(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegsfur,
yup i rem...the moo moo design one!

kikilala,
yes...they say pregnant woman got craving muz satisfy one...else bb will b greedy next time? some say bb will keep saliving...so give in abit to ur craving but not too much...i always cannot tahan n give in...hahaha

bean,
some ppl say pregnant cant eat crab...but i eat abit lor

mashy,
tink only u dun like durian during this period...heheee

BB swimming tub combo set selling at $85 quite ex right? i heard motherhood fair also selling abt the same price.

I asked my fren to chk out for me as she's in taiwan nw..anyone knw which part of taipei can find all these bb stuffs?

pegsfur, oic.. did ur gyne say bb is a bit small? or average? dun worry.. am sure bb can hit 2kg soon. their wt gain now v v fast!

i heard that besides durian and beef, ginseng/dan sheng can also help to bu bb's wt.. but not sure how true.

bobo, how heavy are ur girls now?

mashy, i don't have any durian craving either. That day my hb bought the mao san wang (damn expensive!) and all I ate was 1 seed and its enough already ha ha.

mich

i didn't even dare to eat durians. The smell of it puts me off.
That day i went supermarket and had a whiff of the durians, yuks, really made me wanna puke.

The nepia delivery service is so sucky. Used to be so punctual... Wonder if it's a new delivery agent.

Supposed to come yesterday afternoon, end up didn't appear and when i called them, they cooked up a story abt their vehicle breaking down (think i so stupid ah). Then promised to come today from 10-11am. Till now still no sight of them.

sharon
Hahaha .. ya, my moo moo pillows

jules
My gynea said he's of average weight, but i'm only scared if anything happens during these few wks and he decided to come out early, at least he'll be more stable with a heavier weight.

Hope he gets fatten up soon

fat bobo

oh yah, since u having elective c-section so just share with u. Coz we don't experience thru labour, the bb's lungs aren't that mature enough. Labour helps the bb to 'squeeze' out the water in their lungs. So if deliver too early via c-section without labour, they may have lung probs. But of course with twins, it's usually abt weighing the risks of keeping them in. Really, i think it's better if u can keep them in longer unless it poses a danger to them or to yourself.

bobo,
haha! your doggie so funny. If I have big and juicy roast duck, I'll be very possesive also. keke! but if its up to date with all the vacines then should be ok.

Sharon,
yah, I better satisfy my craving for bubble tea now... buy "sweet talk" later...

bobo

So fast u have decided on the c-section date... U ask ppl to choose the date?

Jules

The coffeeshop name is Hao Di Fang. Is actually at the void deck coffeeshop. The place is actually behind henderson sec school and opp the henderson market... There is actually 2 coffeeshop side by side. Than the next door coffeeshop the prawn noodles is v nice as well...

I heard about the old folk tales also. But than my SIL never even eat crab the kid also like that leh...

kiki

As what i know if the baby birth weight is below 2.5kg is consider pre-mature leh....

pegsfur, oic.. ya u have a point also. i also paranoid mummy.. counting down to wk 34 cos at least by then bb's lungs are matured already.. wldnt need to be on ventilator or intubated even if come out prematurely after wk 34.

SL, thanks for the info! i dun think i've been there b4! now feel like eating chilli crab.. but actually i mainly like the fried mantou to dip in the chilli crab sauce! dun mind forgoing the crab hehehe..

pre-mature : as long as bb born earlier than 37 wks, it is considered premature.. regardless of birth wt.

Read abt crab, cravings, salivating BB etc..

That's the thing abt these sayings by the older folks. Not consistent one.

If u knock on wall during pregnancy & ur BB got prob, they will say it's ur fault. If u knock & nothing happens to BB, they will say u heng ah. If you din knock, but BB got prob, they say u very suay.

My MIL kept telling me not to drink any cold water b/c BB will get phlegm. I really cannot tahan lah, weather too hot. But she also says I cannot be greedy or not eat my cravings, coz BB will salivate & be very greedy next time. So do I drink cold water & make BB get phlegm or dun drink & get a greedy & salivating BB??? Sigh..

Jules / SL
considered premature if BB is before W37 and I think can only be discharged if BB is more than 2kg.

I just more fangxin cos I'm 2.2kg at birth myself and had no problem. If BB decide to come out now, then should be strong enough also. Best is BB around 3kg, easier to look after.

kikilala, i also v light wt bb like u.. mum said i was abt 5 pounds.. which is abt 2.2kg too, and somemore i was fullterm - ie born at 38wks! similarly i had no problems also.. cos fullterm ma.

drs most concerned abt bb's lungs lor.. so long as more than wk 34, most are ok.. if mummy goes into labour b4 wk 34, will need to take a steroid jab to help hasten maturation of bb's lungs. but that jab is also linked with hole in the heart subsequently.

got preterm labour for my #1, so got all these info drilled into my brain. hence crossing fingers that bb at least stays in till wk 34, although bb's wt is likely to be more than 2kg now at wk 32.

Jul, i cant stand all these old wives tales also.. for #1 i still try to restrict my cold drink intake, but for this one, boey tahan! weather too hot! but i do try not to be blatant and go agst the rules in front of my mil la.. so that if touchwood anything happens, i wont get fingers pointing at me :p

sunshineg, i feel so sorry for the little girl and her family.. sigh.. health really most impt. i've made a contribution as well cos i really dunno how else to help.

my girls are abt 1kg each at wk 28 detail scan.

hehe.. haiyo... i cant stand it when my dog n i look into each others' eyes.... the connection..the bond...... oh gosh.. i miss him now. n i miss my shihtzu oso.. she's very old liao..will be wat..11 this yr? she at my mum's plc.. n i often feel so bad to like neglact her. sighz!

oh..by the way.. extract this frm somewhere:
"Premature birth: About 60 percent of twins, more than 90 percent of triplets, and virtually all quadruplets and higher-order multiples are born premature (1). The length of pregnancy decreases with each additional baby. On average, most singleton pregnancies last 39 weeks; for twins, 35 weeks; for triplets, 32 weeks; and for quadruplets, 29 weeks."

because a woman's womb is only enough for one to most one-an-a-half baby... most multiples if 'kept' too long in the womb wun't do much good as compared to a singleton. the space, and the amount of nutrients to them both...somehow also poses a certain level of risk.

especially one condition which alot of us (twin parents) are worried n afraid of is TTTS, twin-to-twin transfusion syndrome. in some cases, the babies have to be delivered even earlier to avoid the situation from getting worse. ie, the difference in size n weight of each baby. some TTTS which surface earlier.. has much higher risk. of cos, there are surgery which can be done which might save the babies.. that's to draw fluid (or whatever) from the bigger baby when inside the womb. yes, something like drawing amniotic fluid.. but can u imagine drawing from the baby? the sad result of TTTS is, the smaller baby will continue to 'give' n the bigger baby continue to 'receive'.. and ultimately.. might diminish.. n die!

so at certain stage..when it's determined that it's best to stop the TTTS to get any worse... the gynae will juz deliver the babies le... smtimes even at wk34.

though at wk28 for me.. my girls' weight at not much a difference.. but then..earlier on.. prof from NUH did highlight this to me.. so.... we still hfta be mindful (although there's nothing we can control about).. n keep close monitoring.

just went for appt last night, bb now 1.3kg at 29wks. Yay, now can see bb every 2 wks already. EDD still at 31 Aug, but doc said from wk 38 can start to pick date for op. Will be having csec with epi, same as with first 2.

Actually, I also dunno whether to go ahead or not. My aircon peng san and had the servicing guy here yesterday. He said cannot save liao, recommend to change new one. So tempted esp with the weather so bad now, but dunno whether I shd just put up with it just in case anything happens or go ahead for the comfort of all involved (hb and my 2 gals). Headache. If no aircon during confinement, I think I may go mad with the outside heat and the sweatiness from confinement. Some more now building condo just outside my flat, so all the breeze kena blocked by the development. sianz man.

sharon
where did you bought the husk? For the cloth, i think if buy from chinatown atleast have to buy half a metre or something right? haha i dont have sewing machine so if i wanna make myself hor, have to sew myself leh. my sewing skill is a bit... erm...

shirley
yeah it is a korean company, quite big also. u can see their cars everywhere in SG. but the one i work in not selling/making car de but same brand lah.

pegsfur
where did u buy your beansprout husk pillow set?

cloudme
wa! the uncle is so nice to give you beansprout husk! now i headache donno where to find. maybe in the end will buy those pre-made de.

bean
Where is the chili crab at still road? actually i dont like crab one lah, just that my mil have been bugging my hubby to bring her to eat chili crab so i told him just bring her once and settle it. she have been asking since last year aug leh!!

bobo
WAA! so fast!!! 5th aug!! i guess u can go and eat a lots of durian to aid them in gaining weight then! :D i am praying for my Zachary to come out 1st Aug onward cos I want him to be Aug baby! Been counting down everyday and tell him how many days left when he is awake (moving).

mich
for this kind of issue, the MOM officer told me that Govt will not fund the company 2 months ML salary. so all 4 months will have to be paid by the company. it is like a "punishment" to them lor.

sharon
my baby was 1.9kg at week 31 day 7. :D Dr Wong said he is 100g bigger than normal so estimate weight will not be those 2.8kg de but 3.1 - 3.2kg.

oh wow! ikea fitted sheets is so cheap!! 2 for $12!

reira,
my mum went market to collect, she ask those ppl who sell beansprouts to keep for the husks her...slowly collect lor...
i also wan make but i dun haf sewing machine...so i might pay someone to sew for me...haha

mine 1.5kg at 29 weeks n she say abit big n ask me watch diet...but compared to the rest, dun seem v big...did she ask u to monitor ur diet?

yup...seems cheap hor? the ikea advert keep flashing...so i go take a look...seems like i need make a trip to ikea

tink u shld haf high chance of getting ur 4mths pay! dats good news

Sharon
My baby was 1.4kg at week 28 day 4. Yah, she mention it is about 100g bigger than average and ask me to watch my diet too. Like less carbo, durian, sweets, bubble tea ect. But actually I didn't watch. End up kept eating fast food, bubble tea and durian. Luckily his weight at week 31 day 7 is not that heavy *phew*. I think she is more concern about the weight because i am only 1.5m lah. Cos from her previous 2 patients who is around my height also, tried natural birth for 10 hrs but pelvic bone or birth canal too small so baby cannot come out (but initially did engage). Both ended up emergency c-sect.

Pegsfur
Thanks! Will check it out and compare price =)

About peanuts
Yesterday I found this page at babycentre.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/nutrition/foodsafety/peanutsexpert/

reading abt having bb put on more weight.

pegsfur,
me also the same, esp since gynae broach the idea of emer c sect if bb hp continue to drop - will know by tomorrow if really need to c sect this week. been eating durians almost everyday (a few seeds everyday) for past few days, hoping to let bb gain till at least 2kg these few days. as of tue, bb is 1.66kg.

jules,
re jab to mature bb lungs - why does it lead to hole in the heart? what other pro & cons?

reira
good that u will be getitng yr 4 months ML benefits.

sharon
i got those ikea sheets too - pretty ok quality - soft t shirt material type which i like. the IKEA sheet protectors are also good. cotton material on top and below layer is plastic.

anyone knows when the earliest bb can come into this world and don't need to go into ICU or SCN?

from what i read, it seems that as long bb is above 2kg, can discharge from hospital...but the number of gestational weeks seem to range from week 35 regardless of weight..anyone can confirm?

pegsfur
for the beansprouts husk pillow by the seller, isnt it quite expensive? I think if buy from kiddy palace also around $20?

reira,

U mean kiddy palace selling 1 set at $20?

The ones i ordered are:

1 small pillow $9.50
1 small bolster $9.50
1 chest bolster $13.50

reira,
okies, tink dr wong is more pro natural
bah...dats y dun wan bb to b too big

some websites sell the pillow for $10+ only...

babymaking,
thanks...shall make a trip down to ikea to get it...plus i need the plastic covering for the baby cot too

so u b goin to c doc again tml...how's bb movements tis few days?

Wah piangz .. i just pricked myself for the sugar test and it actually shot up to 7.4 from 4.2 from morning's test. The culprit? A pc of bread spread with half strawberry jam and half butter. The jam still states that it is safe for diabetic to consume .... piangz .. kena conned.

pegsfur,
which brand?
need to ask my dad to keep off that kind of jam too...
cos my dad got diabetic cos of job nature...

reira,
i also bought the pillow form cuteeland 7 and i have received it already.. hmm.. i can say good bah cos its not stingy with the husks..

pegsfur,
how come the chest bolster so cheap.. u havent include the cover izzit..
so tempted to buy becos got new design.. that time i brought 1 big pillow and 1 big bolster.. now thinking to buy the chest bolster.. hee

pegsfur, i think the reason being is the "strawberry jam", my dietitian told me no JAM at all!

My dietitian told me even for yoghurt also, even the label said low sugar also cannot take, must only that plain yoghurt.

babymaking,
I was born at 32W and 2.2kg... My mum says no need to go into ICU or incubator. But its more then 30yrs ago, so technology should be much better now.

Recently my kolig bb's full-term (38W) but only 1.1kg, so still got to go to ICU. It depends on BB's overall condition.

shirley,
for the beansprout pillow,
we just put the husk only rite?
need to have cotton wool(used in pillow) or other stuffings?

kiki, at 38w and only 1.1kg, oh dear... is there a medical reason for that?

reira, er, so would have been more worth it if your company didn't dismiss you back then isn't it? Now they have to go and pay an extra 2 months of ML.

Mich,
my kolig got high blood pressure, so somehow the nutrients didnt get to BB. Actually she herself put on alot of weight but BB didnt. BB got to stay in hospital until about 2kg then can be discharge.

bbmaking
I did check with my gynae before. He said not the weight but the maturity of bb is important. You can explore with your gynae the options of the jab to strengten bb lungs.

Can't be here for the past few days, my bro's pc motherboard and HDD crashed and we are still trying to figure out the problem.

Also I think due to the weather, Kai came down with a cold and fever, so fighting fever with him and getting him to take more water and rest.

Reira, good to know that you are getting your paid ML, but do follow up, coz like your ex-company going to drag on.

hubby returning fr bangkok tonite...my sis suggest he dun come home n ask him quarantine himself for a few days...but he is well and not sick...never see him for so many days...miss him so much
wat will u all do?

claire, why not just install new aircon? my old aircon also starting to die.. and i was scared it wldnt make it thru my confinement. so gonna install new system 2 aircon next wed. just make sure u are not in the house during the installation lor.

pegsfur, u ate white bread? or wholemeal bread? wholemeal bread wont cause sudden increase in blood sugar level like white bread will i think..

babymaking, did ur gyne say why u may need c-section this wk? what is bb hp?

re steroid injection - they usually use dexamethasone. it's linked with development of a patent ductus arteriosus.. which is a small hole in the heart. u can google for more info on it. but usually the pros outweigh the cons lor.. cos making sure bb's lungs are more impt.

pegsfur
Whoa!! the chest bolster is very very big leh!!! I plan to buy 1 for chest only. She put in the thread, chest bolster for $17.50? but u got it during promotion thats why $13.50?

mich
well not really worth it lah. its like they dont need to pay someone from may - july. so kind of like break even liao.

haiz, donno how to email the MOM officier leh... what to say?