(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

reira
it is delivered woh.. better call them tomolo..
meantime the wrong parcel u better pack properly n tell them to collect from u tml...

happi:
yeah the lady at BCS was very detailed in her explanation... when my hb went back to submit further documents, she interview my hb again... i m arrange for a call to indo to interview my prospect.

no leh. the wrong parcel they sent to me, they already collected back in the afternoon (very fast somemore).

will call them at 8m sharp! so worried >_<

Melly
Quinny buzz, is it those 3 wheels type?

Happi
Yes, it is a sign to ask us to relax, sit down for a while if possible b4 we continue to walk.

Reira
I'm precious.. keke!
Officer in charge will write a more 'serious" letter to MOM, normally can get response faster.

Morning all

RE:MOM enquiry...
finally got a reply from MOM and it's confirm that my co. can't touch my salary
during the 4mths maternity leave as it is part of "Statutory benefits"...
so happy...

hey gals
thks for your concern. both bb &amp; me are ok now.

Just wanted to post my experience so that you gals know what to watch out for also.

Not necessary to wait till 12hr period of no bb movements to check with yr gynae, if you feel that bb is active for past few days and then suddenly stop movement, go check with yr gynae.

you can try to make bb move by drinking some cold water, if failing that, go check with yr gynae.

Just to clarify something - tummy/stomach tightening is differnt from tightenings - the 1st is the skin stretching ..like after eating too full and when skin expanding as tummy expands.

Tightenings on the other hand is like the womb contracting in a vise, it's also known as BH contractions or false labour. It's not painful just discomfort. If it happens 2-3 times a day, that shd be all right, but if frequency increases to 2-3 times an HOUR, then better to see gynae to prevent further tightenings as it may cause the cervix to dilate earlier and bb to be born prematurely.

reira

so glad that you have good chance of claiming your maternity benefits. Cannot let these 'wu liang' co get away with it.

cloudme
Glad for you too!

hmm for mummies getting a maid, besides making sure that the maids go for medical check up (recent one - within the 2 weeks you take them in), also insist that the maids go for DENTAL checkup.

We missed out on the dental check up and now maid has tooth decay which needs extraction plus 2 more which needs fillings. Dental expenses are way more expensive than medical, and employers are advise to bear the expenses. so get them teeth checked out before taking the maid in.

cloud...
kakaka... so now u can rest easy n wait back n get ur 4 mths ML benefits loooo....

wahh the thread is quiet in the morning.. kakaka

reira
good for you, must continue and have persistence to press on to make sure your ex-co pay for your ML.

pink,
did you do the OGTT or was it just a normal blood test for GD? I'm suppose to do the OGTT next fri but thinking whether can escape with just a simple bloodtest that my other gynae is offering. :p

Re: BH contractions vs Labour

1) BH will go away after a short while, but true labour won't.

2) The timing between each contractions is irregular for BH while for the real contraction, it is regular. So you will need to standby your watch and look at the timing. So eg say it occurs every 10mins, means it's real contractions. But if it is sometimes 10mins, sometimes 30mins apart, then probably false labour.

3) If painful, go and see gynae to get meds to relax the womb. Coz BH is not supposed to be painful, just uncomfortable.

Morning ladies

Mickey - yes luckily I was in the kitchen warming the porridge and seeing what she intends to do, if not the spoon would have burn my son's mouth. Arg...

Good luck Taslyn on your new maid, hopefully she is smarter than mine.

babymaking
but hor... so what if dental checkup is done? we still gotta pay if their tooth is decayed or the agent or maid will pay (ie b4 we take her in lar)?

i better check with my agent later... kakaka

mashy
even if BH is not painful BUT is happening 2-3 times a hour, still must see gynae for meds to stop/reduce the contractions cause these contractions though not painful, will still cause the cervix to dilate.

eh taslyn
i dun think so. shd be maid agency problem, just like if there;s something wrong wiht the medical report, no reason you take in the maid right?

hiaks, i wish i known abt this dental thingy, end up got to pay for maid's dental fee. can don't pay for her..but also pitiful lor..imagine dental fee comes around to 250, that's more than 70% of her salary, how to have heart to ask her to pay? esp since she has not been drawing a salary for more than 8 mths already (she's a tsf maid).

BBnGG
aiya i dun wanna have too high an expectation.. coz must accept that there will be social n cultural differences lar... just live and let live lor... plus i am a SAHM, she will just help ard the house and i will supervise from time to time.. cannot expect them to be very automatic immediately when she arrives lar.. prolly give her 3-6mths to adapt bah...

babymaking
but do they consider dental to be medical problem? that is my underlying question... now that u mentioned it, dental cost are much much higher than medical cost...

re:BH
if happen frequently must go see gynae liao.. better to check every little hiccups with gynae then to assume and sit there thinking nothing is wrong and have the "i dun think i am so suay" concept.

Taslyn, automatic no lah but at least smart enough to know what you are asking her to do and I think that will be good enuf for the start. My expectation also not very high right.

My aunt says see me teach this new maid, she also vomit blood. Hahaha... cos the next min she forgotten what she is suppose to do liao.

babymaking

oh is it? Thought it's as it is, false contractions and thus should not have any dilation. But guess we'll only only if it's real of false ones when we're strapped to the machine.

Mine was always very painful for my #1 preg and had to be put on meds. Once off it, the contractions start and labour begins. Kenna hospitalised once becoz i ran out of meds.

Hopefully this time round won't have such things. Now i'm 27 weeks and don't have any yet (Thank God!). Last time, mine started abt 25 weeks i think. Hopefully won't have to go thru this and can wait for the c-section date.

Thanks all
yap now can sit back and relax...

taslyn,
yap...
yesterday spoke to my union head...but he said the 1st 2mth(co paid ML can deduct woh...)

heng i sent an enquiry to MOM on Mon...and they replied its "statutory"...
(yesterday i on MC...so went back home to check my yahoo mail)

this morning, talk to union head again and after he read the reply and he stated yap...
co can't touch my salary...
(cos co wanna implement so no-pay off days/shorter work week during June to Dec for whole company...)

BBnGG,
that y i say i can only cross my fingers lor... from her pic she looks pleasant and alert. she worked with her indon employers for 4 yrs and looked after a 2 storey house with 5 rooms.. so it sorta can fulfill my basic requirements of looking after a big house.
She already has 3 kids - youngest is 5yo so she should be able to handle basic child/baby care. I also noted that her kampong is not the ulu...
for me, her job is mainly housekeeping and look after my dogs.

of course all these are assumptions on my part thus i m arranging for a interview with her so that i can know where to place my expectations and meanwhile i will keep my fingers cross and hope i get a good prize in the "helper's lucky draw"

cloud
hmm union head oso dunno his things til u show him the MOM reply ar? hmmph... or he act blur.. as in can bluff his way thru then he just bluff? nonsense ley...

Oh must remember when you interview her ask if she is alright with taking care of dogs. When i did the interview, a few rejected cos scare of dog. I have a fat JRT. hahaha

Taslyn
dental is a grey area - employers not required by law to pay for maid, but if employer dun pay, then ask maid to pay...is also not very human as maid's salary is so low and dental expenses is so high.

so better to get agency to settle before you get the maid in.

mashy
that's scary. already because of my preterm labour scare at week 16, me very wary of contractions (painful or not). both gynaes i see said that regardless painful or not - to see them for meds to relax womb if it happens again. cos painless contractions also have the same effect on womb - which is shorten &amp; dilates the cervix.

i think painless ones is more scary cos one tends to dismiss it as not painful, so nvm lah, shd be BH. that's what i did.

oh yeah, whether BH or not, can still be seen by CTG, just that BH is irregular while labour contractions are regular.

oh, another thing, i was put on nidipherene(sp?) and went into shock &amp; conk out cos of very low blood pressure, thankfully was in hospital at that time, very drama. so now switch to taking ventolin, hopefully will be better.

BBnGG,
her bioprofile says okay..
but anyway when we so-called confirm her ydae, we did list down the housing she is gonna stay in, what is expected of her to do...

so agent listed the size of our house (slightly bigger than her indo employers), no of dogs (i got 2 Mini schnauzers) and children (my #1 is gonna be 8 mths next week plus my lil one coming in Aug), wash car...

i think she will faint when she see my portfolio.. haha.. think she will work til she headache.. kakaka

tas,
i also feel he act blur
(he just come back from leave)...
anyway...as the co is made up of majority guys...
maybe he could be real ingnorant on the ML thing...(??? doubts???)

anyway my co. HR also suck up group of ppl...
list out the shorter work/wk thing but never list down the basic benefits of the workers...
if ppl goes on hospitalisation leave, ML, CCL or some other "statutory" benefits during the shorter work week...
will they be paid full salary or what...

babymaking

didn't your gynae put u on perm meds? How come still need to go and ask for meds again? I was put on meds till abt 34 weeks when it ran out before my appt and i ended up in hospital coz of that.

tas
Don't put your hopes too high in the sense that don't think your maid can be a wonder woman. One thing is your house is already huge. It won't be easy just cleaning the house and doing the cooking. So i doubt she will have much time to help you with the kids. You'll probably have to handle the kids alone (which i heard from my SAHM friends with 2 kids that it can drive u crazy)unless you have very low expectations of cleanliness.

For me, i'm just staying in a 5 room flat with 1 toddler already find it taxing even with the help of a part time maid. Can't imagine having 2 kids. *shake head*, i think i'll need to get my part time maid to come in twice a week next time.

mashy
yeah that y i say i cannot expect too much.. and i am realistic of what a helper can do... i understand the situation that she will be in facing a big house.. things which i myself dun think i can do, much less expect another person to do... my primary objective of getting a maid is just to look after the house n my dogs.

much of the childcare portion will still be on me til she gets the hang of the housework.. will see how it goes...

irene

how old is your #1? For my #1, he's already 3.5. So i'm sending him to half day cc. At least he'll have his lunch before he comes home and I can rest &amp; just handle my #2 in the morn. Hopefully she's as easy a baby as my #1.

Reira,
must be brave to claim...
can't let those "cheapo" co...
get away with ur entitlement(statutory benefits)...

and u got a pretty good case...
cos ur letter state "termination" and not "retrenchment"...

mashy
i m considering that... hahaha... but meanwhile just wanna concentrate on training up 1 helper 1st.. then she can help mi train up the other one...
after that i can do what i wan liao..

hv to read up on MOM guidelines on employing 2 helpers though

Babymaking &amp; Mickey: Thanks for clearing my doubts on stomach tightening.

Can I chk with u all, what is the mkt rate for 12-hr babysitting? My sil 's existing nanny has quoted me $700 for morning to evening. She is looking after my sil's 2-yr old son, and charging her $900 (overnight, because Sil brings the son back on Friday nite and inclusive of food).
I find $700 abit exp, afterall she is looking after another toddler, and not exclusively looking after my bb.
I am expecting $600, my husb said '$100 not much difference'. I have a maid at home, her main duties is looking after my Mil ( who has a stroke 2 yrs back, but still mobile, but need the maid to cook for her &amp; do housework). I feel like just topping $50-100 to the maid , and let the maid take care, and install CCTV at home. Save me the trouble of daily fetching to nanny's house in the morning &amp; evening. But my MIL is unable supervise the maid most of the times, after meals, she eat her medicine and she become sleepy and need to take a nap after breakfast (10-12noon) and after lunch (2-5pm).

What you gals think? any advice??

yen

my SIL's nanny is $600. Think that's the mkt rate.

I don't think it's a good idea to let the maid look after your kid as well. Coz she'll be busy with your mil &amp; housework already. Taking care of a bb is a full time job. It may add stress to your maid and later she cannot handle the stress how? But if you really want to, u may wanna ask your maid, perhaps top up her salary and ask if she wanna do it. If she can't handle, must let u know then u find an alternative. Don't force it down her throat coz u don't know what stress can do to a person.

Why not look for an alternative nanny?

bear,
Can i have contact for your pt helper? Mine was a lady from china and she does work really well, but she can only come on Sunday at 8am .... so we r looking for another one who's available on sat instead.

tas
The other day u were telling me abt your dogs and your girl's toys. Hiaz .. i doubt my dog will listen if i tell her cannot touch bb's toys. Maybe next time whenever i get a toy for my bb, i buy 1 for her as well.

Speaking of maids, I've got a friend who's 31 this year but already has 4 kids! And she has a pair of twins. She has 2 maids to help out or else she can't cope at all.

babymaking
The drinking of cold water to make bb move is true! I find that everytime i drink cold water, my bb sort of wriggles in my tummy. Funny feeling

And i oso noticed that bb moves/kicks whenever i'm eating or finished eating. Anyone has the same bb movement?

pegsfur

my gal moves like 80% of the time while i'm awake and conscious. Very active gal. She moves when i sit, she moves when i walk, she moves when i lie down. She moves esp when i'm cooking coz of the fire. When i put my tv remote on my tummy, it'll fall off coz she'll kick it away. And can really see the bump go up.

yen
look for an alternative nanny.. mkt rate is $600... but if u dun wan the hassle of running to n fro the nanny's then prolly check with ur maid if she is okay to take care of ur bb... but do expect level of cleanliness of ur house will drop coz bb are hard to take care of/

pegs:
yeah it is not easy.. but after i shift, it shld be easier for me.. coz they will be at the 1st floor.
for me, there are certain rules:
dogs are not allowed:
1) on the bed unless i give them permission
2) not allow to go near bb unless i am ard to supervise
3) touch bb toys coz they have their own

but think it will be hard for u lar since ur dog has been the bao bei in ur life for a long time.. must let her adjust slowly...

btw,
Eaxon also kick/move when i am eating/eaten or hungry... hahaha...

mashy,

Yr gal is so active! Mine will move a little as and when he likes it but very minimal. The harder kicks and movements are normally when i'm eating, and most of the time, after i finished my dinner at nite. Hubby now has this habit of asking me if bb likes wat i eat ... cos we thot if bb likes the food, he will kick very hard. If he doesn't, den his kicks are soft

Hey, i tried the remote controller as well, it moves but doesn't fall off.

Mashy, my no.1 will turn 25mths old when no.2 is out. He is very sticky to me...till now, he is still asking me to carry him few times a day. Each time I carry him, my bb girl will kick and kick, poke and poke.
I got no intention to send him to cc yet. He is currently attending 2 hrs playgroup daily only.

Pegsfur, I will sms you the contact. She stays near our area.

My bb girl is as active as Mashy's girl. Moving all the time till I wonder if she needs to sleep or not.

irene

at least he's attending some playgroup which is good. But 2 hrs like a bit short coz with the sending and fetching, already the time is gone. When my boy turned 2, i sent him for 3hrs daily playgroup. :p Gave me more time to myself.

Good thing is that my boy isn't very sticky to me. He's daddy's boy.

bear,
Tks .. i recvd yr sms le. Wah .. yr gal oso so active huh ... maybe she takes yr timing, she'll sleep when u sleep

tas,
Ya lor ... coalie has been our baobei all her life, den now suddenly got 1 bb to divide the attention tat was given to her totally, dunno how wld she react. I feel sad knowing that i will somehow neglect her once bb comes

Oh .. so your Eaxon oso moves when u'r eating .. hahah .. wonder why like dat hor?

Mashy, I picked a playgroup just right below my blk so its just take a lift down kind. But 2 hrs is really short lor. I can't find any 3 hrs playgroup around my side.

Pegsgfur, no lor...my girl can be kicking when I am sleeping too. Sometimes I stir and can feel her kicking and wriggling inside. I just hope she is not like that when she is out lor.

irene

that's convenient. then not so bad. For me, all very far away. Have to travel. So 2hrs really no pt for me. Can't even go marketing.

Maybe u can check if there's any cc nearby that offers 3hr prog. the one my boy attended was kinderland cc. Not many offer that. So really lucky to find it.

pegs
dunno ley.. but he sure to move whenever i eat or that i am near food... i think he is a greedy boy but he is not very heavy ley. just 610g at 23wks...
the only thing is i can rest my mind to know that he is kicking and dun need to count the number of his kicks or worry if he is doing well inside coz he responds by his kicks mah

sigh... ur coalie will surely feel the diff de coz i guess my nana also felt it... but now we gave her away to my hb's uncle who love her alot. so now i m left with 2. the only consolation for nana was that she has the other 2 to keep her company.. but she was biting Kobe nonstop.. sigh
so must do the necessary like talking to her to let her know that got bb coming, then when going to hospital to deliver bb, get hb to bring clothes with bb scent home to let her smell and let her into bb room to orientate her... slowly introduce things one by one..

bear,
Hahaha .. poor mama .. maybe she's trying to let u know dat she's gonna be very active .. training u first

tas,
We've been telling coalie that didi is in my tummy, and dat she must help to take care of didi when he comes out. She just looks at me.

I just hope she won't feel neglected and start to hate bb, cos as at now, she's already not taking very well to kids. I really hope that they cld be the best of pals

bear,
my ger was super active in my tummy kicking at all hours, some times her kicks are consecutive and can hit 100 kicks at a go.. but she come out v gentle ley... now her horns are starting to grow lout lar.. hehehe

pegs:
aiyo.. then really must slowly try liao... ur coalie with u for how long?
my ger n the other 2 dogs can get along well, in case my dog will look out for my ger de.. n my ger knows to hug them.. kakaka.. but of coz they came here after she was born.. and she chose one of them as her puppy when she was 1 mth old.. so they literally grew up together

Mashy, oh..its a cc too huh? No wonder can have 3hrs. I do plan to send my boy to a cc next year since he has to go to a pre-nursery so might just find him a cc cum pre-nursery kind.

Pegsfur, don't scare me hor...I don't need such training leh. Hahaha...
She very violent somemore hor.

Taslyn, if my girl can come out gentle like yours then I don't mind the kicking now! Hahaha...