(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Pegsfure: ya, I have not make a decision yet, althought my husb is strongly on the nanny's side.

Mashy: I think she is interested to look after children and making $, becoz that auntie ever concurrently look after 2 children. my SIL's 2-yr old son is her 2nd kid that she is looking after. Before this, that auntie is looking after another child for 3-4yrs. So, 1 yr ago, that parents put the child in a childcare. So, now..that aunite is only looking after my SIL's son.

Piggytoh: I also think hiring a maid is more worth it..less than $700, and do housewk....best if the current maid can stay after Oct, but my MIL dun like her.

BabyS: I wanted to negotitae with that auntie using the reason that she is not giving my bbaby exsclusive 1-to-1 attention since she is looking after another kid. But my husb said..cannot use this reason , becoz this kid is nephew, also part of the family. He said..wait I say out this reason, that nanny will go carry tales to my SIL, abt me unhappy with the fact that the nanny looking after her kid, and will cause misunderstding.

Shirley: i duuno why my husb so against of the idea of maid looking after baby. *haiz.....* so stubborn.

To add on, my husb keep saying $700 nevermind, but the $700 come out from our joint a/c hor.. Not his personal bank a/c leh. of coz i 'xin-tong' the $, i rather let my mum earn this $...than let this stupid auntie ( their so-called family frenz) earn.

Last nite, i saw the 2-yr old nephew...weareing a top and only wearing diaper. i know he is a 2-yr old boy..but i dun like the way, the nanny let him wear top & diaper and run around at home.

worse still....the boyt call the nanny 'Mama'..i duuno why my SIL can allow this.

I agree with mashy ... the last time i stayed at TMC, most of the nurses were nice too.

yen

u can put your kid in a reputable infant care for that amt after subsidy.

hehe, my boy also used to run ard in his diaper and singlet. Now he goes ard in his singlet and underwear when he's home. :p Whether hot mah...

Yen,
oh so ur HB dun like the idea of lettin maid look after ur baby ah? actually hor maybe shd let ur HB try out lookin after ur baby durin tt 4 mth den maybe he will change his mind cos he cant vision how tough it is to look after baby yet! haha..

yen

yah, maybe after 4mths, your hb will realise it's difficult to look after a bb & a 2-yr old toddler and still do a good job. Your bb will definitely be neglected coz bb mah, still can't move much yet.

piggy, yah its not that much stuff to fill up, just 2-3 pages...

mashy, the facebook chat hung... and i can't get back on it
think its down.

yen, if b4 the nanny look after ur bb, you're not too happy with her... think in the long term will be hard for u to trust her. Maybe look for another nanny?

Yen, since u dun like the nanny no point leave ur bb to her. try to find other nanny ard bt.batok area lo..

btw, hw much she's charging ur SIL? Also $700?

mashy: ya, that 's why i consider putting baby in a infant care at $500plus.
I scared bb will catch a cold if wear too little..

piggytoh: ya, i think i will go back to my mum's house for 1 whole day..and let my husb hands-on to take care of bb for 1-full day. Let him see how diff to take care of bb and look after his mum at the same time. He keep saying his mum dun need pple to take care liao, that's why dun wan to renew the maid. If dun need pp to take care, then why the hell we are staying togethert wif her????

Yen,
man is like tt 1 sometime they only tink nia if they nv try they nv know.. shd let him hand on over the entire wkend den u jus watch from the side hahah 1 day too short la..

Mich: u r rite, i dun trust the nanny, i prefer my mum.

Donkeymami: i ever suggest to find other auntie to take care around our area, preferaably walking distance, to save time. But my husb say...better to find someone we know.
She is charging my SIL $900 ( Day & nite), becoz my sil only bring back the bb on Fri evening.

yen2008,
i tink u shldnt let this nanny take care of ur child if u r not comfortable or dun trust her...will have more problems in future
somemore with a 2yr old kid running about, she cannot give full attention to ur child

yen,

Seems like we are in the same dilemma ... only yours is the baby care after confinement and mine is confinement.

Sianz ... i was looking at the list of things to buy for bb i got from Mich, and i got excited after crossing out those items i've bought. But the moment i think of confinment IN MY OWN HOME WITH MIL .... i sian 1/2 ...

mich

no wonder, u kept online & offline. Think your office system no good lha.

Re: bb bonus forms
Think i'll prob just fill it up at the hospital. Since so much time there and not a lot of visitors.

yen
wearing little won't catch cold lah. It's the virus. If your bb is the very strong type, then ok can tahan. My pooy boy can't take infant care, so i had to quit my job to take care of him. I also don't like the idea of a maid at home, esp if there's no one at home to jaga her.

yen
everyday we bring maid and child to my mum's place... both of us stay in the same estate, sengkang.. but it's still a tiring process for us. i got another mummy who stays in punggol and transport her child to her mum's place in bukit batok everyday... the hb is very very tired... once he dozed off in the car ride.. and get involved in a accident.. luckily mummy and child not in car.

then again, i dun think i like nannies looking after more than 1 child.. coz attention not there..

infant care.. child is prone to viruses at a tender age.. and ratio is 1 teacher : 4 infants

maids... so many horrifying stories around...

dunno how u would choose.. weigh the pros n cons bah.. for ur case.

piggy/yen

My hb oppo. He kept encouraging me to get a maid to help out. Guess then he won't need to help with the dishes at night lah. haha. But i refused. If i can help it, i'll try without a maid. If really cannot cope, then think of a solution.

pegsfur/piggy,
if really limit to 2 visitors I am happy too coz I want to focus on bfg my bb and resting during my "hotel stay" :p

mashy/sunshine,
during my stay in TMC I remember the nurses very pro bfg to the extend even my neighbour who opt for 100% FM for her bb. They will push her bb together with mine to our ward and urge her to try bfg. Haha...

Got an sms saying that my booking at Mt A confirmed already. Guess my gynae clinic did for me...after 2 deliveries, they know what I want, dun even need to fill in the form for them

Claire,
need to fill form 1? cos i also din fill any form jus told the my gynae recept n i receive an sms yesterday as well..

mashy: yeah i agree with sharon... how is she going to care for a active 2 yr old and a dependent new born....

and family or not, the fact still remains, she isnt giving 100% attention to both. If she doesnt wanna cut down the $ (and worse, if she takes on some more clients) then what is the diff between her and infant care.... i think infant care wil be even cheaper also lor..

claire: think MAH will send u the admission form soon. i also got an sms confirmation, but a week later they send the admission form for me to fill..

re: napisan
saw the vanish napisan babycare at NTUC jurong point at $8.45

saw another version, napisan at cold storage serangoon gardens $6.30, $5.50 at medical shop

Re : Hospital

Only limit to 2 visitor that mean my gal wont be able to visit me liao.... So sad. Hope by than it will go back to normal....

Li Ping

Is best to wash all the clothes before letting baby wear...

Yen

Thinkbysitter really v ya ya hor. My frd just engage a babysitter leh the price only $650. Find she is charging too much leh.... Somemore she is not looking only yr kid leh.

pris, kikilala

Thanks for the info on the cleaning of hand me downs. The more I think abt it, the more I wanna get new car seat. Pram, cot ok but car seat is abt safety leh - dun wanna compromise on that.

nicole

I think shd have disc for members at Robinsons. Starts on Fri. But those special buy items got no further disc.

sharon

Ur Napisan Babycare is cheaper than the one I saw yest at Square2 NTUC - $10.95! The Napisan Plus is on offer at $8.95.

Re : Hospital booking

Till date I still have not booked the hospital. Prefer MAH but than gynae say will hv to depend on the stituation. Sian. Hope can go to MA instead of TMC.

sharon

I see. Guess it's like a special offer at the store itself hor? But Jurong West is too far lah. The tpt cost is more than the $2 discount liao haha.

Antenatal Class - TMC

Speaking of SMS.. anyone attended the antenatal at AMK Hub can advise the exact address? I got an sms from Thomson Parentcraft saying that my first 2 lessons have been moved up. Must be WBB got something on the 3rd week.

Then the sms says same adress. Wah liew, they din even gimme any address the first time!

I saw same price as Jul Varnish Napisan Babycare no disc..oli napisan plus is on offer at $8.95. both items places at bb section.

Jul, which class u gng ah? i signed up for sat class, 2-4pm will start on 13 Jun. so far nv receive any sms from TMC abt class changing.

Hi Claire, kikilala & SL

Thanks for sharing... Do you hand wash all bb clothes or just dump in the washing machine??

Actually I've wash all new bb clothes once but after what you have share with me, think i shall wash it again. By e way what abt mittens, booties & hats? Hand wash or washing machine?? Hehe...

jul,
yup..mebby u try those more heartland NTUC outlets near ur place
tink quite alot of NTUC shld haf stock...i saw alot of stock juz now

Kikilala,
hahah ya lor maybe we would meet each other or best same room if 2-bedded.. how many bedded u booked??

Jul,
AMK hub is right above AMK mrt i tink it AMK ave 3 if u r driving..

Liping,
i put the baby clothes in the laundry bag n throw in machine.. too much for hand wash alr:p

Would we receive any confirmation direct from the hospital if gynae clinic has made the ward booking for us ?
My gynae forgot to book my slot for me at TMC. Lucky I check with him last apptm. But to date, Ive not receive any confirmation, should I assume its ok or should I be receiving some confirmation ?

Dolce,
hmm dunno abt TMC wor cos so far i tink those hwo receive sms is from Mt A n it the gynae clinic tt booked for me..

Liping,
I everything dump into washing machine, including the receiving blanket, waterproof mat, mittons, hats, etc...

one thing hor, must clean the washing machine also. The area between the drum and the casing is very dirty one. I will use the washing machine cleaning powder to wash the machine every few weeks.

piggy
I booked the single room for now, but if the situation of the flu remains, then during admission will downgrade to double room. My EDD is 07Aug, but I have a strong feeling that I will pop early.

Liping,
mitten n booties i will hand wash the rest like blanket, bedsheet etc all down to the washin machine keke.. now diff to squat down to hand wash la even with a stool also mus bend..

re: nepia diapers
is anyone interested in sharing??

i read fr another thread that they having promo
$14 per pack but muz buy 1 carton which is 4 packs...60 pcs per pack...work out to be $0.233 for each
im stayin in yishun

kikilala,
oh! Where can i get that washing machine cleaning powder? What brand? So far, have not wash the washing machine b4 leh, only took out the dust bag and wash... Ooppss...

piggytoh,
I can't squat at all now... very difficult to get up!!! Haha.. gynae say bb head down le, so can't squat le! Think i will just stand at the basin there and hand wash the mittens & booties lor. If not ask hubby to wash! He likes to do washing of clothing!! Haha..