(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

zen, isaac also only 6.9kg leh... and PD says babies his age should be 7-8kg sigh.

weishy, my eldest one born on Vesak Day also but she not vegetarian ha ha. But vegetairan also good la, cos very healthy.

hi hi morning!

It was nice catching up with the mummies on Monday. So sorry, realised that i did not formally introduce myself to those who were there. Was kinda lost and just sat down there. So embarrassed about my behaviour.

*sob*...my colleague just told me that my hair on the top seems to be thinning quite a fair bit. Anything that can be done? I am already using thinning hair shampoo...

Is it true that our memory will be affected after delivery? Haha...my memory is getting from bad to worst.

It is ok to add in FM into Happy Bellies right? Will it be really that “heaty” for baby? My MIL is not comfortable with that. She rather feed the bb milk after the cereal. Am I feeding him too much, he is taking about 2 tablespoon right now. Officially started him yesterday…for babies who are easily constipated, what is the natural remedy? He is already drinking quite a fair bit of water. What would you mummies suggest?

Joycec-heheheh dun worry but Reira aske for ur number then I realized I also dun hv heheheh

Thinning hair-will stopp soon n new hair will grow our slowly.nothing u can do le

Cereals in milk-well it's better they drink after cereals but last milk feed to make him full full dun wake up then abit is oki.

Constipation-I tried everything Liao but dun help too for my gal.unless buy those medicine to 通便 but can't rely on it right....... So loads of water really.
Sin weather hot plus pee pee all out Liao so need more water

weishy,
only red red around the hole area...
see already very pek cher

the rest of area is ok...
maybe he poo too many times...
cos he got drink EBM at IFC...
the IFC change him every 3hr...

haiz...

joycec

for constipation, i usually use papaya, pear or prune juice. I find papaya most effective but the poo poo & pee will be very stink.

Mashy, no need papaya but once start on cereal the poo super stinko liao. I always end up doing the 'wu-ah wu-ah' when I wash my girl's butt!

halo mummies!!

cloudme.. i onli take fish oil thats all... den when i feel that supply drop.. drink papaya fish soup/drink more milo/eat black fish and it'll slighly boost up the supply

Mashy, wahaha...you actually think the BM poo smells good! Its definitely not as bad as cereal poo but I don't think its fragant leh...

Yes, I want to try avocado next. I really pray she likes it then I don't have to do the 'wu-ah wu-ah'

Irene,
my oi dun like avocado when i first gave him after i add FM to it he finish everything

Piggy, yes...last time my boy also don't like avocado. My boy likes banana but my girl dislike it.

Mashy, ya..I think avocado not much taste and its creamy so adding some milk to it will taste better.

cloudme~ya poo poo to many times liao tat area stressed up la....poor thing hor
....pains my heart when they suffer....when they fall sick

lucas too...but we try to wash his bum instead of using wet wipes...too much also will be sensitive....

cloudme
yup like weishy said i also dun think wet wipes are good.. we wash renzo's bum everytime he poos, and try to air his bum at least once a day for 10 minutes.. think that helps..

and we stopped using nappy cream long time ago, i do not know how effective it is but seems that my boy feel more comfy with baby powder..

felicia~me also dun use diaper cream unless got redness....cos its extra la....nothing happen to their bum bum ma...why waste $ n who knows its causing the sensitivity

I tried airing bb's bum but not for 10mins. Tink I need to do tht on the wkend. Cos his poo poo area seems red most of the time. Hb said is normal, why worry. But I told him tht we dun usually hav red bum aso mah, how can tis b normal. Weekday my mil wash his bum with water. Wkend lazy mummy uses wet wipes.

Shld learn frm the mummies here so hardworking.

re: bb bum
i onli use diaper cream when i redness... but usually i use those powder i buy from medical hall.. those old ppl say its so good lo.. ethan starting on his 3rd box liaoz.. quite big ard $5 each

Is it ok to use powder? My bb gets stuffy nose rather easily so I hav not been usin powder.

Janice wat powder is tht? Wat is it gd for?

Janice~ya wat powder?dun put too much at the bird bird or bye bye area cos powder may go into the pee pee hole n may cause something...( dunno wat thoug,just prevent la )

friend commented me consultant here liao everyday gt comments......i'm actually too free liao waakakkak

so forgive me ya

joycec~no la just like having a pet....u take care of their well being ma.....dogs/cats u will send them for grooming etc.....if they lick on a particular spot the whole day then u may think its something to do with fleas or skin.

so bbs same la bt more attention cos from our tummy ma
unless u forgot about the delivery process liao lol :p

diaper rash

i use wet wipes to clean sam's butt coz he poos after every feed! hiaz..

then i wipe with cotton wool dipped in water n pat dry with nappy cloth.

diaper cream is used at the last diaper change b4 bed.

no diaper rash since i've been doing this

jul
wah Sam still poos after every feed now? Renzo used to poo after every meal when he was 1-2 months old, only for the first month we use wipes, after that wash everytime liao.. now he poos once a day in the morning, sometimes one more time in the afternoon, but no more than 3 times a day for sure, and good thing is at night he dun poo, hahaha..

Ehh...is the poo poo area red considered diaper rash? If yes it means my boy has it quite often. Tis mummy needs to stand in naughty corner.

Weishy, to me confinement period is more 'painful' than delivery. Haha...cos I opted for 'hapi-dural' for delivery

solid food
just one question to ask, weishy the consultant please, you got any advice? hahaha..

okay I started Renzo on solid from yesterday after reading a few baby schedules here, very useful indeed.. but still i am wondering, i give Renzo healthy time creal, 9 milk powder scoops, add 80-90ml of water into it, and a little bit of carrot for today, the pigeon feeding dish is almost full after i mix everything, he can finish everything and still drink another 120ml of milk, all these lasts him for 4 hours..

but is he eating alot? i personally think so, true that he is fat so stomach must be bigger, but just wondering is it too much then?

Hehe...thot aaden was eatin alot. He had 4 scoops of milk scoop happy bellies and 1hr later he down 200ml of milk. Wanted to wAit but he was already makin alot of noise when he finished the cearel. This is too much too rite?

re: diaper cream

i use the diaper cream only last diaper change before bedtime and after bath. My hb's granny kept nagging me to put diaper cream for my gal coz her other beloved grandson always put for his son. I'm like c'mon, this is my 2nd kid. I definitely know better than him. Anyway, he's very rich, so plenty of $ to splurge.

i use those powder buy from medical halls... the older generations used it... intially i was skeptical bout using powder also... den he rashes so i use.. next day recover liao..

i use on the sides of his thighs.. all the folds and his butt.. use sparingly lo..

its called "MILDERMA" Prickly Heat Dusting Powder.. but its not cooling lke those snake powder..

Joycec~hehhehe looks like u hv "itchy legs" like me cant stay home for too long :p

Felicia~wah lau....dun le......me no consultant la just that my friend pulls my leggy!!!!!

too much or not...well if renzo is comfy i dun see why not le....cos all bbs diff le....ur renzon n alot others here all "big" eaters hehehehe my tiny lucas hor.....dun like to drink n eat much

cos for lucas sometimes i put 7 scoops of milk powder scoops of cereal,carrot etc n 2 sccops of fm....soemtimes he can finish sometimes no so depends...everyday will be different for them.

some days go for a swim will drink more or play jumperoo etc also will ma.

some days teethign not comfy will not drink at all

n renzo also 72.5cm ma he's to the taller size ma

when they grow older they will be taller n even out the fats la

as well as when they sick...( sure one day will hv one ma ,touch wood of cos) then 3/4 days sick they can lose 2kgs liao so...dun worry n feed him now

unless ur PD says "mommy think ur boy needs to go into special programme" ehehehheh no la just joking ya

seems like most bbs here are starting solids

my boy initially quite like to eat leh, but these few days he go on solid strike! my mum told me that he fly spit his cereal out, landed all over her face! so notti!

mashy
i also think that now dont need to apply diaper rash cream during every diaper change.

teething
Dr Ong told me that teething will not cause baby to be cranky and that it is just an old wives tale. But it seems that most baby who are teething are cranky at night?

Mashy, same...I also use desitin on my girl for the last diaper change only. I am preventing cases of her pooing in the middle of the nite without me realising then get infection from the poo overnite.

kiki, my girl also loves cereal initially but now she don't wanna take much.

swim diaper
For the following mommies. If you are still interested in the swim diaper, please email to me at [email protected] so that I can email the details to you.

Title: iplay swim diaper
1) joyful
2) eboey
3) phy_o
4) Christina
5) ginoh
6) sabychew
7) mwerkz
8) joeey

Advise needed for solid food :-

As for cereal and brown rice how many teaspoon should my boy eat is fine ?

And normally how the texture like ? I somtime scare to thick will cause him constipation .

Is it fine to feed he until the cereal is cold ,my boy take his own sweet time

How to make apple puree ? can I just use a metal spoon to take up so fresh from the apple to feed my boy ( My boy no teeth yet ) .

babyja~oic.... tks tks

cereal qty~depends on how much bb can finish

texture~abit like "orh ni" but more watery n runny.if not bb cannot swallow still very young n learning how to actually.

cold cereals/food~no choice cos u cant get a warmer n put bowl inside while feeding all the time....( at home maybe can but outside how le? )
to me its oki cos they dun eat fast think till primary school bah or maybe later.......food is not their priority...unless one likes food very much
if not 1 hour to feed a bowl of porridge is normal. not all bbs will be like others...so co operative hehheheh mine is not lor....alot of clowning then can eat finished within an hour ( hayley) lucas too about 30mins...half bowl of cereals only!!!!!

apples~feed fresh-cut into pcs n blend cos too hard to mash
steamed ones-cut,steam,mash

seems like there's a problem? Can't post?

Anyway, ytd I was quite adventurous. I finally tried apple puree (Homecook). Steamed the apple and then mashed. Little M had great fun eating it.

I also think my girl is eating/drinking a lot.
Gave her 4 tablespoons of Healthy Times cereal, after that one hour later she still can down 6oz of milk (~170ml - which is her usual). Wondering if the cereal is filling?

Weishy,
Ok.

Reira,
My email is [email protected]. Thanks.