(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

here we go
1st is capella de.. this one got gaps
2246609.jpg

then this is my graco.. no gaps
2246610.jpg

nici

don't quite understand the pushing the side rail part. Mine is to push 2 knobs at the sides. So the bb can't kaki push the rail down and get out himself/herself.

reira,
the bb sling...u mean the one with laying flat type or sarong sling? if u buy the one specially for 0mths then it's ok...sarong sling ok if u *dare* to use it...

cos bb carriers are only usable if ur bb has learn how to hold his/her head up...neck steady...otherwise not recommended b4 4mths/5mths....as nornally it's upright position....

reira:
i also not very sure of the price, have a huge range.
can be from RMB few hundred to few thousand.
Mayb kiki can check it out, meanwhile i also asking frds in china to check out for me.

thanks tas! got the pic..btw, is graco travel system good? considering that...cos infant car seat not cheap eh..at least 100+usd

cherrios
i got mine as a set, ie the car seat with pram.. total ard S$559 afer disc at taka xmas sales. lol..
it is a good system.. very sturdy n me, being the pram-pushing idiot, i can push it ard with ease.. lol..
only thing is that the pram itself is v heavy @ 12-13kg.. but that is the thing with travel systems..
it's also v easy to slot the car seat into the pram n off it.
the whole ting is bulky.. not v good in SG context coz the aisle of ntuc n all can be narrow.. but i dun think u will have that problem in US with it..

I think bb sling is good for up to 3 mths. Since bb is still light and also cannot hold up head yet. However, it is advisable to change to a carrier after that to help ur back take the bb's weight. I have been using the Beco for my #1 after 3 mths. but eventually he still became too heavy for me and now we always lug the stroller out all the time.

reira
yeah lor.. 1st mth i carry bb.. 2nd -4th mth i sling.. after tat bb too heavy liao.. so i use stroller all the way.. kekeke..

tat day i carry my ger out with sling, took mrt to meet my mum at woodlands MRT, i nearly died.. my ger 8kg+ n i already cannot tahan her weight

aiyo faint ah. baby so small but +8kg?! ok buying stroller is so much better haha

Btw, any mommies here like to read manga and watch animes like me ah? :D

reira
my ger 6mths liao lor.. bb supposedly grow fastest from 2-5mths..
alot of other bb in my ger's sept 08 thread hit 10kg n over liao... mine is considered okay..
now my ger is wearing clothes for 9mth-12mths...

when i bring her to Msia, my relatives tot she is 9mths old liao. was asking if i BF or gave wat super growth milk to her.. lol

ok, me back frm lunch. ordered the dry ban mian & iced milo. told them to cook the egg fully but they din. heng my dad eating wif me, gv it to him instead. y'day i naughty go & drink iced teh-o.

no sound frm HB. dunno if he go & buy stroller alreadi or not.

tas, graco is so ex? hmmm..its one of the cheaper ones here..hehe..i dun wan spend so much on strollers cos i tink i will end up having more than 1...my hubby wana get carrier to carry bb..hehe..he say more better to carry than use strollers, but no matter what we still need a stroller I feel...

TASlyn:thks for the pixs
cos difficult to understand in words....must show
tks tks.... dun tell me u're an aquarius too kakkakakakkaka

BAby sling"1st 6 months can use those MIM type or sarong.....later i use BECO
soem prefer BJORN now got many colours...so tempted but already got beco la......

cherrios
travel system more ex bah.. but i m happy with it actually.. lol.. graco is cheap in US lor..

when bb is smaller it is okay la..but when bb hit 7-8kg, i dun think u will wanna carry them ard in carrier all the time, v taxing/straining on our backs. v siong de woh.

also with stroller, it can recline. so bb can rest properly w.o being in an upright position all the time mah

wah! so many things to buy ah? then i shd buy sling & carrier first, last then buy stroller hor?

but HB has been telling me tat he wans to buy stroller to push around. i told him to wait till june. but who knows now got sale, quickly tell him.

weishy
got any idea how much is BJORN one ah?

maybe in the end i will buy stroller bah... imagine buy those slings for $50 and can only sling for a few months then later have to buy stroller... might as well one go save the $50 and buy stroller.

zen..
dun need to buy sling n carrier so early lar.. ur kid may not like n reject.. then u end up hv to sell them off..

go n get the essentials like stroller, cot 1st.. after that, borrow sling/carrier n let bb test out n see if they like anot, then buy.. else waste the $$.. bb stuff are not cheap

hi mashy & taslyn,
thanks for your input. the pushing side rail is the one that we use our knee to push the lower part of the rail. i personally think it's very ma fan that way.

is it necessary to get cot mobile? the famous brand for cot mobile is tiny love and it's selling at $90+. somemore the box said it's used only from 0-5months! so short period of time. worth to invest on this?

TAslyn:wow all bbs well fed le....haley still 10kg only......

cherrios:yup u sure need 2 la but buy the stroller later
.....till he complaints

sometimes the stroller is used for their daiper changing times.......mother's room nto very clean le in sin>>>>>

tas, ya, graco here one of the cheaper brands..i think travel system starts from 170usd..but what are things that we should look our for? I tried the ex ones and cheap ones, other from pushing ard to get the feel, the cushioning like all the same?all not very cushion wan eh...

i'm thinking to buy Medela PIS advanced. Taka baby fair is selling at $699 (before 10% disc for taka member). the first few years shop is selling at $599 for shoulder / backpack bag. but for the metro bag, price is $669. Any differences with these 3 bags?

nici
for #1, i din buy coz i dun see the need to..
depending on the layout of ur house and where u put ur bb, u judge if u need it.. to entertain bb mah

also hv to consider if u putting bb to sleep with u the 1st few mths or placing bb in another room.

for #2, i need to buy liao.. coz of the new house;s layout.. kekeke.. plus # 1 can walk by then

NICI, me eyeing the tiny love mobile aso..hehe..cost 50usd..it plays many music and got remote, i feel not bad, can kp bb entertain while she in the cot...

btw, for medela the bags, can put anything in the bag wan ma? or just use to store the BF stuffs that comes in the package?

cheerios
for me, these are wat i look for lar
-weight of pram
-sturdy or not - i suck at pushing flimsy prams
-ease of pushing - got suspension? easy to go over humps/kerbs
-cushioning - additional padding need to be purchased?
-color - light colors tend to get dirty more easily (my mil uses pram as high chair, thus i forbade her to use my graco on her adopted kid. that kid just wipe her hands evwhere on her capella pram!! yucks)
-gaps in prams
-max weight the pram can take.
- height of pram handles - adjustable?
-ease to close pram - one hand action or what
-size of pram after folding.. can fit easily into car?

lol.. i sound like v mafan hor?
that y buy prams must hv hands on n try...

whoa... tas, how to tell if stroller can go over humps/kerbs easily? D:

Not mafan la. need to thank you for listing it out for mommy to be like me lol blur blur donno anything

taslyn & nici,
wat is cot mobile? is it the toy tat is attached to the cot for baby to play?

taslyn,
ya lor. baby stuff all so EX! i'll take yr advice & buy the sling/carrier later. now buy the more impt things first.

heehee. my DH finally called. he's at OG. said the promo Quinny Buzz available in 3 colours. there's also other car seats & stroller on offer. but we din tok long. too noisy & distracted. i asked him to decide on the colour. however, the baby cot tat we bought at kiddy palace last sun is $10 cheaper at OG. so OG sale still cheaper for cot & buzz.

Reira:think diff model diff price le should be less than $200 la

Ya sling for sometimes bb doesnt wanna sleep in the stroller.......no choice u hv to carry or sroller dun hv suspension then go shoppign super bumpy they cant sleep well.

COT mobile:got cheaper ones mah serves teh same purpose...can chk kiddy palace

reira
those with suspension can do that easily.. less disruption to bb also..
whilst my graco has suspension, the capella din.. so last time b4 we got the graco, i can see my ger rock v violently with those yellow strips which slows speed of strollers/trolley down on slopes.. with my graco, she is not affected.. can even sleep soundly.

at the shop, u try to mimick how u will push the pram on kerbs lor.. ie try to lift the top part of pram up, place a stuff toy n observe how the toy move while u try to push it..

my list is just a rough guide lar.. after all we all wan to get some thing which is good for bb at the best possible reasonable price mah

babyjon
i m not an expert lar.. it is a trial n error de lar.. i learn from my mistakes.. hahaha
i m still learning from other mummies too

TASlyn:totally agreed looks like u did ur homework :p...actually loads of stuffs to consider....esp if u get one alreadythen u'll find that others seems better or got more functions

wah tas, the list is gd...we tried to close the graco one dat day, after closing still quite bulky and indeed is quite heavy..but i guess strollers for infants need to be more sturdy? nt comfy with those flimsy ones..

weishy, the cheap cot mobiles here hor, the soft toys that are attached on it very ugly eh i feel..dun hav those winnie the pooh that kind, or disney kind...

zen
cot mobile is a toy which u hang on the cot lor.. then it goes round n play
songs.
2246998.jpg

for me i din get.. coz my ger always with mi mah.. n that kid got itchy fingers sure to take n regard as hers.. lol

me so kuku, dun knw wht to buy..hai..
was thinking after birth see lack of wht then buy.[cause s0me things will be pass down]

cherrios
yeah i feel infant need to get sturdy one.. coz their skulls still soft n brain oso developing.. i dun wan to take chances lor..
i wan my bb to be comfortable then they wun give mi headache too mah.. lol..
unhappy bb = cranky bb = headache for mummy

RE; strollers / cot mobiles / car seats
there r shops at kaki bukit (i think) which sells these stuff and i think it is lower price than department stores cozit is liek a wholesale centre. why not drop by there to take a look before deciding whether to buy from the bb fairs? i think there are 2 shops...1 is Baby Kingdom, and teh other is baby Hyperstore or something. i oso cannot really remember. but i do remember i got my tiny love cot mobile at 60+ only leh.

oh so tats cot mobile! thanks taslyn!
u help me so much.

HB called again. said he tried the buzz again. he said it's quite heavy asked me if i can handle. but he said he's not too worried. cos i jus need to struggle a little to close it then put in the car alreadi. now he gotta rush bk to work.

for those who are interested to get buzz. gd offer at OG now! hurry! hahahahah!

nici

I didn't get any cot mobiles for my #1, he still grew up. Hhehee.

For the 1st 3mths, no point getting a mobile actually, coz the babies are quite 'blind' at that time. They can't look beyond 20cm like that. If u want, can get something at the side but pref red/black coz that's the only colour they see then.

i also got to go off for work already. chat wif u girls again.

sian... tis weekend will be at in-laws' pl again... the onli happy thing is i'll get to see my GR.