(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

michelle

thanks! Forgot abt olive oil. Hehe. But for me, i use it for massage. Not really for cradle cap. When my boy had cradle cap, I didn't have any massage olive oil then, so i used cooking olive oil. It worked just as well. Hehe. I took a pic of him after i applied the olive oil and wrapped him up with a small towel. So cute!

piggytoh
I am not gonna use any herb for bathing during confinement month. Most important thing is buy hair dryer!!! Oh no, have to look out for sales on hair dryer liao. haha yeah safest to buy S size! Incase.

mashy
Actually, when will baby became 5kg? I am a bit unsure but Nepia NB got 60 pieces! Sounds like a lot. If baby being good, a day should wet + dirty about 12 diapers right? If he is being bad, then a lot more? Like just changed the wet diaper and he poo on the new one, then have to change again.

GG Lee
hahaha!! my hubby told me got once his mom ask him why got condom in our room... That time we don't plan to have baby yet! Like what she meant is we shouldnt do XXX!!!

Reira,
I'm not those that follow old folk stories one, but I realise that if I leave the clothes out overnight there's a strange smell which could be due to the dew that condense on the clothes.

Anyway, now I bought those round hangers with many little pegs one to dry bb's clothes. those I just hang at the window in my room for as many days as I like. (for you, can avoid the kaypoh MIL and kitty poo by hanging in the room)

piggytoh
ya lor.. dunno safe or not leh... after seeing the packaging, I'm a bit skeptical. Hehe... Are you trying it?

Mashy
Oh, can use cooking olive oil ah? My hubby told me to use that. But I told him cannot la.. That's for cooking.. Hee...

Michelle,
duno leh still tinkin dunno any mommy here try be4 anot hehe... btw Mrs Wong say use olive oil for cookin for cradle cap dun use those for body 1..

smurfy
I don't understand why some neighbours are so inconsiderate leh! Heard about this problems from a few friends too and they cant seems to solve it. Actually I dont hang my clothes out, cept baby's clothes. XD For hubby and my clothes, I just hang them in the service yard and put there for 2 days. it is very heavy to hang adults clothes outside. =( But baby special, I want to sun dry all his clothes hehe.

GG: haha! then when she wants a grand kid u might find ur stock decreasing or totally disappear.. heeee...

oil for cradle cap, i think can use J&J baby oil..

reira

yah, if he's guai guai, u can prob use abt 8-12 pcs a day. If notti boy boy, kept pooing on new diaper, then will need more. My boy used NB for a very long time. But then again, he grew very slowly. from what i know, babies are supposed to double the birth weight by 4mths. So chances are by 2mths should still be lesser than 5kg unless u get a 4kg newborn.

kikilala
Room is even worst ah. For our room, there are so many built-in boxes that there is no space to hang clothes. Then baby's room is not ready yet, currently MIL's study room so the cats go there like free.

piggytoh
what is cradle cap?

thanks mashy!
im going to the fair tml, will get it there then

reira,
okies

michelle

can lah, can use cooking olive oil. It's the same. Just that they add fragrance for the massage oils.

babyS
personally i don't like J&J baby oil, esp on babies. Coz it contains mineral oil which is very drying.

Re: cradle cap
Oh yah, remember to have a fine comb to comb thru the cradle cap, else it's useless. What i did was, i leave the oil on his head for 5-10mins, wrapped in towel. After that, i use a fine comb and comb thru. Within a few days, all the cradle cap is gone.

Re: oil for cradle cap
Oh really? Hee.. Think I wasn't paying attention during class. Hee.. Think I'll use the cooking olive oil..

Re: confinement shower gel & ginger cream
Hm.. I'll try asking my Taiwanese friends to see if they use it or if it's popular there. Hee..

mashy
in that case maybe can buy more NB size liao. Hmm... actually as long as by 15 days, he dont outgrown the Nepia NB diapers then ok already.

Is there any recommended brand of comb I should buy for combing baby's hair normally? Or just get any brand of baby comb?

belly button
my belly button is slightly pop out. So weird... previously was smooth smooth tummy, now got a tiny volcano there haha

michelle

Don't remember, but think it doesn't matter. Just comb outwards? Main thing is to get the stuff out. U will need to do this for a few days. Once it's resolved, it doesn't come back. At least in my case.

re: cordlife
they having a booth at motherhood fair
spoke to this lady vanessa 96333737 fr cordlife before...she sms me say got promo at the fair...mebby those mummies interested in storing cord blood can look for her

she follow up wif hubby n me for a while but we decided not to bank baby's cord blood liao

reira,
haha...didn't know ur mil's place no birds...

my mil's place near my place and we got a park infront of the flats...
so in the evenings can see flocks of birds fly around...

reira, for the nepia diapers, best is to buy 1 pack NB and 3 pack size S... like that guarantee won't waste the NB size. My eldest girl was big size at birth, can't even fit into NB at all and lasted in size S till she was only 8 weeks old. From there its size M and L already.

Re MILs discussing salaries... yah man I can't stand it when my MIL goes around discussing salaries with her relatives/friends.

Once she came and told me cousin xx and her hubby were earning this amount of money. And I wanted to faint cos I certainly don't want my salary details to be revealed to the entire extended family.

So for the past 8 yrs, my hb has not told his mum his salary. Just leave her with the impression that its really not very much ha ha.

Re: cradle cap
Thanks for the info ladies! I'm a 1st time mum la, seems like there's soooo many things that I dunno and even if I read, I cannot rem.. Quite scary leh.. Don't know if I know how to take care of baby..

jus to share. i saw angels wipes on sale at john little. 80sX3 only $5.50. the smaller sized ones are $6 for 6 pkts i think. are angel wipes good?

nursing bra
hv anyone of u bought nursing bras? i'm wondering if i shd get 1 size bigger than my current size. our breasts will still get bigger nearer to EDD rite?

btw, how many pkts of baby wipes & disposable panties shd we buy huh to last for the one month confinement? i'm so lost.....

michelle

don't worry. After u deliver, we'll still be here. So if u have any questions later, just post it here lah. I'm sure someone will know the answer.

zen

i bought 10 big packs of baby wipes to last me 3mths. Don't wanna keep running to the stores to get. As for disposbale panties, i only got 1 pack for the hospital stay. At home I'm going to wear normal panties.

michelle, you'll figure it out along the way

zen, the advice for nursing bras is this: buy only from month 7-8 onwards for best fit. The cup buy 1 size bigger, and the measurement, 1 size smaller. That is what Mothercare advised me.

zen,
which JL did u see the angel wipes?

i bought 3 packs of cotton disposables...dunno enuff anot?

mich,
wat u mean by cup size 1 size bigger n measurement, i size smaller??

dont buy nursing bras with underwire... cos the wire press on the breast, can block the ducts too... dont wanna end up with blocked ducts..

Re: Nursing bra

Saw one nice nursing bra from mark & spencer but pretty ex..i thk $59..anyone can advise which brand nursing bra is good?

I saw mothercare one all are non-padding de le..

sharon, if u are A now, buy size B as boobs will grow bigger when u breastfeed. Then the underarm measurement, if u are 80 now, buy 75.... U can go to mothercare (the branches that sell bras) and ask them to help u measure.

donkey, both mothercare and M&S nursing bras are good... I have used the Mothercare ones for a long time, just put nursing pads to absorb leaks.

donkeymani

the reason why there's no padding is coz you'll prob put on your breast pads! heheh. Don't forget to leave some space for that.

Thanks Mashy & Mich, cos we nit to put breast pad tat's why nursing bra usually no padding la..ic ic

heard mothercare svc is good, will help u measure & wat size shd buy..mayb shd go to mothercare..cos mark & spencer dun thk stuff there knw.

reira,
Mrs Wong nv explain cradle cap to u ???
it is like a layer of dry skin on baby scalp not all baby will kena 1....

Zen,
i only buy 1 pack of disposable panties cos i prefer my own panties anyway the CL will wash for us so ok..

mashy: but if u dont wear at home then how to put the breast pads?

donkeymami: I bougth 5 so far... dunno if enough or not. haha..

mich: how come size go smaller leh? wouldnt it get bigger too?

babys

aiyah, at home who cares abt leaking. Anyway, i didn't leak when i had my #1. So I'll see how it goes.

Your ribs will 'shrink' but your breasts will increase.

Mashy/Baby S
Can get those nursing top from Spring Maternity, which you can put the breast pads.

Mashy
B4 having a helper, I don't wear bra at home.
Feeling so weird walking around the house after hiring her, hence I bought the sleeveless tops from JL which comes with paddings.