(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegsfur, can eat soft boil eggs?? thot supposed to eat only fully cooked eggs cos of risk of salmonella in undercooked ones?

i wanna eat my bak chang too...

hey pris
thks for sharing yr experience, it's really encouraging to hear positive experiences as most mummies (includng my friends) were quite discouraging abt GD or for that matter, any form of early learning actually.

How much time do you spent in the early days flashing the cards? did you buy the GD set or did you DIY?

I'm not planning to buy the GD set, intend to DIY after reading the books as the books do offer some suggestions. One interesting point to note is that you mentioned that the words you use are relevant for Kai to communicate with you (reduces frustration)- do you still have those word lists - can you share with me?

piggy,
Hahaha .. ya lah, i ate 1 and 1/4 of the bak chang last nite ... didn't dare to eat too much

pris,
Ya, i heard abt that too .. but i oso read somewhere that we can eat it too although i can't really remember the explanantion given. Anyway, i dun eat that too often, so i guess it's ok bah.

just to share

GD learning system
NB to 3 mths - black & white &/or red cards on white background to stimulate visual
3 mths to 6mths/9mths - flashcards - single words
9mths to 12mths/18mths - couplets & sentences
3 mths to 24mths/36 mths - maths dots
12mths onwards - BOI cards (words & pictures)

Generally GD flashcards suitable till 6 yrs of age.

GD also covers physical / motor skills, most of it a series of games that you can play with bb that stimulates breathing & balance, quite similair to gymboree system of play.

Other learning methods - phonics - etc, anyone has other programs methods to recommend?

pris,
one more question, what's the difference between sight word flashcards and flashcards GD style?

Babymaking, I got my cards through a couple of mums who join forces to do the printing together. So it was like really reasonable and save me the trouble to buy the blank cartds and to write on them.

First word, Kai used, surprised my dh's colleague too. Coz his 3 boys only start to talk after 15months. Kai was able to call Daddy very clearly when he was close to 9 months and from them onwards, he was like calling every1 in the family.

I teach him thinks like milk, water, porridge, bread, biscuits, fruits. The list is no here, they are store away with my GD cards in the store room.

Babymaking, sightword are words that are found in all books. And also Dolch lists coz some of these words cannot be breakdown using phonics so I taught him through flashcards too.

Babymaking, it depends on babies too, Kai will not want to do flashcards now, he is more interested now to learn about the meaning of each word and forming sentences with them and reading them in the books. Like for every new word that he comes across, he will ask me what it means and he will try to use it.

For phonics, I used two books to teach Kais from homeschooler series and also Leapfrog DVDs and Progressive Phonics where he reads books teaching the phonics sounds but written in hilarous manners which made him have a good laugh and remember the sound. Also Hooked on Phonics are a great companion for him.

Kai also went to the gym when he is little. Now he is into more running, swimming, etc.

jules, both tracy hogg/gina ford advocates for babies to sleep at 7pm... but of course you don't have to make it 7pm if you don't wnat to. Still their basic routine concepts are very useful. How come u dun want baby to sleep early? It is such bliss and peace when my girls go to sleep super early cos I have lots of personal time :p

pegsfur, I have also accidentally eaten half cooked eggs and afew times, and its been ok
so think once in a while soft boiled should be ok.

Oh by the way, I also had a contract like yours when preggy with #2, and didn't get any ML

sharon,
you can get cheap and pretty good nursing bra from this fashion, i found some at the This Fashion at AMK.

For those of your who still wants to get your maternity wear, Sping maternity is having sales at Tanjong Pagar MRT, it's not in the spring but opposite the polar store, they are having sales there. Maternity and nursing top $10-$15 each.. i bought 6 pieces of tops yesterday, tummy getting bigger, exisitng clothes can't wear already..

pegs:
hehe.. i also sneak n eat slft boil eggs.. in fact i love them so much... hehe..

pris
Hehe.. good for u.. 1 down... another 2-3prob to solve? hehehe...

morning ladies!

so so sleepy these few days... finding it difficult to concentrate @ work :S

Nicole
Any idea what time the sale ends in the evening? Probably can drop by after work :p

pris/mashy
u guys know the operating hours for Dr EK ONG clinic?? he is good at treating cough n colds right?? my ger's cough has not recovered and seems to have worsen.. tot of bring her to him coz i heard that he is good at this?
dun wanna to bring her to Dr Ang anymore (i think she will come with exhorbitant procedures and medicine who does not help this time ard)

Hi All, I m back again..

Re waxing/shaving, i think i will do the waxing b4 delivery dun wanna shave by the nurse wor...

Wow, the topic on flashcards... ya i read abt it in one of GD's book..very interesting but must c if bb interested or not..

Piggytoh, morning!!!! i went to this website too to download free flashcards

mich,
Huh .. really ah? Although i'm sort of prepared and take it that i won't have ML, but still, it'll be good if i'm entitlted to it. But then again, i think very low chance cos my contract is renewable 1/2 yearly, and my current contract ends on 26 Aug, and my edd is 21 Aug. I doubt i'll get anything

tas,
Ya lor .. i oso like soft boil eggs .. even fried eggs i oso like sunny-side up .. those runny egg yolk de

Actually, my mum was puzzled why i said preggy cannot eat, cos she said when she was preggy with us, she ate 2 soft boiled eggs everyday wor.

mich, cos i work full time and only reach home at abt 630.. so if the kids sleep at 7pm, i wont get any time to play with them at all! i'm also out of the house by 715 everyday.. wld be best if they cld sleep at 9pm and wake at 9am

pegs
coz of salmonella lor...
but i eat in moderation lar... maybe cannot have the yolk too runny... have to eat it when the yolk is harder... u know TANG2 XIN1 DAN4 - runny but not v runny yolks in jap ramen? v v nice ar!

jules
i let my ger sleep ard 9pm... and she wakes up ard 9-10am
it really depends on ur own schedule and timing, as long as bb gets the "required" amt of sleep, it is actually okay.
with Singapore working lifestyle, it is actually v hard to adhere to 7pm-7am sleeping lifestyle

Just to share:

Spore confirmed 1st case of H1N1. 22 yr old lady came back from New York ytd morning, case cfm ytd midnite..

check out more details in Channelnewsasia..

pegsfur, actually try to avoid half cooked food if possible lor. i know of a mother who had a still birth at wk 38 and investigations showed the baby had died of infection likely from consumption of half cooked food.. it was really v v sad. so dun take the risk lor.. hope no offence to u. other kinda food we are supposed to avoid but with no medical reasons eg crabs, mango, cooling stuff are still ok once in a while.

taslyn, my girl not v keen to sleep leh.. even when she sleeps at 9pm, she'll wake up at 7 plus. i've never had her sleep a full 12 hrs at night before! she does take 1 nap in the afternoon, but even that is just 1 hr, max 2 hrs.

joyful, omg... sianz... looks like we'll be back to having to wear masks and having temp screening

tas,
Ya, i know ... but it's just too great a temptation!

jules,
If bb sleep by 7pm, den my hubby won't get to bond with bb cos he's not even home till 8+!

tas, I have not seen dr Ong before, but my girl sees another cough/asthma specialist at the Singapore baby and child clinic. His name is Dr Koh Poh Kian and he's really good too.

pegsfur, maybe ask the HR pple and see what they say. Some companies are quite nice about it.

Jules, sleeping at 9pm is quite early still anyway
My girls slept at 7pm when they were below 1, there was nothing I could do to keep them awake! But now they are older they sleep bet 830-9pm.

jules
hmmm.. my ger also does not nap for long in the afternoons.. prolly jsut max of 1 hr each time.. so i try to put her on more naps.. but she can sleep thru.. esp if she realises i m not awake, she will continue to sleep...

sunshineG
how come suddenly get rashes? did u apply sth on ur face?

re: H1N1
fainted... so no delivery for me at Mt A liao lor.. sian.. i dun like TMC ley...

jules,
Ok .. will heed yr advice and stay out of half-cooked stuff.

Another 3 more months to ta-han ......

sunshineG,
I do not have rashes, but i have a back-ful of acne! Dunno why but those acne has been popping out on my back ... pain & itchy

tas, let me check the clinic number and get back to you. You call up and check the clinic time.

Singapore Baby & Child Clinic
339 Thomson Road, #05-06
Thomson Medical Centre,
Singapore 307677

Tel: 6252 6115
Fax: 6282 6178

H1N1: authority still tracing those on board same flight as the gal..so, be careful and minimise gg public or enclosed places.. start wearing mask liao.. n sanitizing hands..

JoyFul, my Ob & G and preferred paed already told me b4 hand to book TMC liao if alert does not go down to green. Both will only stationed at TMC.

Taslyn - no, didn't do anything unusual... i noticed that a bit more oily recently, but didn't do anything except blot more often, n drink more water. then last night, super itchy... going to see a doctor later.

Pegsfur, i read that drinking more water helps acne...

pris,
I'm already bathing 3 times a day le ... shld be enough rite? As for scrubbing, i'm hesitating cos i'm scared of breaking the skin. Maybe ask my hubby to scrub for me ... and avoid the acne areas.

sunshine g,
Ok .. will try to drink more water.

Btw, ladies, the Desitin Creamy Diaper Rash Ointment is for diaper rash rite? Not to be used as a barrier cream?

H1N1 - i think we dun need to worry abt our hospitals yet right... by the time we deliver, hopefully the whole swine flu thingy wld have blown over.

actually even if it doesnt, and the no of visitors are limited, it might be a gd thing too. we'll get more rest after delivery cos nobody can visit! :p

tas, think ur girl still small.. needs ? 2 naps a day right? my girl is 2 yrs old, went down to 1 nap a day since she was abt 13 mths old

mich, mine doesnt like to sleep i think. when she was younger, it was worse.. she wld sleep at 10plus or even 11 at times! so i was always v envious hearing stories from other mummies on how their babies slept from 7 to 7!!

#2 seems to be v v active at night too.. in fact he's most active from 10pm onwards. even at night when i get up to pee, he's also awake! faint.. hope he wont be another night creature like the father..

pegsfur, i use desitin for every diaper change, even now. to prevent diaper rash, so i guess u cld say it acts as a barrier cream. its really gd for clearing up any diaper rash too!

Good morning...

Shirley, Cheryl, Jules.
Ya still can let me know if u want the booties ya.(PM me your colour choice)
I am collecting $8 for 1 pair for material cost.using cotton/bamboo yarns and will mail out using local postage.
I will send it out when all or at least mostly done to save trip to go down to post office.. hope u gals understand ya. alternative i can meet and pass by hand at yishun/sembawang/woodlands...

nicole,

for the sale @ Tanjong Pagar MRT, are they still ava after office hours, say around 6+pm ?
As I know most of the shops there are open only during office hours.

pegsfur, I shower 5 times a day.

Destin creamy diaper can be used as a barrier cream too but it is costly if bb does not have expensive skin can also use danlopene cream as barrier cream.

jules
mine can take 3-4naps a day coz she always take short duration naps...

my #2 also v v active... all times of the day.. puke blood ar

okie dokie
mi go gynae visit liao...

Hi Dolcevita, i'm not sure if it's still around after 6 as I went during my lunch time yesterday. Am not in the office today, so can't check for you. maybe you want to give spring maternity @ tangjong Pagar branch to ask.

$^%$%*()(#!@! i wrote a lot to post and somehow it all disappeared &^%$*)(*

eh do you gals find that nowadays - esp reaching 3rd tri, u get more and more short tempered, bothered abt tiny stuff?

pris,
no worries about the list, will just have to think a bit and DIY. Having worked all my life, and not working now...brains seems to have slow down a lot. nowadays always looking for short cuts :p

thks for explaining abt sightwords and the recommendations for phonics programs - will check it out later. for phonics, at what age did you start out?

actually singapore kids learn phonics at what age in school? preschool or nursery class?

piggy/cheryl
piggy, thks for the link, i already bookmarked it. One thing to note abt GD method is that the flashcrds have to be of certain size/colour/font etc - pictures have to be specific type also.

so some of the ready materials online cannot be use wholesale - have to adapt accordindly. In the beginning i thought it was a lot of crap - cos flashcards are flashcards - but then after reading GD books, realise there;s a reason why the cards must be certain size/font/colour etc etc.

re: BW
anyone has any promotions/ recommendations for Strip (which branch) or honeypot? which one is better? It has been more than 6 mths since went for BW...also cannot remember where is good.

mashy,
Im looking for that book. I've already PM you, Thanks in advance.

H1N1,
oh no, that means the alert will soon be raised to orange again - means ante natal class cancelled again?? hiaks....so troublesome, i still haven't go for the hospital tour yet, still haven't decide between KKH or TMC. ARGHS.

Nicole, does all this fashion have nursing bra?

I am planning to go out and get those pj dresses with front opening or big shirts for bfd. Will pack the necessary stuff for hospital bag.