(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

angel wipes
I am interested in the wipes. If i remember correctly, this wipe is better than other wipes and cheaper right? is it as thick as other expensive wipes like J & J?

confinement
How much will we spend for ingredients & DOM for confinement food? Do we need to buy special ingredients like chinese herb that cost a lot?

lawshe
my boy is 1440g the last time my gynae measured him! i also didnt put on weight (so far still minus about 1kg from pre-pregnancy weight). i think it is ok lah, as long as baby is the one putting on weight then ok le. best is we dont put on weight!!

Reira:u wanna share the wipes let me know la can order together unless u get $60 of wipes urself

confinement food: i think hv to see waT kind of ingredients u eating.......simple food and dom is not ex...herbs are

1440 is good weight !!!!! dun think my Lucas is tat haevy also now.......all onto mommy liao...champ

Good afternoon gals!

Am in a rather gd mood tdy haha. Got my Gap jeans & they a re a bit loose, but very wearable. Jialat hor, laft 3 mths then get jeans to wear.

angel wipes

What is this Angel wipes? Seems so much cheaper compared to other "normal" brands like Pigeon, J&J etc? Are they good? Suitable for sensitive skin?

I liked the smell of the Pigeon blue package ones & the J&J ones.

PD check-ups

Anyone can advise on when Babylet needs to go for check ups or jabs etc after delivery? Will it be during confinement? Wud it be at TMC or any clinic? So confused..

Kiddy Palace

Is KP expensive compared to places like Taka & Robinsons? I went there for the first time in my life tdy, but dun really know the prices, so din dare to buy, even tho got 15% disc.

Back fr shopping trip. Bought a cot & changing table cum drawer from mothercare. They having 15% discount. But told them to only deliver the items end of next month. Whew! At least I manage to settle some of the big ticket item.

Bb clothing shop
For those staying in the west, there is this shop on the top floor of beauty world that carries lots of bb stuff. I bought stuff like bb towels & cloth napkins from there.

Sharon, for passed me down, it has been practised in my family for a long time according to my mum and my friend who passed me the cloth for Kai also practised that. Mum only mentioned that during 1st month wear new clothes. So far, all my nephews and nieces are very easy babies.

Anyone care to share whether angel wipe is thick? I tried Baby Looney Tunes wipe, it is extra thick and good. Thot I might ask my bro to drive me to get a box those for refuse. (Price wise, it is like $2.05 per packet for 90 sheets, Aloe Vera, Alcohol Free)

Today, went with Kai for his Cold Storage Kids Run and my friend passed me lots of cloth diapers. So I think baby stuff I have almost all the things I needed.

Jul, for me, I go back to my preferred paed for check-ups and jabs. Even now, Kai is still seeing Dr EK Ong when we are back in Sg. I will stick with Dr EK Ong in Singapore and when back in Oz, baby will go to Kai's Paed there. Dr EK Ong is from Singapore Baby and Child Clinic at TMC 5th floor, long queue at his clinic but he is a very good Paed.

Did someone mentioned that for pigeon laundry soap, there r 2 kinds? A made in japan version vs a made in another country type ?

sharon

i'm not sure abt self collection, u may wanna call Steven abt it. Otherwise, u can share with a few other mtbs here to make up the no.

Re: Angel Wipes
It's like pigeon type. Not the J&J type of thickness. J&J is very thick.

Re: Laundry powder
I'm using Pureen laundry powder & kodomo softener.

Lawshe
I've gained 10kg and bb is 1.4kg at 29 weeks. Not sure how much more she has gained so far.

My friends have commented that I look so big now, like going to give birth anytime. sigh... Still 2 more mths to go. Wonder how i'll look at the end of it.

Jul

Usually within the first week after delivery, you'll need to bring your bb to see the PD. If all clear, then no need to see PD anymore until the jabs which will be after confinement. But if got jaundice etc, will be seeing PD more often/take blood tests etc.

I'm also using EK Ong from SBCC for delivery at TMC. But once out, will go back to my usual PD Dr Koh Poh Kian at SBCC AMK.

PLAYPEN MATTRESS
Was thinking of buying a mattress for the playpen but not too keen to spend too much. Does anyone knows where to buy a reasonably priced mattress?

Phy:
I am not hiring confinement lady or catering food. But my mom will help me out during confinement.

*Michelle*
No confinement food? Can consider catering.

yen:so nice of ur mom
any recipes to share from ur mom?????

mattress:most of them not cheap le.....those at hdb shops ones loooo to try out first....wll need more later to act as a falling mattress for them.

babymaking..
lol it is okay to stock lar... eventually bb will use it...

tried the baby pic webbie... dun look like my ger when they gen ger ger pic.. lol...
in fact.. all look scary! lol

mashy
everywehre it is like that.. seems like only have indians from india doing intensive travelling now...
taxi uncle on the way back from changi mentioned that travel numbers dropped almost by 30%...

jul
yeah lor.. like mashy said.. 1st week see PD.. after that can dun see PD that often.. even for those jabs, can just go to GP which sometimes may offer cheaper rates than PD or polyclinic de..
for myself, the nearest PD kill pple put fire with their charges, so i go to a GP quite near my place and alot of kids/bb see that GP de.

re:weight gain...
think i put on like 2-3kg so far.. pple thought i was still fat from #1 or that i am 5 mths preggy though nearing 28wks.. sigh..
hb says he will force mi to eat durian if bb weight is lesser than 1kg @ 28wks... sigh

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $150

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)PIGEON - nursing pads 36s (unopened)
selling at $8

4)huggies ultra super jumbo pack M size selling at $18, or exchange with its L size.

5) New Avent pacifier 3-6mths, pink & yellow, with teddy bear design selling at $8

pls pm if interested-
self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands)

Thanks, Pris, mashy, taslyn for the PD advice.

pink

U must be relieved to get the big ticket items done hor? Even small itmes, like laundry powder - I feel much better after I bot a couple of boxes.

I think the Pigeon laundry powder I bot was made in Msia/Thai (can't really rem). Think the Pigeon liquid laundry's made in China? Dun rem seeing a made in Japan one.

Angel Wippes

I already have abt 10 packs of various Pigeon BB wipes. Dunno if it's too KS to also get Angel wipes now? Esp when $60 is prob like 36 packs???

jul
there is nothing as too KS to get wipes.. there are many uses for them, but hv to take note of expiry dates only.

i just restock my small pack(20) mamy poko wipes - i like them coz they are thick like J&J... and ordered big packs as well...

JUl:too many may dry up .....if bb always inhouse...like mon till fri type then no need much cos care taker can use wet towel ( more cost effective) sat/sun/....wont use a pack each day bah????one pack normal days usually can last for 5 days or more.

36 x 5.....almost half a yr le....

Good morning mummies... MIA a while and i am back..hope can catch up with u gals here:p.. archives too long liao dun think can catch up from there ler...

Anyone went to the Philips Sale over the weekend? I bought the Avent strerilizer and some teats though...they dun have BPA free bottles on sale :-(

Re wipes, it will dry up if consumption is slow so dun stock up too many. Still pondering shld i get powder or liquid washing for bb clothings...any advice huh

morning cloud

cheryl:
hmmm philips sales over the weekend?? aiya missed it... wanted to get a new blender and some other stuff... nvm wait for aug sales then

as for washing detergent, i use liquid types... so can use like "dynamo" to apply over clothes that have been stained...
for tougher stains or clothe diapers, use napisan

cloudme:heee not in the mood le tat day....me disappointed kaakakaka but its oki can see his long~~~~ legs hohohoohoho

cheryl:i went but nothing much to buy le.....not super duper cheap unless u stay there the whole day and wait for them to hv a specail price item.

liquid or powder think depending on preference....liq it hink we may put too much kakkakakak....powder can see better...me older ma

morning tas

so back in spore?

how's ur trip? see that u went on trip again... **envy**

U mention that u were at the bugis bb shop last mon...
is that u that i saw?
what time u were there?
were u with another MTB?

Morning ladies

Finally i'm reaching 3rd trimester this week

Has finally drilled in hubby that we shld really start buying all the necessary bb stuff. He was still asking "Need to buy so fast meh? Still got time what." Den told him all these stuff shld be done at the end of 2nd trimester already cos if not, i'll probably be too big and tired to go around comparing prices and buying them.

So, anyone has the name/address of the shop in chinatown which sells bb stuff? Other than hankies and towels, wat other stuff can we buy from there? Shampoo/bath tub/powder etc?

cloudme:saw fromt he doc's clinic pixs from his previuos clients...so cute those pixs....sucking of thumbs/toes la.....yawning......etc.....no chance liao to take

pegsfur:issit SWANSTON u talking about for cheaper shamppoo etc????their J & J wipes also cheaper tooo think $3.10 each pack.

its above the hawker centre at issit people's park complex...i oly know how to go hehehheheh(next to OG )

I was there yesterday for makan then passed by and chanced upon the sale coz din read abt any sales gg on there in papers or email lor..

Weishy, u r right the items on sales r limited range.. as in my mind only left sterilizer n teats to get nia and the price for the sterilizer is $128 cheaper than the sale i saw at robinsons or isetan so i buy lor.

Thks Tas & Weishy for the types of laundry agent to buy..hmmm.. mayb i buy both poweder n liquid try try la...

cloud
yup back liao lor.. yesh went on trip again.. wanna travel b4 i get swarmed by miad, house and another bb... dun think can travel much after #2 is out liao mah

yeah was at the bugis shop ard 3+ and was with dollie.. coz met her for lunchie... i was the joker who left my pram outside the shop and carrying my ger, din buy anything while i was there though

pegs
u mean bb clothing shop? that one is in bugis..
if u r talking abt the one which sells bb cot, pram, then it is another shop liao.
Cheong Choon Store
34 Up Cross St #03-132, 058340, Singapore
p: 65323855

other bb stuff like shampoo/powder, u can buy from ocean @ people's park , ie if u going cheong choon lar else u can get the stuff from other kiddy shops like kiddy palace, unless u are looking for other specific brands.

Tas,
oh...i see...
so u r the mummy with the little ger and dollie is the MTB...
both of u r slim...

i guess u and dollie know how i look like now kekeke...
my tummy looked so big compared to urs and dollie's...

and i am the MTB who was buying 2nd batch of clothing...

didn't managed to take a good look at ur ger...

dr ek ong
did i see his name here? yes, i'm oso using him, till now.. likes him alot..quite spot-on with his diagnosis and knows how to distract kids during jabs..

mashy
my trip to sentosa was good though.. thinking of doing another one before i pop coz last chance to do it alone with hb and #1. we did nothing much.. just laze n relax type (no underwater world, no songs of the seas.. no tourist attraction)..onli went swimming 2x and took alot of bus-rides and beach tram rides (gave up coz that's the onli agenda in my kid's mind). i went to the club near ur hotel for lunch... actually quite a cool place to chill out..

cloud
lol... so we were at the same shop at the same time!! i rem there was a lady who came to buy clothes again, so that was u!.. think it was the bear bear pattern de? blue and brown right?

me not slim lar.. already 63kg liao woh!
yeah lor.. alot of pple say my tummy is small ley.. alot think that i am 5-6mths preggy.. when i say 7 mths, they are like shocked...
now mi pending gynae visit this wed, so worry abt bb progress as i never put on much weight (yet) and i crossing my fingers n hope Eaxonn is min 1kg @ 28wks, else sure tio nagged by hb

pegs:
lol.. is okay lar... at least now u know it's 2 diff shops mah

hi, sorry to intrude...

I've a car seat to sell, very good condition almost like brand new.
Bought less than 2 months ago, and very seldom used.
Those times when my boy does sit, I will always have a covering layer over it.

Details -
1. Striking red and black colour combo
2. Suitable from infant to toddler (0 to 18 kg)
3. 5 point harness
4. Convertible & reclinable - can be used both rear and forward facing
5. Wrapped in protective plastic to keep it dust free

Selling for $130, self-collect at my place at Bt Batok.
Pls PM me for pictures.

cloud
yeah ur tummy is much bigger... hehe.. i tot u were a MTB doing last min shopping coz looks machiam like gonna pop liao! hehehe..
good ley, i envy u
at least u know that bb is comfy in ur tummy.. i think mine is all squashed up in mine... my gynae mentioned he is concerned that i not putting on weight, will see what he say this wed.

morning!!!

Cheryl, my check up from 4 weeks become 3 weeks once...

re: angel wipes

any mummies wanna share the angel baby wipes?? i doubt i can buy so much.. i bought quite a few pack liaoz...

re: kidzloft
i went to the preg mummy sale on sat.. but was kinda disappointed.. didn't buy much stuff...

smurfy

glad to know that you've enjoyed the hols.

Re: Seeing PD vs GP

IMHO, I feel that it's better to see PD when the kids are younger. Reason being that GPs aren't versed in pediatrics. Even though it's cheaper to see a GP, they may not know what can or cannot be prescribed to a child. Very often, they can give overdose or even the wrong meds to the child. Came across a few such instances before that the GP gave meds not meant for babies/children to them. I feel that since our little ours are so precious to us, what's that extra money lor? Better be safe... And sometimes u may feel that GP's meds work better, well, it could be coz it's overdose/ meds meant for older kids/adults. But it could be damaging to their livers/kidneys in the long run.

tas,
ur remarks same as my gynae...
when she saw me during recent appt...she said she thot i going to pop liao...

me not slim either...
my last weight is 64kg...

cheryl

yes, they do. In fact sometimes they have clearance stocks for that. So can get very cheap bedsheets/pillow cases too. Like $1 for pillow case and $10 for bedsheets. I bought most of my cot sheets/pillow cases there.

Cheryl,

yup they sell.. they even sell the whole bumper + pillow + comforter set.. jus that i bought 2 bumper already so not intention to get another..

cloud
hehehe... as long as weight gain is not alot, no GD, then shld be okay right?

mashy
agree on ur view on GP vs PD
but the PD in my area is famous for exorbitant charges and prescribe med which are not even required. other times, the GP prescribes the same med as the PD lor.
then my ger was seeing Dr ang ai tin @ TMC.. her charges are getting more n more exhorbitant and i felt like we are on chopping block.
think will let my ger see Dr EK Ong next time since so many mummies here advocate him.

tas

i heard a lot of bad stuff abt Dr Ang...

Yah, go and see Dr EK Ong. I think he's great with babies. His clinic is rather crowded though coz he's just so popular.

mashy:wow veyr cheap le!!!!!!!

janice:can msn/fb me plsssss.SL wants 12 and me also 12
u oki to take 12???if not i can take the rest la
,cos i hv 2 children ma