(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

<font color="0000ff">cherrios
i dun really count consciously...but i have a 1 Litre water bottle in my office and every day I will fill up full sometimes i will drink 2 tub so I know i drink at least 1L. heeheee</font>

oopss.. i'm a mummy-to-be who doesn't like to drink water.. i drink other liquids but water i doubt i drink 1L per day.. but even then i keep wakin up in the middle of the nite to pee...

hehe..i aso hav water bottle on bedside and every day muz refill wan..haha...means sumtimes 1 nite i can fin up de whole bottle...but i tink is gd to kp ourseleves hydrated..can kp stretchmarks at bay too..lol..

hmmm..heard is bcos water helps our skin to have better elasticity so can stretch better lo...something along that line..cun really remb le...it depends on genes aso...

i have some deep red marks behind my hips on one side...the place where my panty line on my hips..dunno wat are they..dont look like stretchmarks...look more like scratches...

I am back. Waiting to put chicken to grill, black pepper, honey chicken.

Mich, sometimes I used honey instead of sugar, molasses cannot be substitute for everything.

I drink at least 2l of water per day beside milo and soups.

sigh..dunno why my right side ligament kept pulling today
painful le.

last time also like tat i cant sleep straight hv to bend my body to sleep else the pulling sensation can caused discomfort.

My right side hurts. Yest lunchtime also hurting. Wonder if I pulled something. It's not exactly at the hip/pelvic bone, but right at the side of my tummy's roundest part. Not contractions right?

Just now my coll commented that my tummy looks lor. Hmm.. I wonder if it IS low haha.

Last nite HB said he doesn't like sharp tummy, he likes the gradual rounder type. Hmm I'm having a boy, how to have flat, round tummy? Like he gets to choose! pengsan.

hey gals

i'm reading a chinese confinement book and it says the following:

" Traditionally, it's the role if MIL to attend to DIL after the young woman has given birth. It was taboo for new mothers, with the stale blood and evil wind still wihtin their bodies to come into contact with her own parents. New mothers are considered unclean and were thought to bring bad luck to her own family if she was nursed by her own mother. Superstition or not, it is better to believe this than not where prosperity and fortune are concerned"

Anyone else believe in this?

i am havin bad flu n fever today n jus went to pay my gynae a visit n after i complaint abt my recent watery discharge n i feel like liquid leakin he did a check for me n conclude i havin some fungus infection but noting serious n it common:p currently ard wk19 gain 2.6kg...

Janice,
i drink v little water as well i have a bottle of 550ml at my office table so apart from lunch at most i only drink 550ml during office hr.. but i alr pee so often....

Reira,
my HB told me hor durin sec sch when we have checkup the nurse will actually teach them to clean the birdie to pull foreskin etc.. so when we first did "it" he dun feel any pain...

Pris,
wow u make me hungry manz..

Jul, like wat mashy said. Mine also sharp, sharp for boys and round and flat for gal that's what my friend told me, she has a gal and a boy.

babymaking

Hmm this new mothers or menstruating women are dirty concept is not new. A lot of cultures have this : Jews, Japanese, Chinese,... But I dun believe lah.

piggy, take care, drink more water and rest well. My friend had fever and cough for like 10 days and ended up in hospital after a blood test, pnenomia (spelling not sure)

Jul: Could be your uterus is expanding to make space for baby. As for contractions, it's like very very very bad menstrual cramps... It comes and goes

jul,
yeah, heard that new mothers/menstruating women are unclean..but never heard before that it's unlcean only to own parents but not PIL.

it's pretty weird in my opinion - but then most chinese traditions/superstitions are weird in my opinion, so just wondering who else heard this or believe in this.

bbmaking, I dun believe in it. Anyway, I can have more rest at my mum's place compare to at my in-laws. My mum is not supertitous and she and my bro said I can go back there if I like instead of my in-laws.

<font color="0000ff">jul
ignore your colleague lah...i got alot of comment on the shape/size of my tummy too, as if there is a standard shape/size that will produce the best quality bb meh?! boh liao :p

bbmaking
i heard this but i dun believe in this...my 1st confinement is by my mother. I can't believe what will happen if its by my MIL! I sure have depression</font>

Okie.. so I guess mine's not contractions then. So confusing.

Seems like sharp tummy = boy, flat tummy = gal is quite universal. But some pple say ugly mum = boy , some say gal. Quite fun to play these games, as long as not taken too seriously.

babymaking

I think new mothers will be unclean if they dun wash themselves down there. For all u know, the unclean = b/c the women used to not bathe for a mth!

eh by the way to qualify my above statement, i'm western orientated but married into a traditional cantonese family....so am trying to figure out the chinese traditions with regards to pregnancy &amp; confinement, so as to prevent/lessen clashes with MIL. :p

Jul, I dun have any outbreak for both my pregnancies, just this time, I feel more tired as compare to first one where I still have lots of energy

Jul: haha that's funny. I just met an ex-colleague in SH. She was telling me I look very different this preg, compared to the last. Say I look prettier. So say she guess it's a girl. I was like I very ugly last preg meh... Hahaha...

haha jul, i agree with you on that, i really can't imagine not bathing for a mth - oh yeah, traditional confinement is 100 days not 28 days.

i remember when Zoe Tay proudly announce that she followed all traditional confinement rules including not bathing for 30 days, her image in my opnion pulmetted to ZERO, ha, now whatever baby product endorsement she does, also ignore. :p

<font color="0000ff">jul
confirmed big boobs doesn't = lot of breast milk! My ex colleague got big boobs but failed in breastfeeding, but me not much boobs can breast feed leh heehee</font>

bbmaking, I went through one confinement with mil and I tell you, it is so terrible. No confinement food, cannot bfd in peace and no rest at all as I was also being disturbed. So this time, by all means I am staying at my mum and I will not let my mil come till full month.

Best of all, I was left alone to complete my own confinement for the last week, mil said she cannot take it, it is like prison and left. That at least took away some stress that I can bfd in peace during my final week of confinement.

re: amnio fluid leaking
gyane can check during VE by inserting a strip to test for presence of amnio fluid. or some gynaes check by seeing if the cervix(OS) is open or closed, not so accurate method of checking cos usually by then too late.

BabyS,
erm my gynae use a tools to open up my V n saw a lot of white discharge he told me those r fungus infection but nothing serious he gave me some medi to insert down there but he say it will still come back 1 so no need to worry..
ya tt day i can feel some liquid like flowin out but not sure discharge or wat so a bit worried so since i goin to get medi for my fever n flu might as well check..

Pris,
huh so norm medi alr does not work for ur friend ah so scary..

babymaking

Diff dialect groups got diff practice one leh. Make sure u read for Cantonese practice hor.

Huh??? 100 days??? Aiyah Zoe Tay is an old-fashioned gal lah. She is kampung raised one mah, that's why aunties like her &amp; find her dear to their heart.

Pris, tinkabel

My coll said she figured I was having a gal coz I din look uglier than b4 hahaha. I tot I was supposed to look uglier with bigger nose or something? Anyway, I think the most fun is to look at tummy shape.

But I did pause a while.. what do u mean I dun look "uglier"? U mean I was ugly b4? muahaha

<font color="0000ff">pris/jul
i got breakout during 1st trim this pregnancy but somehow my face now back to my usual good complexion. I guess the terrible MS affect my face</font>

celine

I had bad outbreak when I was on "hse arrest" due to spotting. But now I think bad, maybe it was the pre-natal depression that made everything worse.

Jul,
i dun believe in those sayin tt havin gal/boy means look prettier or uglier etc.. dun tink it accurate.. so dun have to bother wat they sat..

piggy

No lah, I just find it quite fun. Sort of doing a survey or test to see if all these old wives' tales are true. Esp now we know gender liao, then can "confirm" these sayings haha.

<font color="0000ff">jul
thats why i think pretty or ugly during pregnancy alot depends on the mindset of the mummy. If we feel too tired or shack out it will affect our appearance in some way. But if we are very vain persistent to look good it will be alright.

I know a friend of mine got 2 boys but during her pregnancy she looked so radiant whereas another colleauge she was having a girl but i think she lazy so she dun look so good</font>

celine

Oh but I notice that my face looks more flushed. If I have gd skin, it wud be gd. But b/c I have rather patchy skin, the redness highlights the flaws, if u know what I mean?

Nvm there's aws makeup!