor at Thomson Road. Originally wanted to go to Yu Guo at Kembangan but saw April post about this one on Aug Bubs. SInce nearer and my MIL says its good, so give it a try.

Ya good leh... but med expensive (paid $17) but still cheaper than what I paid for all that nebuiliser to dissolve the phlegm from the PD. But the medicine gross lah, black and smell like grass, everytime feed Isaac he will yell his head off while I drip it into his mouth. But it helps him cough out the phlegm.

He also say must go back for 2nd visit, dun know for what. But anyway, my ILs will bring him back again for review. Anyway, its ok since the "consultation" price is reasonable.

happi, yup, its a TCM doctor. They are located at Imperial Court on Upper Thomson Road.

Hi Happi,
Yes, it Chinese sinseh.

Hi Claire,
Remember to call to make an appt b4 u go.

Hi Mich,
Why do you bring Issac back if he's completely healed? Later he will give him another medicine. As of now, Myra already screams her head off when taking medicaiton (mebbe that's why she forces herself to heal faster? :p) I have to grab her to force the liquid into her mouth. Mine also black. I think we both similar medicine, only maybe yours more "liao" since more ex. keke ...

By the way, how much u paid for consultancy? My mum said I OVERPAID. Me dunno mkt rate, paid him 2 digit figure starting with 2. Was that a lot?

Eunice,
No massage la. Only one doctor available.
It's actually a medical hall. This doc doesn't even need to check other areas of the baby, just the "mai" at the hands. Really peifu him.

hi mommies. been a busy day as well today. paiseh, long post again. finally can relax after a day's hard work.

brought Zachary to jurong safra for a swim again. today he is not as enthu in swimming compare to last tuesday. probably because no babies around. lol got strangers around then he will work a bit harder in kicking around. aiyo! i was trying so hard to make him smile to the camera as last tues i didnt bring digicam. was using handphone to take the video i posted on FB.

donkeymami
yah, must be the solid that cause his poo to change and not poo for a day.

Pris
for the freeze up handkies, do i have to wet it before freezing? but if have to wet it, i am worry that it will make his shirt wet. i remembered awhile ago a mommy said just need to freeze for 30mins. was that you? sorry for the short term memory

Joia
I also experienced Zachary being cranky until I gave him teething tablets then he is willing to latch on and sleep. That time I also had no idea if he was teething or not and it happened for a few days. then a week later, his tooth emerged.

Eunice, baby ja
Mine also reject HB brown rice during some days. been feeding him with it for about 2 weeks le.

April
i love the first food book! today tried the fish recipe also. added 2 thin slices of ginger haha. donno if it is young ginger or not tho and after steaming, the flesh where the ginger was got yellow color stained.

today dinner, i also used 2 cubes of frozen pumpkin and potato haha. really convenient to freeze them.

jul
Re: mil letting Sam watching tv
sometimes really bo bian hor? also don't know how to tell them baby cannot watch tv for long cos research shows that it might cause ADHD. even if told, they will still forget about it. so thats why i dont let Zachary watch tv cos he already watched when in laws carrying/playing with him.

maybe can buy educational DVD and tell your mil to let Sam watch it if she intend to let him watch tv. better than letting him watch drama or whatever is on tv right? also have to tell her to limit the amount of time spent lah. being a mother really not easy! have to deal with in laws also.

Daph
yes, can say that i am bias towards my in laws and relatives. my own relatives i will close one eye unless that relative is really nonsense. hehe. i am quite petty towards my mil. reason being she is really petty towards me and does not respect what i want to do (always insist on doing what she wants).

however, if what she suggest and i like the suggestion, then i will accept it. like feeding porridge. her relative got mention infront of both of us that it is better to give cereal now cos now too young. but since Zachary is ok with porridge, why not? sooner or later will have to introduce anyway. But i dont like her idea of MUST feed porridge every single day. some days i like to feed puree with rice cereal and fruits or doing the baby-led style.

phy*o*, Mich
wow, the chee something one sounds good! Maybe next time if Zachary got a lot of phlegm in his throat again, i can bring him there hehe. how many days did you have to feed M with the medicine? how much ang bao to give?

babiesmeme
my hubby cmi one. he is more scared of his parents than me. if i complain to him, no use, he wont even tell his parents cos he is scared that they nag at him. then again, not as if i dont know how stubborn his parents are. they are the type that always think they eat more salt than us eat rice lol

claire
yah lor. really dont understand why some man are so useless. bleh! so angry thinking of what happened.

Reira,

I gave her meds for abt 6 days. But worth the effort. I think it's better for her to take herbs then to take western meds. Dunno, that's what I think. Western meds are "poison". Even the SGH dr who saw my granny for mild stroke also said the same.

phy, my MIL says better let him "review" cos our aim is to "bu" the boy back to health after his entire month of bronchitis and what knots. So I really dun mind if the medicine can keep him away from anymore nebuliser episodes. I really had enough of seeing the PD. Think in 2 months see at least 5 times. I also had 2 small tubes of "cooling" liquid for fever too, that's why $17? Oh that $17 includes the $4 booking fee.

Your red packet sounds like alot. My MIL only give single digit one, think its $4?? She say its "yi shi, yi shi" one cos they earn big bucks from the medicine!

Apparently, my FIL used to see the grandfather of the current doc. Later when the grandfather passed on, my FIL would see the father, and now they medical hall passed on to the son.

Reira, the medicine lasted 4 days for Isaac.

Mich,

I SUPER OVERPAID. Haha!

Next time will be smarter.

I think I won't go back. Cos she only cough for 1 week then I brot her there. Hopefully won't happen again.

Ya, mebbe urs need to bu the baby. Better listen to your MIL.

weishy, so this is the price range for chinese medicine at all TCM clinics ah? Cos that 1 bottle of med is like $14, so I thot like quite expensive. And must drink 10ml x 3 times a day. No joke trying to force in 10ml of herbal stuff everytime.

phy, ha ha, guess its hard for us to know the chinese practices. Cos usually we see western doc is ard $15 for consult... and PD is like $45!

phy*o*
thanks. yah same, i also dont like to give western meds. when i fed Zachary with cough and cold syrup a few months ago when he had too much phlegm, he was screaming and crying as if i am torturing him. then end up never heal till i gave hou zhao san and healed. infact Zachary likes it when i give him hou zhao san haha

mich
thanks. oh wow... so the TCM is actually dai dai siang chuan clinic. is the sinseh now the son or the father?

since your FIL used to see the grandfather of the current doc, so i think the amount your mil give them is ok bah.

that time i went to clementi TCM for my wrists, the medicine price was around $20. must be good herb inside thats why bah. end up i never eat t he medicine cos one day must eat like 10+ pills... scared me.

So for the TCM at thomsom, they see adult too right? maybe one of these day drag my hubby there. his legs cramp every single day after waking up. must be got problem le...

reira, the sinseh now is the son, cos the father has passed away already. Wah 10 pills??? That sounds scary. Seems like the quantity of medicine for TCM like alot leh... yup they see adults also...

so funny.. my mil keeps seeing me buy stuff online. just now she asked me whether there are cheap n thinner tops/tshirts coz she complained that weather v hot!

i gave fil the old navy website n asked him to help her choose then join my spree. haha so funny

mich~bth my kids okiw with chinese medication heheheh ( of cos by force la for lucas...but hayley i will bribe her with wolfberries or gummi bear,cos those medicine really no joke le....very bitter n yucky)

claire> erms. haven let my boy try mango. but he likes apple n hates pear. most of the time i still give him de hb brown rice n oatmeal cereal. only occasionally let him have a diff taste of food

piggy, I cooked my own sauce for pasta, then scoop up for Ray 1st b4 adding seasoning for the rest of us.

reia, squeeze dry 1st, I used cool boiled water for the hankies.

joyce, used good quality hankies, no problem. It is safer than give big carrot and no choking.

long time no 'c'. been super addicted to korean drama queen seon deok that's why no time to come in. how's everyone? my gal seems to be coughing but i'm not sure coz she does that when she cries.

Pris,
Thanks was thinkin wat sauce to add to the pasta... do u jus use pure tomato juice?

Re: Happy Bellies
Any west side mummy keen to share? i wanna order from the Harbour Front Organic shop above $150 den got delivery. After discount is $8.55 Exp in Aug..

Mashy,
i also addicted to tt show v nice..

Eunice,
wat time is the meeting tis sat at compasspt? after 2.30pm m fine, but i hv to bring bb edric along lah..my elder son his daddy bring him for piano lesson at kovan.

Reira,
First Food really good hor i fall in love for the books too.. applicable for asian...i keep borrow n extend then borrow the books again, save money..hehehee

Thomson TCM Sinseh
oh the father pass away liao, i hv not visit the place for 2 years liao, eversince my elder son cough fully recover. my time was his father seeing patient.
look like some mummies hv try tis medical hall, I m impressed by him too. they treat adults too, i had bad cough nvr recover, so I see him too.. my elder son see him, is good to go back to let the sinseh chk again, as chinese medicine can go to the root, then build the body, so the body hv natural antibodies. tis medical hall had veri long history, i trust this medical hall the medicine is brewed from herbs, n powder grind from real herbs.
i need to go back n see the sinseh to bring my energy level back to pre pregnancy. my 气太虚.
for information, if your company medical reimbursement accept TCM, there are registered so can claim.

babiesmeme

shikes..i thought was the milk powder problem and not the switching part...so i added enfapro cos i got the sample. this is bad. i hope the situation improves soon with fruits and she adapts.. if not my house will be overflown wif fm.. *knocks head*

i rang my pd ytd.. n she told me to gif FM with probiotics..like Nan and Mamil..since i alrdy got Enfapro..i bought probiotics from vitakids. i specifically told my MIL to add into her cereal or fruits or what-so-ever..and i bought the yoplait baby yoghurt.. ask her to feed also end up nth was done.. sighs.. waste of my money lor. i felt quite upset la. cos she told me that sometimes its better for babies to drink milk the whole day. *faints* too bad im working..

reira
Hey, tks for solving my website problems! I finally managed to clear all the bullets and unnecessary stuff. U just saved me $100 .. an IT company charged me $100 just to delete all those stuff!

When u cooked porridge for zac, do u mash it again to make it really mushy or you cook it for very long? How long roughly do u cook it? Wanted to borrow books from library too but the one at Sengkang was giving me a headache. The last time i went there looking for pregnancy books, i couldn't find it. After searching around for 10mins in my big tummy, i gave up.

jul
Actually, hubby and me are the culprits at home letting Ovann watch tv .. hahaha ... But for me i still can sacrifice lah, sometimes dun watch at all. But hubby is TV addict lor, once seated on the sofa, must switch on tv de.

Btw, can we meet on Friday at compass point?

can anyone advise on chee seng tong address and phone? My aunt staying in Hougang thinking of going there instead of chinatown. can pm me. thanks

Piggy, i hvnt finished the brown rice tin still got one oatmeal not open yet...cos i oli give during wkend, wkday she take porridge.

Kyler take cereal everyday? when u wan to give him porridge ah?

Btw, after give bb porridge still nit to give cereal? cos i always see bb take porridge.

Sophie, i thk similac also got probiotics le...but still will caused ur bb constipate.

Yoploit yogurt, i see from cold storage oli for 1yr old+ woh? u got one for bb mah?

Pris
want to ask you how much milk is Ray taking now, considering you've been cooking a lot of nice food for him...

When i first started Renzo on solid, the schedule is like:
7am - 180ml milk
11am - solid
2pm - 180ml milk
6pm - solid
9pm - 210ml milk

2 days ago he skipped the 2pm feed as we were busy shopping outside.. so yesterday i also let him try the new schedule:
630am - 180ml milk
1130am - solid
330pm - a bit of fruits
530pm - solid
830pm - 210ml milk

i am still trying to see if i can maintain this new schedule, so that he only drink milk twice a day, does that sound alright?

Felicia, Ray drinking 4-5 times a day, each time he empty both breasts. He is drinking 210ml each time and last feed 240ml, constant for the time being. 6.30am 1st feed, then 7.30am toast bread, at about 9.30am latch, then sleeps till 11.30 to 45am for lunch (porridge, pasta, macroni). fruits at 2pm and latch (sometimes skip if he eats bb biscuit), 3.45pm latch, then nap till 6.45pm. Dinner at 7pm (eat wat we eat without seasoning), then 9.30pm - last feed.

I expressed once a week and he drink with straw but will complain as he prefers to latch on.

Pris,
wow Ray is drinkin so much
n he can drink from straw alr... i try to train kyler but he dun seem to like to drink from straw

Donkeymami,
for a start maybe i will skip 1 cereal feed..

piggy, cos i oli give cereal to my gal during wkend so i thinking after i finished cereal will start her porridge liao..but not sure still nit to give cereal or not...cos normally pple give porridge liao dun give cereal anymore right?

hi pris!
good to see u back!
i'm also still bfing & Ethan onli wans to latch on. i've simply no idea how much he's drinking. how do u gauge how much ray is drinking when latch on? i'm worried tat ethan is not drinking enuff milk since milk is still the main diet & impt for them at this age. i've tried to let ethan drink frm straw but he doesn't know how to do it. he rather sips frm the cup.

piggy,
i may wan to order the cereals but not sure how many to order. i shd still be feeding him cereals when i start on porridge. or are we supposed to stop feeding cereals? cos brown rice cereal is the same as brown rice porridge rite? anyone can advise?

btw, where did yr fren buy the BE dvds? cheap leh. i've been looking for it, esp the signing one. my sis in law pass me the baby can read. but like very boring leh.

Donkeymami,
yup but the cereal got DHA etc so i was thinkin like more nutrient leh... so thinkin of feedin him with cereal till 8mth or so..