(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

mashy/mich, actually hor, i even bought 2nd hand breast pump b4.. and he didnt make any noise. dunno why he suddenly dun like the idea of getting 2nd hand nursing pillow! maybe he thinking that the baby might have vomited milk on it b4, and milk will def seep thru the slip cover to the inside?

yen2008, storage bags usually arent fitted to the pump directly leh. unless u mean certain bottle liners, which u can use to line the bottles b4 attaching to the pump eg avent milk liners. then can pump directly inside.

storage bags - gonna stick to avent liners. cheap and gd. but not buying yet.. cos if things go like they did for #1, i only started having enough to store when she was abt 2-3 mths old.

same goes for breast pads.. completely forgot abt them until mashy mentioned them. i think i still have some left over from #1s time cos i got rashes from the pads!

smurfy, urs is a girl this time right? no wonder u are going mad buying clothes
i cant seem to gather the same enthusiasm to buy clothes for no 2 cos boys clothes arent as exciting as girls' clothes! often end up buying even more clothes for my girl instead :p

where to get the new covers for the brest friend pillow? does taka/robinsons also sell?

mich

ask u, is $30 for the used my brest friend pillow worth it? Used once, with an extra BN pillow case. Coz not really sure exactly how much it costs now. Think it's abt $50+ for a brand new one during sale period?

jules
i know mums n babes carries the covers for brest friend pillow.. robinsons cannot remember.. me not frequent with taka..

err if u see the amt of clothes i stock up, u would have faint..i dun even dare to look at them now.. whenever a batch arrives.. i just open and see.. and quietly put it aside into the corner of the wardrobe :X

jules

i also didn't buy much for my boy for his first few mths. Only got those $3.50 rompers and bought some 2nd hand clothes for him. Poor thing. But now we buy so many toys for him.

mashy, used once only? Then its as good as new. So think you have a good deal
Actually I remember it was $70 before discount, so normally Robinsons only have 20% discount.

jules, my girl has puked all over my brestfriend, and actually if its cleaned fast enuf, it won't seep in...

mashy, wow C got so many new toys, he is so blessed!! I'm quite stingy when it comes to buying toys cos I dislike things cluttering my house :p My girls are always playing with hand me downs.

mashy, i just spent 60 bucks on 3 outfits for my girl on BPs.. whereas for my boy, i was only hunting for cheapo rompers (like $2/pc kind) and cute bibs from taobao.. :p a bit poor thing la.. intend to let him wear his sister's old newborn clothing also. hehehe..

smurfy, thanks.. i will go check out the dept stores and see how. or source online for BN nursing pillow lor.. make hb sponsor it since he is so jie2 pi4!

am actually looking at this - http://www.mybrestfriend.com/travel. selling in some online stores for 49.90. wldnt it make more sense to get this instead since there's a chance i might get 'dependent' on it??

jules, I tried to look at boys clothes online but gave up cos its all the same colour and style (yawn) and switched back to the girls sections... think my bb boy won't be having much clothes at all ha ha ha

honestly, I felt that the brestfriend was the best thing I have after the PIS.

mashy, wow.. so ex ah?? then u really have a v gd deal!

wonder what else i am forgetting to buy, since i am so bochup for this pregnancy.. last time v kancheong spider so bought more things than i cld use for #1.

jules

i read some reviews on this travel type is that it doesn't include an air pump, so u will need to blow it up. And it's a few inches thinner than the foam pillow.

mich

haha, the best thing i bought was a music toy for my boy which kept him calm on his crying days. :p Going to let his mei mei have it too.

mich, i know what u mean! really glad i have a girl to buy all the nonsense for
i actually make an effort to look thru all the sections on boys clothes online.. but its more like an obligatory thing hahaha... deep down inside cant wait to move on to the girls clothes section hehehe

hb actually quite disgusted with me.. said must buy new clothes for the boy - reason being he discovered a picture of himself when young where his parents dressed him in his elder sis's pink polo t-shirt and maroon shoes!!

mashy, oh so it inflates after my blowing into the pillow for 2 continuous minutes???? faint.. cant imagine tackling a crying ravenous baby while trying to blow up the pillow.. hmm..

the best thing my girl has is actually a FP bouncer! really kept her quiet and soothed her.. and it was a present!

mich
err the best buy i think is the playmat leh.. at least i am still using it now :p i never like breastfeeding.. it's just something i got to do :p

jules
kekekkee ur hb soo funny. yah it's oso obligatory that whenever i shop for girl's clothes, i get a few pcs for my #1 boy :p

jules, ha ha I actually laughed out loud when I read that your hb was dressed in his sister's shirt and shoes. Ok I promise I won't do that to my boy lah...

jules

hahaha, that's so funny.

Boys stuff if u want, still can find, just need to dig harder. Now instead of looking for diff designs, i look more for interesting t-shirts with cute captions.

He has a t shirt that says 'back off buddy' and one that says 'Here comes trouble'. hahaha

smurfy, wa!!! how come u bought a girl romper for ur boy???

hb really wasnt v amused when he discovered the pic.. till now still going on and on abt it at his parents! can understand why his parents recycled his sis clothes for him.. cos they are born 12 mths apart, and they were quite poor last time lor. and despite being dressed in girls' clothes, he still looked like a boy boy ma, so no harm done!

boys clothes - i just find myself looking at overalls, jeans, and t-shirts over and over again.. very hard to gather enthusiasm leh. hehe.. nvm la, just save money to buy toys for him instead.

yay!! can knock off in 10 min.. its only wednesday...

I saw the orders coming in already. will consolidate soon. For shipping fee, you can leave it blank first, cos some sellers will waive or reduce when they see the orders. I roughly calcution first, then refund to you later.

I find that usually those seller with diamonds or crown level are much more reliable. The goods from them are usually better quality too.

Most of the bags selling online are fake ones, so be prepared if you order it. for the price you pay, just take it like a normal bag lor. so far those from 1st order, I think the agnes ones looks more real than longchamp.

anyway, I can response faster on MSN then on forum, so if you need to look for me, can let me know your email and I'll add you in.

Mich: i saw from the medela instruction guide, they show the picture of a milk bag attached to the pump, and directly collecting the milk from the pump.
Here's the guide, pls see page 2 for the English version.

Anyway, like wat i said..KK is not worth going a 2nd trip..i rather go KL. heehee

Jules: u juz introduced me to a new thing, bottle liners...wa..so chim.

thanks kiki!

So do i transfer the money over to u now or u'll let us know how much to transfer?

Today's shopping day, even though i'm at home! hahaha.

PJPJ: Did u attend last night's class? Or are u attending sat's classes?

I think i sat cross legged on the floor for too long last night during antenatal class, this morning i wake up my hip joints aching man.. hahah.. havent sat cross legged for so long snice start of pregnancy...

Jules: china pple are so good in copying the real branded item..i showed my frenz this website, she juz bot a non-auth Agnes B bag from bangkok, which cost her $15 Sing. She look at the taobao website i show her, only $10plus nia..

babys
are you joining the MtA class? I will resume the class when I'm back. Think I can either join the Sat or weekend ones. so far only attend the lesson 4

yen

Japan was also good with copying and see where they are now. They were like the current china now, so i think eventually, once they remove the bad seeds, China will be 'the country'.

yes, so far the agnes b copies are quite well done. but the other copies are so-so.

tell you this joke, last year my friend came to visit and we went shopping, he wanted to buy art pieces. I spoke to him in english and tell him that its fake... guess what the storekeeper reply? he said its not fake, its copied! and he's very angry and decided not to sell us hor!
till date I cannot figure out the diff.

mashy,
its amazing, china can copy and improvise someone.
sometimes, the copied designs are nicer than original.

You know their "iphone" are very advance now ah!

kiki

there's a difference. Those are called authorised replicas and they will tell u outright it's replicas. And these replicas will have serial nos eg 23/300. Means it's the 23 produced out of 300 batch. This is very common esp for sculptures.

I remember there was a case in Singapore a few mths back abt the man who paid a lot of money for a replica thinking that he got an orginal. Only when he saw the replica no, then he realised it's replica and sued the gallery.

smurfy ha ha dun show ur boy the pix when he grows up or he may be upset.

yen, i see... but Medela bags are expensive, so I also use bottle liners to store. Pour from bottle into bottle liners and then freeze.

kiki: yeah joining.. had 2nd class last night...

I agree, some china copy cat bags look very much like the original!

i bougth 2 Agnes B bags from china, one for me, one for mum..

one my my mum's colleagues, a lady who prides her self on having lots of branded original stuff, insisted that my mum's bag was original even though my mum told her fake. She told my mum i am wrong... ahhaa...

i have a question to ask abt the BM.

When we are back at work, after expressing,

1) do you kip inside the fridge b4 we go home? or using the ice bricks is enuff to kip the BM fresh?

2) can we freeze in office freezer and use the ice bricks to transport home, then continue to freeze at home..?

3) if we contain the BM in bottles, can we transfer the BM in milk bags when we reach home? will it b contaminated?

i duno what is usual procedures to store n transport the BM...

joyful:
if u wanna to keep ur EBM in the fridge in office, better to make sure with others that it is okay for u to do so, some pple may not be understanding and dun like it

it is okay to use ice bricks/cooler box to store EBM n bring it home to freeze.

n to prevent contamination, it is best not to transfer the EBM here n there, jsut express straight into the bags for storage. Lesser stuff for u to clear as well...

mashy
the ERGO is black right??

how siah.. i m so tempted to buy the playmat woh... lol.. so much cheaper! even if it is low quality, i can just put it in other rooms.. lol

pris/tas

i am.

Yah, that one on the link looks black. But not sure if it's available leh coz like no one buying.

kikilala
can help us check if the black one is available? Thanks!