(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

jul,
i always ask for MC if i dun feel good...
dun be paiseh...just ask...
my gynae...no questions asked one...

piggy

Actually I haven't shopped ard at all. I just dragged Hubby to Robinsons to help me carry the BB supplies like all the soap, breast pads etc. So we happened to see the Britax Royale.

But need to shop ard first to see what I like. So wanna go to shops where there are many brands & models for browsing & looking.

I only worry abt missing the sale (typical KS Sporean haha).

smurfy

I rem reira bot the Medela Freestyle. MAybe u can ask her.

cloudme

Hmm.. then I shall ask for mc then. Dun relish the tot of rushing back to work after the appt lor.

RE: Car Seat

I got my car seat from Robinsons over the week end. The First Years True Fit Convertible Car Seat ($299). The salesman told us that can last from birth to about 6 years old. They do not have in stock, so they are delivering to my house FOC.

Link to a picture of it.
http://www.amazon.com/First-Years-True-Convertible-Cappuccino/dp/B000YBM2V0

RE: Napisan (Baby)

Last week there was discussion on Napisan and where to get. I managed to get it at NTUC Woodlands Civic Plaza.

jul

i think the ones piggy recommended very good price for the carseat at Spring. Maybe u can go check it out.

One thing abt britax is that u need to ask if it's australian model. If it's aust model, u need to drill a hole in your car to hook the car seat....

how come your GD test is so late?

babymaking
From 6mths onwards? Then why not wait till when your bb is 6mths then get? At least u'll get a model to try it out.

Pink
Reg milk, I used S21 for my boy (before i knew he was allergic to milk). Really fattened him up. Actually u don't need to stand by milk powder, ask from the nurses for extra bottles before u leave. That should last u a while until u go and buy a tin if u should need it. Else if u can successfully breastfeed, the FM will go to waste.

Re: swimming tub
Why do u need a swimming tub? Can just let them 'swim' in their bath tubs. Furthermore, some kids are born to be scared of water. If your bb happens to be one of them, then waste money liao.

Weekend shopping

Hehe, last weekend didn't buy a lot of stuff coz most of the stuff already settled.

Bought from JL:
Medela Purelan 37g at abt $14+++ (after 22% discount + 5% rebate)

Bought from Mothercare:
Sleevesless nursing PJs at $36 for a pack of 2. Even cheaper than Karmy.

Morning ladies

Am taking a day off today as i was really tired from yesterday's shopping! Can say it's really 元气大伤 ....

Went to the fair but din get anything much except for the pureen maternity pad and the last packet of Nepia NB diapers
Bought 2 nursing bras at JL sale oso.

Went Baby Kingdom after the fair to book my convertible bb cot (finally!) at $329, and car seat at $169. Then went upstairs to grab bb essential items ... so now at last, more or less i'm settle with bb stuff. Now just need to buy bb's cupboard so that i can start washing his stuff and place them in it.

Reira,
Sorry didn't see yr sms yesterday cos my hp was in my bag ... only got to see it when i'm back home.

Oh yah, i got the swimming tub with the floats at only S$30+ from taobao :) Looking forward to putting Ovann inside

piggy
U bought capella stroller is it? How much did it cost u?

Pegsfur,
cos i bott it much earlier so was quite ex at $289 with a free gift
but it was 09 version la..
Which car seat u buy so cheap!

Car Seat:
May i know after 4yr old do we still need to let our child use car seat?

piggy,

It's Capella S228 rite?

My car seat ah ... i oso dunno, er .. the brand is call Venus, from Holland i thnk. They are having promotion for this brand, original pricee was $200+.

I think after 4 yr old, u have to change the car seat to the booster seat leh.

mashy

Huh? Drill a hole in the car?

The salesguy did show us this harness hook thing for hooking the car seat to Australian cars, but he said we can just not use it for Spore. Is that what u mean by drill a hole?

Dunno why my GD test is only now. Maybe b/c my pee strip din show anything positive. At my 24th week appt, gynae said Babylet is big, & my grandpa had mild diabetes, whilst FIL had diabetic blood, so she advised me to do GD test at my next appt (now, at 28th week). Maybe no urgency?

Oh I bot Avent nipple cream from Taka during the 20% + 10%. Paid close to $16, but can't rem the size liao.

pegsfur

Talking abt Motherhood Fair.. Yest nite I saw the small 20s pack of J&J BB wipes at $1.30 (the dailt special). So sian.. why cudn't they have announced it earlier, cud have made a trip down to grab it coz I was looking for small packs of BB wipes mah. Sulk...

Oh which car seat did u get?

Good morning!!
Hi Tulip,am keen but still working out my schedule, will let u know again. When is your EDD?

Re: Car seat
I saw Nania car seat from Taka for 4 mths to 4 yrs old @ $179 free delivery. Worth considering.

Sharon / pegsfur: u are lucky to buy the Nepia NB size diapers, when I went on Fri nite, sold out liao. Pegsfur, I also went John Little to buy a nursing bra, $5.90, cheap cheap...haha

Reira: when I but 1 pack of SEALER-NB diapers ($8), they gave me a blue-color moo-moo singlet, and a S-sized diaper sample. U get that too?

Tulips: my mum said best to drink bird nest at either 2 timings: 1) late at nite ( before sleep), so that u retain the bird nest thru-out the nite. If not, 2) early in the morning, before breakfast on a empty stomach.

I used to drink at nite, but nowadays nite urine very often, so I avoid using too much water after 10pm. So, I drink in the morning nowadays.

Btw, anyone sign up Cordlife at the fair? Seem that the price has gone up slightly, the gal told me it's $2,888( 10yr plan) at the CNY promo. Now, is $3050.
I haben sign up yet, going to ask my gyane this sat when i go see her. I have chk with the salesperson at the Cordlife if we sign up this week or next week, she can still give me the $3050( motherhd fair promo price).

nicole

R: Nania Car Seat

yah, but what's going to happen between 0mths to 4mths? It's good if you're already getting the infant car seat.

yen

I just ordered Nepia delivery. YEsterday, i asked my hb abt it and the Angel wipes. He said, since can deliver, why not? Better than lugging the diapers back home from expo and still have to pay parking. hahaha. So i just ordered 2 NB and 2S.

And as for the Angel Wipes, he also remembered how much we used then and said, no prob, sure can finish a big box of wipes (on top of the current 10 packs that we have) and gave me green light to buy all the wipes that i want. hahaha.

mashy, i asked the same question ard as well
but seems like from 0-4mths people hardly will bring bb out and if you do, normally people will carry them or have an infant car seat like you said. so it depends on what you've already got and how you want to managed it.

mashy

Er.. so not necessary to drill a hole in the car for the Britax car seat right?

My hubby also asked me why I dun wanna order Nepia if it's cheap & got free delivery. But I'm not sure if Babylet is alergic mah. Scully got rashes or something, then what do I do with all the Nepia diapers?

Hi All Mummies

I wrote an email to Traffic Police to ask about car seats when should I put my child in a car seat.

Below is their response to me.

You may also wish to note that Sections 10 and 11 ofChapter 276, Rule 34
states that an approved child restraint/child seat is needed if children
below 8 years old are traveling in a car (be it as a front or rear seat
passenger). In addition, the child restraint must be appropriate for a
child of that height and weight. The child seat/restraint should also be
properly affixed. Once again, it is the driver’s responsibility to ensure
that these rules are complied with.

Any person who contravenes or fails to comply with any of the provisions of
these Rules shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction
to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding
3 months and, in the case of a second or subsequent offence, to a fine not
exceeding $2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months. The
offence can also be compounded for a composition amount of S$120/- and 3
demerit points.

If you have 2 or more infants or toddlers traveling in a car, all of them
must still be belted up in child seats suitable for them.

jul

i didn't drill a hole in my car even with my Australian made car seat. But still feel kind of unsafe... I'm a paranoid lah....

Don't worry abt allegies lah. Even if there's allergy, u can always resell it at $14. No loss. I'm sure many pp will grab it at $14 once the promo over.

i saw Angels wipes selling at JL expo sale..

wat is the price when u gals are ordering at??

i wan to order for stockup.
Can i have the contact too... thanks~

Tulip, my EDD is 2nd aug, last week's growth scan shows my bb weighing 2.2Kg and estimated by actual birth will be 3.5kg quite a big bb hopefully it doesn't go beyond that.

Nepia NB is out of stock. Only coming in in mid June. So i asked them to send everything to me in mid June.

If u want, can order now, then get them to deliver later...

mashy

Haha I know what u mean lah. Got this safety feature here, & we're not using it. Doesn't seem right. But console ourselves.. better than carrying the BB in our arms lor.

Oh can I resell the Nepia? U mean pple will want meh? Hmm.. then can consider getting. Of course the NTUC, Petpet etc brands are the cheapest, but not sure if they r reliable. So better get a more 'reputable' brand first?

I'm tempted to get a few small packs of the Angel wipes to bring out. But I need $60 for delivery hor? Too much for me liao. Maybe I go JL & buy.

Can I get Angel wipes at JL Orchard ah?

JUl,
the first mth baby poo n pee so much no diff u usin reliable brand anot. cos u be changin too often to notice.. anyway a lot of my friend strongly recommend pet pet tt y i buy but up to u la if u can afford jus go ahead

jul

yah, shouldn't be a prob coz quite a few pp here use nepia for their bbs.

If u just want small qties, then can get at JL. I think JL orchard should also sell. Maybe later when u find that u need a lot more, then u call and order lor. We know that we do use a lot of wipes for the first few months. hahaha.

babymaking,
thanks for ur update...all these are wat im looking for! thanks...shall make trip to ikea

smurfy,
i bought my medela freestyle already

yen2008,
u still get the NB diapers at $14 till 30th June...but need order 1 carton-4 packs...mebby can see if anyone wants to share?

morning all!!

went to baby fair on the first and last day...

total damage: S$780++

bought EYS bird nest there 2 for S$115 x 2 !!
chicken ess S$11.50 x 10
and many other thgings too....

oh and baby new born daiper from EQ 60pcs for S$8

smurfy,
i forgot the website...need go back n check....PM u tonite...i ordered online but got a frend to bring back from US...i tink if u join spree, shipping costs shld be much lower

morning mummies...

i went to the JL sale over weekend.. and we bought ALOT of angel wipes!! haah... 3 packs of the large packs (3 per pack) and 3 of the small travel one (6 per packet)...hahahahh

sharon/reira on freestyle from US.
thanks thanks. but i dun understand how the shipping will be cheaper leh, coz it charges by per unit for pumps right? unless refering to international shipping? (but that's only to share out the base charges for vpost right? the rest is by weight/volumetric weight of the shipment)

i thinking whether i shld buy freestyle first (coz will incur 7% gst, then join other sprees to get the accessories, so as not to add on the gst incurred from the pump)

Aiyo, long message again. haha

sharon
wa that medela soft cup feeder is so expensive! lol not worth it!

ino
Heard that some baby got confusion between teats and nipples lor! so i am a bit worried since i plan to let CL bottle feed once a day at night. how come it is messy?

baby making
good to know that Nuk got something like this! does it looks like this?
http://babykingdom.com.sg/images/03328---XL.jpg

smurfy
I got medela freestyle from addalittlelove.com and didnt get additional accessories leh. not sure how much it cost from mybreastpump.com but so far addalittlelove.com was the cheapest i found that time.

i wonder how to wash the tubing lol if i remember correctly the medela booklet said dont need to wash (or was i seeing things?).

Jul
I havent got breastpads!!!! What else do i need to get for myself?! haha i can only remember buying baby's stuffs. for myself i got maternity pad, pajamas for hospital stay and thats it!

haha for the nepia diapers i also got the same worries (and angel wipes too). but i didnt buy nepia diapers cos i am too cheapo lah. plan to let my boy wear the cheapest brand out there lor lol since gonna throw away 10+ a day anyway! even if he is allergic, it will only last him 5 days at most for 1 pack of NB.

And yes you can get it from JL Orchard, thats where i got mine.

mashy
swimming tub: i think it is better than bringing baby to swimming pool bah. maybe i will buy after baby is born or something.

XD thats good that your hubby ok with ordering the diaper & angel wipes.

Still reading what you girls post before 11am haha

pegsfur
haha it is ok about the sms. which carseat did u bought? Is this the one? http://babykingdom.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=469&osCsid=05bf557d69473a0411417d6321ef7405

You got the Bebe Dreami Cot? I bought the cot from the fair (bobo house) instead. Actually whats the difference between the 2 ah? I was having lazy thoughts about going to baby kingdom for the cot so got the bobo house one instead.

Baby kingdom is open 24/7? At the kaki buki address stated on their website? aiyo waste liao, should have told hubby to go there after the fair =(

yen
Yup I got the Blue moo-moo singlet but the lady also gave me the moo moo baby hand float for swimming. When I was like jokingly ask the lady how she know my baby's gender cos instead of pink singlet she gave me blue, she went and took a M size diaper sample for me haha. Maybe I spent a total of $19, thats why she gave me the moo moo float bah.

I signed up cordlife for their CNY promo for 21 years de. We have to pay $5,604.66 with GST + Sepax in total.

joyful_mtb
if you want, u can email to me and i forward to you the email Steven emailed to me about angel wipes promo and ingredients. anyway i got one pack at JL normal shopa at $5.50 (80s x 3) to try out first. incase my boy is sensitive then i wouldnt know what to do with $60 worth of wipes!

carseat
Hubby wants to get a brand new carseat instead of 2nd hand but I don't wanna spend more than $200 on one. Need one which is convertible from NB to 4 yrs old.

is Cosco good? (it says 5 points safety)
http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=2&products_id=381&manufacturers_id=

or Venus?
http://babykingdom.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=469&osCsid=05bf557d69473a0411417d6321ef7405

Other brands too expensive liao!

reira,
yes i read that dun need wash tubing too...so wondering if its hygienic anot??

yah lor...the soft cup feeder is so ex...i guess there shld b alternatives

hey JL at orchard is having sales from 9 to 11 June... maybe those who missed out at the fair can get some good deals there too.

mashy
i don't think can try strollers - cos we went to bb hyperstore, bb kingdom & robinsons and saw the sales pple telling parents not to put their kids in the strollers on display.

I still remb remarking to hubby..what happens if bb dun want to sit the stroller that we already bought.

how do you get over this issue?

anyways so far been checking out reversible strollers and only combi have - so wondering what other brands have. I really dun like combi, though it's lightweight & reversible, it's pretty flimsy.

any other brands/models to suggest? preferably below $400. from 6mth onwards.

adeline,
thks for the TP note. so it's illegal not to have the appropriate car seat even for babies.

Re: nappy liners
I'm confused abt this, someone recommended that i use nappy liners with disposable diapers so as to re-use the diapers again - eh does this work? cos i always thought that nappy liners are to be used with cloth diapers.

babymakin,
capella stroller handle is reversible.. i tink taslyn also mentioned lucky baby 1 got 1 model also reversible handle..

re:bb 1st mth catering
Yes yes Janice, u are not alone, i'm also looking at caterers now. anyone has recent tried & tested recommendations for caterers? do share.
Neo garden is not bad - it's honey chicken, pineapple rice, mee goreng, eclairs are good - but i think the portion a bit small per pax. just tried them yesterday at a friend's bb 1st mth.

piggytoh
we saw capella but we didn't like it as it looks very plasticky and don't last long type, esp the plastic parts.

will look out for lucky baby. anyone has the specific model?

reira
yep it looks exactly the same except that it also comes with the medela type of soft feeding teat, and it comes in various colours. i got the blue one.

babymaking

i guess only these stores do that. I've tried with mothercare. No prob.

Yah, capella/lucky baby/haenim have reversible handles. But usually when they're >6mths, the bb doesn't wanna look at you anymore. They wanna see the world outside. :p I only used the reversible handles till abt 6mths. After that, i got a buggy for him.

I guess to get round the bb wanting/not wanting strollers. U need to start when they're a bb. I put my boy in the stroller for long hrs... hehehe. When we go out, we put him in the stroller. When we go church, during the 2hr service, he's in the stroller. In the afternoons at home, we let him sleep in the stroller for his naps. Somehow he got used to the idea and he never insisted on us carrying him.

sharon/reira
for my PIS tubings right, i never wash them coz by right no milk will get there lar.. but there will be water condensation after a prolonged usage of a few wks/months.. wat was advised by tmc parentcraft then was to run dry the pump.. that is to run the pump and the tubings for a few minutes to let cool air dry the tubings..