(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pris

finally! it took a really long time to set up ur internet leh

felicia

hmm can't base totally on weight, need to take into account height to gauge 'fatness' correctly mah haha

Good morning mommies,
Do u let your baby watch tv? My baby screams and laughs on her one n only dvd on baby songs since 4.5months. Now she seems to get bored. Anyone let ur baby watch Baby Van Gogh, Baby Bach, and Baby Mozart? Good? Anywhere I can get cheaper?

Thanks, Felicia and Weishy.

Yes, very busy over here. Lots of stuff happened over here...

Here's what Ray has tried so far

<font color="ff0000">Fruits:</font>
Apple
Pear
Banana
Papaya
Rock melon
blue berries
Raspberries
nashi pear
A little orange
avocado
peach
apricot
plum
prune
nectarine

<font color="ff0000">Vegetables:</font>
Carrot
pumpkin
squash
spinach
xiao bai cai
cai xin
kai lan
potato
sweet potato
tomato
sweet corn
onion
garlic
zucchini
sweet pea
four season beans

<font color="ff0000">Meat:</font>
chicken
pork
beef

<font color="ff0000">seafood:</font>
salmon (Ray's favourite)
hoki
sea brass
mackerel
tuna ( Ray loves it with mashed potatoes with ebm)
scallop

<font color="ff0000">mushroom:</font>
fresh button mushroom
fresh shiitake mushroom
some canned mushroom

\red {bread:}
toast white bread
toast wholemeal bread
toast multigrain bread
toast soy something bread

<font color="ff0000">other:</font>
tofu

<font color="ff0000">rice\carbo:</font>
jasmine rice
brown rice
basmati rice
japanese rice
pasta - different types
macroni
kway tiao

el nino
my boy tends to puke milk too if he did not drink his milk properly.. like wat jul says..

jul
u receive my sms? i dun quite understand the amount due.. sorry for the trouble..

jul
haha yup yup you are very right on that..

BB
nope, i seldom let my boy watch tv, so far only let him watch "my baby can read" dvd but everytime 15 minutes and maybe 1-2 times a week only.. research shows that it is advisable not to let them watch tv before 2 years old, because it will shorten their attention span, and there are some other reasons also but i do not remember.. so i rather limit his tv time and maybe he will like to spend more time on books.. i even cancelled my cable tv 48 and 55 channels which were my all time fav.. haha but to stop baby from watching tv i got to set a good example so me and hubby nowadays dun turn on tv also... but that's just my thought lah..

Jul, here it is very different from Sg, the people work very slow.

Oh, he also tried ikan bilis, silverfish, yogurt, etc...

jul/felicia
if i use javier height to gauge, he is underweight leh coz less than 18..

Felicia, ideally it's better not to watch tv below 2 but my mil is TV queen lah. My baby watched the whole taiwan series, "Ai" with her n kept saying "Ai" "Ai"... at 4 months plus. Now my mil is watching "Niang Jia", my baby keeps saying "jia", "jia"... So I've no choice but to ask my mil to let baby watch her dvd every morning for 30mins then the rest of the day I dont know liao...

REally peifu the mums who have to deal with bb waking up every hour during the night. Think zr is falling sick (so zhun...just 6m then sick liao
) so last night he was waking up every 40min or so crying and had to carry him and walk around before he slept. This went on till about 4am, then i finally switched off the aircon. Then he slept till abt 8+. Worst thing was #2 was also cranky, so the 2 of them took turns to wake up and cry. hb settled #2, I settle #3...but sometimes I cannot gao dim, hb also have to sing song to him. Lousy mummy

jul,

We meet at compass point as well? But weekdays can? Cos u know lah, weekend is out for me.

*psss ... swenson's got 1-for-1 lunch promo now

Waaaahhh .. so tired. Thot we'd bring ovann to a nearby foodcourt for a quicky breakfast, so no need to bring too much barang barang. End up still gotta prepare the things he 'might' need like toys, pacifier, diaper &amp; wet tissue. And the time needed to prepare, as well as to settle when reach home is abt the same ... hahaha .. time wise abit boh hua like dat. Hiaz .. it's nvr easy to bring a kiddo out.

Eunice,

Ya, still on. But dunno now on or not. My fren most prob asleep. Haha ... If want to order must wait till tonight when I "meet" her.

bb

sam doesn't watch tv. he only gets to watch when me or some visitor is watching tv..then he'll turn his head almost 180deg to try to watch. n once he gets his eyes on the tv, he'll stare eye-big-big, not blinking haha

felicia

i watch tv n make him sit facing me. he'll try his best to twist his head back tho. or when he's on the floor, i'll block his view with furniture or laundry rack muahaha

baby ja

aiyah u cannot use adult bmi number to see over/underweight lah. just to compare weight-height ratio for the bbs here

pris

true.. i rem the 1st time i went to aus. one of my 1st trips, v suaku then

i was so shocked when we went to the supermkt n it was already lowering its doors at 7pm. then we tried mac's at 8pm+ n it was closed! it was like a ghost town on boxing day am. n that was in brisbane - a supposed CITY.

pris

i'm still pumping.. it's 6.5mths liao. praise god i can make it so far. trying to make it to 9mths now, if sam still wants to drink.

claire

oh no, caught from his elder siblings?

eunice

i can't meet in the am. need to feed n bathe sam. these are 2 things hubs doesn't do for me
maybe pm?

cos that's kate spade actual site. sorry! if u want i can pm sgd pxs to u. Email me those that u confirm one and i'll place orders. For colours, only those u see there r available. Once orders placed, I'll sms u. Cos it's a sale so I will only place confirmed orders.

pegsfur

yes, i know ur weekends v busy one haha.

swensens jia buay bah leh

u know yest, i had dinner at pu tien. ate 2 bowls of lor mee, 1.5bowls of rice, half bowl of beehoon, 1 large mantou.. in addition to the other dishes

phy o

i understand completely! when i moved from 50%bm to 33%bm.. then 100%bm.. finally started to have fbm.. i kept opening the freezer to look at my 2/3 packs of 120ml. n when they increased to >10packs, i kept counting them n adding up total no of litres then dividing them into how many days feeds. hubs say i cuckoo liao

In case anyone looking for organic pears and apples: I found some really reasonable ones at NTUC Finest (Thomson Plaza). One bag of 12 organic apples for $4.80, and one bag of 10 pears for $5.80 -- considered very cheap for organic fruits.

jul, no lah, its normal. I also keep counting the # of packs of FEBM in the freezer. Esp now that I am stopping soon, I need to track and see how long the stock can last.

pris, hi, hope everything is well!

Pris,
long time no see
ur BB really r
tried many food wor..

BB ,
I jus started on BB Einstein for my BB.. Ya ideally is below 2 but I feel tt it only a guideline ultimately it how we the parent guide them for me I only let him see 1 disc max per day.. Anyway now his attention span is short after abt5-10 min watching the show he start to make noise ,suck fingers etc..

felicia,
55 also my fav...missed so much shows since ryan arrived! haha
i still try watch abit everyday..so the show become bits n pieces
i will carry ryan on my shoulder...i face tv so he cant see!

jul,
i also do dat at times...put him in bouncer, bumbo, jumperoo...but put chair or something to block his view

claire,
ryan also fell sick when he was 6mths 1day old!
sianz...tot on tbf...he shld b stronger
now still coughing n haf blocked nose
v hard to sleep at nite

BB,
in the BP threads...u can find it alot cheaper!
compare to kiddy palace..its a few dollars off for every VCD/DVD!

pris,
welcome back!

Jul, my baby also stare at the TV n will turn her head toward the tv no matter how u turn away from it. However, it was temporary. Now your tv on, she doesnt care much, she will play her own jump jump or her toys.

Piggytoh, I heard baby einstein is a good start off dvd. The baby van gogh is highly recommended.

Sharon, I didnt see any baby einstein BP threads. Do they have it now?

weishy

ya a lot of variety introdced to him. but i see pricillia. haha.. her varity more than me.. i also got let bb try prune. nice to add to some food sometimes so got taste.

==============

Reira

ya thats what the book says... but i don really follow. i mix the foods around. haha...

ya.. LOCK and LOCK is the best lor.. my hse now got a lot. i think i have to buy somemore liao le..

===============

TV

hHA.. when ever i on tv, i put my bb at him bed to play or put him at his walker inside his room. his walker cant walk but can turn 360 deg for him to play his toys. than i can watch tv and do my stuff at the same time. haha..

BB,
ya BB Einstein is gd.. i din buy form BP thou i find not v cheaper also.. my friend help me buy 1 set 26 DVD only $40+.. i heard BB can read gd also... waitin for taka sales...

jul
yah, i tink he caught from them. So heartpain to see him struggling with his stuffy nose at night. But now he cough, we also dunno if he's just playing or really need to cough. Quite cute, then when we laugh at him, he'll smile back and cough a bit more...then we have to tell him not to do it :p

Felicia,
aiyo teach cannot, can share how i do lah, yday was mine first try out cooking brown rice, it really take time to cook i put brown rice in slow cooker pot over the fire, once boil i put in the 2 slices of young ginger, when it get boil again i place the pot on the slow cooker to cook, i took 3.5hrs, i put the threadfin fish once the brown rice open up, before serving juz smash the fish.

Eunice,
when is the meeting up @ compass pt? u recover fm ur chicken pox?

jul,
I hv trf the additional S$1.19 to ur bank acct. pls check. details as follows :
Amount S$1.19
Transaction Reference 2739100841
I can collect at ur doorstep, we r fernvale residents

Pris,
finally internet is up. ur bb amazing hv try lots of food.

mich,
i ever bought the pack of organic apples &amp; pear at hougang point NTUC Extra too.

My mil give my bb bird nest soup how can He is only 6 month old ! I told my hub and he stop her she not happy .. Btw do you let your bb wear romper or t- shirt at home my mil keep on saying too hot for him

Started my gal on solid food. She is not interested at all. She only interested those food we eat.

Phy

My gal hate pumpkin too....

april
thanks a million!!! i was wondering if ginger is needed, heng ask you sia.. haha..

Pris
wah power leh you, can cook so many things for your bb, i must work harder on his recipe liao, cannot just give banana, papaya those easy to prepare stuff liao.. haha, so your bb likes vege so far? i have not given him any green vege leh, i should mix that with porridge rather than cereal right? the taste won't be nice hor since we don't put and sauce or salt, the only thing i can think of is to cook carrot+corn+pork rib soup which is very sweet, and use that soup to cook porridge then add in vege..

babiesmeme
aiyo bird nest at this young age ah, no idea if it is good lah but i dun think PD will recommend that ba.. but what to do, MIL are usually not easy to deal with de.. t shirt i nvr let my boy wear at home de, romper yes but in laws also say hot, so now let him wear singelet and diaper only, then everytime they will say yah like this is good, not hot... but we have the concern that bb's belly button got exposed easily mah so got to really keep an eye on that de.. romper is the most convenient one of course..

Claire,

My no 2 also caught from no 1. But after I brought her to Chinese sinseh. After taking the medication, she managed to vomit out one lump of phleghm on her own. Thereafter, still have phleghm, but better. Suppose to bring her back after the medication finishes cos doc says she doesn't know how to expel the phleghm, but I think the BM is helping her to shit out the phleghm. Saw some sticky stuff this morning. But her flu still there, so will continue to let her take the medicine till she recovers completely. Meanwhile I have to pump more milk to give her more. Haha ..

Babiesmeme Felicia cao

I think the older generation has this thing abt baby scared of hot. I love to let my bb wear rompers, but apparently whatever clothes I let bb wear they always say bb is hot. Best part is EVERYTIME when they carry baby from me they will say to baby "aiyo Hot Hot ah!". Very irritating.

Daph agreed with you I don't understand .. If bb hot they sure will cry or scream .. They wonder why we don't let bb wear those hole hole type but so ugly le .. How can baby take bird nest at this age too young and cold right 。 lucky never stay together

felicia
must use young ginger hor, i learn it fm first food borrow fm library..hehe

i puree carrot &amp; potato, pumpkin, jap sweet potato, make extra balance put in ice cube tray with cover, so throw in 2 cubes cook with brown rice porridge. today went market buy pork mince meat with no fats meat. today i add in carrot, mince meat n threadfin fish. his dinner food today see if he like it.