(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

joyce : The news already say swing flu will continue for 2 year , as currently still no better medicine to cure it in a faster way

i think that time SARS was a bit more contained cos the spread wasnt as worldwide as now...

and mexico had a few cases liao, then it was made known to the world... by then so many americans etc got it liao.

pris

yah, but there may be some pp from melbourne on that flight? i think it's safer that he wears a mask. Has to be N95 mask. Normal surgical mask only blocks transmission from yourself to others. Only N95 can block outside transmission to yourself. And u need to create a seal to make sure there's no gaps. My hb told me he went thru a course on how to wear the N95 mask. Very very leh cheh. Need to apply a seal somemore.

pris

i won't dare be the guinea pig and try out the vaccine until it's proven safe. Coz some of these vaccines have severe side effects and u won't know until much later.

Pris,
ya lor cos it their choice to go holiday mah ... heng Perth not affected also if not i will ask my HB dun come back better hahah...

MAshy,
Dec he confirm comin back but Aug not sure yet...

Janice,
myHB say Perth is currently safe so hope the flu will not spread over ther yet..

morn everyone..
i'm on leave today.. hee..
its was raining veri heavliy tis morning so dun feel like waing up...
btw..
got some question to ask leh..
i heard some mummies in the forum say we must prepare a can of infant milk b4 bb is give birth.. any recommedation on which brand to buy?

piggy/pris,

Hard to say leh ... u see how it spread to so many states in U.S? One of the recent infected boy went to sidney and melbourne ... we wldn't know if he got infected in sidney or melbourne, or that he got it in melbourne, den went to sidney?

So far all of s'pore cases were 'imported' cases but i'm pretty sure very soon there's gonna be a spread in local commnuity, judging from some of the irresponsible travellers who didn't quarantined themselves aft visiting affected countries.

toking abt the H1N1.. i also very worried leh.. cos after i give birth.. i will be travelling wit my 3 months old bb to find his daddy.. hai.. dunno baby can take jab to prevent this flu anot.. than they so small also cannot wear mask rite.. hai..

jac

no need lah. Why need to prepare a can of infant milk? U can get some free bottles at the hospital if u need just for a few feeds. Unless u don't intend to bf.

Pris
oic. Good that he's in health science, then he knows better on what he should do. Now just gotta pray that there's no one on his flight sitting near him who will kenna, else also mandatory home quarantine.

Jacqueline : baby 3 month better those travel during this season , as flu is everywhere leh . baby wear mask sure very uncomfortable and keep crying

jac

everyone sure have milk lah not like you're under-nourished or what. Just have to go thru the 'pain and suffering' first. hehe. Some come a little easier than the rest. But if u persist, i'm sure you'll have.

Pegsfur,
ya everything is unknown now so can only hope my HB side not badly affected by then.. so gotta see how it goes lor..

bean,
u mean there's bb mask in the market??

Pris,
let hope the situation will get better as time past.. oh, so you going to the delivering room by yrself ah.. or yr dh will be back to acompany u..

Popped in a while & saw Jac's post abt formula milk

My CL also asked me to stand by a can of FM. But I'm worried she will secretly feed BAbylet that at nite to keep him full.

I feel like just getting samples from the hospital/PD as advised here for emergency.

But how shd I hide the FM ah?

mashy,
ya that's what i'm planning.. so i will try hard even i dun have cos i already invested on a medela breast pump liao..expensive lol if dun use also waste $$.. haha

my hb n i decided 2b brave n not buy any formula milk. he said worse come to worse, he'll just go to NTUC...

we're both scared tt i give up on breastfeeding too easily... or tt MIL tries to supplement...

sunshine,
Hahaha .. same here .. i oso not buying FM cos scared i will give in if bb cries or like u, if MIL tries to interfere.

piggy,
Yah lor .. even if ultimately the virus is gonna spread, let's hope it doesn't spread so fast

Pegsfur,
ya lor cos my HB alr v sad he might not witness the labour n be the first to carry baby so hopefully the virus will not spread until so jialatz n spoilt his plan to come back in Dec...

re: FM to standby
the samples from the hospital should be adequate for the first 1-2 days after you discharge. can run to nearby shop to get if bm hasn't come in by then

for TMC, they have different brands of samples. if you don't have any preference, they will give you what's on 'advertisement' - depending on their sponsors time to time

Jac, my dh is returning here for 2 months so he will go with me to delivery suite.

I will not have formula especially if CL or MIL do confinement, they will say you have no milk. With my mum, it is different coz my mum bfding us too haaaha.

mashy,
hee.. bb face so small rite.. haha.. tot got small 1 in the market for them..

jul,
ya.. that day i call my CL to confirm something, i told i will be total bf so i dun intent to buy any FM but she says 1st few days no milk.. so i tell her see how 1st.. than i found out a solution.. but still thinking abt it.. my sis also jus give birth in mar so she got spare frozen bm.. so i was thinking.. my sis can be my bb 'na ma' for the 1st few days.. jus that we are still thinking of how to transfer the frozen breast milk to my hse.. cos my sis says once defroze has be consume liao..

jul, the last time I had a baby, the PD told me she cannot give out samples for infant formula (< less than 6 mths) as its regulation to encourage women to breastfeed.... dun know if the policy has changed now.

jac, your sister's milk may not be suitable for your newborn leh... cos the milk ss/components changes with the bb's age to suit the bb.

pris,
good for you.. cos i going in alone.. but i noe my dh also wan to go in also but he cant due to work schedule.. he also veri say cos this is our 1st bb..

mich, now still in spore but will be leaving in end jul.. so if bb wan to pop out in 35 weeks than he is able to see his bb arrival.. if not i will go in alone

pris, jac, piggytoh,
tink u all quite independent lei...hb not ard wif u all...somemore piggytoh u might need go delivery room alone
my hb overseas for a few days i already cannot take it...tink cos since i noe him, neva separated fr him b4....
esp now preggie, so emo
i tink im so useless

sharon

haha, same here. That time when i was working, we had a company retreat at batam for 1 night, i already sian liao... Good thing my hb don't need to go overseas to work...

Sharon,
this not the first time my HB go oversea norm if he abroad i will go holiday with my friend but this is the longest of all lor to be frank becos of preg initially when he left i feel v depress also but soon i get use.... first time he oversea i feel so emotional lor.. i guess it all due to preggie:p

piggy,
yr HB not in govt sector rite.. cos my HB is so he confirm cannot come back de.. for yours still got chance.. so i was thinking whether can i use 3G HP to tok to him when i go give birth.. haha