(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

I am getting sore breasts again today and tummy is heavy now. Really tired and could not sleep well now without support.

pris,

my tummy feels tight n heavy too...very suan suan feeling...is it normal??
keep wanting go toilet but pee so little!
tink my boy pressing on my bladder liao....

Jul,
but if u dun need so much u might end up spend $$ but dun save any $$ leh.. cos with so many sales goin ard even u sell it the same price pp might rather buy it off the shelves unless u sell it cheaper so in a way u be makin a loss...

we dont need to clean the ears for BB only?

Adults still must clean right? My dh also told me no need to clean ears one, but he always kanna ear infection, I told him its the results of him not cleaning... and he also kanna that the wax harden until become like a stone, had to go to doc to remove!!!

smurfy
oh yah hor. thats easier!

Jul
Oh! haha i paid $200 deposit for the CL. haha for me i just dont like the yellow wax inside lah, feels uncomfy.

Ocean is at Blk 32 #03-1058/60 (lol i note this down incase i need hubby to go and buy lotsa items during confinement keke). That day i walk walk and compare prices, Ocean is the cheapest. Well only a few cents cheaper.

Regg
Thanks!!! Will check my mail box tomorrow hehe!

sharon
same!! i went there around 12:30 and saw that. then at 1:30, they still havent opened and told me they will be late when i call them.

Pris
how do you successfully breastfeed with short nipples? I think mine is short leh.

Pris
yeah, but is there any special things i need to look out for besides correct positioning? haiz a bit worried! is there more difficult to breastfeed with short nipples? D:

Reira, lots of trials and errors, I got a very good staff nurse in Mt E last time that help me to latch successfully even the LC could not do it and insisted I need nipple shields and the staff nurse told me dun need that.

You have to keep latch baby on.

Piggy, Kai has no problem suckling, my gynae successfully help me latch on straight after he was born and my placenta came out really quickly and also can feel uterus contracting when he suckle. Then it is the staff nurse at the ward that help me successfully latch on and taught me to latch on. The LC was not so successful. Think both my previous gynae and the staff nurse themselves are bfding mums.

Pris, thats what i am worried about!! =( if never met someone thats nice and patient enough to teach. for the nipples, its like look at it when it is normal right? to tell if it is flat or not? not the harden version?

babymaking/jul

I got it at Mothercare Marina Square. They also have short sleeves ones at $39 and $40 per pack of 2pc. Yah, it's long dress type with front buttons for nursing.

Yen
I emailed them actually. And they've very quick in replying. They called me coz i provided them with my handphone no.

Their email address is: [email protected]

jul
i didn't leak at all for my #1. And i bought so mnay boxes of Pigeon Breastpads coz a friend could help me get at 40% then! End up have to sell all of them away. This time, i just kept some sample breastpads just in case. If really need then buy.

Reira
I tried turning the teats inside out to clean, end up tore the entire teat! Gave up on that way of cleaning after that. hahhaa.

kikilala
Cannot clean bb's ears, will cause infection. Even for adults, we're not supposed to dig our ears. Our ears supposed to be self cleaning. In fact, when u dig, u introduce germs into the ear canal and it causes infection. I kenna ear infection before and lost some of my hearing.
Now i have to go to ENT dr annually to do check up and spring cleaning. They've a 'vaccuum cleaner' to suck out all the wax.

Kikilala,
actually i also dunno mine is short until mdm ida told me when she do pre-natal massage for me.. it slightly longer than flat nipple dunno how to explain leh..

i was just asking pris all these that day about feeding and short nipples. hee..

i also pigeon supporter!! ahha... pigeon detergent, pigeon bleach, pigeon sterilizer, pigeon cot protector, etc.. hahha..

I gave up looking for napisan baby care liao. my mum wants to start washing the hand me downs and i got no time to go around looking for it.... so bought the pigeon bleach..

anyone knows where we can buy cheap bedding?

been feeling so tired and also not sleeping well recently. back and right hip has been particularly painful.. cant walk properly without limping too
sigh.. 3rd tri not fun leh.

anyone has gd remedies for back pain? hb has to massage me every night, but the relief isnt for long leh..
v miserable at work now.

re cotton buds - shld get the slim type cos sometimes may need to use this to clear mucus/nose shit from bb's nostrils. the adult type may be a bit big for bb's small nostrils.. not so much for digging the ears..

actually shld not dig ears at all, cos this will push some wax further inside, until it clumps together and becomes impacted. then will need to apply olive oil and go to dr for syringing to remove.

hi reira,

i was quite onz on breastfeeding and had full latch-on for the 1st 3 months. I fully believed in all the adv of breastfeeding...But after that, it was a nightmare when i returned to work coz my gal refused to take the bottle. We have been spoonfeeding her from 4 months old till now...(she's 3 by the way). It's an "enlightening" experience for the caregivers(which is my parents) and myself coz u can't imagine the time and effort spent for each feed...so for this one, i'm sure to introduce bottle...:p. i can't imagine spoon-feeding my 2 gals now...

All that being said, if u intend to fully breastfeed for at least 6 mths, then i guess u wld have to do the necessary precautions to prevent nipple confusion.

As for the pigeon weaning bottle, not sure if it's becoz we din know how to use or what...but it keeps dripping lar...and baby wasn't taking too well to it...so in the end we gave up. I even bot a unique pigeon bowl with an opening for feeding directly into the mouth to try to get my gal to drink (see pix with the yellow cover: http://www.pigeonbaby.info/product.php?pr_id=172) ...but also fruitless...so in the end, we use spoon.

Jules,
go for pre-natal massage.. be4 tt i ask my HB to massage for me also cos the backache is v back but the ache come back v fast until after i have my 1st pre-natal massage my backache is so much better...

Babys,
actually unless u wan ur handme down clothing to be v white w/o stain otherwise not necessary to use the baby bleach la unless u goin to use clothes diaper...

babyS

Kidzloft for sure...

Heard Aussino having 40% off baby bedding set. Works out to be abt $40 for the whole set. u may wanna take a look at it.

kikilala

haha, i know for short i don't have short nipples. :p

reira

is there a harden/not harden version? I only have 1 version now. Only before i was preg with #1, i had nice pink nipples. Now ugly and protruding and permanently in 1 position.

talking about pre natal massage, i went for mine on sat..

bought a trial at the last baby fair..

wah lau after the massage i am in more pain!!! esp my shoulders cos she kept rubbing from my neck to the end of my shoulders, so hard so painful!!!

i cant see it but i am not surprised if got blue black there!!! i put on my sling bag and when it presses against the shoulder there, painful man....

mashy: thats just bedding right? no bumper included?

hey gals

I am photocopying the following books and wondering if anyone else would like a copy too.

GD How to teach your baby to read
GD How to teach your baby Maths
GD How smart is yr baby
GD How To Give Your Baby Encyclopedic Knowledge
GD How To Multiply Your Baby's Intelligence
Tracy Hoggs The baby whisperer solves all your problems.

Anyone interested, pls email me at [email protected].

piggy: yeah its only for the hand me downs that have stains.. those heavily stained ones i will get rid of them but got some got light but visible stains on it.

piggytoh, i tried prenatal massage, but unfortunately for me, the pain was worse the next day. even immdefiately after the massage, pain relief wasnt significant also.. think not suitable for me ba.

ino, my pain is lower back, and right hip/buttock area. weirdly, its worse at night..

mashy, i think i very slack.. havent bought many things yet... too relaxed maybe cos its #2?? i also v ks last time, bought a lot of breast pads. in the end cldnt even finish using one box, cos my nipples got v v itchy after using breast pads.. so i rather just leak into my bra and change bra frequently! end up selling the other boxes at a loss too.. this time not getting any as well hehe..

btw which gina ford book contains info on sleep/feeding routines? is it the little contented baby book (or something like that)??

babyS

Not very sure. maybe u can go and check it out? Long time ago they did include the bumpers. But now not sure. Haven;t been checking out their bb stuff coz i've all the stuff already.

mashy: ok ok thanks! i'll go check it out.... cos now i only have one set...

re breastpads: I only have two boxes now (36+6)... should i go buy some more (since cheap now) or wait and see if i got milk production?

BabyS,
icic cos for me handme down clothes i jus wash with the powder afterall wear at home nvm la.. n the stain was all caused by juices....

Jules,
oh it does not help u ah.. cos i have the same pain as u on my right butt n pre-natal massage dun help for tt area but it help me to release my upper back soreness... i check with my gynae he say it due to ligament soften durin preg hence no support in tt area which cause the ache n there is nothin we can do to it..

Good afternoon all.

babys, aussino do sell nice fitted sheets with bumpers and pillow and bolster, it comes in 1 set.
however, i find the bumpers are very thin and i had to put 2 layers of bumpers when my son reached 6 months.
During his sleep, he can turn, try to sit up and bump his head on the cot.
I find that those bumpers from kiddy palace are thicker.
I still buy from aussino cos the designs are cute.

babys, no need to buy somemore breast pads.. like mashy said.. if necessary u can always send hb to buy ma.

piggytoh, ya lor.. i was googling and found that its related to relaxin and loosening of ligaments. but its worse than when i was expecting #1.. maybe cos i have to carry my girl and play with her now.

now my poor hb has to massage my back and right hip/buttock area before he can sleep every night.. will make him massage until i am drowsy and fall asleep :p hehehe

Jules,
hahah i used to ask my HB help me massage everynite but now tt he is not area gotta rely on pre-natal massage keke..

when are stretchmarks supposed to appear? I'm now in my 32 weeks. Haven't seen any sign of them. I had them when i had #1. But this time round, they seemed to have gone on a disappearing act. Furthermore, i didn't even bother moisturizing like what i did for #1 preg.

mashy, dont say this kinda thing first!! u not pantang ah? :p my SM appeared only ard wk 34-35 i think... b4 that i was also thinking that hey clarins oil worked.. hmmm...
my friend developed SM the day before she delivered at 39+6wks. 1 day b4 edd! and when we compared tummies after delivery, the SMs looked the same and as ugly although mine had been there a lot longer than hers!

lucky you Mashy, my stretchmarks started end of tri 2, have been moisturizing since month 3 still showing up...the creams are not much use i guess

Jules
The PD during Dr Talk also said not to dig baby's nose leh. If the dirty substance is outside u can use hankerchief to clean but if it is inside, don't be so hand itchy and go and dig is what the PD said.

ino
wa... actually what are the necessary precautions to prevent nipple confusion? aiyo i also dont wanna end up spoon feed my boy for so long leh... haiz!

mashy
haha i donno leh lol i thought like if u stimulate the breast, nipple will became harder de... normal one is just soft lor? T_T

babymaking
I am interested in all those books!!

lower back pain
i also got this recently every morning when i wake up leh. what is that? =( like if i try to stand up, no matter where i turn (left or right), i can feel the pain.

stretchmarks
haha i dont even know if i got stretchmarks due to pregnancy or not cos i already have stretchmarks cos of gaining weight last time. =(

actually the stretchmark cream doesnt help much cos the inner layer skin underneath stretch more than the outside one.. the cream only helps for the outside.. inside no way to moisturize oso...

aiya, it is already 3pm. time to go out to taka and buy all these small items. craving for takopachi's takoyaki also!

re: cotton buds for baby's ears
so can we still use cotton buds to clean baby's ear...external part? if so wat brand is good?
juz now i read somewhere in the thread say need go thinner ones?

re:stretchmarks
yah...i apply so much...still got stretchmarks on my thigh...so sad

Hi, I'm from sep09-to-be mum..

Joeey,
I'm looking at the Aussino bedding for my cot. Love their designs too! Any idea if the bedding set comes in different sizes?