(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

babymaking, are u a SAHM? hehe, after delivery, i dont think there'll be much 'freedom' to enjoy also.. cos the little one will take up all ur time!

kikilala, ur BH seems a bit too frequent for comfort leh... esp if its 3 times an hr. i was also given med the last time i had BH so frequently.

hi mummies, can i just check, during the 1mth confinement, we are not suppose to have direct contact to wind? (from fan?) or isit natural wind? wat abt air con? can we be in a air conditioned room?

Like to check whether is there a baby fair going on now at Taka?

wanna drop by to buy some stuff but not very sure whether is it on a not?

liping: taka having store wide sales now...

no baby fair now, got toy fair...

but at the last fair, they told me early august got another baby fair..

Thanks Babys..

any idea how many %off now?? Or any other sales on at other stores??

August is too late for me to buy bb's stuff already..

liping

u can only get abt 15-20% off now unless it's those on specials. A bit late to look for better discounts now coz GSS has already started. Most of the pte sales are over unless u wanna count the freq 20% storewide sale by robinsons.

What are u looking for? perhaps we can tell u where to source for the cheapest...

kidzloft have 50% off if u need anything from there but u need to print the voucher + bring along your appt card.

www.kidzloft.com.sg

mashy: Thanks for the info. I'm actually lost of what to buy, wan to go there and look see if i left out anything to buy anot. So headache!! Plus now the wheather so damn hot, really very lazy to go out la! Rather stay in my room with the air-con on and ZzZzZz...

nicole,
the 10% for taka card holders is over, ended on sun

baby sale,
tink the current sale is only kiddy palace...20% storewide for members...cos now KP prices r the same as dept store so 20% quite worth it...but lotsa essential stuff like wet wipes, some brand of cloth diapers not on sale...nett or sale items no 20%

nicole: over on sunday liao... sunday dh and i chiong to go and buy. hha..

but i think they should still have their in store discounts. I remember avent and pigeon were having 20% discount, other items also got discount...

regg: we cannot go but can send the husbands to go mah. haha...

liping

have u gotten a list of things to buy? Just tick stuff that u have bought and see if u need to buy those u haven't.

U don't have much time left. So better hurry before u get too big to move ard much. Not so good to be rushing thru last min shopping and having labour contractions at the same time. And there's some things u will need to wash too eg bb's clothes, bottles etc.

Heard Avent having staff sale this weekend. So if u have any friends who's working there, can go. 15% off accessories and 40% off pumps i think...

mashy: I have a list of things to buy, but thinking whether to buy it now or later, like diapers, safety bathe mat, thermos flask etc. Jia lat! And the most important thing to buy is PLAYPEN!!! If not bb no place to slp.

As for bb clothes, have wash the new ones except those hands down from my aunty have not wash, coz dunno where to get Napisan.

Am having my csection date on 21july. Very rushing already... Haha...

liping: I bought my playpen at taka, $200 plus. GOt foam mattress, changing tray, mosquito netting, and play gym....

But i was too caught up in sales, i never do more research about this playpen. I only see cheap, fulfills my needs, stable= BUY! hahaha....

i listening to the baby mozart that i downloaded from a link that someone (sorry forgot who) gave yesterday..

baby likes it.. but its making me very sleepy!! too soothin!

liping

aiyoh. Just buy. Robinsons having 20% off again for members this weekend.

Don't need safety bath mat since you'll be carrying your bb when u bath him/her. U'll need this later when your bb can sit up.

Thermos flask- go get it now! U can get those non-electric airport that u just need to boil once/twice a day. Taka has a 3L one on offer at $99.

Diapers - U can buy 1 pack first.

Playpen - Go buy it now!

Napisan - Can get from Unity.

Very rush since c-section is on 21 July. Abt the same time i'm planning for mine. U better hurry.

eh i go to unity just now, they didnt have napisan or any other cleaning stuff leh..

which section is it under?

mashy: too bad la, i'm not a member of robinson leh... Hubby next off day will be tues. So i hope to get all the stuff ready by 9th and just wait for the day to come... haha..

Edd suppose to be 2aug, but hubby and i hope to see bb earlier so schedule on the 21july.

Thanks alot for your help too!! When are u going to due? Csection also?

babys

that's what i heard leh. Maybe can call them first to check.

Heard that Cold Storage also sells, but only to limited stores.

Liping

What are u going to do if u have a boy the 2nd time round? Let him sleep in a pink playpen?

liping

i'm due also abt that time and also c-section. But after reading abt how we shouldn't do elective c-section before 39 weeks, i'm getting worried. Maybe will sch it later or when contractions come, whichever is earlier.

Thanks babys.

I wanna get the smallest the better.. Room too packed le. Haha...
Difficult to find pink playpen too..

Hope this playpen i looking at dun dissapoint me. Will go and check it out at the store. Hee...

does any1 has a cure for blocked nose? my hubby having SERIOUS block nose everyday. after bath will sneeze very loud for quit long. in the middle of the night , if wake up to go toilet, he cant sleep back for hours cos the nose block, making him very terrible... somemore he always drink many water, i oso no noe y like this.

he say nose like got much dirt and need to sneeze out, hope u guys have a way for me... this is happening everyday so c doc oso no use cos medicine finish still come back.

hope that there be a way to cure it completely

joann, i think u can have aircon but not fan. according to my MIl la..

sharon, FTG has a model that promises to keep contents cool for 12 hrs, but i found it cold enough only when i added in additional 2 ice bricks. the FTG itself is padded all sides with built in ice packs already.

liping, john little also got sale this weekend.. but dunno if its just for cardmembers.

lin

is it sinus? Or a cold? I think they sell this tape thing at pharmacies to open up the airways. If not, maybe can try the bb way. I use this salt water spray to clear bb's nose when it's blocked. It's called Sterimar. U can get it at any pharmacy.

mashy: Gd Q! I only want to have 1 leh.. Haha.. I really suffer alot in this pregnancy... I very scare to have #2! from pre-preggy till now i only gain 1.5kg, minus off bb's weight all this, i dun think i gain any lor!

Was hospitalize becoz of dehydration, can't eat or even drink. Vomite like nobody busniess till got blood...

Hubby see me like this he also cry in the hospital. Lol... And he also say 1 is enough! Haha...

lin: ur husband got sinus is it?

i get that also.. and i know my triggers, like sleeping in air con room.

What i do after i wake up is, die die fight the urge to sneeze or blow my nose. Cos i know once i start, i wouldnt stop..

liping

u never know... My boy's classmates' mom had a pair of twins, also went thru hell, hospitalised, poked needles all over and now she has forgotten her suffering then and want more children!

liping, wa ur playpen is reallly really pink
so sweet!

but mashy got a point leh.. if #2 is a boy, then how? maybe shld get something a bit more neutral.. though the pink is really quite pretty hehe

lin: mayb ur hubby can consult doctor...some ppl have nose blockage/allergy...which can b cure by simple day surgery to clear the blockage.

mashy: if i wan to have a #2, i also have to wait till my flat is ready in 2011/2012. As now i'm staying in a rental room so not a very good place for bb to grow up and she have to stay in the room all the time.. Haha...

liping, ermm i'm not sure if their website is updated. i received a flyer with a $5 coupon for cardmembers, but cant remember if the sale also extended to public.

joann, yup.. no direct wind can already.

is anyone not gonna bathe/wash hair for the whole confinement mth? my mil has told me i cant bathe/wash hair for the 1st 12 days.. feeling v sian at the thought of it.

jules

If its really a boy than maybe buy another 1 lor, than the pink playpen will have to give away liao.. Haha...

Sweet hor! I love it when i first saw this playpen! So cute la!

jules

haha, u actually listen to your MIL? If my MIL dares tell me, i will just ignore. hahaha. So dirty not to bath. Poor baby, drinking all the contaminated breastmilk.

I very "fan" abt the car seat. Need to find a cheap but good one for newborn coz my hand me down isn't suitable for newborns.

jules

i thot john little having a sales @ expo? u mean they are also having sales for cardmembers at the stores as well?

Jul in wk: actually new born only use for awhile leh...mayb u can buy those paddings to support bb b4 it can sit properly... feedback from friends is that bbs dun like to sit on car seats oso

joann S

it's not true. My boy sat in his car seat from the hospital. Even if he doesn't like it, i'll make him sit in it. It's for his own safety.

jul
u can get a convertible or a carrier type. Car seats are worth paying the money for a good one. Other things can save but car seat cannot save too much.

mashy: ok...i no experience but a friend told mi she carried baby all the way when bb is newborn. cos bb keep crying when left alone in the car seat.. depends on individuals lor i tink =)

Joann S, I agreed with Mashy. Carseat is very important and each seat has a life span of 6 yrs. So you have to find out how old is the passed me down. I am using my friend's infant carseat here which is about 2 yr old and accident free. All babies and children adapt really fast so you have to make them sit in it once in the car and they will get use to it.

i thought infant car seat n child carseat is different? infant is with alot of padding n stuff? then carseat is those bigger size with lesser padding?

joann S

Well, u have to think for yourself whether you will compromise your bb's safety or not becoz your bb is crying. What if a car hit u from behind? U can be a careful driver, but others aren't. The bb will be sent flying. It's very dangerous to carry bb in the arms.

I was hit by a racing car from behind last year. He was chasing after another car and slammed right into mine. My entire car boot had to be changed, all the tyres from my car warped. Thank God my boy wasn't in the car then. But even if he is, i'm sure he'll be safely buckled in his car seat.

I once saw a lady driving her gal in the front seat, no seat belt, no booster. She just jam brake in a small road, her gal hit the windscreen.

Pp don't realise the dangers until their kids get hurt and by then it's probably too late for any regrets.