(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

jul, with the playtex liners, there is the playtex bottle system which the liners fit in. So some mummies store the milk in playtext liners, heat up, put on the playtext bottle like thing, attach the teat, and its like milk bottle already. Complex explaination, think if you see a picture you'll understand.

Before milk comes in, babies live on colostrum. Some mummies supplement with FM.

reira, my boy dun get to buy toys all the time, it is through reward system from young. So he will not even make a fuss in toy r us or any toy shop, he will look and see what he wants and works towards it.

reria
some mummies do not use pumps at all... exclusively latching onz...

jul
the first 1-3 or 4 days of bb's lives, they still have sufficient in stored energy in their body.. colostrum is the most precious and nutritious stuffs that comes before ur breastmilk, sufficient for the bb for the first few days.

For Jul...
RE: CHOICE OF A STORAGE CONTAINER
When a baby is only receiving expressed milk occasionally, the type of storage container is not a major consideration; however, if a baby is receiving most of his nourishment from expressed breastmilk, the type of storage container used should be considered carefully. Plastic containers are the best choice for storing breastmilk in the refrigerator as more of human milk's leukocytes or white cells adhere to glass. If the milk is to be frozen, glass is the preferred choice as it is less porous and offers the best protection. Most of the leukocytes in human milk are killed with freezing anyway. For this reason, milk that can be used within 8 days of expression should be refrigerated rather than frozen, because the antimicrobial properties of human milk are better preserved with refrigeration.

Another good choice for refrigeration or freezing is the milk storage bags that are designed specifically for human milk (see CSF milkbags). They are pre-sterilized and are thicker (2-ply), coated with polyethylene, and lined with nylon which prevents the fat from adhering to the sides. Hard plastic containers of any kind are also good choices for both refrigeration and freezing. Other milkbags, sold specifically as bottle liners, are not as durable, making them an unacceptable alternative when freezing the milk as the seams may burst during the freezing process perhaps causing a leak during thawing. Also, one study found that there was a 60% decrease in the milk's antibodies and a loss of fat that adhered to the sides of these bags. If this type of bag is still chosen, the milk can be better protected by placing the liner bags in a larger gallon size freezer bag or in a hard plastic container.

When milk freezes it expands, so it is necessary to leave about an inch at the top of the container to allow for expansion. For this reason, bottle caps or container lids should not be tightened until the milk is completely frozen.

reira

i stopped buying toys already...

There're actually things that u can make yourself for them to play. Don't need to buy all the time. The only stuff we splurge was the trains coz those were my hb's childhood dreams.

I got a huge empty box, cut a few holes and painted it. My boy has enjoyed playing with it ever since he started crawling. It used to be his tunnel. Now it's a place where he enjoys throwing his balls into.

Jul
I hate toys from relatives. They always buy a lot of cheapo china made toys which are crappy in qly.

Jul
For c-section it takes 2-3 days i heard. but one of my friend told me that baby can last that long without milk ect ect. lol he explained in too detailed liao and i have gold fish memory now.

smurfy
wa! 2 pumps ah? I will prolly buy 1 only and bring it back and forth... *shrug* still a bit blur about which part of breast pump need to sterilise... sob headache.

i feel that my hubby is like so care free lor... dont need to do all such research unlike me... haiz...

Smurfy, some bb latch on all day, but i find that to pump is to let the mum be more sane. If you have mil like mine, kept coming in to disturb when you are bfd with bb latch on, you will understand it is hard to establish supply and give a long lecture on formula. My #1 prefer direct feed but I still pump to establish supply.

Pris

Ok so I need to pump even tho I dun see anything coming out? So if BB cries, I just let it cry & go hungry?

reira

I haven't reached so advanced yet. I am at the stage of figuring out what is BB wipe used for. I tot it's for wiping hands & mouth, din even know need them to wipe BB's butt lor.

Keke u must share with me ur price research hor. Since I so blur, help me out yeah *wink*

I was thinking of freestyle too, b/c it's small & light. Too bad I din manage to see the model of the Ameda Lactine *spelling?) to see if it's also light. Coz that's less than half the price of Freestyle leh!

mich

Ok I kinda of understand what u mean. It's like disposable bottle lah?

Reira

What your colleague said is rubbish. It's spoiling the kids. I bring my boy to the shopping malls all the time and we'll bring him to toys r us if there's one there. But we don't buy toys whenever he asks for one.

I hate it when i see parents who really spoil their kids rotten. There was once i saw a big boy throwing tantrum coz he wanted a toy. His dad refused but his mother scolded the dad and said that it's just a few dollars, just get for him!

reira
dun stress urself out lar.. u go to see those pumps then u know which parts needs to sterilize.. otherwise if unsure, call parentcraft for help lor :p... *whispers* me n hb oso paranoid first time mummies last time.. when we saw bb's 1st few stones green and grainy.. we got soooo worried.. bring the soiled diaper to his PD

Piggytoh

HEY! Congrats la!!! Hahah...
Mine is due actually on the 20/08/09 but now its around 16/08/09.

Yr one is boy or girl?
Wa...when free we both meet la.. haha...

Jasmine,
hahah same to u.. mine is boy u??
the EDD not accurate 1 la end of the day it depend on when they happy to come out hahah.. my last check up becos of position can measure the body length so dunno my EDD got push forward anot keke.. ya maybe canmeetup 1 of this day wahaha...
seldom see u online these day also..

Re : Toys

I also dun intend to buy so many toys. And I also dislike those cheapo made in China toys. For one, the scare stories.. But another is that the quality really isn;t too gd.

Anyway I dun see the need for so many toys. I din have many toys & I find that I was at least more imaginative, inquisitive & got use my brains more than kids who had a lot of barbie dolls, masah masah etc. But then, times have changed lah. maybe I lao tao liao

celine
Thanks for the detailed explaination!!

which brand of milk storage bag do u use?

so its like if we want to use playtex (cheaper), have to put them in plastic containers like lock n lock?

haiz... where to find the freezer space to store those... omg...

mashy
I can imagine my hubby asking me if we can buy toys for our baby if our baby like cry or something. A few days ago, hubby broke his monitor... now cannot use computer until we got his new monitor this sat/sun (I dont let him use mine ohoho) as a punishment.

But if the kid cry... what is the best thing to do?

come to think of it... for toys hor. my hubby plan to make me dig out all my barbie dolls from 15 years ago if baby is a girl. he say something like all produce in USA during that time so dont have bad chemical like those made-in-china.

but from what i can remember... my barbie doll hor... is like black black liao leh.

reira,
no prob!
i stock alot of avent milk bags, did not use playtex b4.

when my freezer was used solely for BM, my mum can only buy food every 2 days (luckily wet market nearby our place) becoz I banned her from putting the food into the freezer heehee..

Piggytoh,

Ya mine is boy also.
But apr 1st than I go detail scanning.
You planned go which hospital and which doc you seeing?

My company tell us try not to go online but I also seldom go.
You online normally in the day time or night time?

Cos I normally at night one wor..

When want to meet up?
Next month or when both of us 6mths?
Hahaa....

celine
yah... putting things like meat ect is bad if the germs or whatever goes to the BM. Avent breast milk bag is best for storing and freezing BM milk? Sorry but how long do you keep the BM frozen before taking out to use?

For frozen BM, should I put in fridge first for it to de-froze?

I wonder if there is a small freezer out there so that I can buy it and use it for BM storage only.

impossible for me to put in MIL freezer cos it is those 2 doors fridge, whole of left side is a freezer. >_<

cats...
sian... have to find a pets hotel for the 2 cats in mil's house for 1-2 months. Is it more ok for baby? baby wont be that easily to suffocate from cat's fur when 2 months old, right?

JAsmine,
i be goin TMC.. wanted to do detailed scan on 3 Apr but my HB not free so i make it 6 Apr...
my gynae is Clifton Chan... u?? i remember u wan Mt A right??
Nex mth i cant confirm cos my HB might be leavin nex mth.. u got take up the Mrs Wong antenatal class? if u got sign up can chose same slot den can meet up liao keke.. mine start on 26/4 12.30 - 2.30 slot..
i usu online office hr at nite also but wun stay too late:p

reira,
my maximum storage for frozen is 2 mths but usually i try to consume less than the timeframe. I am not sure whether avent is the best but i started off using medela but too expensive so i switched to avent.

I defroze in the normal compartment of the fridge.

I did try to look for one such freezer but those are commercial ones. Retail consumers ones are usually consists of a small portion of open space freezer area.

reira
there are deep freezers available.. but dun think we need that? and pls dun start buying nowwwwwwww... for all u know.. ur milk might be just nice n sufficient for bb :p but i still got a mini fridge (those bar fridge) to store the EBM... so that it's not kept together with the rest of the foods.. however u can put in choacoal in ur normal fridge to remove any odor oso

reira: my tummy very obvious lor... its beyond the "i am fat" look lioa... obviously pregnant..

hai...

i think ah, that mother hor, will turn out to be a monster in law next time to her DIL... so terrible a human liao, plus dote so much on her son... next time, oh woe to the poor DIL...

baby, dont worry lah. i am much worst lor... even before pregnant. my weight was 72kg ah!! only 1.5m tall. *haiz* need to care about my weight liao... all my hubby's fault. T_T we eat eat and eat until so pui...

today i told my hubby... he need to lose 25kg and i need to lose 20kg to get back to healthy weight (read from straits times). lol my hubby got headache from that. hahaha

my tummy is also super obvious le. can see the "balloon" shape there! hehehe... lucky i am still maintaining at 70kg now! but somehow i think my weighing machine spoilt leh.

Cats
anyone got cats at home? haiz i need to research how to deal with those 2 cats at my MIL's place =_= especially they walk around the house freely lor... super stressed... scared baby kenna suffocated by the cat fur...

ladies i;m back

pacifier:ya tas i used 3 days to wean my girl off....its a saviour at times but when she's 6 months me tot enough la :p

milk bottles:hayley also wean her milk bottle at 12 months

now u give her milk bottle she doesnt want looooo....she drinks from straw now.

Breast milk:any other ways of increasing milk other than drinking papaya fish soup?

MIA the whole of today coz my ger was hospitalised yet again.... was at KKH this time.. coz she was bleeding from her right ear...
CT scans shows her brain is okay, developing well, no fractures... ENT confirm ear function is well too... really weird... heng she is discharged liao... so tiring..
will read thru today's archive 1st.. lol

weishy
i trying hard to wean her off now.. but not at the moment...

increase milk:
take papaya fish soup, fenugreek,

Tas/miaon:tried fenugreek also super low supply le.......

BLEEDING!!!!!!!huh?????issit she teethign and keep rubbing her ears??????bleeding as in alittle or alot?????? scary leeeeeeee

miaon/weishy
dunno lor.. that y when we go kkh, they immediately attended to us... lol.. think the queueing time was 3 hrs ydae...

it quite quite abit of blood... so it was not due to scratching.. So Neuros suggested CT scan to check if she had any falls/fractures which could cause the blood... but CT scans were normal n her brain was developing very well...
so the ball was thrown to ENT dept...

ENT did hearing test, checked her ear drums, said her ears are very clean, no cuts/scratches n no fractures... so v puzzling...

the most SIAN thing is i was supposed to fly to Tokyo today... then all kena postpone til Sat...
now i m super panda.. coz at KKH til 4am then go to ward... n no single ward... then one neighbour (Malay lar) had with her 2 kids n a baby... 7am turn on stupid DVDs at full volume then i cannot sleep... irritated... well at least i am home liao.. can rest on bed...

weishy
increase milk:
1) reduce stress level. stress to produce more milk = affect milk supply..
2) massage breast more often... stiimulate supply
3) drink more fluids... i took at least 2-3 1.5L of water evday on top of those soups i make and also take hot drink eg milo/milk for lactating mums b4 i pump each time
4) fenugreek/ milk thistle / mummy's milk (can get from Mums in mind)
5) latch bb on more often or get a pump which can stimulate bb sucking.. coz body will react accordingly... more DD >>>> more SS
6)food nutrition : take healthy foods oppo to fast food / load on Vitamin-rich vegetables, protein-filled meats
7) understand ur body... get a LC... they may be able to point out the mistakes which we commit thus can increase the milk supply

reira
Ur MIL cats.... make sure that their jabs are up to date and that they are kept away from baby...

animals will be inquisitive to things that are new to them n things that move... so u can try getting a net over the cot or just close the doors bah..

Re: TOYS
i think boys toys are more ex than ger's toys...
I go Toy'r'us and see the thomas train set i flip..

my ger dun have alot of toys either.. her toys are her pillows, 2 lamaze toys - a lion n newly added Moose... a dino from godpa and the dolphin foc from dumex... i alternate the toys so she wun get sian of them...

just started her on BB einstein DVD and thinking wat else to get next...
wanted to get leapfrog's leadpad but that is discontinued in US.. so worry abt getting books in future for my ger...

re: milk pump
some one mentioned Ameda Lactaline?? it is called Purely Yours in US...
can view it here..
http://www.breastpumps4less.com/products.htm

re: moving house
sigh cannot move liao lor.. since ger hospitalised...

BabyS: house is not resale.. is this stupid apartment above sunplaza... which my FIL rented to his china mistress(from last time)
anyway i m just gonna stay til latest june/jul b4 shifting to the house near sembawang park loooo....

now i suspect my MIL could have found out that my Hb plan surprise trip to Japan for me n bb.. thus she xin li bu ping heng...

but now PIL shut up coz of my ger;s hospitalisation... REASON: they tot their screaming at hb hurt my ger's ears thus they scared she become deaf (CHOI!).... n of coz my hb purposely add oil to fire saying DR asked if people got shout at home.. lol

BABYS:
warrau... how can that stupid woman steal ur seat like that.. i hate such idiots... in fact i will retort n scold back... but wat to do? i think u suay to meet a siao char bor early in morning lar...

re: Hb bad army fren
okie lar.. he is not that bad.. he rush to hospital last night n early this morning to see if my ger is okay (prolly coz he was supposed to go Japan with us.. thus he worry?? lol)
now he fetching my hb to changi airport so that SQ can do a full refund of the tickets to us... else they wanna charge us 25% for all 5 tickets.. argh...
then hb let out that this fren of his does alot of ONS , has many flings... i told him.. yeah lor.. mix more with him.. next time our ger meet a guy like that how?
now i know y his gf stick to him liao.. coz can travel mah... lol

DINNER TONIGHT:
mi getting PORK TROTTERS VINEGAR TONITE... YIPPEE....

weishy
is hayley feeling better liao? u say she been sick for a few days liao woh... make her drink more water.. flush out those toxins...

RE: TOKYO
anyone got any recommendations on where n wat to buy for bb from tokyo???

Taslynn, is ur condition suitable to fly to Jap? cos is 7hrs flight plus take off &amp; landing pressure.

Btw, i tot u wanna go BKK originally right? Nw chg to Japan?

donkey
i m okay to go.. only my ger gotta monitor for next 24 hrs
gotten advice from dr how to protect her ears

still going to bkk... but going tokyo first... hehehe

weishy
i oso v sian... dunno to go or not.. gynae clear me liao.. just only my ger.. but there seems to be nothing wrong with her..
Dr say maybe heaty...

i think my ger hates to be in this house, thus she wanna go to her "resort".... she is so happy to be in hospital, smiling at everyone there... but once she is home, she gets sian n cry...

n we promised her to bring her to disneyland for her 6mth liao.. so must bring lor.. coz bb remembers.. :p n i think she is happier when she can go gai gai

yeah i got itchy legs... my mum was telling my ger how naughty i was last time.. always coming home late n all.. tell my ger not to pick up my "bad genes"

Tas:me also never at home kakkakakak :p
now with hayley i think i spend th emost time at home liao...kakakkaka

heaty will cause ears to bleed one meh.....hopefully looooo and not too serious....

weishy
kakakka... yeah lor.. now i spend so much time at home...

dunno if heaty will cause the bleeding..
okie mi go nap for a while now.. tired..

Jul04,
Thanks so much...

Celine,
Thanks...I went to BB fair at Taka on Tue and bought some mittons &amp; booties. They come in white but with blue or pink ribbon. So my mum was saying buy blue, bec gal can wear blue but boy wear pink not nice..so we got the blue one...

Piggytoh,
Thanks, ya lor FA scan will be coming a week or so....excited to spending longer time, able to see baby.
Is yours boy or gal ? Dr show u angle with open legs but you cant see anything ? sometimes it might be us not able to understand the scan, i guess..hahahaha...but its ok, I can wait till Aug.

Minch,
Thanks so much

babyjon,
I like keeping my parents and frens in suspense..hehee...bec it adds on to the fun..everyone is like trying to guess if im having a boy or gal, its like a gamble, so see who would be right :D

Pris,
Thanks so much

Miaon,
Thanks, yeah we will definitely have a surprise on the delivery day. 50-50 chance

SL / Reira / Cloudme / Cherrios / Taslyn
Thanks so much

yen2008,
Thanks, you are right ! Now fang xing alot when the results are good. Now the next worry is to wait for FA scan, hope everything would be ok too

Dolce,
mine boy.. cos my gynae ask me if i wan to know the gender of cos i say yes den he show me in between the leg say if got thing sticky out is biy otherwise is gal but i see nothin all black black to me keke so he change the angle n i can see the birdie v clearly.. so hard to say la