(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

smurfy:issit her hands cannot really feel the heat/cold already?????

old tooth brush clean broom ....any particular reason for her to do it????got stains etc?????

weishy
nothing to do...afraid we scold her for staring out at window again (now ain't that even more scarly?).. so she go find her own things to do... i no eyes see.... just keep quiet and let her be.. dun wanna scold oredi... very tired scolding... rather tend to sticky boy sticky.... just waiting for a new replacement...

michele
oi, how come u can take so many leaves? ur mum/mils helping u out in normal days? my situation more sticky as weekdays maid need to go over to grandma's place which EX-SIN dun like

michele:new ones need much more time for coaching
kompong no washing machine gar

taslyn
not weird practice.. plain toopid... ask her how to know whether fish in porridge is cooked. she say take one pc out using spoon.. then squeeze with her finger? *faintz*

degree in elementary teaching.. dun trust philiphines degrees oredi..

smurfy:
maybe kuwait dun eat porridge looo.... since u waiting replacement liao, temp tahan abit more lor...

i never trust phili degree... if really got degree they dun need come here to be helpers liao... prolly can go other higher paid country liao

michele
mine hor.. got one day i tell her to go inside the house first... coz i was holding on something .. then my boy suai suai wanna go in the house at that point of time.. toopid maid just squeeze in the gate (hdb small gate) together with my boy...

weishy dear
once i was patient with maid... but with this one... all hell breaks loose... ex maids dun like working for me leh, coz needs to go to grandma's place everyday.. how? my high classy endured for 2 yrs hahhaa.. now i miss my high classy.. though there is no way we could call to ask her back.

michele/smurfy :
@_@.. faintz...
but i think like wat weishy say lor : pretend dunno = dun need to do

smurfy:
i tot it is quite common for helpers to go to ah ma's place de? u got find out the real reason they dun like to go ah ma's place?

taslyn/weishy
some r plain toopid.. not pretend... reallyyyyyyyy.....

weishy
where u get ur maid.. remembered u r quite happy with her? with young children.. maids can go over to grandma's place to let grandma supervise lor... but cannot do housework for 2household lor

my colleague's new maid also quite blur one..

she also doesnt like to to my colleague's mother's place.. dunno why. Her job just bring the older kids there after school and take care of them... dont even need to do anything there.. but she always tell my colleague's daughter that she "dont like to go ah ma's house".....

no initiative, cannot understand english also, thought she passed her test...

babys/taslyn
go grandma's place.. means there will be someone to supervise her work.. as compared to staying at home with kid onli. then most cases there will be some kind of communication problems lor.. coz grandma may not understand eng..

taslyn
i think i striked lottery once with my high classy lar... good in childcare.. though lil sloppy in housework...

re: helper's english proficiency test
i really wonder hor... if the test got Ten years series... seems like they can pass the test w/o knowing how to speak/write english??? so they memorise the answers or wat? if not i cannot understand how they pass

smurfy:yup my helper is excellent kekekke ,me strike lucky draw akkakak so does she loooo :p

gt her from crislo....quite cheap nto like those wat nation etc.......just luck la.

smurfy:cos i need to be out station alot of times in a month.......usually its her and my girl only......i cna trust her and so far havent give me any problem yet.

tas :yes tehy memorise:my helper says mornign wake up in the school practise liao....

smurfy:yup back quit elong liao kakkakaka,hopefully can tahan till after delivery and maternity kakkakakak

hummmm dunno me also recommended by a friend,if i recommend then got % fro the next loooo

weishy
pengz... see lar.. SG govt make it so simple for them... not like us when we have to take driving test or those certifications...
if only my finance certifications can just pass by memorise, i be v v happy loooo

tas;no la english test is 400 question in english.

eg:if u take care of bb and bb is crying wat should u do?

a)leave them alone
b)chk on bb
c) tell ur mdm or sir

they must answer loooo ,how many must correct i dunno loooo

they do it 3 times and if not pass then go back or fly to malaysia...test is by sg govt

weishy
oic... mi dunno mah... i think i will ask the agent til the fella pek chek.. hahahaha

my certification is min 80% correct type.. :p

ya, i also know kampong no washing machine so that's why i showed her 2 times before that and anyway, i thought the agencies supposed to train the maids - otherwise we pay them for what??

i think mine also dun like to go my parent's place - they prob feel they have more work to do. i dun ask my maids to do anything while they are at my parent's place except to watch my gal (in case my parents are busy), feed her and to keep/clean her toys (so that the house is not messy) but i suppose they have 'less hours' at home to do the work they are supposed to do.

i do believe that the english test is rubbish and does not actually reflect their english standard. my 2 year old knows more english than the maid i have now.

clever maids also have clever maid problems but i rather have a clever maid than a stoopid one - because they cannot be cleverer than me! hahha...

and ya, i think their bio-data quite crap one... info mostly untrue and their uni. standard is way below ours. those from good degrees will be working here as IT consultants and so on, not as maids!

Regg:no one is stupid just that diff enviroment,low in IQ and EQ

need patience and understanding....if all fails like " 8 digits" dun match then change loooo.by then u already so tired u just them to work carefuly and treat bb well

michele:how much is ur agency fees???mine onkly $188 le...enough meh to train????those upfront is paid by u on behalf of ur helper....still their $$$$

ya so intelligent or not is up to u to coach them also...if nto how to show u're "higher" than them?

weishy,
thats y my mil get the new one by tis mth so she can train her do housewrk, by aug she at least not so panic with housewrk+bb.
my current one over clever, i dare not keep her!
politic no 1!

REgg:tats why.....when it comes to workign i must admit i myself is not even near prefect.....how can i expect so much from my helper esp if i dun give her clear and proper instructions.repeatation is needed......i'm those forgetful type so.....i need to be reminded too at times

my agency fees? a couple of hundreds... can't remember the exact amt already - but this replacement alone cost me S$265 (excluding everything else, e.g. insurance). i'm not talking abt the maid loan here.

weishy, u are so kind - no one is stupid?
low in IQ = stupid leh, no? if no one is stupid, then why some pple get higher grades than others in school (let's not talk abt those lazy ones who don't bother to study)? you must be the super patient kind. pei fu, pei fu! unfortunately, i am a perfectionist though i have learnt not to have too high expectations of domestic workers. however, i do look for basic common sense and intelligence rather than blind obedience. cannot stand working with imbeciles or have them working for me.

for all my maids, i give very clear instructions on what to do - black and white even - before they even come to me (that means the agency has to explain my expectations and their job scope). i even give them a book to note things down if they think they cannot remember. repetition is redundant if the person doesn't make the effort to remember!

kiki & pegsfur
I am joining your club
. My GTT test result reading came back today. Reading of 7. Gynae say bordeline GD. Cut off is 6.9 or something....

Have to limit my durians intake from now.

piggytoh

when you confirming MT A tell me ok?
cos i thought this sat wanted to go down to MT A to book but than its VESAK day. haha..

anyway.. my hubby said wait till he is back from reservist liao le.. end of this mth me gg to see doc and he will talk about hospital stuff... hehe...

Oic I am in the same boat as a couple of mtb here. I also just change maid. 1st maid -filipino, also politic #1, she keep pyscho-ing my sister, my grandmother and my uncle's maids to change employer. All this surface after we send her home and the other maids starts to talk. Wahlau ah and she stole from my mum as she follow my boy to my mum's place daily. My mum just came back from my sister's place, she is slowly discovering what other things are also missing.

Now training #2 - Indonesian, transfer maid. Last week was on leave for the whole week as mum went my sister's place and I ended up reminding her what can do and what cannot do. And it is not even complicated, just common sense like wash your hand after mopping the floor before you touch my boy!!! Even when I made her write down, she will still forget.

Oh god please give me patience.

weishy/michele
my previous high classy self manage her own work that time.. life was sooo much easier.. yah but the issue was she has her own way of doing things and dun like to be told off..

haiz..clever vs toopid maids...dunno which is worse.. why can't there be a balance.

smurfy

well, if you're smart & good at your work, u also don't like boss to tell u what to do right? So i guess it's the same. Just that you're now the boss.

I think the worst is those who are smart but act stupid, or stupid but act smart. Those very jia lut. At least if they act according to their level of intelligence, then it's not so bad, coz u can then predict their next move. Anyway, i always think that if the maid is so smart, she won't be a maid already. She'll be getting a better job elsewhere. There're now filipinas who work in the retail/hotel/restaurant line here too.

mashy, u got it! smart pple dun like to be told what to do! but actually, with smart maids, u just need to remind them constantly who is the boss. these ones usually hang around if you pay them decently and reward them accordingly. i had one who was with my family for more than 10 years. we let her go after my grandma passed away (and at that time, we had 2 maids)

haha... the stupid but act smart one - my first maid (i tahan for 1 year)... 2nd maid, relatively smart and tried hard to 'keng' (but i didn't mind that much... she had to go back coz her mom was sick) and now, stupid and stupid - full stop!

mashy/michele
my smart maid climbed over my head then and keng alot.. but looking back hor... at least life was easier with her around...

Mashy well said. #2 is stupid like to act smart.

She don't even have the knowledge that metal conduct heat. One incident on feeding my boy. She wanted to use metal spoon instead of my boy feeding spoon, so I told her all utensil must use hot water to go thru b4 giving to my boy.

AND she actually leave the metal spoon in the hot water and I told her to try touching the spoon before using. So she touch and she say, mdm, spoon hot. Then I say are u going to use that to feed my boy?? And I ask her what is her reason for not using the feeding spoon. She say no reason. -_-"

smurfy, then ur head was not 'high' enough - none of my clever maids dare to climb over my head! :p

but like i said, u win some, u lose some - so we have to choose our battles. i rather battle with a smart one than a stoopid one anytime!

michele
hahaha given this lesson, i would oso perfer a clever maid anytime..

bbngg.
ur maid sounds like mine toopid maid... never use brains... i think i have a walking zombie in my house.

SBB,
i will book the hosp via my gynae leh no need go down ourselves 1.. urs need to go down ah? i thot usu the clinic will book for us? i will book on my nex appt 30/5

hmm, do all OB expect us to confirm the room so early? mine keeps asking and reminding me to decide! :p i still dunno if i wanna take single room or help my finance minister save $$$ and take 2-bedded.