(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Jasmine:newborns will use up to 8 to 10 diapers per day (24hours) depending cos initially i change after my girl's every pee too......so i use quite alot.....hopefully this time i can use lesser.....cos it'll be like almost 3 months....
i change so often cos was thinking they hv sensitive skin and may cause diaper rash etc la...but so far oki for my girl

u may wanna buy size "S" if hv sale mroe than "newborns" la....cos 1 or 2 packs should be enough for newborns

yoko:wow so fast u massage liao ar?????ur wound nto painful mah??????

Morning gals

Wow, I have missed a few days of posts. So many pgs of archives to read.. at least 10 pgs! *faint*

Nvm I just start at this current pg lah haha.

pegsfur

Oh u still coughing? Take gd care of urself. I hate cough too, b/c I will also take like 3 weeks or more to recover. Thankfully this time my cough recovered quickly.

Rem to avoid things like grapes & orangs until u're completely well.

mashy

U had a fall? Hope u r ok.

taslyn

Really meh? Preggie with boys will fall sick more easily during 2nd tri? How come huh?

yen

went to kidzloft and bought some bb socks, bibs and a pink blanket.

Then went Ikea to get the mattress protector.

jasmine
A bb can poo many times, usually after each feed. So that's abt 6-8 times a day. I also change abt 8-10 times a day.

jul,

Ya, have been avoiding those fruits u mentioned
Feel much more better after getting gynae's med with antibiotics. At least i din wake up by my coughing last nite

Re: BB stuff

What's the diff b/w BB socks & BB booties? Do I need to get both huh?

And what is a receiving blanket? It's not the same thing as a swaddling cloth hor?

Very confused..

pegsfur

Gd that u r feeling better. I agree with u that the lying down is the worse.. makes the cough worse & keeps us awake at nite. That time cough until my tummy got sharp pain, like pulled a ligament or something

ytd i went bugis , yeap find the warehse for dry seafood / food , it really more cheaper than outside store for those dry scallop . Today I can see like stomach bigger and bigger now can see I pregnant , fat fat ...... after giving birth I go enrol CC course to slim down within 4mth . Any MTB stay around Tiong bahru or redhill area , so can go together .By the way 1st mth can we go out har ??

Yeap this thursday taking leave go have FA scan , how long it take ? Do I need to have full bladder before scan ?

MTB : do you all encounter a short pain on your waist (either left or right ) after you have stand up on the seat after a long seating ?

bean,
My FA scan is oso on Thursday ... I'll be doing it at TMC though.

jul,
Ya lor ... i coughed until my tummy cramp too ... hope i dun get sick again.

bean,
Mine's at 10.30am. U?

jul,
Haha ... same .. cos bb has been kicking hard these days .. so wanna see the scan, see wat he's doing inside

pegsfur : me 2pm aiya cant meet up.

Jul : me also excited as I still cant confirm the gender . cant online shopping for cute nice clothes , heehee

pegsfur

I still haven;t felt any kicking. But just now, my yummty heaved upwards twice. Dunno if that was Babylet kicking or me hiccuping / hungry haha.

bean

Oh I am looking for cheap cheap newborn clothes. U know, those white, cheapo, thin type that can be thrown away after Babylet outgorws it the first few weeks? But online ones are too expenive to throw away, so I'll prob buy only for 3-6 mths for those online ones.

Jul : my frenz also say 0-3 dun need too much 3 pcs eunogh if your bb is big . else very fast cant wear . and one month sure a lot of ppl give u gift and normally is for newborn .

jul

u can either let your bb wear booties or socks. In my opinion, I find that booties are a bit loose when I put for my son last time. Kept dropping off. So this time round, i'm trying on socks instead.

Receiving blanket is the same for swaddling. I use it for swaddling, to use as a blanket when i go out (on a stroller) and on the cot, to cover myself when breastfeeding etc.

jul

U can try looking for them in any mkt/ neighbourhood centres. There's some makeshift stores ard that sells cheap bb clothes like 3 for $10 type.

Nobody to pass u anything?

bean, cloudme

I haven't bot BB clothes yet leh. I went to the Song & Song shop, but the clothes they're selling are more for those toddler type. So I dunno where to get those cheapo white type also.

mashy

Oic. I saw some swaddling cloths that have some pocket at the bottom to put the legs into, then got velcro to stick the cloth ard Babylet. But expensive leh.. $20+ one.

I wonder how many receiving blankets I shd buy?

No hand me downs for clothes. SIL's BBs are rather old liao, & hers all gals. I think maybe I shd go walk ard Toa Payoh central & check out for cheap clothes. Yeah I wanna get those 3 for $10 type.

mashy,
same...those bb booties are loose at the ankles for my ger...

so for the next one, i will be giving my bb to wear socks instead...

jul

no need so ex lah. I got those at just $5.90-$6.90 like that. No need pocket to put bb legs in it lah. Got those with a little hood and basically just a big blanket to wrap the bb. Ya, go and walk walk. AMK Central has quite a lot of these kind of stores ard too.

errh..

Jul,
did u try sheng siong?(bigger outlets)

remember that i mention last wk on those 5 for $10 front button L/S or S/S shirts...
the brand is "super"...
they have the XS to XL size one...

jul,
My mum bought 5 pc for $10 at NTUC .. got 1 shorts, 1 long pants, 1 short sleeve, 1 long sleeve and 1 singlet. Can mix and match leh. She already stock up a few clothes for my bb to wear at her house

bean,
Oh, den we can't meet up le ...

mashy,
Those swaddling cloths are just blankets rite? My mum said just get any towel will do. Cos initially i wanted to buy the swaddling cloths at isetan, but it cost $29+.

pegsfur

yah, any towel will do. But i wanna get some nice ones to go 'gai gai' mah. :p Even a nappy cloth will do. Anyway for me, i also use it as a blanket when she grows bigger and can also protect my modesty when i breastfeed. :p

pegsfur,
i think ur mum bought the one that i just told jul...

keke...yap...those can mix and match...
those are cheap...

why ur mum so early buy singlet?

and these not everytime avaliable at NTUC one...

pegsfur

oh, towel is a bit thin when put bb in stroller and going out shopping in air con places. I usually will cover bb with a blanket. That's when the blanket will come to good use too.

cloudme, thanks for reminding it's 4 day work week. counting down now ... hehe ...

jasmine, you may want to try Pampers newborn for the first month before switching to other brands.

pegsfur, if you have dry cough, try not to eat fruits except apples. Most probably it's cooling cough.

tasyln, jul,
i'm preggy with gal but tend to fall sick easily leh ... in fact, i had diarhhoea over the weekend and now my tummy shrink in size ... worried if bb is okay ...

ladies, if i eat the wrong food, will the bb filter out the food in the womb ?

cloudme,
Hahahaa ... cos we predict that he's gonna take after my hubby, who perspire alot and easily. Some more we gonna pop in aug ... like very hot leh.

Ya, those mix & match clothes dun always have de .. dats why my mum so excited when she saw and quickly buy to stock up

mashy,
Ooh .. true hor .. maybe i'll get blankets instead

mashy

I tot those with hood is towel? *confused*

I dislike gog to Expo. So crowded and the parking is horrible haha.

cloudme

Haven't gone to Sheng Siong. I did go Giant but din find anything suitable, coz the sizea ar all quite big, even tho they are cheap.

pegsfur

Haha ur mum so fast stocked up liao.

joey

Maybe it's just our body type? The weather is bad also. Sooo hot, then suddenly rain!

jul

they've 2 types. One is the towel material which is a towel essentially. The other is cotton type. that's the blanket. So look carefully.

I think pp are having expo sale fatigue already. When i went robinsons expo sale, so many car park lots & very short queue. And it's a Sat evening!

oh, i bought a set of t-shirt & romper for my boy & gal.
So cute. It says "I'm the Big Brother" on the t-shirt and "I'm the Little Sister" on the romper.

Jul
it all depends bah. some towel have hood, some receiving blanket also got hood. i plan to buy 1 or 2 receiving blankets for baby to use when going gai gai and just use nappy cloth to swaddle for first month at home.

booties is like a baby shoes (but baby cant walk still mah so dont need that). let baby wear socks to keep him warm can already. for booties, when baby kick it might drop quite frequent then mommy have to keep picking it up and put it back (troublesome!)

mashy

Issit? I very very very long nvr go Expo liao. I kena phobia after squeezing with the crowds there a few times.

So cute! Matching sets of rompers!

reira, mashy

Looks like I gotta find some nice blankets liao. I plan to use nappy to wrap at home also, but go out.. hiao lah, want cuter ones to show off Babylet *blush*

Jul,
like what pegsfur mention...
the 5 for $10 are at the NTUC bin offer...
so gotto open eyes big big...

while the one at sheng siong are there cos i think they got a shelf there...
but hor even sheng siong...not all branches have loh...
so far i only see bedok central branch have and everytime the stock clear very fast...

giant ones are ok if u managed to find XS or S size...
but i dun like those quality...

still prefer the 5 for $10...cos 100% cotton(diff type of cotton quality...
compare to those used in expensive bb clothes...)

mashy,
that's very cute...matching rompers...

pegsfur,
oic,
my hb also a sweat bucket...hopefully bb take after me and my ger...not so sweaty..

morning gals,

re: baby clothes
where to get nice & cheap new born baby tops (front or side opening) & bottoms (long & short)Budget around $1-3 per pc type.

SIL commented that bodysuits hard to wear/change for a wriggling baby- anyone experience the same? cos was thinking of getting bodysuits instead of tops & bottoms.

bean,
if wait for 1st mth pple's gifts, then bb in the meantime wear what? :p

hiaks, places like AMK and TP central are SO NOT wheelchair friendly, hard to manage.

mashy, glad to hear that things are fine. How are your burns? How is C? I've seen those big brother t shirts before, its really cute. Where did you get yours?

pegsfur, hope you are feeling better!

haha same. my hubby is also a sweat bucket. he can even sweat with fan blowing directly at him when he sleep.

how do i differentiate which type of material for baby clothes is better?

Hi mummies, I’m usually happy during my pregnancy but I realized that whenever I’m emotional (though it is rare), it can be very bad… and once I start crying, I can’t stop!

Any mummies can advice me on how to snap out of it? I’m tired and I’m afraid it might affect baby… =(

Haven't been following the thread closely enough to know what's going on cos I get dizzy and sick when I read for too long. Yupz! I'm one of those MTBs who suffer throughout the pregnancy with nausea, extreme tiredness, bloatedness and pre-natal depression. In fact, I'm still losing weight even now: my pre-preg weight was 62kg but I'm now still 57kg...

So what happened to the outing in April? Did I miss it? Or was it canceled? Pls do let me know...

Here's my updated details as of last friday,
I'm having a princess!!! Praise God for answered prayers!
EDD has been pushed back from 7 Aug to 14 Aug. Another good thing cos I have a greater chance attending my brother's wedding on the 8th before I deliver.

fptt:
Not sure about you but I get that a lot since I'm diagnosed with pre-natal depression. Usually, pacing up and down, clutching my chest and reciting bible verses works well for me. I do Psalm 23 most of the time. But if you're not a believer, you can try coming up with something positive to keep repeating to yourself? Jus my 2 cent's worth...

May I know where I can buy second-hand double pram? The ones with front and back and not side by side... I tried looking online and look thru forum but can't find... maybe I too buay-zai in my search... heh heh... Or if anyone of you have someone who wants to sell or give away theirs?

fptt, try to listen to soothing classical music, i think it helps. Feel optimistic, otherwise, bb will be affected.

I always v stressed out at work during first pregnancy, bb came out always frown one :p

mashy: is there any sale at Kizloft now?

bean: the FA test is very fast, around 10-15mins inside the room, excludes waiting time. No need to have a full bladder, u can go pee beforehand.

pegsfur/cloudme: which ntuc outlets selling those 5-for-$10 bb clothes? West-side NTUC have anot?