(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

celine

U din try to take cough syrup near the beginning of the cough huh? Weather v bad, must try not to fall sick during this period o/w hard to recover also.

SL

Hope ur gal is better liao.

claire

I tot I saw MEdela PIS at Taka BB Fair at $699 (unless I rem wrongly).

cloudme

I think a few drops ok one lah. Everyday we also subject to pollution from car smoke, cig smoke, free radicals etc.

babys

Congrats on ur gal. The scan sounds fun haha. I bet ur gal knew that u were scanning & she was playing games.

Re: BB weight

How do u find out the weight of the BB? So far my gynae has nvr told me the BB's weight, just the CRL (size). Or is it only measured during the FA scan?

babys, ur sonographer so good let u take a break then cum back to do scan again..mine one nv le..& bb was upside down yesterday scan from bottom cant see anything is between so shd b gal (according to sonographer) she said let my gynae to cfm wif us instead.

Btw, measurement as long as within the range is fine right? cos i saw dunno wat 5th-95th things dunno how to interpret the measurements..but gynae said as long as withing the range is fine.

<font color="0000ff">jul,
I took my medication faithfully but this cough seems to last very long I need to visit GP twice and Gynae once

donkeymami
i thot amnio test is for those who failed during the 12weeks scan for neck thickness and blood test? Anyway for both my child I did not go for this test.</font>

celine

Cough is like that one lah. That time my cough also very bad. Cough until I wake myself up from sleep, then cough until tummy got cramps.

I took 2 bots of cough syrup b4 I got better.

donkeymami

Oic, thanks. I was just wondering...

jul,
i scare cos it's label posion and for external use only...

anyway i just use the cream...

sat will be my ger's lunar bday...so hope my eyelid will return to normal...

Jul
My gynae told me that from now onward will only tell us the weight leh... wont tell us the length cos inside our womb wont have enough space for baby to straighten himself.

Jul

Re : BB Weight

for my bb weight i check with gynae when they doing the FA scan. they got a software to calculate it after the system having some of the measurement of the BB.

Jul, usually weights oli start to measure starting frm 19wks onwards..so ur nxt appt ur gynae prob will measure weight for u bb, dun worry

Sian ... just finished my breakfast ... wondering want to take my flu/sore throat/cough medicine or not ... I know take liao sure stoned one.

ya lor, i feel terrible with this cough, worst in my life I think especially now with #2 inside me. Poor baby got to encounter "volcanoes" so frequently

re:japan
hb going biz trip next week...dunno what to assign him to buy.. :p</font>

cloudme

It's ok one lah. CReam also poison mah. Coz they wanna make sure sotong pple dun take the drops &amp; drink haha.

shirley, donkeymami

Really shenqi leh. From measurements can calculate weight one? I aws wondered how they managed to weight the BB. Not as if they can pluck the BB out &amp; weigh &amp; put back hor? Haha

pegsfur

U din ask for the non-drowsy type?

celine

Yeah poor Babylet also must have been experiencing frequent earthquakes insidemy tummy when I coughed for 2 weeks non-stop. But doc said BBs are protected inside the womb muscles, water bag etc, so shd be fine. Tld me not to hu2 si1 luan4 xiang3 haha.

jul,
my gynae started taking bb's weight from the 16wk checkup...and same as what she did for my #1...
but all these are gauge only...not very accurate one...

reira

I also vaguely rem reading somewhere that they will stop measuring after the BB grows bigger. Like u said, no space to stretch out. Heehee me v curious, that's all. Strange to think of BB in terms of grammes only - like buying prunes or dried fruits haha.

jul
u'r probably correct abt the PIS at taka bb fair since it shd be on offer there. Only went to the bb fair to exchange milk bottles, didnt look around

saw news report in yesterday's paper about TB cases rising in singapore. If cough persists for too long, better get it checked just in case.

jul,

No leh .... dunno where i heard but it seems that drowsy type is better? Anyway, i figured that i'd be woken up when sleeping if i cough or got blocked nose, then the medicine will make me go to sleep easier. And er ... i always enjoyed the 'high' when drowsy .. hahaha

RE:cough
i am now still constantly coughing/sneeze/blowing my nose...

ask my comp doc and she said
its due to the extra mucus that we produce when we r preggi...its common for preggi...

ya better dun think too much pray our bbs to be fine and healthy inside our wombs.

claire,
i read that news yesterday about TB too..was asking my hb whether I got TB or not... :p</font>

Celine/ FJM: Dr says usually they will start worrying about low amniotic fluids around 3rd tri.. he reassure me, its enough for baby for now.. just monitor if got any leaking of fuids or not but yest he check he says its dry. (I dont even know what he check lor haha)

donkeymami: haha... cos she also needed to count baby's fingers... baby had the fingers tightly hidden under head and chin.. so make me walk lor. i think baby was hungry. ahah!

who did ur U/s for u? mine was nicole seah..

how much is the fa scan done in TMC huh?
was thinking to do FA in TMC or NUH.

Now nuh have a promotion, FA + 3D/4D SCAN is $203.30nett.

any comments? NUH or TMC ?

claire

Huh? TB??? Dun scare me wor...

pegsfur

Actually I prefer the drowsy type myself, but it's only convenient if I'm at home. Coz I think it makes u conk out, &amp; sleep lets u recover mah. And yes, the sleepiness is quite shiok! GosH! Am I an addict? haha

But a bit dangerous when outside coz u will be walking ard, crossing busy road, climbing stairs etc. Better not be gong-gong when outside lor.

aiya!!! suddenly remember i never talked about my issue regarding bleeding when doing big business to my gynae... die le. will she give any good pills for me to eat to cure that? or i just eat tons of papaya and other fruits can liao? (since i hate veggie)

babys

Hey I think it was Nicole Seah who did my OSCAR too! She's very fast hor?

babyjon

The FS scan at TMC is ard $110, ard there. But I got 10% disc with the FBI card.

I aws dun like NUH. Too many stories from my frens.

celine
what is TB? o_o

babyjon
maybe u can do in NUH bah. I think both NUH and TMC is the same since will definately check for all those important stuffs. FA + 3D/4D scan for only $203.30 nett is damn cheap lor!!! Just FA alone, I paid $120 or so. From what my gynae told me, the 3D/4D scan will cost us $250 - $300 (but only will do around 30+ weeks when baby is bigger :D)

jul, mine took 1.5 hours leh... fast meh.. hahaha... ok lah, that must blame baby, cannot blame nicole. haha.. but she was very good, very detailed and patient..

babyjon, the FA scan i did at TMC (plus uterine doppler) cost me $138 yesterday..

reira: the bleeding is from vagina or rectally?

reira

Alamak! I think eating more fibre will help in that u will go more smoothly &amp; cause less bleeding due to less pressure. But it's best to see gynae or GP for prpoper medication, if needed.

babys

She is fast leh. She took soooo many measurements of the neck, head, thigh etc etc.. she just scan, zoom, click, measure,... many times until I see liao also blur.

BUT one thing I'm disappointed abt is that the OSCAR report comes with very blur &amp; only 6 photos. And all of the BB's head to shoulder/chest area only. And all printed rather blurrily on photostated paper type. I was expecting a whole folder of u/s photos. So disappointing.

The weight gain calculator looks quite good as a gauge. Says I am supposed to put on abt 15kg up to 40 weeks. So far, me still slightly below. But for my 1st preg, I only put on 12kg, so hoping I will stay within the range of 10-12kg. My gynae told me to get a preg support belt to use from 20+ weeks onwards, cos she say my stomach may not be as tight enough to hold up the weight of my uterus.

jul: oh urs was oscar... yeah my oscar was done pretty fast too, but by someone else.. alice i think.

my detailed scan pics also blur one lor, i also dunno how to tell.

I think i felt baby move yesterday.. felt like one big bubble burst inside me.. slightly below my belly button... once only.. hahah... or should i be feeling many bubbles bursting to say thats baby moving?

i also have FBI card, so meaning :

TMC FA Abt = $110 after discount
NUH FA+3D/4D = $203

Almost 100 difference.. for the 3D/4D scan , worth while a not huh.. Reira, yr gyne say 3D/4D abt $250, then seems like good price for NUH leh..

NUH mention FA best done on 21-22weeks, 3D/4D scan best done 28 weeks.
But if able to get good picture during FA then can also get it together.Else need go back again on about 28 week.

tinkabel

U put on so little weight still need support belt huh?

babys

Yeah my FA scan not for another 3 weeks+ lor.

Nicole gave me the print-out of the whole BB after my OSCAR on those thermal paper that gynaes use. The photo was so clear (posted here b4). But in the end, the report photos were so blurry *sulk*

I sometimes think I feel the BB move, sometimes not too sure if it's just my imagination haha.

babyS, congrats on your princess!

reira, don't worry about thal minor. I also have it, but it doesn't affect my life much except can't really go mountain climbing or do that kind of extreme sports.

claire, so both our #1 and #2 are girls... very sweet to see them play with each other
Your girls are 2005 and 2007, rite? Same as mine.

Jul: the sonographer who signed off my report is also Nicole Seah. She'so young-looking. Did she say ur bb has chubby cheeks?

Weishy: why is yours unlimited? ur company so good ar, can allow unlimited claims?

Sharon: yes, those preg mummy's milk is indeed fattening, I took a glass every nite during the 1st 3 mths, that's why I grew 4-5kgs, thereafter I changed to a glass on alternate nights.

Celine: I am scaring my husb that I have put on so much weight and wat a sacrifice i made..blah-blah-blah...so i demand he to sponsor my slimming package :p

Jul: I am quite small. So my stomach already look quite big at the point of delivery. Gynae says my stomach muscles may not be strong enough to hold up my uterus since it's my 2nd pregnancy. Here's my stomach when i am in the delivery room, going to give birth.

2279965.jpg

Actually after seeing all the posting about the BB length or weight measurement, I only realized that when I had my #1, my gynae only tell me length of my BB in first trimester, when come to 2nd and 3rd trimester my gynae only tell me my BB weight.

babyjon

I have one fren whose mum used to go there for mammogram. They found a lump &amp; told her nvm, no need to do anything abt it, it's ok. One yr later she kena Stage 2 breast cancer. This is my close fren, so true story.

Then another uni classmate's mum went for pap smear. They told her she had cancer after the biopsy. Poor fren's mum cried for 2 days until my fren insisted on getting the samples back &amp; seeking 2nd opinion. In the end, her mum din have caner. This is my uni fren, so alo not hearsay.

In addition, got the usual fren / colls tell me things like report kena lost &amp; need to retake the test... got 10 or 20 hsemen coming in to look at u like a guinea pig while u are half naked etc etc..

babyjon, i did my OSCAR in NUH &amp; FA scan in TMC.
I find NUH better le..cos they got dual screen which one meant for us to see the other one sonographer will do measurements lo..

TMC i cant really see my bb on the screen except my hubby cos i gotto to lie down..not sure is this becos my sonograpgher didn't push screen towards me

fjm, yah haven been seeing u post for quite a while too

re: circumcision
hubby wants it but im quite against it
saw the video online...its so painful...also read online that baby do feel the pain too, contrary to the belief that if u do it when bb is young, bb cant feel it

jul :: huh.. like this.. so they always make mistake ..
but still their clinic looks so pack. i was there Yesterday with my mum for her checkup.

jul, last time i MC also went NUH leh..

<font color="0000ff">yen
ya ask yr hb to sponsor slimming package good idea!

shirley
once the baby inside our womb grow to certain length they will curl up so difficult to measure the exact length so from 2nd trim onwards they will use certain measurement to estimate the weight of the bb for us only</font>

donkeymami

I cud see the screen at TMC leh, coz it was tilted towards me.

babyjon

NUH is crowded b/c

1) it's cheap
2) not that many hosps in the west compared to central &amp; east area
3) it's a govt restructured hosp so u get v gd subsisidies (hence reason no. 1)